Can I receive a parental allowance?

You can receive a parental allowance, if:

  • You live with your child in Germany,
  • you have the custody of your child,
  • you do not work or work less than 30 hours per week, and
  • you have a residence permit including a work permit, a “Beschäftigungsduldung”, German citizenship or the citizenship of an EU country (including Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Switzerland).

Please note: If your residence permit has been issued according to §23 paragraph 1 (with the addition "wegen eines Krieges im Heimatland"), §23a, §24 or §25 paragraph 3 to 5 of the Residence Act, you must also meet ONE of the following requirements to benefit from parental benefits:

  • You must be employed, on parental leave or collect unemployment benefits I or
  • you must have been in Germany for at least 15 months.

Work is not a requirement for entitlement to parental allowance. Employees, self-employed individuals, civil servants, unemployed persons, students, those under vocational training, and stay-in-home mothers and fathers can apply for a parental allowance. But people with higher incomes are not entitled to a parental allowance. That means if you, as a parent, earn more than € 250,000 (or both parents, more than € 500,000) per year, you are not entitled to a parental allowance.

The parental allowance pertains your biological children and the biological children of your partner and foster- and adopted children. In exceptional cases, you can also receive a parental allowance for your grandchildren or nieces and nephews. But such is only possible if the child's parents are not capable of taking care of the child.

Important: If you come from Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, Bosnia, Serbia, Montenegro or Kosovo and work in Germany, you can receive parental allowance even if you have a tolerated stay ("Duldung") or temporary stay permit (“Aufenthaltsgestattung”). The same applies to you if you come from Turkey and have been in Germany for at least six months. 

Can I receive a parental allowance if my child goes to a kindergarten?

Yes. You can receive a parental allowance although your child spends the days in a kindergarten or with a childminder. (i.e. a "Tagesmutter" or "Tagesvater") You can read more about childcare in our chapter "Childcare".

Do I have to go on parental leave to receive parental allowance?

No. Parental allowance does not depend on parental leave. However, to be eligible for the parental allowance, you may not work more than 30 hours per week.

What types of parental allowance are there?

There are two types of parental allowance: the basic parental allowance ("Basiselterngeld ") and the so-called "ElterngeldPlus".

With the basic parental allowance, the parents altogether can receive a parental allowance for 12 months per child. If you share the rights to basic parental allowance with your partner, you each can win two more months of entitlement. You are free to do so- the only rule is that each parent can claim benefits for at least 2 and a maximum of 12 months. If you are a single parent, however, you are entitled to receive 14 months of basic parental allowance.

In the case of "ElterngeldPlus", together and per child, parents can receive a parental allowance for a double amount of time, i.e. 24 months. But the amount they receive per month is half the basic parental allowance. You can receive "EltergeldPlus" for four additional months if you also work between 25 to 30 hours per week during this time. Single parents also receive these four additional months of parental allowance.

Please note: You can combine the two types of parental allowance. For instance, you can initially receive six months of basic parental allowance("Basiselterngeld"); and then 12 months of "ElterngeldPlus".

How much is my parental allowance going to be?

The amount of parental allowance you receive depends on your living condition and the type of parental allowance you have chosen. According to the law, the amount of parental allowance is based on the amount of monthly net income of each applicant during the last 12 months. Your parental allowance amounts to 65% to 100% of the income you used to have before the childbirth. The higher your prior salary, the lower your parental allowance, i.e. you receive 100% of your previous net income if you are considered to be low-income. Parents who earn more will receive 65% of their previous net income as parental allowance.

Note for parents currently receiving short-time work benefits or unemployment benefits I due to the Coronavirus pandemic: The current months are not taken into account when calculating your parental allowance, so your parental allowance is not reduced because of the short-time work benefit or unemployment benefits I.

Furthermore, there are minimum and maximum limits for the parental allowance. Depending on your previous income, your basic parental allowance ("Basiselterngeld") will be at least € 300.

 and no more than € 1800 per month. With the "ElterngeldPlus", you will receive between € 150 to € 900 per month. In case you did not have any income before the childbirth, you will be entitled to the minimum parental allowance, i.e. € 150 or rather € 300 per month.  Important: If you work while receiving a parental allowance, the amount of your parental allowance will be cut according to your wages.

Families with several small children are also eligible for a so-called "sibling bonus" ("Geschwisterbonus") which mounts to 10% of the designated parental allowance. To apply for the sibling bonus, you must have at least one other child under the age of three or two more children under the age of six. In the case of multiple births (i.e. twins, triplets, etc.), you also receive a lump-sum of € 300 for each additional child.

With the help of a parental allowance calculator, you can estimate which option (basic parental allowance, "Elterngeldplus" or a combination of both) is best for you. On familienportal.de, you will find a so-called "quick calculator" as well as a parental allowance calculator which offers you a detailed estimation based on your situation.

Please note: If you (as a married couple) know early on that you want to apply for parental allowance, you should change your tax bracket ("Steuerklasse ") to increase your net income. The primary parent who will receive parental allowance should switch to tax bracket III. As a father-to-be, you need to do so at least seven months before the childbirth- as a mother-to-be, you are advised to do so before your maternity protection starts. Find out more about taxes in our chapter "Tax return".

Where and how can I apply for a parental allowance?

You need to apply for parental allowance at the parental benefit centre ("Elterngeldstelle") of your federal state. You can find the branch office responsible for you on elterngeld.net. There is an application form which you must complete. In Bavaria and Saxony, you must apply online; but in other federal states, you need to send the application per post. You will find the application form as well as the parental benefit centre responsible for you on familienportal.de.

On the application form, you must indicate which parent wishes to receive the parental allowance for which period. You will have the chance to change the allocation and periods once -and in exceptional cases, twice- later. In case you are married or share custody, both parents must sign the application.

Please note: You can apply for parental allowance until the child is 14 months old. It is best to apply not according to calendar months but based on the child's age. If you count calendar months, you will ultimately receive less money.

Make sure you apply on time. Payment of the parental allowance can take place retroactively, but only for three months. So, if you file your application too late, you may lose money.

What documents do I need to apply for parental allowance?

For the application, you need the following documents:

  • The birth certificate of your child
  • Your salary statements of the last 12 months or a notification from the Jobcenter or alike
  • A confirmation letter from your health insurance regarding maternity protection benefit ("Mutterschutzgeld")
  • A confirmation from your employer about your parental leave (if applicable)
  • A confirmation  letter from your employer regarding the maternity allowance grant ("Zuschuss zum Mutterschutzgeld ") for mothers who have been working before childbirth

Please note: If your living conditions change, you must inform the parental benefit centre ("Elterngeldstelle"). If you, for instance, have an additional income, you are obliged to notify them as your income affects the amount of parental allowance to which you are entitled.

Can I receive benefits from the Jobcentre or the Social Welfare Office in addition to the "Elterngeld"?

Parental allowance is considered as an "income". That means your unemployment benefit II (ALG 2) or social benefits will be reduced according to the amount of your parental allowance. Altogether, you will not receive more money than what you used to before the parental allowance. However, if you were gainfully employed before childbirth, you can claim a so-called "Elterngeldfreibetrag". The amount of such payment depends on the amount of your previous income. You can find out more on arbeitslosenselbsthilfe.org.

How does receiving parental allowance affect my health insurance coverage?

If you benefit from compulsory insurance as a member of a statutory health insurance scheme, you can continue with the same coverage. The only difference is that you do not need to make any contributions while receiving a parental allowance unless you are working part-time. In case you are voluntarily insured under statutory health insurance, you can remain covered but usually, have to make contributions. The only exception is when you meet the requirements for family insurance.; If that is the case, you do not have to pay any dues.

If you were privately insured before receiving a parental allowance, you remain insured there and should continue with your contributions.

Where can I seek advice?

The parental allowance centre ("Eltergeldstelle") of your federal state can provide you with assistance regarding parental leave. You can find the parental benefit centre responsible for you on Website elterngeld.net. You can also contact an Adult Migration Service or a Youth Migration Service in your area. The staff there speak many languages ​​and specialise in migration and refugee issues. You can find one of their branch offices in your area on bamf.de. If you are 27 or younger, search for a Youth Migration service nearby at jugendmigrationsdienste.de.

Kann ich Elterngeld bekommen?

Sie können Elterngeld bekommen, wenn

Wichtig: Wenn Sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis aufgrund der Härtefallregelung oder eines Abschiebungsverbots haben, können Sie erst nach drei Jahren Aufenthalt in Deutschland Elterngeld beantragen.

Arbeit ist keine Voraussetzung für Elterngeld. Elterngeld können Arbeitnehmer, Selbständige, Beamte, Arbeitslose, Studierende, Auszubildende und Hausfrauen & Hausmänner beantragen. Aber: Wenn Sie allein mehr als 250.000 Euro pro Jahr oder Sie und der andere Elternteil zusammen mehr als 500.000 Euro pro Jahr verdienen, können Sie kein Elterngeld beantragen.

Die Regelungen zum Elterngeld gelten sowohl für Ihr leibliches Kind als auch für das leibliche Kind Ihres Partners, Pflegekinder und Adoptivkinder. In besonderen Fällen können Sie auch für Ihr Enkelkind oder ihre Nichten und Neffen Elterngeld bekommen. Das geht aber nur, wenn sich die Eltern des Kindes nicht selbst um das Kind kümmern können.

Kann ich Elterngeld bekommen, wenn mein Kind in die Kita geht?

Ja. Elterngeld können Sie auch bekommen, wenn Ihr Kind tagsüber in eine Kita geht oder von einer Tagesmutter betreut wird. Mehr zum Thema Kinderbetreuung finden Sie in unserem Kapitel „Kinderbetreuung“.

Muss ich Elternzeit nehmen, um Elterngeld zu bekommen?

Nein. Elterngeld ist von der Elternzeit unabhängig. Sie dürfen aber nicht mehr als 30 Stunden pro Woche arbeiten, um einen Anspruch auf Elterngeld zu haben.

Welche Varianten von Elterngeld gibt es?

Es gibt zwei Varianten von Elterngeld: das Basiselterngeld und das ElterngeldPlus.

Beim Basiselterngeld können die Eltern zusammen pro Kind 12 Monate lang Elterngeld bekommen. Wenn Sie sich den Bezug von Basiselterngeld untereinander aufteilen, können Sie zwei weitere Monate Basiselterngeld beziehen. Dabei können Sie die Monate, in denen Sie Elterngeld bekommen, frei untereinander aufteilen. Die einzige Regel ist, dass jedes Elternteil mindestens zwei Monate und höchstens 12 Monate lang Elterngeld in Anspruch nehmen kann. Wenn Sie alleinerziehend sind, können Sie 14 Monate Basiselterngeld bekommen.

Beim ElterngeldPlus können die Eltern zusammen pro Kind doppelt so lange – also 24 Monate – Elterngeld bekommen, erhalten dafür aber pro Monat nur die Hälfte des Basiselterngelds. Sie können zusätzlich vier zusätzliche Monate EltergeldPlus bekommen, wenn Sie beide während dieser Zeit zwischen 25 und 30 Stunden pro Woche arbeiten. Wenn Sie alleinerziehend sind, können Sie diese vier zusätzlichen Monate ebenfalls bekommen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Sie können beide Varianten miteinander kombinieren. Das bedeutet, dass Sie z.B. zunächst sechs Monate Basiselterngeld beziehen und anschließend 12 Monate ElterngeldPlus beziehen können.

Wieviel Elterngeld bekomme ich?

Wie viel Elterngeld Sie bekommen, ist von Ihrer Lebenssituation und der von Ihnen gewählten Elterngeld-Variante abhängig. Grundsätzlich orientiert sich das Elterngeld an der Höhe des monatlichen Nettoeinkommens der letzten 12 Monate, das derjenige Elternteil, der Elterngeld beantragt, vor der Geburt hatte. Von diesem Betrag bekommen Sie zwischen 65% und 100% als Elterngeld ausgezahlt. Umso höher Ihr Einkommen war, desto geringer ist der Prozentsatz. Das bedeutet, dass Sie bei niedrigem Einkommen 100% Ihres Nettoeinkommens bekommen. Wenn Sie viel verdient haben, bekommen Sie 65% Ihres früheren Nettoeinkommens als Elterngeld.

Für das Elterngeld gibt es Mindest- und Höchstgrenzen. Ihr Basiselterngeld wird – abhängig von Ihrem früheren Einkommen - mindestens 300 Euro und höchstens 1800 Euro monatlich betragen. Beim ElterngeldPlus werden Sie mindestens 150 Euro und höchstens 900 Euro monatlich bekommen. Wenn Sie vor der Geburt kein Einkommen hatten, bekommen Sie den Mindestbetrag von 300 bzw. 150 Euro. Wichtig: Wenn Sie während des Bezugs von Elterngeld arbeiten, wird Ihr Elterngeld entsprechend gekürzt.

Familien mit mehreren kleinen Kindern bekommen einen sogenannten „Geschwisterbonus“. Das ist ein Zuschlag auf das Ihnen zustehende Elterngeld von 10%. Um den Geschwisterbonus zu bekommen, müssen Sie mindestens ein weiteres Kind unter drei Jahren oder zwei weitere Kinder unter sechs Jahren haben. Bei einer Mehrlingsgeburt (Zwillinge, Drillinge, …) bekommen Sie außerdem pauschal 300 Euro für jedes weitere Kind.

Mit Hilfe eines Elterngeldrechners können Sie berechnen, welche Variante (Basiselterngeld, ElterngeldPlus oder eine Kombination aus beiden) für Sie am besten ist und wie viel Elterngeld Sie bekommen können. Auf der Website familienportal.de finden Sie sowohl einen Schnellrechner als auch einen Elterngeldrechner, der Ihnen eine ausführliche Berechnung bietet.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie als verheiratetes Paar schon frühzeitig wissen, dass Sie Elterngeld beantragen wollen, sollten Sie eventuell die Steuerklasse wechseln, um Ihr Nettoeinkommen zu erhöhen. Die Person, die hauptsächlich Elterngeld beziehen wird, sollte in die Steuerklasse III wechseln. Dies müssten Sie mindestens sieben Monate vor der Geburt (beim Vater) bzw. vor Beginn des Mutterschutzes (bei der Mutter) machen. 

Wo und wie beantrage ich Elterngeld?

Den Antrag auf Elterngeld stellen Sie bei der Elterngeldstelle Ihres Bundeslandes. Die für Sie zuständige Elterngeldstelle finden Sie auf der Website elterngeld.net. Für den Antrag gibt es ein Formular, das Sie ausfüllen müssen. In Bayern und Sachsen müssen Sie den Antrag digital einreichen. In den anderen Bundesländern schicken Sie den Antrag per Post. Das für Ihr Bundesland gültige Formular sowie die Adresse der für Sie zuständigen Elterngeldstelle finden Sie auf der Website familienportal.de.

Auf dem Formular müssen Sie angeben, welcher Elternteil für welchen Zeitraum Elterngeld beziehen möchte. Die Aufteilung und Zeiträume können Sie danach noch einmal ändern. In besonderen Fällen auch ein weiteres Mal. Beide Elternteile müssen den Antrag unterschreiben, sofern Sie verheiratet sind oder sich das Sorgerecht für das Kind teilen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Elterngeld können Sie bis zum 14. Lebensmonat Ihres Kindes beantragen. Es ist besser Elterngeld nicht nach Kalendermonaten, sondern nach den Lebensmonaten des Kindes zu beantragen. Wenn Sie nach Kalendermonaten rechnen, bekommen Sie weniger Geld.

Stellen Sie den Antrag unbedingt rechtzeitig. Eine Auszahlung des Elterngelds kann höchstens drei Monate rückwirkend erfolgen. Wenn Sie Ihren Antrag zu spät stellen, verlieren Sie also möglicherweise Geld.

Welche Unterlagen brauche ich für den Elterngeldantrag?

Für den Antrag benötigen Sie die folgenden Unterlagen:

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn sich Ihre Lebenssituation ändert, müssen Sie das der Elterngeldstelle mitteilen. Wenn Sie z.B. zusätzliches Einkommen haben, sind Sie verpflichtet dies mitzuteilen, da Ihr Einkommen Einfluss auf die Höhe Ihres Elterngelds hat.

Kann ich zusätzlich zum Elterngeld auch Geld vom Jobcenter oder Sozialamt bekommen?

Elterngeld wird als Einkommen angerechnet. Das bedeutet, dass Ihr Arbeitslosengeld 2 oder Ihre Sozialhilfe um den Betrag Ihres Elterngelds gekürzt wird. Sie erhalten in diesem Fall also nicht mehr Geld als ohne Bezug von Elterngeld. Nur, wenn Sie vor der Geburt erwerbstätig waren, können Sie einen sogenannten Elterngeldfreibetrag geltend machen. Die Höhe dieses Elterngeldfreibetrags ist abhängig von der Höhe Ihres früheren Einkommens. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie auf der Website arbeitslosenselbsthilfe.org.

Bin ich während des Bezugs von Elterngeld krankenversichert?

Wenn Sie bisher in der gesetzlichen Krankenkasse pflichtversichert waren, bleiben Sie dort versichert. Sie müssen aber keine Beiträge bezahlen. Außer Sie arbeiten Teilzeit weiter. Wenn Sie freiwillig in der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung versichert waren, bleiben Sie dort ebenfalls versichert, müssen aber in der Regel Beiträge bezahlen. Eine Ausnahme gibt es hier nur, wenn Sie die Voraussetzungen für die Familienversicherung erfüllen. In diesem Fall müssen Sie dann keine Beiträge bezahlen.

Wenn Sie bisher privat krankenversichert waren, bleiben Sie dort versichert und müssen weiterhin Ihre Beiträge bezahlen.

Wo kann ich mich zum Thema Elterngeld beraten lassen?

Die Elterngeldstelle Ihres Bundeslands kann Sie zum Thema Elterngeld beraten. Die für Sie zuständige Elterngeldstelle finden Sie auf der Website elterngeld.net. Außerdem können Sie sich auch an eine Migrationsberatung für Erwachsene wenden. Die Mitarbeiter*innen dort sprechen viele Sprachen und helfen Ihnen gerne weiter. Eine Migrationsberatung in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie auf der Website bamf.de.