University (“Universität”)

Universities are scientific-educational institutes that focus on theoretical education. Universities are thus generally less practical than, e.g. universities of applied science ("Fachhochschulen") or universities of cooperative education ("Berufsakademien"). At universities, one can study all subjects: in principle, there are faculties of linguistics and cultural sciences, law, natural sciences, medicine, agriculture and forestry, economics, social sciences, nutritional sciences and engineering at all universities. Linguistics and cultural sciences are, in particular, only taught at universities. In principle, along with their principal subject, university students are free to pick a minor subject of their choice. A university' s day-to-day teaching activities are generally not much controlled and regulated. That means each student is personally responsible for the organisation of their academic life. You will find a list of all the universities in Germany on studis-online.de.

University of Applied Sciences (“Fachhochschule”)

Universities of applied sciences are called "Fachhochschule" or simply "Hochschule" in Germany. They are more practice-oriented than universities. In this type of university, practical or internship semesters are planned for students in many subjects. Furthermore, here, education is more regulated than at universities: there are more small seminars, and lectures are not as crowded. In a university of applied sciences, one can study many different subjects, but Linguistics and cultural studies are usually not among offered subjects. To study at a university of applied science, having a so-called "Fachhochschulreife" (National Vocational Qualification) is sufficient. After the university entrance qualification (Abitur), the "Fachhochschulreife" is the second-highest school leaving qualification which one can obtain in Germany. You can find a list of all the universities of applied science in Germany on studis-online.de.

University of Cooperative Education ("Berufsakademie")

"Berufsakademien" or dual universities or Universities of Cooperative Education are for students who want to do a dual degree. In a dual course of study, you are training in a company and study at a university of cooperative education in parallel. That means your academic year is divided into theoretical and practical phases. During the practical phases, you are in the company-  and in the theory phases you study at the "Berufsakademie".  You usually need to start your dual course of study in September/October. You can find a list of all the universities of cooperative education in Germany on studis-online.de.

College of Arts and Music ("Musik- und Kunsthochschule")

If you want to study music, art, film, drama or theatre, you need to attend a college of arts & music, a college of film & television or a college of theater & drama. To enter these colleges, you usually have to pass an entrance exam. For many music and art colleges, you also need a high school diploma or "Abitur". However, these colleges make exceptions for those with a special gift for the subject. At some music & art colleges, in principle, you do not need a high school diploma. On the studis-online.de, you can find a list of all art academies/colleges, conservatories, colleges of film & television and colleges of theatre & drama.

Colleges of Theology ("Theologische Hochschule")

At a college of theology, you can only study theology. In principle, colleges of theology are run by a church. If you want to be a minister, you must go to a college that corresponds to your denomination. You can find a list of all colleges of theology in Germany on studis-online.de.

College of Public Administration ("Fachhochschulen für öffentliche Verwaltung")

College of Public Administration ("Fachhochschulen für öffentliche Verwaltung" or "Verwaltungsfachhochschulen") are operated by the federal government and the federal states. Their main objective is to train administrative employees for financial management, police service, and other parts of the public sector. The theoretical training takes place in the Colleges of Public Administration, and the practical training in the relevant government offices. Students at the Colleges of Public Administration are paid during their training and cannot apply for BAföG. Keep in mind that you cannot apply for a College of Public Administration directly. You should apply to the authority for which you want to work (for instance, police). The authority then decides whether you can attend a College of Public Administration. You can find a list of all the public administration colleges on studis-online.de.

Universität

Universitäten sind wissenschaftliche Hochschulen, die sich vor allem auf die theoretische Ausbildung konzentrieren. Universitäten sind also generell weniger praxisorientiert als z.B. Fachhochschulen oder Berufsakademien. An Universitäten kann man alle Fächer studieren. Es gibt in der Regel an allen Universitäten Fakultäten für Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaften, Rechtswissenschaften, Naturwissenschaften, Medizin, Agrar- und Forstwissenschaften, Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Sozialwissenschaften, Ernährungswissenschaften und Ingenieurwissenschaften. Vor allem Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaften kann man häufig nur an Universitäten studieren. Studenten an Universitäten können ihre Nebenfächer in der Regel sehr frei wählen. Der Lehralltag an Universitäten ist generell wenig verschult und reglementiert. Das heißt, dass die Organisation des eigenen Studienalltags in der Verantwortung des einzelnen Studenten liegt. Alle Universitäten in Deutschland finden Sie auf der Website von studis-online.de.

Fachhochschule

Fachhochschulen werden auch Hochschulen für angewandte Wissenschaften (englisch: Universities of Applied Sciences) oder einfach nur Hochschule genannt. Sie sind praxisorientierter als Universitäten. Für viele Fächer sind Praxis- oder Praktikumssemester vorgesehen. Der Unterricht an Fachhochschulen ist verschulter als an Universitäten. Es gibt mehr kleine Seminare und weniger große Vorlesungen. An Fachhochschulen kann man viele Fächer studieren, aber z.B. Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaften findet man dort in der Regel nicht. Um an einer Fachhochschule zu studieren, genügt die sogenannte Fachhochschulreife. Die Fachhochschulreife ist nach der Hochschulreife (Abitur) der zweithöchste Schulabschluss, den man in Deutschland machen kann. Alle Fachhochschulen in Deutschland finden Sie auf der Website von studis-online.de.

Berufsakademie

Berufsakademien oder duale Hochschulen (englisch: University of Cooperative Education) sind für Studenten, die ein duales Studium machen möchten. Bei einem dualen Studium machen Sie eine Ausbildung in einer Firma und studieren parallel dazu an einer Berufsakademie. Das Studienjahr ist in Theorie- und Praxisphasen aufgeteilt. In den Praxisphasen sind Sie im Betrieb. In den Theoriephasen studieren Sie an der Berufsakademie. An Berufsakademien können Sie in der Regel nur im September/Oktober anfangen zu studieren. Alle Berufsakademien in Deutschland finden Sie auf der Website von studis-online.de.

Musik- und Kunsthochschule

Wenn Sie Musik, Kunst, Film oder Schauspiel und Theater studieren möchten, sind Sie an einer der vielen Musik-, Kunsthochschulen bzw. Hochschulen für Film & Fernsehen oder Theater & Schauspiel richtig. Um an diesen Hochschulen studieren zu können, müssen Sie in der Regel eine Aufnahmeprüfung bestehen. Für viele Musik- und Kunsthochschulen brauchen Sie außerdem Abitur. Bei einer besonderen Begabung für das Fach, machen diese Hochschulen davon aber auch manchmal eine Ausnahme. An einigen Musik- und Kunsthochschulen brauchen Sie generell kein Abitur. Auf der Website studis-online.de finden Sie alle Kunstakademien/Kunsthochschulen, Musikhochschulen, Hochschulen für Film und Fernsehen und Hochschulen für Theater/Schauspiel.

Theologische Hochschule

An theologischen Hochschulen können Sie nur Theologie studieren. In der Regel werden theologische Hochschulen von einer Kirche betrieben. Wenn Sie Geistlicher werden wollen, müssen Sie an eine Hochschule gehen, die Ihrer Konfession entspricht. Eine Liste mit allen theologischen Hochschulen in Deutschland finden Sie auf der Website von studis-online.de.

Fachhochschule für öffentliche Verwaltung

Fachhochschulen für öffentliche Verwaltung oder Verwaltungsfachhochschulen werden vom Bund und den Bundesländern betrieben. Ihr Ziel ist es, Verwaltungsangestellte für die Finanzverwaltung, Polizei, etc. auszubilden. Die Theorieausbildung findet in den Fachhochschulen statt. Die praktische Ausbildung wird in verschiedenen Behörden absolviert. Studenten von Fachhochschulen für öffentliche Verwaltung bekommen während der Ausbildung Geld und können kein BAföG bekommen. An einer Verwaltungsfachhochschule bewirbt man sich nicht direkt. Sie können sich nur bei der Behörde bewerben, für die Sie arbeiten möchten. Die Behörde entscheidet dann, ob Sie die Fachhochschule besuchen dürfen. Eine Liste aller Hochschulen für öffentliche Verwaltung finden Sie auf der Website von studis-online.de.