How much is the licence fee for public broadcasting?

The licence fee amounts to € 17.50 per month, which is booked every three months. That means you have to pay € 52.50 every three months. You can also opt for a semi-annual or annual prepayment. Once you register, you can decide whether you want to transfer the funds manually or prefer it to be collected automatically (via SEPA direct debit).

Who has to pay licence fees for public broadcasting?

In principle, every adult has to pay the fee. However, the contribution is to be made per household and not per capita, i.e. each flat/house needs to make a single contribution. If you and your family live in an apartment, one adult person's contribution suffices for the whole household.

The same applies if you share an apartment with flat mates. If you live alone, you have to pay 17.50 € per month. If you live with several adults, you pay a total of 17,50 € which you can then split amongst yourselves. Keep in mind that you have to decide who should register with the Contributions’ Service ("Beitragsservice ") and make the payment.

How should I register?

The licence fee will not be automatically withdrawn from your account. You have to first register at rundfunkbeitrag.de- and if you are moving, you will need to provide your new address. You can change your address online at rundfunkbeitrag.de. In case you leave Germany and give up your apartment, you have to unsubscribe on rundfunkbeitrag.de.

Please note: The Contributions’ Service makes a so-called registration data reconciliation ("Meldedatenabgleich") and thus, obtains the registration data of all the adults registered in Germany from the residents' registration offices. As a result, they can easily determine who has not yet registered for their licence fees.

What if I do not register?

If you do not register within a month, you are committing an administrative offence, which can be punished by a fine of up to 1000 euro. If you do not pay despite repeated warnings, your account may get impounded. In the worst case, you may face hefty fines or even imprisonment.

Are there any deadlines I need to keep in mind?

You have to register when you move in or out of an apartment within a month. Otherwise, you will face a fine, which you must pay within four weeks from the due date. The way you pay the fee depends on your agreement with the Contributions' Service. If you use the SEPA procedure, the Contributions' Service will automatically deduct the fees from your bank account. If you prefer to transfer the money manually, make sure you transfer the funds on time. If you forget to pay, you will receive a so-called "Festsetzungsbescheid". You then have to pay your contributions plus a so-called "late payment fine" ("Säumniszuschlag"), which is a kind of penalty for the delayed payment.

Can I get exempt from paying licence fees?

Individuals who receive social benefits such as unemployment benefit II, asylum seekers' benefits, basic old-age pension or social support may be exempted from contribution. Furthermore, those going through vocational training and students who receive vocational training allowance (BAB) or BAföG (and no longer live with their parents) can apply for an exemption.

To apply for an exemption, you must fill an application form at rundbeitbeitrag.de, print it out and send it to the contributions' service. Along with the form, you need to submit necessary certificates from the respective authority (i.e. Jobcentre, Bafög Office, etc.). You can find the address of the contribution service on rundfunkbeitrag.de.

Please note: If you share an apartment with several people and not all are exempt from the licence fee, your household needs to pay licence fees.

Anyone who is being cared for in an elderly home or nursing home full-time can opt-out at rundfunkbeitrag.de and stop making contributions. Furthermore, blind, partially sighted, deaf and hearing-impaired individuals can apply for their licence fees to be reduced on the same website.

Do asylum seekers have to pay licence fees?

Asylum seekers who live in shared accommodation or (only temporarily) in a flat do not have to pay licence fees. If you receive a letter from the Contributions' Service nonetheless, you can respond by sending a sample letter (from the Consumers' Center) which establishes your exemption. You can find the sample letter at verbraucherzentrale.de.

However, if you live in an apartment and can earn a living - i.e. you no longer receive asylum seekers' benefits- you have to pay the licence fee. That means you can only get exempt from contribution if you do not earn money. Read more in the section "Can I get exempt from paying licence fees?".

What do I have to consider as a self-employed person?

You also have to pay a licence fee for your business premises. The amount of the fee depends on the number of your permanent establishments, employees and motor vehicles (cars, trucks, etc.). On rundfunkbeitrag.de, you can calculate the amount of your due contribution.

Please note: If your office is located in your home, you still have to register it as a business premise at the Broadcast Support Service. However, if your office does not have a separate entrance (and can only be accessed via the apartment door), you do not have to make a separate contribution for your business.

For every business premise for which you pay a broadcasting fee, there can be one car (used privately and for work) for which you do not need to make any contributions. In other words, if you have a business premise and a car (which is used privately and for work), you do not have to make an extra contribution for the vehicle. However, for each additional vehicle that is used privately and for work, you have to pay a licence fee (monthly 5.83 €).

Was kostet der Rundfunkbeitrag?

Der Rundfunkbeitrag kostet 17,50€ im Monat. Abgebucht wird er für drei Monate. Das bedeutet, dass Sie alle drei Monate 52,50€ zahlen müssen. Sie können auch eine halbjährliche oder jährliche Vorauszahlung wählen. Wenn Sie sich angemeldet haben, können Sie entscheiden, ob Sie das Geld überweisen möchten oder ob es automatisch (per SEPA-Lastschrift) eingezogen werden soll.

Wer muss den Rundfunkbeitrag bezahlen?

Grundsätzlich muss jede volljährige Person den Beitrag bezahlen. Bezahlt wird der Beitrag allerdings pro Haushalt und nicht pro Kopf. Es gilt: Eine Wohnung, ein Beitrag. Das bedeutet: Wenn Sie mit Ihrer Familie in einer Wohnung leben, muss nicht jeder, der 18 Jahre oder älter ist, extra bezahlen. Es muss nur eine Person zahlen. Gleiches gilt, wenn Sie eine Wohnung mit anderen Mitbewohnern teilen. Wohnen Sie also allein, müssen Sie 17,50€ im Monat bezahlen. Wohnen Sie mit mehreren Erwachsenen zusammen, bezahlen Sie alle gemeinsam insgesamt 17,50€. Sie können den Beitrag dann untereinander aufteilen, müssen aber absprechen, wer die Wohnung beim Beitragsservice anmeldet.

Wie melde ich mich an?

Der Rundfunkbeitrag wird nicht automatisch eingezogen. Sie müssen sich dafür anmelden. Das machen Sie unter rundfunkbeitrag.de. Ziehen Sie um, müssen Sie Ihre neue Adresse angeben. Das können Sie ebenfalls online auf der Website des Beitragsservice unter "Daten ändern" machen. Wenn Sie Deutschland verlassen und Ihre Wohnung in Deutschland aufgeben, müssen Sie sich abmelden. Das können Sie im Bereich "Abmelden" machen. 

Bitte beachten Sie: Der Beitragsservice macht einen so genannten Meldedatenabgleich und bekommt so die Meldedaten aller in Deutschland gemeldeter Volljähriger von den Einwohnermeldeämtern. Es kann also sehr einfach festgestellt werden, wer sich nicht angemeldet hat.

Was droht mir, wenn ich mich nicht anmelde?

Wenn Sie sich nicht innerhalb eines Monats anmelden, handeln Sie ordnungswidrig. Diese Ordnungswidrigkeit kann mit einer Geldbuße von bis zu 1000 Euro geahndet werden. Wenn Sie trotz wiederholter Mahnungen nicht bezahlen, kann Ihr Konto gepfändet werden. Im schlimmsten Fall drohen Ihnen dann auch hohe Geldstrafen oder sogar Gefängnis.

Welche Fristen muss ich beachten?

An- oder ummelden müssen Sie Ihre Wohnung innerhalb eines Monats. Machen Sie das nicht, droht Ihnen eine Geldbuße. Zahlen müssen Sie innerhalb von vier Wochen nach der Fälligkeit. Wann Ihre Beiträge fällig sind, also bezahlt werden müssen, hängt davon ab, was Sie mit dem Beitragsservice vereinbart haben: Wenn Sie das SEPA-Verfahren nutzen, zieht der Beitragsservice Ihre Beiträge automatisch von ihrem Bankkonto ein. Zahlen Sie per Überweisung, denken Sie unbedingt daran, den Beitrag pünktlich zu überweisen. Vergessen Sie zu bezahlen, bekommen Sie einen so genannten Festsetzungsbescheid. Sie müssen dann Ihre Beiträge plus einen sogenannten „Säumniszuschlag“ bezahlen, also eine Art Strafgebühr, weil Sie Ihren Beitrag zu spät überwiesen haben.

Kann ich mich vom Rundfunkbeitrag befreien lassen?

Befreien lassen können sich Personen, die Sozialleistungen wie Arbeitslosengeld II, Asylbewerberleistungen, Grundsicherung im Alter oder Sozialhilfe erhalten. Außerdem können Auszubildende und Studenten, die Berufsausbildungsbeihilfe (BAB) oder BAföG bekommen und nicht mehr bei ihren Eltern wohnen, einen Antrag auf Befreiung stellen.

Für die Befreiung müssen Sie unter rundfunkbeitrag.de einen Antrag ausfüllen, diesen ausdrucken und ihn zusammen mit einer Bescheinigung der jeweiligen Behörde (z.B. Jobcenter, Bafög-Amt, usw.) an den Beitragsservice schicken. Die Adresse des Beitragsservices finden Sie unter den oben genannten Link.


Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn sich mehrere Personen eine Wohnung teilen und nicht alle vom Rundfunkbeitrag befreit sind, muss der Rundfunkbeitrag dennoch bezahlt werden.

Wer in einem Alten- oder Pflegeheim vollstationär betreut wird, kann sich abmelden. Das machen Sie im Bereich "Abmelden" auf der Website des Beitragsservices. Außerdem können blinde, sehbehinderte, gehörlose und hörgeschädigte Menschen eine Ermäßigung des Rundfunkbeitrags beantragen. Das machen Sie im Bereich "Befreiung oder Ermäßigung beantragen".

Müssen Asylbewerber den Rundfunkbeitrag bezahlen?

Asylbewerber, die in einer Gemeinschaftsunterkunft leben oder nur vorübergehend in einer Wohnung untergebracht sind, müssen den Rundfunkbeitrag nicht bezahlen. Wenn Sie trotzdem einen Brief vom Rundfunkbeitragsservice bekommen, sollten Sie mit dem Musterbrief der Verbraucherzentrale antworten. Den Musterbrief finden Sie unter verbraucherzentrale.de.

Wenn Sie in einer Wohnung leben und ein eigenes Einkommen haben – also keine Asylbewerberleistungen mehr bekommen – müssen Sie den Rundfunkbeitrag bezahlen. Ohne eigenes Einkommen können Sie sich von der Rundfunkbeitrag befreien lassen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie im Abschnitt „Kann ich mich vom Rundfunkbeitrag befreien lassen?“.

Was müssen Selbständige beachten?

Für Betriebsstätten müssen Sie ebenfalls einen Rundfunkbeitrag bezahlen. Die Höhe des Beitrags hängt von der Anzahl Ihrer Betriebsstätten, der Anzahl Ihrer Angestellten und der Anzahl Ihrer Kraftfahrzeuge (Autos, LKWs, …) ab. Auf der Website rundfunkbeitrag.de können Sie die Höhe Ihres Beitrags berechnen lassen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie in einem Büro in Ihrer Wohnung arbeiten, müssen Sie dieses Büro ebenfalls als Betriebsstätte beim Rundfunkbeitragsservice anmelden. Wenn Ihr Büro keinen separaten Eingang hat, sondern nur über die Wohnung betreten werden kann, müssen Sie für dieses aber keinen eigenen Rundfunkbeitrag bezahlen.

Für jede Betriebsstätte, für die Sie den Rundfunkbeitrag bezahlen, bleibt ein nicht nur privat genutztes Kraftfahrzeug beitragsfrei. Wenn Sie also eine Betriebsstätte und ein nicht nur privat genutztes Kraftfahrzeug haben, müssen Sie für das Auto keinen Beitrag bezahlen. Für jedes weitere nicht nur privat genutzte Auto müssen Sie aber einen Beitrag (monatlich 5,83€) bezahlen.