Is my driving licence valid in Germany?

To drive in Germany, in principle, you need a driving licence issued in Germany or another EU country. Driving licenses from non-EU countries are only valid for six months in Germany. This means that you are only allowed to drive in Germany with a driver's license from your home country for the first six months. The period begins with your first police registration ("polizeilichen Anmeldung") in Germany. You must always carry your driving licence with you when driving.

You must also have a translation of your driver's license into German with you. The translation must have been done by a German or internationally recognized automobile club or an authority in your home country or by a sworn translator. You can find sworn translators at bdue.de. No translation is required for driving licenses issued from the following countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Andorra, Hong Kong, Monaco, New Zealand, San Marino, Switzerland and Senegal. You don't need a translation for international driving licenses either.

At the end of these six months, you need to transfer your driving licence ("Umschreibung") if you wish to continue driving. You can read more about the transfer process in the section "Where and how can I have my driving licence transferred?"

If you are only visiting Germany, you are allowed to drive with the driving licence you have obtained in your home country or an international driving licence. Keep in mind that you must always have your driving licence with you when driving. You can read more (in English and German) on the website of the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI).

Please note: During your asylum procedure, BAMF keeps all your documents and often return them only at the end of the procedure. You are not allowed to drive as long as your driving licence is held by the BAMF.

How and where can I register my driving licence?

If your driving licence is not issued in Germany or another EU country, you must have it transferred ("Umschreibung") at the latest six months after your first police registration in Germany.

In order to start the transfer process, you need to apply to the local Driving Licence Office (“Fahrerlaubnisbehörde” or “Führerscheinstelle”). Depending on where you live and the number applicants, it may take a while before they process your application. Start the transfer process before your initial six months are over to make sure you do not lose time. You can find a Driving Licence Office by using the search engine on www.meldebox.de. You have to go personally to a Driving Licence Office and submit various documents. Read the section "Which documents do I need for the transfer?" to find out about the required documents.

The Driving Licence Office then decides whether your driving licence can be transferred without a test or you first have to take part in the theory and practical exams. Their decision depends on the country from which your driving licence has been issued. You can find a list of national driving licences, which are transferred without further tests on www.gesetze-im-internet.de. If your driving licence has been issued in a country named in this list, in principle, you can have your driving licence transferred without a test. Otherwise, you often have to pass a test.

Before the exam, it makes sense to visit a driving school. Germany has numerous traffic rules and street signs. But unlike the first-timers, if you already have a driving licence issued abroad, you do not need driving lessons.

What documents do I need for a transfer?

The following documents have to be submitted along with your transfer application:

  • ID or passport
  • Registration certificate (“polizeiliche Anmeldung)”)
  • Biometric passport photo
  • Your eye test results (“Sehtest”) issued by an optician or ophthalmologist
  • Confirmation of participation in a first aid course. You can find a first aid course nearby, for instance, on ASB or Johannitern.
  • Original driving licence issued in your country of origin (handing in an international licence is not adequate). In principle, the driving licence must be translated into German by a sworn translator.
  • A statement that confirms the driving licence issued in your homeland is still valid.

Sometimes the driving licence authorities ask applicants for a certificate of good conduct (“polizeiliches Führungszeugnis”) as well. You can receive such a document from your local administration authorities or apply for it online at  www.fuehrungszeugnis.bund.de.

Please note: If you are applying for driving licence classes other than A (Motorcycles and alike) and B (Cars), you need to present some additional documents. You can learn more in this regard on the website of BMVI.

How can I obtain a German driving licence?

If you want to apply for a driving licence for the first time, this is what you have to do:

  • Register at a driving school (“Fahrschule”). In big cities, you can find instructors who speak other languages, including Arabic or Persian/Dari.
  • Take part in a first aid course (“Erste Hilfe”)
  • Have your eyes checked by an optician or ophthalmologist (“Sehtest”)
  • Take a biometric passport photo

If you want to apply for a licence in the categories C (lorries) or D (Buses), you need to present some additional documents. On the website of BMVI, you can find a summary of all available driving licence categories.

Please note: As someone with a “Duldung” or Temporary Stay Permit (“Aufenthaltsgestattung”), you can also apply for and obtain a driving licence.

How much does obtaining a German driving licence cost?

The driving licence can cost over 1000 euro if you add up all the costs. The price depends on the number of driving lessons you have to take. The costs of theory lessons and the driving lessons comprise the most significant slice of the sum. Whether you have to take theory lessons depends on various things. Some driving lessons are mandatory for beginners (e.g. highway, night or overland trips).

It will be up to your instructor to decide how many lessons you need. You can’t register for the driving test until your instructor is convinced that you can drive safely. Each driving school has different prices for driving lessons. Compared to the cost of driving lessons, the fees for the actual theory and driving tests are not significant. As an example, you can see the prices of obtaining a driving exam in Bavaria and Baden-Württemberg on www.tuev-sued.de.

Please note: If you are unemployed and think you can increase your chances in the job market by obtaining a driving licence, ask the Jobcentre to take over the occurring costs. Talk to the staff member responsible for you and explain your plans.

What does the theory test look like?

To obtain a German driving licence, you need to pass both your theory and your practical driving tests. In fact, you must pass the theory test before you can go through a driving test.

You can take the theory test in 12 different languages: German, English, French, Greek, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Croatian, Spanish, Turkish and Arabic (Standard Arabic).

The theory test includes 30 multiple-choice questions. There may be several correct answers to one question. If you receive more than ten minus points, you will fail the test.

Your driving school will register you for the theory test. You will need to present the following documents to be allowed to take the theory test:

  • ID or passport
  • An appointment letter
  • Training certificate issued by your driving school (if you never had a driving licence before)

The results of the theory test are valid for one year. If you fail the driving test and want to try again after 12 months, you have to go through the theory test once more.

There are various websites, In order to prepare for the theory test, you can use websites like www.lehrboegen.de or www.fuehrerschein-bestehen.de which offer exercises in various languages. In addition, you can use apps and other online tools. Few of these apps come for free, so it is best to ask your driving instructor for learning materials.

What does a practical driving test look like?

If you have passed the theory exam, you can take the driving test. It often takes between 30 to 45 minutes during which you have to demonstrate your ability to drive. Usually the examiner sits in the back seat. They will assess your driving for safety, competence and calmness. Your instructor will sit next to you, so they take control in case of an emergency.

If you don’t pass the exam on the first go, you can repeat it three times after two-week intervals. There is no limit to the number of times you can repeat the exam, but the intervals will become longer after your third unsuccessful attempt.

Can I lose my driving licence?

If you ignore vital traffic rules, you may lose your driving licence. Keep in mind that a driving ban ("Fahrverbot")  is not the same as a withdrawal of driving licence ("Entzug des Führerscheins"). In the event of a driving ban, you must hand in your driving licence to the Traffic Violations Office ("Bußgeldstelle") for a specified period (usually a few months). You cannot drive during this time; but after the deadline, you can pick up your driving licence again. In case of a withdrawal of driving licence, your driving licence loses its validity. That means you are no longer allowed to drive and you are not permitted to apply for a new driving licence for a specified period ("Sperrfrist" or lock-up period). If you endanger traffic, drive while drunk or collected eight penalty points, you may lose your driving licence. You may get penalty points for various traffic law violations, e.g. driving too fast. The penalty points are colloquially called "Punkte in Flensburg". Officially, the system which records the penalty points is called Fahreignungsregister – FAER.

You can find a list of traffic fines on the “Bußgeldkatalog – BkatV”, but the wordings of the catalogue is quite challenging to comprehend. Find an extract of the most common violations and fines on www.bussgeld-info.de.

If you have lost your driving licence due to driving under the influence of alcohol, drug or medications, you have to do a medical and psychological examination (“Medizinisch-Psychologische Untersuchung” or “MPU”) which is colloquially known as “Idiotentest” or idiot’s test. Read more about the MPU on the website of TÜV Süd or Dekra.

Please note: When you obtain a driving licence for the first time, as a beginner, you are going to be on a probationary period ("Probezeit ") for two years. If you are caught for a traffic violation during your probationary period, you have to attend an advanced training course and perhaps go through psychological counselling. In addition, your probationary period will be extended for two more years. If you do not participate in the advanced training course and the counselling session, your driving licence will be seized. Passing a red light, drive with the lights off during the night and drunk driving are some examples of traffic violations. Parking in a No-Parking zone is not considered as a traffic violation. If you park in the wrong place, you only have to pay a fine.

Can I buy a car despite receiving benefits from the Jobcentre?

If you receive benefits from the Jobcentre, the Jobcentre steadily inquires about your assets when you apply for the continuation of your benefits. Cars are a type of asset. If your vehicle is worth less than € 7,500, however, there is no problem. But if it costs more, the Jobcentre may require you to sell it and live off the proceeds before you can receive benefits.

Please note: If you absolutely need a car to find or keep a job, the Jobcentre can help you buy a car by providing you with a loan. Talk to the staff member responsible for you at the Jobcentre.

Ist mein Führerschein in Deutschland gültig?

Um in Deutschland selbst fahren zu dürfen, brauchen Sie in der Regel einen Führerschein aus Deutschland oder einem anderen EU-Staat. Ihr Führerschein aus Ihrem Heimatland ist nur für sechs Monate in Deutschland gültig. Die sechs Monate beginnen mit Ihrer ersten polizeilichen Anmeldung in Deutschland. Sie müssen Ihren Führerschein immer bei sich haben, wenn Sie fahren. Nach Ablauf dieser sechs Monate müssen Sie Ihren Führerschein umschreiben lassen, wenn Sie weiter selbst fahren wollen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie im Abschnitt „Wo und wie kann ich meinen Führerschein umschreiben lassen?“

Wenn Sie Deutschland nur besuchen, dürfen Sie mit Ihrem ausländischen oder einem internationalen Führerschein fahren. Sie müssen Ihren Führerschein immer bei sich haben, wenn Sie fahren. Auf der Internetseite des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) können Sie mehr dazu auf Englisch und Deutsch lesen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Während Ihres Asylverfahrens bleiben all Ihre Dokumente beim BAMF. Sie bekommen sie in der Regel erst zurück, wenn Ihr Asylverfahren abgeschlossen ist. Solange Ihr Führerschein beim BAMF ist, dürfen Sie selbst nicht Auto fahren.

Wo und wie kann ich meinen Führerschein umschreiben lassen?

Wenn Sie Ihren Führerschein nicht in Deutschland oder einem anderen EU-Staat gemacht haben, müssen Sie ihn spätestens sechs Monate nach Ihrer ersten polizeilichen Anmeldung in Deutschland umschreiben lassen.

Der erste Schritt zur Umschreibung ist die Anmeldung bei Ihrer lokalen Fahrerlaubnisbehörde oder Führerscheinstelle. Je nachdem, wie viele Anträge dort gestellt werden, kann es etwas dauern, bis Sie eine Antwort bekommen. Um sicher zu sein, dass Sie keine Zeit verlieren, sollten Sie den Antrag einreichen, bevor die sechs Monate um sind. Die für Sie zuständige Führerscheinstelle können Sie auf meldebox.de finden. Sie müssen persönlich zur Führerscheinstelle gehen und dort verschiedene Dokumente vorlegen. Welche Dokumente Sie mitbringen müssen, erfahren Sie im Abschnitt „Welche Dokumente brauche ich für die Umschreibung?“

Die Führerscheinstelle entscheidet dann, ob Ihr Führerschein ohne Prüfung umgeschrieben werden kann oder ob Sie zunächst die Theorie- und Praxisprüfung machen müssen. Das hängt davon ab, in welchem Land Sie Ihren Führerschein gemacht haben. Wenn Sie Ihren Führerschein in einem Land aus dieser Liste des Bundesamts für Justiz gemacht haben, können Sie Ihren Führerschein in der Regel ohne Prüfung umschreiben lassen. Bei Führerscheinen aus anderen Ländern müssen Sie normalerweise vorher die Prüfung ablegen.

Vor der Prüfung ist es gut eine Fahrschule zu besuchen. Deutschland hat sehr viele Verkehrsregeln und Schilder. Im Gegensatz zu denjenigen, die das erste Mal den Führerschein machen, müssen Sie aber keine Fahrstunden nehmen.

Welche Dokumente brauche ich für die Umschreibung?

Bei der Anmeldung für die Umschreibung Ihres Führerscheins müssen Sie die folgenden Unterlagen mitbringen:

  • Ausweis oder Pass
  • Meldebestätigung (polizeiliche Anmeldung)
  • biometrisches Passbild
  • Bescheinigung über einen Sehtest (von einem Optiker oder einem Augenarzt)
  • Bestätigung über die Teilnahme an einem Erste-Hilfe-Kurs. Einen Kurs in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie z.B. beim ASB oder bei den Johannitern.
  • Ihren ausländischen Führerschein im Original (ein internationaler Führerschein reicht nicht). In der Regel müssen Sie zusätzlich eine beglaubigte deutsche Übersetzung vorlegen.
  • eine Erklärung, dass Ihr ausländischer Führerschein noch gültig ist.

In Einzelfällen verlangt die Fahrerlaubnisbehörde auch ein polizeiliches Führungszeugnis. Dieses Zeugnis bekommen Sie von Ihrer Stadt- oder Kreisverwaltung vor Ort oder online auf fuehrungszeugnis.bund.de.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie sich für andere Klassen als A (Motorrad und ähnliches) und B (Autos) bewerben, brauchen Sie zusätzliche Nachweise. Mehr dazu finden Sie auf der Website des BMVI.

Wie kann ich einen deutschen Führerschein machen?

Um einen Führerschein das erste Mal zu machen, gehen Sie wie folgt vor:

  • Melden Sie sich bei einer Fahrschule an. In großen Städten gibt es Fahrschulen mit Fahrlehrern die Arabisch und Persisch sprechen.
  • Nehmen Sie an einem Erste-Hilfe-Kurs teil.
  • Machen Sie einen Sehtest bei einem Optiker oder einem Augenarzt.
  • Lassen Sie ein biometrisches Passbild machen.

Wenn Sie einen Führerschein der Klassen C (Lkw) oder D (Busse) machen möchten, brauchen Sie weitere Unterlagen. Einen Überblick zu den Führerscheinklassen finden Sie auf der Website des BMVI.

Bitte beachten Sie: Sie können auch als Inhaber*in einer Duldung oder einer Aufenthaltsgestattung einen Führerschein machen.

Wieviel kostet der deutsche Führerschein?

Der Führerschein kann über 1.000 Euro kosten, wenn Sie alle Kosten zusammenrechnen. Der Preis hängt von der Anzahl der Fahrstunden ab, die Sie nehmen müssen. Der Theorieunterricht und die Fahrstunden sind das Teuerste am deutschen Führerschein. Ob Sie Unterricht nehmen müssen, hängt von mehreren Dingen ab. Es gibt Pflichtstunden und spezielle Fahrstunden (Autobahn, Nacht, Überland), wenn Sie den Führerschein zum ersten Mal machen. 

Ihr Fahrlehrer entscheidet, ob Sie für die Prüfung mehr Fahrstunden brauchen oder nicht. Der Fahrlehrer darf Sie nicht für die Prüfung anmelden, wenn Sie noch nicht sicher fahren. Jede Fahrschule hat andere Preise für Fahrstunden.

Die Kosten für die theoretische und praktische Prüfung selbst sind nicht der teuerste Teil des Führerscheins. Trotzdem können Sie auf www.tuev-sued.de Beispielkosten für Bayern und Baden-Württemberg sehen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie arbeitslos sind und durch einen Führerschein Ihre Chancen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt erhöhen können, können Sie das Jobcenter bitten, die Kosten für den Führerschein für Sie zu übernehmen. Sprechen Sie dazu mit Ihrem Sachbearbeiter und erklären Sie ihm Ihre Pläne.

Wie läuft die Theorieprüfung ab?

Um den deutschen Führerschein zu bekommen, müssen Sie die Theorieprüfung und die Praxisprüfung bestehen. Bevor Sie die Praxisprüfung absolvieren, müssen Sie die Theorieprüfung bestanden haben.

Die Theorieprüfung können Sie in 12 Sprachen machen: Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Griechisch, Italienisch, Polnisch, Portugiesisch, Rumänisch, Russisch, Kroatisch, Spanisch, Türkisch und Arabisch (Hocharabisch)

Die Prüfung enthält 30 Multiple Choice Fragen. Manchmal gibt es mehrere korrekte Antworten auf eine Frage. Wenn Sie mehr als 10 Minuspunkte haben, haben Sie die Prüfung nicht bestanden.

Ihre Fahrschule wird Sie für die Theorieprüfung anmelden. Folgende Dokumente müssen Sie vor der Theorieprüfung vorlegen:

  • Ausweis oder Pass
  • Terminbestätigung
  • Wenn Sie den Führerschein zum ersten Mal machen: Bestätigung der Fahrschule über die Fahrstunden.

Das Ergebnis des Theorietests ist ein Jahr gültig. Wenn Sie die Praxisprüfung nicht bestehen und sie erst nach 12 Monaten erneut machen, müssen Sie auch den Theorietest erneut machen.

Es gibt verschiedene Internetseiten, die Materialien für die Theorieprüfung in verschiedenen Sprachen anbieten: www.lehrboegen.de oder www.fuehrerschein-bestehen.de. Es gibt auch Apps in verschiedenen Sprachen. Die meisten dieser Apps kosten Geld, also fragen Sie am besten auch bei Ihrer Fahrschule nach Lernmaterial.

 

Wie läuft die Praxisprüfung ab?

Nachdem Sie den Theorietest bestanden haben, können Sie die Praxisprüfung machen. Die Prüfung dauert zwischen 30 und 45 Minuten. In dieser Zeit zeigen Sie, dass Sie fahren können. Normalerweise sitzt der Prüfer während des Tests auf der Rückbank und prüft Ihr Fahrverhalten auf Sicherheit, Kompetenz und Ruhe. Ihr Fahrlehrer sitzt während der Prüfung neben Ihnen, um im Falle eines Notfalls die Kontrolle übernehmen zu können.

Wenn Sie die Prüfung nicht bestehen, können Sie sie bis zu dreimal in einem zweiwöchigen Intervall wiederholen. Das Intervall wird nach dreimal länger, aber es gibt keine Obergrenze für die Anzahl der Wiederholung.

Kann mir der Führerschein abgenommen werden?

Wenn Sie wichtige Verkehrsregeln missachten, können Sie Ihren Führerschein verlieren. Man unterscheidet hier zwischen einem Fahrverbot und dem Entzug des Führerscheins. Bei einem Fahrverbot müssen Sie Ihren Führerschein für eine bestimmte Frist (in der Regel einige Monate) bei der Bußgeldstelle abgeben. In dieser Zeit dürfen Sie nicht selbst fahren. Nach Ablauf der Frist können Sie Ihren Führerschein wieder abholen. Bei einem Entzug des Führerscheins verliert Ihr Führerschein seine Gültigkeit. Das bedeutet, dass Sie nicht mehr selbst fahren dürfen und für eine bestimmte Zeit (Sperrfrist) auch keinen neuen Führerschein machen dürfen. Ihr Führerschein kann Ihnen entzogen werden, wenn Sie den Straßenverkehr gefährden, betrunken Auto fahren oder 8 Strafpunkte gesammelt haben. Strafpunkte bekommen Sie für verschiedene Regelverstöße, z.B. wenn Sie zu schnell fahren. Die Strafpunkte werden umgangssprachlich auch „Punkte in Flensburg“ genannt. Offiziell heißt das System, das die Strafpunkte sammelt, Fahreignungsregister – FAER.

Eine Liste von Strafen können Sie im “Bußgeldkatalog – BkatV” online finden. Da die Formulierungen dort sehr schwierig sind, können Sie einen Auszug der häufigsten Strafen auch auf www.bussgeld-info.de nachschlagen.

Wenn Ihnen der Führerschein abgenommen wurde, weil Sie unter Alkohol-, Drogen- oder Medikamenteneinfluss gefahren sind, müssen Sie die „Medizinisch-Psychologische Untersuchung“ (MPU) machen. Diese Untersuchung wird im Alltag auch „Idiotentest“ genannt. Lesen Sie mehr über die MPU auf Deutsch oder Englisch auf der Internetseite des TÜV Süd oder der Dekra.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie Ihren Führerschein neu gemacht haben, sind Sie zwei Jahre in der Probezeit. Wenn Sie während der Probezeit bei einem Verkehrsverstoß beobachtet werden, müssen Sie an einem Aufbauseminar und vielleicht auch an einer psychologischen Beratung teilnehmen. Außerdem verlängert sich Ihre Probezeit um zwei weitere Jahre. Wenn Sie nicht an dem Aufbauseminar und der Beratung teilnehmen, wird Ihnen der Führerschein weggenommen. Beispiele für einen Verkehrsverstoß sind z.B. bei Rot über die Ampel Fahren, nachts ohne Licht Fahren, betrunken Auto Fahren. Falschparken ist kein Verkehrsverstoß. In diesem Fall müssen Sie nur die Strafe bezahlen.

Kann ich trotz Jobcenter ein Auto kaufen?

Wenn Sie Leistungen vom Jobcenter bekommen, wird das Jobcenter Sie regelmäßig, d.h. immer, wenn Sie einen Weiterbewilligungsantrag stellen, nach Ihrem Vermögen fragen. Zum Vermögen zählt auch ein Auto. Wenn Ihr Auto weniger als 7.500€ wert ist, ist das kein Problem. Wenn Ihr Auto teurer ist, kann das Jobcenter verlangen, dass Sie es verkaufen und zunächst vom Erlös dieses Verkaufs leben, bevor Sie wieder Leistungen bekommen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie unbedingt ein Auto brauchen, damit Sie einen Job bekommen oder behalten können, kann das Jobcenter Sie beim Kauf mit einem Darlehen unterstützen. Sprechen Sie dazu mit Ihrem Sachbearbeiter.