I have been in Germany for less than 15 months

Asylum seekers and individuals with "Duldung" who have been in Germany for less than 15 months are only entitled to emergency healthcare. This means that they are only medically treated in cases of acute illnesses. The costs of treatment for chronic diseases are often not taken over by the state. Pregnant women are considered as exceptions- they can benefit from all medical services necessary during pregnancy and childbirth in Germany. In addition, everyone, including asylum seekers, has the possibility to get vaccinated in Germany.

If you have been in Germany for less than 15 months, you will usually need to apply for a voucher ("Krankenschein") from the competent authority before each visit to the doctor. This means that you either receive a few vouchers from your initial reception centre (or the staff member responsible for you at the Social Welfare Office) every three months, or each time you need to see a doctor, you must first pick up a voucher from them. Please keep in mind that these vouchers are only valid for three months. At the end of these three months, you will have to obtain new vouchers to visit a doctor.

Instead of "Krankenschein" (which can be bureaucratically complicated to issue) some federal states and cities distribute so-called Health Cards for asylum seekers and individuals with a "Duldung" (i.e. "Gesundheitkarten an Asylbewerber un Geduldete"). Holding such a card means you can go directly to the doctor without first stopping by the authorities. But here, too, you are only entitled to emergency treatments. The main advantage of the Health Card is that it decreases the amount of bureaucratic work necessary for all concerned.

You usually can collect the medicines that the doctor prescribes for you from any pharmacy. In principle, you do not have to pay for your medications- you just need to hand in your prescription and receive the articles- the pharmacy will be reimbursed by the Social Welfare Office. You can search for a pharmacy nearby on www.aponet.de.

I have been in Germany for more than 15 months

The asylum seekers and individuals with a tolerated stay ("Duldung") who have been in Germany for more than 15 months are issued a so-called "HealthCard for Refugees" ("Gesundheitskarte für Flüchtlinge") in Germany. With this card, you can directly access medical care without going through the authorities and obtaining vouchers. If you belong to this group, you are entitled to all the regular services of the statutory health insurance, except the long-term care insurance ("Pflegeversicherung"). Despite this fact, you are not an official member of statutory health insurance but are only under their supervision and care and the health insurance company is reimbursed by the state for the services they provide you. As an asylum seeker, you are free to choose a statutory health insurance company. Visit our "Health Insurance" chapter to learn which statutory health insurance schemes exist and find out more about the benefits and services to which you are entitled. The authorities will complete the registration process for you.

Please note: The "HealthCard for Refugees" ("Gesundheitskarte für Flüchtlinge") looks just like a normal health insurance card - except for one difference: on the back of a HealthCard for Refugees, the title "European Health Insurance Card" (EHIC) is not specified. The data stored inside this card also differs from the data stored in a regular German insurances card. The HealthCard for Refugees has a specific mark so that the doctor will know the cardholder is not a regular member of the insurance company.

 

How do I find a doctor?

After your arrival in Germany, you will first be accommodated in an initial reception centre ("Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung"). There, in principle, a preliminary  medical examination takes place and acute illnesses are treated immediately. So if you feel unwell, you can talk to a staff member directly.

Later you can go to any doctor- except for those who only treats private patients. Some doctors only accept patients who are members of private health insurance companies and these patients pay the associated fees directly to the doctor.

You can search for a doctor in your area on the website of the German Medical Association. If you first click on your state and then on "Advanced Search" ("Erweitere Suche"), you can also search for a doctor who speaks your language. If you cannot find a doctor who speaks your language, you will need an interpreter. Ask an employee at your initial accommodation centre or staff at a counselling centre for help if you could not find an interpreter. You can search for a counselling centre in your area, for instance, on the website of the National Refugee Councils.

There is also a basic medical vocabulary list on the Internet for the first visit, so you can tell the doctor what symptoms you have. Names of different body parts and common diseases are also listed on the same page. 

Are psychiatric treatments covered?

Asylum seekers and those who have a tolerated stay ("Duldung") can apply to the Social Welfare Office for the costs of their psychiatric therapy to be taken over. If you would like to do so, seek help from a social worker at your accommodation centre or the staff at a counselling centre. You can find a counselling centre in your area, for instance, on the website of the National Refugee Councils. The applications which are not rejected immediately will be evaluated and assessed by a doctor appointed by the Social Welfare Office. Keep in mind that these applications are often denied because the authorities do not want to take over the costs of therapies for people with uncertain residence status in Germany. That is why some particular treatment centres offer free psychological care for refugees. But, unfortunately, it is quite difficult to find a free spot in one of these treatment centres because there are too few of them. You can find the addresses and the contact information of these specific centres on the website of the Federal Association of Psychosocial Centers for Refugees and Torture Victims.

What can I do if I have no papers?

Even if you do not have valid paoers, according to the Asylum Act, in principle, you are entitled to medical care for acute illnesses. To benefit from this regulation, you have to obtain a voucher ("Krankenschein") from the Social Welfare Office in advance- without such a voucher, the doctor cannot treat you. The Social Welfare Office will then also inform the Immigration Office about your visit.

There are, however, some orgainsations which provide medical service to people who do not have papers anonymously. Their service is free, and the Social Welfare Office or the Immigration Office will not be notified about your visit. On gesundheit-ein-menschenrecht.de, you can find one of these organisation nearby. Furthermore, you can search for anonymous medical assistance nearby on the website of Malteser Migrant Medizin and the Medibüro.

Please note: Hospitals are not allowed to share your data with other individuals or authorities. So do not hesitate to visit a hospital or call an ambulance in case of an emergency.

What can I do in the case of an emergency?

In acute medical emergencies, you can call the emergency services at 112. The call is free of charges. You can also go to the emergency reception at any hospital, but keep in mind that you may have to wait for a long time.

If a person shows symptoms of poisoning, you can search for a Poisoning Emergency Center ("Giftnotrufzentrale") nearby- they are available days and nights.

If you want to buy medicine outside regular opening hours, you will need to go to an emergency pharmacy ("Notapotheke"). On aponet.de, you can search for the nearest emergency pharmacy.

Ich bin seit weniger als 15 Monaten in Deutschland

Asylbewerber und Menschen mit einer Duldung, die sich seit weniger als 15 Monaten in Deutschland aufhalten, haben lediglich Anspruch auf eine gesundheitliche Notversorgung. Das bedeutet, dass sie nur bei akuten Erkrankungen medizinisch versorgt werden. Die Behandlung chronischer Erkrankungen wird meist nicht übernommen. Ausnahmen gelten für schwangere Frauen, die Zugang zu allen bei Schwangerschaft und Geburt in Deutschland üblichen medizinischen Leistungen haben. Zudem besteht für alle Personen die Möglichkeit sich impfen zu lassen. Mehr zum Thema "Impfung" erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Impfungen".

Wenn Sie seit weniger als 15 Monaten in Deutschland sind, müssen Sie in der Regel vor jedem Arztbesuch einen Krankenschein bei der zuständigen Behörde beantragen. Das bedeutet konkret, dass Sie entweder alle drei Monate einige Krankenscheine von Ihrer Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung oder Ihrem Sachbearbeiter im Sozialamt bekommen oder Sie bei einer Erkrankung zunächst einen Krankenschein bei Ihrer Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung oder Ihrem Sachbearbeiter abholen müssen, bevor Sie zum Arzt gehen können. Beachten Sie bitte, dass diese Krankenscheine nur drei Monate lang gültig sind. Nach Ablauf dieser drei Monate, müssen Sie sich einen neuen Krankenschein besorgen.

Anstelle des bürokratisch aufwendigen Systems mit den Krankenscheinen verteilen einzelne Bundesländer / Kommunen sogenannte Gesundheitskarten an Asylbewerber und Geduldete. Mit dieser Gesundheitskarte können Sie ohne den Umweg über die Behörde direkt zum Arzt gehen. Aber auch hier gilt weiterhin: Sie haben lediglich Anspruch auf eine Notfallbehandlung. Der Vorteil der Gesundheitskarte ist lediglich ein geringerer bürokratischer Aufwand für alle Beteiligten.

Die Medikamente, die der Arzt Ihnen verschreibt, müssen Sie normalerweise selbst bei einer Apotheke abholen. Die Apotheke dürfen Sie selbst wählen. In der Regel müssen Sie für Ihre Medikamente nicht bezahlen, sondern nur Ihr Rezept in der Apotheke abgeben. Die Apotheke holt sich das Geld dann vom Sozialamt zurück. Eine Apotheke in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie auf aponet.de.

Ich bin seit mehr als 15 Monaten in Deutschland

Asylbewerber und Geduldete, die sich bereits mehr als 15 Monate in Deutschland aufhalten, erhalten deutschlandweit eine sogenannte „Gesundheitskarte für Flüchtlinge“. Hiermit haben Sie ohne den Umweg über die zuständige Behörde Zugang zu medizinischer Versorgung. Wenn Sie zu dieser Gruppe gehören, haben Sie -  abgesehen von Leistungen der Pflegeversicherung - Anspruch auf die regulären gesundheitlichen Leistungen der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung. Sie sind aber kein Mitglied einer gesetzlichen Krankenkasse, sondern stehen lediglich in einer Art Betreuungsverhältnis zu ihr. Die Krankenkasse holt sich das Geld anschließend von den Behörden zurück. Von welcher gesetzlichen Krankenkasse Sie betreut werden, dürfen Sie selbst bestimmen. Welche gesetzlichen Krankenkassen es gibt und auf welche Leistungen Sie Anspruch haben, erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Krankenversicherung". Die Anmeldung erledigt die Behörde für Sie.

Bitte beachten Sie: Die „Gesundheitskarte für Flüchtlinge“ sieht genauso aus wie eine normale Krankenversicherungskarte – bis auf einen Unterschied: Auf der Rückseite der Gesundheitskarte für Flüchtlinge ist keine Europäische Krankenversichertenkarte (EHIC) abgebildet. Die Daten, die auf der Gesundheitskarte für Flüchtlinge gespeichert sind unterscheiden sich außerdem von den Daten der regulär Versicherten. Die Gesundheitskarte für Flüchtlinge beinhaltet nämlich ein spezielles Kennzeichen. Daran kann der Arzt erkennen, dass der Besitzer der Karte kein reguläres Mitglied der Krankenkasse ist.

Wie finde ich einen Arzt?

Nach Ihrer Ankunft in Deutschland werden Sie zunächst in einer Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung untergebracht. Dort findet in der Regel eine medizinische Voruntersuchung statt und akute Erkrankungen werden auch sofort behandelt. Wenn Sie sich krank fühlen, sprechen Sie gleich einen Mitarbeiter vor Ort an.

Später können Sie zu jedem Arzt gehen, der nicht nur Privatpatienten behandelt. Einige Ärzte behandeln nur Patienten, die bei einer privaten Krankenversicherung Mitglied sind. Diese Patienten bezahlen die Arztkosten direkt beim Arzt.

Einen Arzt in Ihrer Nähe können Sie auf der Website der Bundesärztekammer suchen. Wenn Sie zuerst auf Ihr Bundesland und dann auf „Erweiterte Suche“ klicken, können Sie dort auch nach einem Arzt suchen, der Ihre Sprache spricht. Wenn Sie keinen Arzt finden, der Ihre Sprache spricht, können Sie einen Dolmetscher mitbringen. Wenn Sie keinen Dolmetscher kennen, können Sie einen Mitarbeiter in Ihrer Unterkunft oder eine Beratungsstelle um Hilfe bitten. Eine Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie z.B. auf der Website der Landesflüchtlingsräte.

Im Medcial Phrasebook for Refugees finden Sie einen Basiswortschatz für die erste Kontaktaufnahme, damit Sie dem Arzt sagen können welche Symptome Sie haben. Körperteile und gängige Krankheiten sind auch aufgeführt.

Wird eine psychiatrische Behandlung bezahlt?

Asylbewerber und Geduldete können die Übernahme von Therapiekosten beim Sozialamt beantragen. Lassen Sie sich hierzu von einem Sozialarbeiter in Ihrer Unterkunft oder einer Beratungsstelle helfen. Eine Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie z.B. auf der Website der Landesflüchtlingsräte. Wird der Antrag nicht sofort abgelehnt, findet eine Begutachtung und Einschätzung durch einen vom Sozialamt beauftragten Arzt statt. Entsprechende Anträge werden allerdings oft abgelehnt, weil die Behörden Therapien für Menschen mit unsicherem Aufenthaltsstatus nicht bezahlen wollen. Aus diesem Grund gibt es für Personen, deren psychiatrische Behandlung nicht bezahlt wird, kostenfreie Therapieplätze über spezielle Behandlungszentren für Geflüchtete. Es ist aber sehr schwierig einen Platz in einem dieser Behandlungszentren zu bekommen, weil es zu wenige davon gibt. Die Adressen dieser Behandlungszentren finden Sie auf der Website der Bundesweiten Arbeitsgemeinschaft der psychosozialen Zentren für Flüchtlinge und Folteropfer.

Was kann ich tun, wenn ich keine Papiere habe?

Auch wenn Sie sich ohne Papiere in Deutschland aufhalten, haben Sie nach dem AsylbLG grundsätzlich Anspruch auf eine medizinische Versorgung bei akuten Erkrankungen. Um diese Versorgung wahrnehmen zu können, müssen Sie aber vorab einen Krankenschein beim Sozialamt holen. Ohne Krankenschein kann Sie der Arzt nicht behandeln. Das Sozialamt wird dann aber auch die Ausländerbehörde über Ihren Aufenthalt informieren.

Es gibt aber einige Organisationen, die Menschen ohne Papiere anonym ärztlich behandeln. Die Hilfe bei diesen Organisationen ist kostenlos. Ihr Aufenthalt wird nicht an das Sozialamt oder die Ausländerbehörde weitergeleitet. Auf der Website gesundheit-ein-menschenrecht.de können Sie nach einer solchen Organisation in Ihrer Nähe suchen. Außerdem können Sie auch auf der Website der Malteser und der Medibüros nach anonymer ärztlicher Hilfe in Ihrer Nähe suchen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Krankenhäuser dürfen Ihre Daten nicht an andere Menschen oder Behörden weitergeben. Haben Sie also keine Angst davor IM NOTFALL ein Krankenhaus aufzusuchen oder den Notarzt zu rufen.

Was kann ich bei einem Notfall tun?

In akuten medizinischen Notfallsituationen, können Sie den Rettungsdienst unter der Nummer 112 erreichen. Der Anruf ist kostenlos. Sie können sich außerdem an die Notaufnahme in jedem Krankenhaus wenden. Es kann passieren, dass Sie in der Notaufnahme lange warten müssen.

Wenn eine Person Vergiftungserscheinungen zeigt, können Sie auf kindergesundheit-info.de nach einer Giftnotrufzentrale in Ihrer Nähe suchen. Die Giftnotrufzentralen sind Tag und Nacht erreichbar.

Wenn Sie außerhalb der normalen Öffnungszeiten Medikamente kaufen wollen, müssen Sie zu einer Notapotheke gehen. Auf aponet.de können Sie die nächstgelegene Notapotheke suchen.