When can I get a divorce?

When a person assumes his/her marriage has ultimately failed, he or she may think of divorce. To prevent couples from prematurely ending their marriage, in Germany, there is a so-called "year of separation" ("Trennungsjahr") couples need to go through before the official divorce; i.e. you cannot be divorced until you live separately from your spouse for at least one year.

However, there are exceptions to this general rule:

  • If you cannot be expected to wait for a year, your divorce may take place faster. You may be exempt from spending a year of separation, e.g. if your spouse was frequently and certifiably violent against you, or if you or your partner has been in an extramarital relationship for months, or when one of you is expecting a child from an extramarital relationship.
  • If your partner does not agree to a divorce and presents valid reasons why your marriage has not ultimately failed, you need to live separately for three (instead of just one) years before you can officially get a divorce.

You need to prove that you have actually been living separately for one (or three) year(s). The year of separation begins immediately after the couple separate economically and physically, i.e. when your bank accounts are not joint anymore and you no longer live in the same apartment. If moving out is not possible and you still have to live together during the year of separation, you must have separate bedrooms and live independently from each other. If your partner does not agree with the separation, it is recommended to send him a registered letter ("Einschreiben") declaring your decision for divorce and to keep the postal receipt.

Important: You can submit the divorce application shortly before the end of the year(s) of separation, as it usually takes a few months before the court issues a divorce decree.

How can I apply for a divorce?

A divorce must be applied for at the Family Court at your place of residence or that of your partner. However, you cannot apply personally, as you are obliged to be represented by a lawyer in the court ("Anwaltzwang"). In other words, you have to hire a lawyer who can submit your application to the court. On this Lawyers Database, you can find a lawyer in your area.

It suffices if one of the partners hires a lawyer to submit the divorce application to the Family Court. The other party will then be informed about the application by the court and can decide whether he or she agrees. It is also possible for both partners to apply for a divorce, but, in this case, both spouses must apply to the same law firm.

What costs should I expect?

In a divorce process, the court's and the lawyers' service fees should be covered by the couple. The court fees usually amount to 450- 800 €; i.e. you and your partner each have to pay between € 225 to € 400.

To apply for divorce at the Family Court, you also need a lawyer. In case there are many unresolved issues which you cannot agree upon outside the court, your lawyer can help you find the best attainable solution for both of you. If you do not have a lawyer while your partner does, ultimately, the court's decisions may not be in your favour, when it comes to financial issues and custody rights.

A divorce lawyer’s service costs an average of € 1,500 to € 2,000. If there is a dispute between partners, the costs rise accordingly. When choosing a lawyer, make sure that he/she specialises in the subject of family and divorce laws. If your right of residence has been obtained through marriage, it may be helpful to hire a lawyer who is familiar with the topics of residence right and international law.

If you have little or no income, you can apply for state assistance to cover your legal costs ("Verfahrenskostenhilfe"). You can learn more in our chapter “Legal Aid”.

What issues do I need to settle for a divorce?

There are several issues to settle in most divorces:

  • If you have not entered into a prenuptial agreement (“Ehevertrag”), the assets generated during the marriage will be divided between the partners in the event of a divorce. This rule is called "property equalisation" rule ("Vermögensausgleich" or "Zugewinnausgleich"). However, it does not apply to the assets which a spouse owned prior to the marriage. If you have agreed in a prenuptial agreement that your entire property belongs to both spouses ("Gütergemeinschaft"), everything will be divided between you and your partner. In case you have both indicated in your prenuptial agreement that the assets generated during the marriage will not be shared ("Gütertrennung"), then both partners keep their property and nothing needs to be divided.
  • Do your best to come to a mutual agreement about the ownership of the assets with your spouse outside the court. If a mutual agreement is not possible, your lawyer can help you to file a claim for property equalisation at the Family Court- keep in mind that filing such a claim will increase the service fees you are required to pay to your lawyer and the court.
  • In case of a divorce (and also during the “Trennungsjahr”), usually, one of the spouses is obliged to pay maintenance. In other words, if you are unable to provide for yourself, your spouse is obliged to support you financially. This obligation applies to your spouse when you cannot earn a living due to childcare, old age, health conditions, unemployment or if you are in vocational training. In these cases, your spouse is also obliged to provide financial support for the children you have together, if they live with you. The amount of maintenance payment you receive depends on the financial conditions during the marriage. However, it is important to keep in mind that your spouse needs to earn enough and support himself as well. According to family law, you cannot demand financial support when your spouse does not earn enough money. In case your spouse is not able to pay maintenance while you have little to no income, you can receive state benefits. If possible, come to a mutual agreement about maintenance payments outside the court. If this is not possible, you can file a court order with the help of your lawyer. Involving the lawyer and the court, however, will increase your legal costs.
  • If you have children together, you need to clarify with whom the children will live in the future and whether you will share their custody or not. If only one of the parents takes on the children's custody (“Sorgerecht”), he, he or she will be solely responsible for the children's upbringing. The parent who has the custody decides, for instance, which kindergarten or school the children go to, with whom they interact and where they live. According to the “Parental visiting rights” ("Umgangsrecht"), the parent who does not have the right of custody is entitled to see his children regularly. You and your spouse can reach a mutual agreement on these issues outside the court. Only if you fail to come to an agreement, will the court intervene and decide about custody and visiting rights. In this case, the main priority is always the wellbeing of the children. Try your best to reach an agreement on child custody and visiting rights outside the court. If you cannot agree, you can file a claim in the court with the help of your lawyer. Involving the lawyer in the conflict, however, will increase your legal fees.
  • After the divorce, a so-called "pension sharing" rule ("Versorgumgsausgleich") applies to the couples' pension entitlement. In principle, the longer you have worked and the more you have earned, the higher the amount of pension you will receive. In a marriage, however, often one spouse stays at home, for instance, to care for the children. So, he or she will be entitled to a lower pension compared to the other person. In the case of a divorce, the person with the more substantial pension entitlement must hand over part of his pension rights to his/her partner. During the divorce process, the Family Court decides what portion of a person’s pension rights must be transferred to the spouse.

Important: If you and your partner disagree on your rights and obligations after divorce, you can try mediation before taking matters to the Family Court. Mediation can save you a great deal of time and money. Mediation means you and your partner try to find a solution to all disputed issues regarding childcare, custody, etc., with the help of a consultant. You can negotiate and agree on everything- however, the court is the only authority which calculates and decides the portion of pension rights to be shared. Here you can search for a divorce mediation service in your district.

What is the divorce process like?

The first step is to hire a lawyer who can submit the divorce application to the court. The Family Court reviews your application and sends it to your partner asking for his/her response. At the same time, the court will send you and your partner some forms you must fill out, so that your pension rights will be checked to calculate the amount of pension rights which must be transferred. The calculation process can take up to six months. When everything is resolved, the court will give you an appointment for an official divorce.

You, your spouse, and your lawyer(s) must be present in the Family Court on the designated date. You and your spouse must present your ID cards, passports and (if applicable) family register. If you have married in Germany, you can ask the relevant Civil Registry Office ("Standesamt") for a copy of your family register. The Family Court sessions are not public, which means spectators or guests are not allowed in the courtroom. The court will settle any unresolved problems between you and then formally declare you divorced; i.e. issues you a "divorce decree" ("Scheidungsbeschluss").

The length of your divorce process depends on the duration of your marriage as well as your wealth. In general, if you and your spouse agree on all issues, are neither very wealthy and have not been married for long, at least four to six months can be expected before you can officially dissolve your marriage. If there are disputes over assets, maintenance payments or custody rights, or in case you have been married for a long time, the divorce process may take a year or more.

Can I lose my residence permit because of a divorce?

If you have obtained your residence permit due to your marriage, you may lose your right of residence after the divorce. If you have come to Germany through family reunification and have not applied for family asylum, your residence permit depends on the continuation of your marriage. That is also the case when your marriage is the only reason you have been issued a residence permit in Germany. The decisive factor here is the length of your marriage: If you have been married for more than three years, your residence permit will be renewed for another year after the divorce. After one year, you can apply for the right of residence in Germany independently. If you have been married for less than three years, your residence permit will usually not be extended and is often even shortened if you separate from your spouse. In other words, the Immigration Office can ask you to leave Germany after the official divorce. However, you can file a lawsuit against the shortening of your original residence permit. To do so, you need to hire a lawyer in due time. To find a lawyer in your area who specialises in advising refugees, you can check websites like www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de.

In certain circumstances, your residence permit will be renewed even after less than three years of marriage:

  • If you have a child with your partner, share custody, have regular contact with the child and, (ideally) financially provide for the child, your residence permit is usually extended despite the divorce. You can learn more in our chapter “Born in Germany”.
  • If you terminate the marriage because your partner has been repeatedly and certifiably using violence against you, your residence permit will usually be extended. Any existing criminal charges against your partner or a statement from a women's shelter you had to move to are considered to be valid pieces of evidence in this case.
  • When the revocation of your residence permit means that you must return to a country in which you are in danger, in principle, your residence permit will be extended.
  • In some cases, it is also possible to extend the residence permit after the divorce if you are a skilled worker or a vocational trainee ("Ausbildung"). 

The best is to seek advice from a counselling centre or a lawyer. At www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de you can find lawyers who specialise in the legal issues related to refugees and asylum seekers.  Alternatively, you can seek advice from PRO ASYL.

What other consequences might a divorce have?

  • You can apply to the Civil Registry Office to assume your old family name; in case you have changed yours after the marriage. You are free, however, to keep the family name of your former spouse.
  • Since you are not married anymore, your tax class ("Steuerklasse”) will change. Learn more in our chapter “German Tax System”.

What does an annulment of marriage ("Aufhebung der Ehe") mean?

The annulment of a marriage is not equivalent to a divorce. If annulled, a marriage is terminated by a court order because it was not registered according to the marriage regulations in Germany. A marriage may be annulled when:

  • it has taken place despite a marriage restriction.
  • one of the partners was not legally capable of entering a marriage contract at the time of marriage.
  • one of the partners was not of legal age at the time of marriage.
  • the marriage is a result of deception or threat.
  • the marriage is a so-called "marriage of convenience" ("Scheinehe").

You can learn more in our chapter „Marriage“.

Wann kann ich mich scheiden lassen?

Sie können sich scheiden lassen, wenn Ihre Ehe endgültig gescheitert ist. Damit niemand vorschnell eine Ehe beendet, gibt es in Deutschland das sogenannte „Trennungsjahr“. Das bedeutet, dass Sie sich erst nach Ablauf eines Jahres, das Sie getrennt verbracht haben, scheiden lassen können.

Von dieser Regelung gibt es allerdings Ausnahmen:

  • Wenn es Ihnen nicht zuzumuten ist dieses Jahr abzuwarten, kann Ihre Scheidung auch schneller vollzogen werden. Eine unzumutbare Härte liegt z.B. vor, wenn Ihr Ehepartner häufig und nachweisbar gewalttätig gegen Sie war oder wenn Sie oder Ihr Partner ein Kind von einem anderen Partner erwarten oder wenn einer von Ihnen monatelang ein außereheliches Verhältnis hatte.
  • Wenn Ihr Partner sich nicht scheiden lassen möchte und gute Gründe vorbringen kann, warum die Ehe noch nicht endgültig gescheitert ist, müssen Sie drei statt nur ein Jahr in Trennung gelebt haben, bevor ein Gericht Sie voneinander scheiden kann.

Dass Sie tatsächlich seit einem bzw. drei Jahren getrennt sind, müssen Sie gegebenenfalls nachweisen. Das Trennungsjahr beginnt, sobald Sie wirtschaftlich und räumlich getrennte Wege gehen. Das heißt, dass Sie Ihre Konten trennen und nicht mehr in einer Wohnung leben oder - falls das nicht möglich ist - zumindest nicht mehr in einem Bett schlafen und getrennte Haushalte führen. Falls Ihr Partner nicht mit der Trennung einverstanden ist, empfiehlt es sich, ihm ein Einschreiben mit Ihrem Trennungswunsch zu schicken und Ihren Beleg darüber aufzubewahren.

Wichtig: Sie können den Scheidungsantrag bereits kurz vor Ablauf des Trennungsjahrs bzw. der Trennungsjahre stellen, da bis zur Entscheidung des Gerichts in der Regel einige Monate vergehen.

Wie kann ich die Scheidung beantragen?

Eine Scheidung muss beim Familiengericht an Ihrem Wohnort oder dem Wohnort Ihres Partners beantragt werden. Das können Sie allerdings nicht selbst tun, da hier Anwaltszwang besteht. Das bedeutet, dass Sie für Ihre Scheidung einen Anwalt beauftragen müssen, der Ihren Antrag bei Gericht einreicht. Einen Anwalt in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie zum Beispiel auf anwaltauskunft.de.

Es genügt, wenn einer von Ihnen einen Anwalt beauftragt, der den Antrag bei Gericht stellt. Ihr Partner wird dann vom Gericht über den Antrag informiert und kann diesem zustimmen oder ihn ablehnen. Sie können aber auch beide einen Antrag stellen. In diesem Fall brauchen Sie beide einen Anwalt.

Mit welchen Kosten muss ich rechnen?

Bei einem Scheidungsverfahren fallen sowohl Gerichtskosten als auch Anwaltskosten an.

Die Gerichtskosten betragen in der Regel 450€ bis 800€. Das heißt, dass Sie und Ihr Partner jeweils 225€ bis 400€ an das Gericht zahlen müssen.

Um Ihre Scheidung beim Familiengericht zu beantragen, brauchen Sie einen Anwalt. Wenn es viele Dinge zwischen Ihnen und Ihrem Partner zu regeln gibt und Sie sich nicht in allem einig sind, kann ein Anwalt Ihnen außerdem helfen, die für Sie beste Lösung zu finden. Wenn nur Ihr Partner einen Anwalt hat und Sie keinen Anwalt haben, könnte es passieren, dass Sie finanziell oder beim Sorgerecht für Ihre gemeinsame Kinder benachteiligt werden.

Ein Scheidungsanwalt kostet bei einer einvernehmlichen Scheidung durchschnittlich 1500€ bis 2000€. Wenn es Streit gibt, steigen die Kosten entsprechend. Achten Sie bei der Wahl des Anwalts darauf, dass er sich mit dem Thema Familienrecht und Scheidungsrecht auskennt. Es kann auch hilfreich sein, dass Ihr Anwalt sich mit dem Thema Aufenthaltsrecht und mit internationalem Recht auskennt, wenn Ihr Aufenthaltsrecht durch die Heirat entstanden ist.

Wenn Sie kein oder nur geringes Einkommen haben, können Sie Verfahrenskostenhilfe beantragen. Dann übernimmt der Staat Ihre Anwalts- und Gerichtskosten. Ihr Anwalt hilft Ihnen bei der Beantragung der Verfahrenskostenhilfe.

Was muss bei einer Scheidung geregelt werden?

  • Wenn Sie keinen Ehevertrag schließen, wird das während der Ehe erwirtschaftete Vermögen bei einer Scheidung zwischen den Partnern aufgeteilt. Das nennt man Vermögensausgleich oder Zugewinnausgleich. Vermögen, das ein Ehepartner in die Ehe eingebracht hat, wird hingegen nicht aufgeteilt. Wenn Sie in einem Ehevertrag vereinbart haben, dass Ihr gesamtes Vermögen beiden Ehepartnern gehört (Gütergemeinschaft) oder dass auch das während der Ehe erwirtschaftete Vermögen nicht aufgeteilt wird (Gütertrennung), wird entweder alles (Gütergemeinschaft) oder gar nichts (Gütertrennung) zwischen den Partnern aufgeteilt. Wenn möglich einigen Sie sich direkt mit Ihrem Partner über einen Vermögensausgleich. Sollte dies nicht möglich sein, können Sie mit Hilfe Ihres Anwalts einen entsprechenden Antrag auf Vermögensausgleich bei Gericht stellen. Das erhöht dann allerdings Ihre Anwalts- und Gerichtskosten.
  • Bei einer Scheidung und auch bereits im Trennungsjahr sind die Ehepartner einander unterhaltspflichtig. Das bedeutet, dass Ihr Ehepartner Ihren Lebensunterhalt bezahlen muss, wenn Sie selbst nicht in der Lage sind für Ihren Unterhalt zu sorgen. Zum Beispiel, weil Sie Ihre Kinder betreuen oder alt, krank, arbeitslos oder in Ausbildung sind. Ihr Ehepartner muss auch Ihren gemeinsamen Kindern Unterhalt bezahlen, wenn diese bei Ihnen wohnen. Wie hoch der Ihnen zustehende Unterhalt von Seiten Ihres ehemaligen Ehepartners ist, hängt von den finanziellen Verhältnissen während der Ehe ab. Dabei ist allerdings darauf zu achten, dass Ihr Ehepartner auch für seinen eigenen Lebensunterhalt noch genügend Geld haben muss. Das bedeutet, dass Sie laut Gesetz keinen Unterhalt von Ihrem Ehepartner bekommen, wenn er selbst nur wenig Geld verdient. Wenn Ihr Partner Ihnen keinen Unterhalt zahlen kann und Sie kein oder zu wenig Einkommen haben, bekommen Sie Unterstützung vom Staat.  Wenn möglich einigen Sie sich direkt mit Ihrem Partner über die Unterhaltszahlungen. Sollte dies nicht möglich sein, können Sie mit Hilfe Ihres Anwalts einen entsprechenden Antrag bei Gericht stellen. Das erhöht dann allerdings Ihre Anwalts- und Gerichtskosten.
  • Wenn Sie gemeinsame Kinder haben, müssen Sie regeln bei wem die Kinder in Zukunft wohnen werden und ob Sie sich das Sorgerecht teilen oder ob nur einer von Ihnen das Sorgerecht ausüben wird. Derjenige, der das Sorgerecht hat, ist für die Erziehung des Kindes verantwortlich. Er entscheidet z.B. in welchen Kindergarten oder in welche Schule das Kind geht, mit wem es Umgang hat und wo es wohnt. Umgangsrecht bedeutet, dass der Elternteil, bei dem das Kind in Zukunft nicht wohnen wird, das Recht hat sein Kind regelmäßig zu sehen. Sie können sich mit Ihrem Partner außergerichtlich über diese Punkte einigen. Nur wenn Sie nicht zu einer Einigung kommen, wird das Gericht eine Sorgerechts- und Umgangsregelung festsetzen. Dabei steht immer das Wohl des Kindes im Vordergrund. Wenn möglich einigen Sie sich direkt mit Ihrem Partner über das Sorge- und Umgangsrecht. Sollte dies nicht möglich sein, können Sie mit Hilfe Ihres Anwalts einen entsprechenden Antrag bei Gericht stellen. Das erhöht dann allerdings Ihre Anwalts- und Gerichtskosten.
  • Beim sogenannten Versorgungsausgleich geht es um Ihre Rentenansprüche. Ihre Rentenansprüche sind umso höher, je länger Sie gearbeitet haben und je mehr Sie verdient haben. Weil in einer Ehe oft einer der beiden Partner zuhause bleibt und sich z.B. um die Kinder kümmert, sind die Rentenansprüche eines der beiden Partner oft niedriger als die des anderen. Bei einer Scheidung muss derjenige mit den höheren Rentenansprüchen deswegen einen Teil seiner Ansprüche an den anderen Partner abgeben. Wie hoch dieser Anteil ist, wird vom Familiengericht beim Scheidungsverfahren berechnet.

Wichtig: Wenn Sie und Ihr Partner sich über diese Punkte nicht einig sind, können Sie es auch mit einer Mediation versuchen, statt alles vor Gericht zu klären. Das spart Zeit und Geld. Bei einer Mediation versuchen Sie und Ihr Partner angeleitet von einem Berater eine Lösung für alle strittigen Fragen bezüglich Unterhalt, Sorgerecht, usw. zu finden. Einzig der Versorgungsausgleich muss zwingend direkt vom Gericht ermittelt werden. Auf bmev.de finden Sie einen Mediator in Ihrer Nähe.

Wie läuft die Scheidung ab?

Zunächst muss Ihr Anwalt den Scheidungsantrag bei Gericht einreichen. Das Gericht prüft diesen Antrag und schickt ihn an Ihren Partner und bittet ihn um seine Stellungnahme. Gleichzeitig verschickt das Gericht Formulare an Sie und Ihren Partner, um Ihre Rentenansprüche für den Versorgungsausgleich zu ermitteln. Diese Berechnung kann bis zu sechs Monate dauern. Wenn alles geklärt ist, teilt das Gericht Ihnen einen Scheidungstermin mit. Zu diesem Termin müssen Sie beide und Ihr Anwalt bzw. Ihre Anwälte persönlich erscheinen. Sie müssen Ihren Ausweis, Ihren Reisepass und – wenn vorhanden - Ihr Familienregister vorlegen. Wenn Sie in Deutschland geheiratet haben, können Sie eine Kopie Ihres Familienregisters bei Ihrem Standesamt bekommen. Die Verhandlung vor dem Familiengericht ist nicht öffentlich, das bedeutet, dass keine Zuschauer oder Gäste anwesend sein dürfen. Das Gericht wird alle offenen Fragen klären und Sie dann offiziell voneinander scheiden. Das nennt man „Scheidungsbeschluss“.

Je nachdem wie lange Sie verheiratet waren und wie vermögend Sie sind, kann Ihr Scheidungsverfahren unterschiedlich lange dauern. Generell ist mit mindestens vier bis sechs Monaten zu rechnen, wenn Sie und Ihr Ehepartner sich über alle zu klärenden Punkte einig sind und Sie weder lange verheiratet waren noch sehr vermögend sind. Wenn es Streitigkeiten über die Vermögenswerte oder den Unterhalt oder das Sorgerecht gibt oder wenn Sie lange verheiratet waren, kann das Verfahren ein Jahr oder länger dauern.

Kann ich durch eine Scheidung meinen Aufenthaltstitel verlieren?

Wenn Sie Ihren Aufenthaltstitel durch die Heirat bekommen haben, kann es passieren, dass Sie Ihr Aufenthaltsrecht verlieren. Wenn Sie also z.B. im Rahmen des Familiennachzugs nach Deutschland gekommen sind und kein Familienasyl beantragt haben oder wenn Sie Ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis nur aufgrund der Heirat bekommen haben, ist Ihr Aufenthaltsrecht in der Regel vom Fortbestehen der Ehe abhängig. Entscheidend ist hier, wie lange Sie in Deutschland verheiratet waren: Wenn Sie länger als drei Jahre in Deutschland verheiratet waren, wird Ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis nach der Scheidung um ein weiteres Jahr verlängert. Im Anschluss an dieses Jahr können Sie versuchen ein eigenständiges Aufenthaltsrecht zu bekommen. Wenn Sie weniger als drei Jahre verheiratet waren, wird Ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis in der Regel nicht verlängert und oft sogar verkürzt. Das bedeutet, dass die Ausländerbehörde Ihnen nach der Scheidung bzw. bereits nach der offiziellen Trennung eine Aufforderung zur Ausreise zuschicken kann. Gegen diese Verkürzung Ihrer ursprünglichen Aufenthaltserlaubnis können Sie Klage einreichen. Kontaktieren Sie dazu einen Anwalt. Einen Anwalt in Ihrer Nähe können Sie z.B. unter www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de finden.

Es gibt aber auch Umstände, die Ihnen auch nach weniger als drei Jahren Ehe eine Verlängerung Ihrer Aufenthaltserlaubnis ermöglichen:

  • Wenn Sie ein gemeinsames Kind haben und sich das Sorgerecht teilen sowie regelmäßig Umgang mit dem Kind haben und – falls möglich – Unterhalt für das Kind zahlen, wird Ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis in der Regel verlängert.
  • Wenn Sie die Ehe beenden, weil Ihr Partner wiederholt und nachweisbar gegen Sie gewalttätig war, wird Ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis in der Regel verlängert. Die Gewalttätigkeit können Sie z.B. durch Strafanzeigen oder Frauenhausaufenthalte nachweisen.
  • Wenn Sie in ein Land zurückkehren müssten, in dem Sie in Gefahr sind, wird Ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis in der Regel verlängert.
  • In einigen Fällen ist es auch möglich die Aufenthaltserlaubnis durch die Aufnahme einer qualifizierten Beschäftigung oder Ausbildung zu verlängern. Lassen Sie sich dazu von einer Beratungsstelle oder einen Anwalt beraten. Unter www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de können Sie Anwälte finden, die auf die Beratung von Geflüchteten und Asylsuchenden spezialisiert sind. Auch PRO ASYL bietet Beratung an.

Was für weitere Folgen hat eine Scheidung?

  • Sie können beim Standesamt beantragen, dass Sie in Zukunft wieder Ihren alten Familiennamen führen. Sie dürfen aber auch den Familiennamen Ihres ehemaligen Partners behalten.
  • Da Sie nun wieder ledig sind, ändert sich Ihre Steuerklasse. Mehr zum Thema Steuern erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Das deutsche Steuersystem".

Was ist eine Aufhebung der Ehe?

Die Aufhebung einer Ehe ist nicht gleichbedeutend mit einer Scheidung. Bei einer Aufhebung wird eine Ehe durch einen Gerichtsbeschluss beendet, weil die Eheschließung nicht korrekt war. Eine Ehe kann aufgehoben werden, wenn:

  • Sie trotz eines Eheverbots geschlossen wurde.
  • Einer der Partner bei der Eheschließung nicht geschäftsfähig war.
  • Einer der Partner bei der Eheschließung nicht volljährig war.
  • Täuschung oder Drohung zur Eheschließung geführt haben.
  • Es sich um eine Scheinehe handelt.

Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Heirat".