May I keep a pet in my apartment?

In principle, you must follow the regulations specified in your rental contract. In many rental agreements, keeping some animals is prohibited. If there is a specific ban regarding pets in your rental agreement, you must comply.

Which rules do I have to consider as a pet owner?

Dog ​​owners, in particular, must observe various rules regarding mandatory leash, muzzle, dog tax (Hundsteuer) and dog liability insurance (Hundshaftpflichtversicherung). These rules differ from state to state and (partially) from region to region. Your city or local administration can tell you more. You can also find necessary information about the regulation in your state at hunde.de.

For some exotic animals, such as spiders or snakes, there may also be specific regulations in your community. In some cities, these animals are prohibited or allowed only with proper authorisation. Your city or local administration can provide you with more information in this regard.

Where can I get a pet?

There are several ways to obtain a pet. Smaller animals such as birds, mice, snakes or fish can be bought in a pet shop or at hardware stores which have an animal department. You can also adopt these small animals, as well as larger ones like cats and dogs from a shelter. Abandoned pets and animals which have been found are housed in animal shelters. Since most shelters are often overcrowded and under-budget, obtaining a pet from there is a triple win, not only for the shelter but also for you and the pet you choose: you pay a small amount of money and the animal finds a forever home. The shelter animals are already vaccinated and dewormed. Plus, you can visit the shelter a few times and get to know the animal first, before you take it home. After you find an animal you like, the shelter staff will ask you about your living condition and your prior experiences with pets to ensure that you can take care of the animal.

It is also possibile to buy an animal or get one for free from private individuals. For instance, many people give away the offsprings of their pets. You can find such offers, for instance, in the Ad section of regional newspapers. Be careful who you buy the animal from and pay attention to the general conditions of the animal. Watch out for shady offers and animal traders and pay only after you have seen the animal.

You can also buy your pet from a breeder. But beware - some shady breeders keep animals in dismal conditions. Take a close look at the breeder and the animal. You can find a breeder in your area on the internet if you google the name of your town and the name of the pet you want. When you deal with a legitimate breeder, the animals are well, and you wille be handed a purchase contract and a pet passport along with the animal.

Do I need liability insurance ("Haftpflichtversicherung") for my pet?

In principle, you are responsible for any damage caused by your pet. If your dog injures someone or breaks something, you have to pay for it. In such cases, liability insurance covers the costs. You can include some animals, such as cats, in your regular liability insurance. For other animals, e.g. dogs, you need to obtain dog liability insurance. You can search for a suitable dog liability insurance online, for instance, on tarifcheck.de.

In some regions, it is mandatory for all dog owners or those who have certain dog breeds to obtain dog liability insurance. Your city or local administration can provide you with details.

How can I find my missing pet?

If your pet ran away (or flew away), you can ask at shelters nearby whether it has been dropped off there. You can find animal shelters in your area on the website of the Animal Welfare Association. You can also hang posters in the neighbourhood with a photo of your pet and your phone number so that your neighbours know that your pet is missing and can contact you if they see or find it.

In addition, It is worthwhile to have animals which go outside alone chipped. A chip is implanted under the skin by the veterinarian and carries a number which makes identification easier. After chipping your pet, you can register your pet on to the free TASSO database. Then, in case your pet runs away and ends up at a shelter or vet's office, your contact information will be pulled out, and you will be contacted. TASSO database can also help you to locate your pet.

You can also attach a tag with your contact details, particularly on the dog collar. Therefore, the person who finds your dog can contact you directly. Keep in mind that collars are not recommended for other animals due to the risk of injury.

 

I cannot take care of my pet anymore. What can I do?

It can be pretty challenging for pets like cats and dogs to be abandonded by their owners, particularly if they have been living together for longBut sometimes you have no other choice but to hand over your pet, for instance, because you can no longer take care of it due to a disease or allergy.

If you cannot accommodate the animal in your circle of friends, you can hand it over to a shelter in your community. Abandoned pets and animals which have been found are housed in animal shelters. Call a shelter near you and ask if there is currently room for your pet. Bring all documents and data about your pet at the time of delivery. Please note that an animal may only be handed over by its owner or with a power of attorney from the owner. The next shelter can be found on the website of the Animal Welfare Association.

 

I found a stray pet. What can I do?

If you find an abandoned or stray pet, you must hand it over to either the police or a shelter. Animal shelters are collection centres for stray or abandoned pets. There, the animals are fed and taken care of until the owner shows up or another person adopts the animal.

Please note: You cannot just keep a pet that you have found. You always have to hand it over to the police or a shelter. If the owner does not pick it up after six months, then you may take the animal home with you.

 

I found an injured animal. What can I do?

If you find an injured animal, you can contact the police at 110 (in German) and ask for help. In the case of Injured pets or small wild animals, you can also take them directly to the nearest vet or veterinary clinic. You can also contact the nature conservation association  or “Naturschutzbund” in your state and ask the staff for advice. You can find the contact information of their office in your area at at nabu.de. In principle, their employees only speak German. Important: You are not allowed, however, to transport large wild animals such as deer or wild boars yourself- in such cases, you need to inform the police or the local hunting association.

The costs of veterinary service are usually covered either by the animal's owner or the municipality in which the animal was found. In addition, many veterinarians treat animals which have been found injured free of charge. Only in very rare cases, you, i.e. the one who found the animal, have to pay for treatments. You can ask the vet’s office or clinic directly about specific regulations in your district. 

Please note: If you harm an animal in an accident, you are legally obliged to look after the injured animal and call the police.

How can I bring my pet to Germany?

You need to observe several regulations to bring your pet to Germany. The laws depend on the animal's country of origin.

If your pet comes from an EU country or a country listed in Part 1 of the list of sites and third countries per Article 13 of Regulation No 576/2013, the following conditions must be met:

  • The animal must be at least 15 weeks old.
  • The animal must have a microchip and an EU pet passport.
  • The animal must have been vaccinated against rabies at least 21 days before entry.
  • A person must accompany the animal.

If your pet comes from another country, more requirements must be met. For some countries, however, a simplified entry procedure applies. You can find the names of these countries in Part 2 of the list of sites and third countries per Article 13 of Regulation No 576/2013. For the simplified entry procedure, the following conditions must be met:

  • The animal must be at least 15 weeks old.
  • The animal must have a microchip, a vaccination certificate and an animal health certificate.
  • The animal must have been vaccinated against rabies at least 21 days before entry.
  • The animal must enter the EU directly.
  • A person must accompany the animal.
  • The accompanying person must declare in writing that the owner will not change.

If your pet's home country is not on the above list, the simplified entry procedure does not apply. As a result, the following additional prerequisites must be fulfilled:

  • The animal must be at least seven months old.
  • An official veterinarian and an accredited laboratory must conduct a blood test for anti-rabies antibodies at least three months before entry. You can find a list of accredited laboratories ec.europa.eu..
  • The animal must be registered with customs authorities.
  • The animal may only enter through certain airports or seaports. On the website of the Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture, you will find a list of the authorised entry points.

 

Please note: Each person may bring a maximum of 5 animals at the time to Germany.

Where can I find a vet or veterinary clinic?

You can easily find a veterinarian or veterinary clinic nearby in the Veterinary Online Directory. Veterinary clinics are usually open day and night.

Darf ich ein Haustier in meiner Wohnung halten?

Generell müssen Sie die Regeln in Ihrem Mietvertrag beachten. In vielen Mietverträgen ist die Haltung von bestimmten Tieren verboten. Steht in Ihrem Mietvertrag ein entsprechendes Verbot, müssen Sie sich auch daranhalten.

Welche Regeln muss ich als Haustierhalter beachten?

Vor allem Hundebesitzer müssen viele Regeln bezüglich Leinenzwang, Maulkorb, Hundesteuer oder Hundehaftpflichtversicherung beachten. Diese Regeln unterscheiden sich von Bundesland zu Bundesland und zum Teil auch von Region zu Region. Ihre Stadt- oder Gemeindeverwaltung kann Ihnen mehr dazu sagen. Grundsätzliche Informationen über Ihr Bundesland finden Sie auch auf hunde.de.

Für einige exotische Tiere, wie Spinnen oder Schlangen, kann es in Ihrer Kommune ebenfalls besondere Regelungen geben. In einigen Städten sind diese Tiere verboten oder nur mit einer besonderen Genehmigung erlaubt. Ihre Stadt- oder Gemeindeverwaltung bietet Ihnen dazu mehr Informationen.

Wo kann ich ein Haustier kaufen?

Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten, ein Haustier zu kaufen. Kleinere Tiere wie Vögel, Mäuse, Schlangen oder Fische können Sie in einem Zoofachgeschäft oder in einem Baumarkt mit einer Tierabteilung kaufen.

Viele dieser kleinen Tiere und auch größere Tiere, wie Katzen und Hunde können Sie außerdem auch in einem Tierheim erwerben. In einem Tierheim werden Tiere untergebracht, die von ihren Vorbesitzern abgegeben wurden oder herrenlos gefunden wurden. Da viele Tierheime oft überfüllt sind, ist es eine gute Idee, sich dort nach einem Tier umzusehen. Sie bezahlen nur wenig Geld für das Tier. Außerdem sind die Tiere dort bereits geimpft und entwurmt. Und Sie können das Tier auch erst in Ruhe kennenlernen, bevor Sie es mit nach Hause nehmen. Wenn Sie sich für ein Tier aus dem Tierheim interessieren, werden die Mitarbeiter*innen Sie nach Ihrer Wohnsituation und Ihren Erfahrungen mit der Tierhaltung fragen. Damit soll sichergestellt werden, dass es dem Tier bei Ihnen gut geht.

Außerdem gibt es die Möglichkeit, ein Tier von Privatpersonen zu kaufen oder geschenkt zu bekommen. Viele Leute geben z.B. den Nachwuchs Ihres Haustieres ab. Solche Angebote finden Sie z.B. im Anzeigenteil von Regionalzeitungen. Achten Sie darauf, von wem Sie das Tier kaufen und in welchem Zustand es ist. Es gibt auch unseriöse private Tierhändler. Kaufen und bezahlen Sie erst, wenn Sie das Tier auch gesehen haben.

Sie können Ihr Haustier auch bei einem Züchter kaufen. Doch Achtung – nicht alle Züchter sind seriös. Schauen Sie sich den Züchter und das Tier genau an. Einen Züchter in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie im Internet, wenn Sie den Namen Ihrer Stadt und den Namen des gewünschten Tieres googeln. Bei einem seriösen Züchter geht es den Tieren gut und Sie bekommen einen Kaufvertrag und einen Heimtierausweis.

Brauche ich eine Haftpflichtversicherung für mein Tier?

Generell gilt: Sie sind für Schäden, die Ihr Tier verursacht, verantwortlich. Wenn Ihr Hund z.B. einen Menschen verletzt oder etwas kaputt macht, müssen Sie dafür bezahlen. Eine Haftpflichtversicherung kommt in solchen Fällen für den Schaden auf. Einige Tiere, wie z.B. Katzen, können Sie über Ihre normale Haftpflichtversicherung mitversichern. Für andere Tiere, wie z.B. Hunde, brauchen Sie eine eigene Haftpflichtversicherung. Eine Hundehaftpflichtversicherung finden Sie z.B. auf tarifcheck.de.

In einigen Regionen sind Sie sogar verpflichtet für alle oder bestimmte Hunderassen – eine Haftpflichtversicherung abzuschließen. Ihre Stadt- oder Gemeindeverwaltung kann Ihnen mehr dazu sagen.

Wie kann ich mein verschwundenes Haustier wiederfinden?

Wenn Ihr Haustier weggelaufen oder weggeflogen ist, können Sie im nächsten Tierheim nachfragen, ob es dort abgegeben wurde. Das nächste Tierheim können Sie auf der Website des Tierschutzbundes finden. Zusätzlich können Sie Poster mit einem Foto Ihres Haustiers und Ihrer Telefonnummer in der Nachbarschaft aufhängen. Auf diese Weise wissen Ihre Nachbar*innen, dass Sie Ihr Tier vermissen und melden sich, wenn sie es gefunden oder gesehen haben.

Bei Tieren, die allein nach draußen gehen, lohnt sich außerdem ein Chip. Der Chip wird Ihrem Tier vom Tierarzt unter die Haut implantiert und enthält eine Nummer, über die das Tier einfach identifiziert werden kann. Wenn Sie Ihr Tier nach dem Chippen bei der kostenlosen Datenbank TASSO registrieren, werden Sie angerufen, wenn Ihr Tier bei einem Tierarzt oder Tierheim abgegeben wurde. TASSO hilft Ihnen auch bei der Suche nach Ihrem Tier.

Vor allem bei Hunden können Sie auch eine Marke mit Ihren Kontaktdaten am Halsband befestigen. Auf diese Weise kann die Person, die Ihren Hund gefunden hat, sie direkt kontaktieren. Bei anderen Tieren werden Halsbänder aufgrund der Verletzungsgefahr nicht empfohlen.

Ich kann mein Haustier nicht behalten. Was kann ich tun?

Es ist für viele Tiere sehr schwierig, wenn Sie ihr Zuhause verlieren. Vor allem, wenn sie lange dort gelebt haben. Aber manchmal muss man sein Haustier abgeben. Zum Beispiel, weil das Tier in einer neuen Wohnung nicht mehr erlaubt ist oder man sich wegen einer Erkrankung oder Allergie nicht mehr um das Tier kümmern kann. Wenn es Ihnen nicht gelingt, das Tier in Ihrem Freundeskreis unterzubringen, können Sie es bei einem Tierheim in Ihrer Kommune abgeben. In einem Tierheim werden Tiere untergebracht, die von ihren Vorbesitzern abgegeben wurden oder herrenlos gefunden wurden. Rufen Sie dazu in einem Tierheim in Ihrer Nähe an und fragen nach, ob es aktuell Platz für Ihr Tier gibt. Bringen Sie bei der Abgabe alle Unterlagen und Informationen über Ihr Tier mit. Bitte beachten Sie, dass ein Tier nur von seinen Besitzer*innen oder mit einer Vollmacht der Besitzer*innen abgegeben werden darf. Das nächste Tierheim können Sie auf der Website des Tierschutzbundes finden.

Ich habe ein herrenloses Haustier gefunden. Was tun?

Wenn Sie ein herrenloses oder verlassenes Haustier finden, müssen Sie es entweder der Polizei oder einem Tierheim übergeben. Tierheime sind Sammelstellen für herrenlose oder ausgesetzte Haustiere. Die Tiere werden dort gefüttert und betreut, bis der Eigentümer sich meldet oder eine andere Person das Tier zu sich nehmen will.

Bitte beachten Sie: Sie dürfen ein Haustier, das Sie finden, nicht einfach behalten. Sie müssen es immer zunächst der Polizei oder einem Tierheim übergeben. Wenn sich der Eigentümer nach 6 Monaten nicht gemeldet hat, dürfen Sie das Tier dann zu sich nehmen.

Ich habe ein verletztes Tier gefunden. Was tun?

Wenn Sie ein verletztes Tier finden, hilft Ihnen die Polizei weiter. Sie können die Polizei unter der Telefonnummer 110 erreichen. Haustiere oder kleine Wildtiere können Sie auch direkt zum nächsten Tierarzt oder einer Tierklinik bringen. Große Wildtiere wie Rehe oder Wildschweine dürfen Sie selbst nicht abtransportieren.

Die Kosten für den Tierarzt zahlen in der Regel entweder die Besitzer*innen des Tieres oder die Kommune, in der das Tier gefunden wurde. Viele Tierärzt*innen behandeln gefundene Tiere auch kostenlos. Nur in sehr seltenen Fällen müssen Sie als Finder die Kosten bezahlen. Fragen Sie den Tierarzt direkt nach den Regelungen in Ihrer Gemeinde.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie durch einen Unfall ein Tier verletzen, sind Sie gesetzlich verpflichtet, sich um das verletzte Tier zu kümmern und die Polizei zu rufen.

Wie kann ich mein Haustier aus dem Ausland nach Deutschland bringen?

Für die Einreise Ihres Haustiers müssen Sie viele Regeln beachten. Die Voraussetzungen sind abhängig vom Herkunftsland Ihres Tieres.

Falls Ihr Tier aus einem EU- Land oder aus einem Land aus Teil 1 der Liste der Gebiete und Drittländer gemäß Artike 13 der Verordnung Nr. 576/2013 kommt, müssen die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein:

  • Das Tier muss mindestens 15 Wochen alt sein.
  • Das Tier muss einen Mikrochip und einen EU-Heimtierausweis haben.
  • Das Tier muss mindestens 21 Tage vor der Einreise gegen Tollwut geimpft worden sein.
  • Das Tier muss von einer Person begleitet werden.

Falls Ihr Tier aus einem anderen Land kommt, müssen mehr Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein. Für manche Länder gilt ein vereinfachtes Einreiseverfahren. Diese Länder finden Sie im Teil 2 der Liste der Gebiete und Drittländer gemäß Artikel 13 der Verordnung Nr. 576/2013. Für das vereinfachte Einreiseverfahren müssen die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein:

  • Das Tier muss mindestens 15 Wochen alt sein.
  • Das Tier muss einen Mikrochip, einen Impfausweis und eine Tiergesundheitsbescheinigung haben.
  • Das Tier muss mindestens 21 Tage vor der Einreise gegen Tollwut geimpft worden sein.
  • Das Tier muss auf direktem Weg in die EU einreisen.
  • Das Tier muss von einer Person begleitet werden.
  • Die Begleitperson muss schriftlich erklären, dass das Tier nicht die Besitzer*innen wechseln wird.

Falls das Herkunftsland Ihres Tieres nicht auf der oben genannten Liste steht, gilt das vereinfachte Einreiseverfahren nicht. In diesem Fall müssen zusätzlich die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein:

  • Das Tier muss mindestens 7 Monate alt sein.
  • Ein Amtstierarzt und ein autorisiertes Labor müssen mindestens 3 Monate vor der Einreise eine Blutuntersuchung auf Antikörper gegen Tollwut durchführen. Eine Liste der autorisierten Labore finden Sie auf ec.europa.eu.
  • Das Tier muss beim Zoll angemeldet sein.
  • Das Tier darf nur über bestimmte Flughäfen oder Seehäfen einreisen. Auf der Website des Bundesministeriums für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft finden Sie eine Liste der Einreiseorte.

Bitte beachten Sie: Jede Person darf maximal 5 Tiere gleichzeitig nach Deutschland bringen.

Wo finde ich einen Tierarzt oder eine Tierklinik?

Im Tierarzt-Onlineverzeichnis können Sie ganz einfach einen Tierarzt oder eine Tierklinik in Ihrer Nähe finden. Tierkliniken haben in der Regel Tag & Nacht geöffnet.