Bachelor’s Degree (“Bachelor”)

The bachelor’s degree is an undergraduate university qualification which is recognised throughout Europe and in many countries worldwide. Bachelor, "Magister Atrium" (MA) and license degree ("Diplom") are referred to as "undergraduate studies". Unlike a master's program, you do not need an academic degree to begin an undergraduate degree. Most of the time, you have to study for three to four years to obtain a bachelor's degree. During your studies, you will learn the basics of your subject-and after successful completion you will be handed a degree: In the humanities, you will earn a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.). In science subjects, you will earn a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.). If you study engineering, your degree will be a Bachelor of Engineering (B.Eng.). Once you have been awarded a degree, you are qualified to enter the job market at a lower level. If you want to continue your studies, you can apply for a master’s degree. You can find a list of all Bachelor progammes in Germany on studis-online.de.

Master’s Degree (“Master”)

The master’s degree is the second university qualification you can obtain, i.e. a “postgraduate university qualification” which you can only earn after your bachelor’s degree. In general, you will need one or two years to complete a master’s degree. During your studies, you will expand your knowledge about a given subject and will specialise in one or two fields. After successful completion of your Masters’ you will be handed a degree: In the humanities, you will earn a Master of Arts (M.A.). If you study a science subject, your degree will be a Master of Science (M.Sc.). In engineering, you will earn a Master of Engineering (M.Eng.). Once you have been awarded a degree, you are qualified to enter the job market at a higher level. You can find a list of all Masters’ progammes in Germany on studis-online.de.

State Exam (“Staatsexamen”)

Some academic subjects are not part of the bachelor’s and master’s system. If you want to become a doctor, lawyer, teacher or pharmacist, you will have to take the official state exam (“Staatsexamen”) at the end of your studies. Once you have passed all required courses, you can take the first state exam (“Erstes Staatsexamen”). If you pass, you will have to complete a professional training period in your area of work. After that, you can take the second state exam (“Zweites Staatsexamen”). If you pass, you will be allowed to carry the respective title of your profession and work in this field. State exams are subject to federal regulation. This means that you will take the same exam regardless of where in Germany you studied.

PhD (“Doktor”)

If you have already earned a master’s degree and want to pursue your academic career, you can apply to join a PhD programme. Depending on your subject, it can take two or more years to research, write and publish your dissertation. If you consider doing a PhD, you need to first find a professor (“Doktorvater” or “Doktormutter”) who is willing to accept you as a PhD student. Only once you have found a supervisor, you can apply to join a PhD programme at their university.

Dual Vocational Degree (“duales Studium”)

A dual vocational degree (“ausbildungsintegriertes duales Studium”) is a special form of degree program. It integrates studies at a higher education institution and on-the-job training in a company. Integrated dual degree courses are particularly common in the fields of business and engineering. You can find more information about them in our chapter "School-based Vocational Training".

In contrast to regular university degree programs, dual vocational degrees do not primarily focus on academic studies. In addition to the theory that is taught at a higher education institution or “Berufsakademie”, students also undergo on-the-job training at a company. This provides them with the necessary work experience that opens up excellent career opportunities. Moreover, students receive a salary like any other trainee during the time they work for their company.

Dual vocational degree programs usually last between three and five years. In most cases, the vocational part is limited to two years to make sure that there is enough time for the academic part. You can only participate in this kind of degree course if you have the required entrance qualification for German universities. The first step is to apply at a company that will be responsible for your practical training. Then you enroll for a degree course at the university your company cooperates with.

A list of dual vocational degree courses including companies that offer traineeships is available on the “Ausbildung Plus” portal. Simply enter “ausbildungsintegriertes duales Studium” in the search field. Please make sure to apply early, as these degree courses are very popular. On azubi.de, you will find more information about dual vocational degrees in German language.

Bachelor

Der Bachelor ist ein erster Studienabschluss, welcher in allen europäischen und vielen anderen Ländern weltweit anerkannt ist. Bachelor, Magister Atrium und Diplom werden als „grundständige Studien“ bezeichnet. Anders als für einen Masterstudiengang, benötigen Sie keinen akademischen Abschluss um ein grundständiges Studium zu beginnen. Meist müssen Sie drei bis vier Jahre studieren, um einen Bachelorabschluss zu machen. Während des Studiums lernen Sie die Grundlagen Ihres Fachs. Nach dem erfolgreichen Abschluss erhalten Sie einen Titel: In den Geisteswissenschaften erhalten Sie zum Beispiel einen Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), in den Naturwissenschaften einen Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) und im Ingenieurwesen einen Bachelor of Engineering (B.Eng.). Sobald Sie den Bachelorabschluss haben, sind Sie auf einem niedrigen Level für den Arbeitsmarkt qualifiziert. Wenn Sie weiter studieren wollen, können Sie sich für einen Masterstudiengang bewerben. Auf der Website studis-online.de finden Sie alle Bachelorstudiengänge in Deutschland.

Master

Der Master ist ein zweiter Studienabschluss, also ein sogenannter „postgradualer Abschluss“. Einen Masterstudiengang können Sie nur mit einem anerkannten Bachelorabschluss beginnen. Generell brauchen Sie ein bis zwei Jahre um einen Master abzulegen. Während des Studiums erweitern Sie Ihr Wissen in Ihrem Fach und spezialisieren sich in eine Richtung. Nach dem erfolgreichen Abschluss erhalten Sie einen Titel:  In den Geisteswissenschaften erhalten Sie zum Beispiel einen Master of Arts (M.A.), in den Naturwissenschaften einen Master of Science (M.Sc.) und im Ingenieurwesen einen Master of Engineering (M.Eng.). Sobald Sie einen Abschluss haben, können Sie auf einem höheren Niveau auf dem Arbeitsmarkt einsteigen. Auf der Website studis-online.de finden Sie alle Masterstudiengänge in Deutschland.

Staatsexamen

Manche Studienfächer sind nicht Teil des Bachelor- oder Mastersystems. Wenn Sie zum Beispiel Arzt, Anwalt, Lehrer oder Apotheker werden wollen, müssen Sie am Ende Ihres Studiums offizielle staatliche Prüfungen – sogenannte Staatsexamina - absolvieren. Sobald Sie alle Pflichtfächer absolviert haben, können Sie das erste Staatsexamen ablegen. Wenn Sie bestehen, müssen Sie für eine bestimmte Zeit eine Art Praktikum absolvieren. Diese Zeit wird Referendariat oder Vorbereitungszeit genannt. Danach können Sie das zweite Staatsexamen machen. Wenn Sie bestehen, dürfen Sie danach in Ihrem studierten Beruf arbeiten. Die Staatsexamina werden staatlich von den Bundesländern geregelt und nicht von der Universität. Das heißt, dass das Staatsexamen überall gleich ist, egal an welcher Universität in Deutschland Sie studieren.

Doktor

Wenn Sie bereits einen Masterabschluss oder einen Magister Atrium oder ein Diplom nach dem alten System haben und weiter akademisch Karriere machen wollen, können Sie einen Doktor machen. Abhängig von Ihrem Fach, kann es zwei oder mehr Jahre dauern um für Ihre Dissertation zu forschen, sie zu schreiben und schließlich zu publizieren. Wenn Sie einen Doktor machen möchten, müssen Sie zuerst einen Doktorvater oder eine Doktormutter finden, die Sie betreut. Nachdem Sie einen Betreuer gefunden haben, können Sie sich an der Universität für ein Doktoratsstudium einschreiben.

Duales Studium

Ein ausbildungsintegriertes duales Studium ist ein spezieller Studiengang, der ein theoretisches Studium an einer Hochschule mit einer Ausbildung in einem Betrieb verbindet. Duale Studiengänge sind besonders in Bereich Wirtschaft und Ingenieurwesen üblich.

Anders als ein reguläres Studium ist ein duales Studium weniger wissenschaftlich. An der Universität oder an der Berufsakademie lernen Sie die Theorie und im Unternehmen die Praxis. Durch die große Praxiserfahrung ist es nach dem Abschluss oft einfacher eine Arbeit zu finden. In der Zeit, die Sie im Unternehmen sind, verdienen Sie auch Geld wie in einer dualen Berufsausbildung.

Duale Studien dauern in der Regel zwischen drei und fünf Jahren. Meistens dauert der berufliche Ausbildungsteil zwei Jahre, damit Sie genügend Zeit für das Studium haben. Für ein duales Studium brauchen Sie eine Hochschulzugangsberechtigung. Zuerst sollten Sie sich bei einem Unternehmen für die Ausbildung bewerben. Danach schreiben Sie sich bei der Universität ein, mit der das Unternehmen kooperiert.

Eine Liste aller ausbildungsintegrierter dualer Studiengänge und Ausbildungsbetriebe erhalten Sie bei “Ausbildung Plus”. Geben Sie “ausbildungsintegriertes duales Studium” in das Suchfeld ein. Weil sehr viele sich für diese Ausbildungsplätze bewerben, sollten Sie sich früh bewerben. Auf der Website azubi.de finden Sie mehr Informationen zum dualen Studium auf Deutsch.