What goes where?

In big cities, there are four different bins in almost every backyard. In the countryside, you may have to drive to a recycling plant to find all these bins. Alternatively, you can wait for the next collection date and keep specific items, e.g. in your garage or cellar until then. You can find out when the garbage is picked up in the so-called "waste calendar" (Abfallkalender), which is delivered to your mailbox once a year- you can also obtain the calendar from the town hall (Rathaus).

Only certain types of waste may be thrown into each bin:

  • Yellow Bins (also „yellow bags“ or „Grüner-Punkt-Müll“): Light-weight packaging, i.e. all packaging which are not made of glass or paper (for example aluminum foil, plastic bags, tins, yoghurt cups, Tetra-packs in which juice and milk are sold, plastic bottles and coffee packs)
  • Green or Blue Bins: Paper waste and cardboard (for example, paper bags, newspapers, catalogs, writing paper, cartons, cigarette packs). Please note: Very old/stained paper, e.g. paper packages of groceries, ought to be put in the residual waste bin and Tetra-packs (in which juice and milk are sold) belong in the yellow sack or bin.
  • Black or Gray Bins: residual waste or household waste and all other types of waste that cannot be recycled (for example, porcelain, hygiene articles, dirty packaging, damaged shoes or utensil, vacuum cleaner bags, diapers, cigarette butts, window glasses).
  • Bio Waste or Brown Bin: compostable kitchen and garden waste (e.g. coffee and tea dregs, fruit and vegetables remains, eggshells, leaves).

On fluechtlingshilfe-dahlem.com, you can find out more about various waste bins and containers.

What do I need to know about deposit (“Pfand”)?

Since 2003, there has been a so-called "compulsory deposit system" ("Pfandflicht") concerning specific beverage packagings in Germany: If you buy drinks and beverages sold in particular plastic and glass bottles or cans in a supermarket,  you initially pay a few cents more. Then, if you later return them empty to the supermarket's collection point or "Leergutannahmestelle" (often an automatic machine), you will get back those few cents, which is known as "Pfand" (deposit). There are two different types of bottles you can return:

  • On disposable bottles, you will find a square sign with a can and a bottle, which is framed by an arrow (the logo of German Deposit System or "Deutsche Pfand-System GmbH"). Returning the bottles or cans that bear such a symbol means you will receive a 25-cent deposit at Refund centres in each supermarket.
  • On returnable bottles, you will often find no labeling at all, sometimes there is a blue angel sign or the word "reusable bottle" („Mehrwegflasche“, „Leihflasche“ or "Pfandflasche“). Whether glass or plastic, for returnable bottles you receive 15 cent deposit. There is an 8-Cent deposit for each beer bottle.

If you have no time or desire to return your returnable bottles, you can also leave them in a visible spot next to a trash can on the street. Many people in Germany collect and return these bottles to earn a little money.

What shall I do with glass bottles with no deposit?

Glass bottles with no “Pfand” on them (i.e. bottles of wine, cooking oil, vinegar, sauces, marmalades or preserved food) have to be disposed of in specific containers. There are usually two or three containers: one for white glass, one for brown glass and one for stained glass (blue or green). Make sure you don’t throw your glass bottles into the containers in early morning or late at night:  since it can be quite loud, it is forbidden to do so before 8 A.M. and after 8 P.M. For more information check this video about breach of peace.

Please note: Drinking glasses, window glass and teapots or glass cups do not belong in the glass container. You have to dispose of this type of glasses in the residual waste bin.

What can I do with special waste, electrical waste, bulky waste and old clothing?

You are not permitted to throw special waste, electrical waste, bulky waste and old clothing items in household waste bins. Special waste and electrical waste, in particular, can gravely harm the nature and our health and must be disposed separately of household waste. In most municipalities, these types of waste are disposed of at the recycling depots. You sometimes have to pay a small fee for the disposal. For electrical waste, however, you will occasionally receive some money. You can find a recycling depot nearby by googling the word „Recyclinghof“ along with the name of your town/district. You can also ask the municipality (Bürgeramt) in your area.

  • Special waste: medicines, solvents, batteries, energy-saving lamps, fluorescent tubes, pesticides and half-emptied containers of paints and adhesives. In some cities, there are pick-up services available for collecting such waste, but in other cities you have to personally take it to the recycling depot. You can learn more by asking your municipality. Energy-saving lamps, LED and batteries could be also disposed of at drugstores and hardware stores.
  • Electrical scrap: All devices through which electric current flows. In some federal states and cities, there are collecting containers for smaller electrical appliances, in the others, one has to go to a depot or wait for the pick-up service. You can learn more by asking your municipality. To dispose of small electronic devices (such as cell phones or MP3 players), you can also hand them to large electronics stores. Larger appliances, however, are only accepted by electronics stores if you buy a similar new product there.
  • Bulky waste: bulky items and household appliances which do not fit in normal bins due to their size or weight. They could be Items of metal, wood or just substantial chunks of residual waste. You can take these items to a recycling depot personally. In many cities, there are specific schedules for picking up the bulky waste. The best is to ask the municipality in your area.
  • Old clothing items: In every German city, there are clothing containers in which one can dispose of the unwanted but usable clothes. On the Website of the German Red Cross you can find a donation container for clothes nearby.

How can I reduce waste?

A few tips to avoid waste production by conscious consumption:

  • buy regional products without plastic packaging,
  • purchase durable goods and buy less,
  • get a lunchbox and hot/cold drink container for the road,
  • use baskets and fabric shopping bags instead of plastic bags,
  • exchange, borrow and repair items- this way, you can also save money.

Further pro-environmental ideas are available on http://www.refugeeguide.de in various languages. If you would like to get involved in environmental protection and preservation, you can find plenty of regional projects nearby on the website of the Nature and Biodiversity Conservation Union or Naturschutzbund.

Was kommt in welche Tonne?

In großen Städten gibt es in den Hinterhöfen vier verschiedene Tonnen, die meist bestimmte Farben haben. Auf dem Land müssen Sie eventuell zu einem Wertstoff- oder Recyclinghof fahren, um alle Tonnen zu finden. Oder sie warten auf den nächsten Abholtermin für bestimmten Müll und lagern ihn inzwischen z.B. in Ihrer Garage oder im Keller. Wann welcher Müll abgeholt wird, erfahren Sie im sogenannten „Abfallkalender“, den Sie jedes Jahr in Ihrem Briefkasten finden oder im Rathaus abholen können.

 In jede Tonne darf nur bestimmter Müll geworfen werden:

  • Gelbe Tonne (auch „Gelber Sack“ oder „Grüner-Punkt-Müll“): Leichtstoffverpackungen, also alle Verpackungen, die nicht aus Glas oder Papier sind (zum Beispiel Alufolien, Plastiktüten, Konservendosen, Joghurtbecher, Saft- und Milchkartons/Tetra-packs, Folien, Kunststoffflaschen, Kaffeeverpackungen)

  • Grüne oder blaue Tonne: Papierabfälle und Pappe, wie zum Beispiel Papiertüten, Zeitungen, Kataloge, Schreibpapier, Kartons, Zigarettenschachteln. Bitte beachten Sie: Sehr schmutziges Altpapier, wie z.B. Papierverpackungen von Lebensmitteln muss in die Restmülltonne. Saft- und Milchkartons/Tetra-packs gehören in den gelben Sack bzw. die gelbe Tonne.
  • Schwarze oder graue Tonne: Restmüll oder Hausmüll und alle Abfälle, die nicht wiederverwertet werden können (zum Beispiel Porzellan, Hygieneartikel, verschmutzte Verpackungen, kaputte Schuhe oder Gebrauchsgegenstände, Staubsaugerbeutel, Windeln, Zigarettenkippen, Fensterglas)
  • Bioabfall oder braune Tonne: Kompostierbare Küchen- und Gartenabfälle (zum Beispiel Kaffee- und Teesatz, Obst- und Gemüsereste, Eier- und Fruchtschalen, Blätter). 

Auf fluechtlingshilfe-dahlem.com finden Sie weitere Informationen zu den verschiedenen Mülleimern und Tonnen.

Was muss ich über "Pfand" wissen?

Seit 2003 gibt es in Deutschland eine sogenannte „Pfandpflicht“ für bestimmte Getränkeverpackungen: Wenn Sie bestimmte Plastik- und Glasflaschen oder Getränkedosen im Supermarkt kaufen, bezahlen Sie dafür einige Cents mehr. Wenn sie diese später leer an der Leergutannahmestelle in einem Supermarkt (meistens ein Automat) zurückgeben, bekommen Sie dieses Geld zurück. Das nennt man „Pfand“. Es gibt zwei verschiedene Arten dieser speziellen Flaschen:

  • Auf Einwegflaschen (die recycelt werden) finden Sie ein viereckiges Zeichen mit einer Dose und einer Flasche, die von einem Pfeil umschlungen sind. Das ist das Logo der Deutschen Pfand-System GmbH. Auf Flaschen oder Dosen mit solch einem Symbol erhalten Sie 25 Cent Pfand zurück.
  • Auf Mehrwegflaschen (die gewaschen und wieder befüllt werden) finden Sie entweder gar keine Kennzeichnung, einen „blauen Engel“ oder das Wort „Mehrweg(-Flasche)“, „Leihflasche“ oder „Pfandflasche“. Für Mehrwegflaschen erhalten Sie 15 Cent Pfand zurück. Bei Bierflaschen sind es 8 Cent.

Wenn Sie selbst keine Zeit oder Lust haben, Ihre Pfandflaschen zurückzubringen, können Sie sie auch gut sichtbar neben einem Abfalleimer auf der Straße stellen. Es gibt viele Leute in Deutschland, die diese Flaschen sammeln und sich so ein bisschen Geld dazuverdienen.

Was mache ich mit Glasflaschen ohne Pfand?

Glasflaschen, auf die es kein Pfand gibt, müssen in bestimmten Containern entsorgt werden. Das sind meistens Flaschen für Wein, Speiseöl, Essig, Saucen, Marmeladen oder Konservengläser. Es gibt normalerweise zwei oder drei Container: einen für Weißglas, einen für Braunglas und einen für Buntglas (blau und grün). Achten Sie darauf, Ihre Flaschen nicht früh am Morgen oder in der Nacht in die Container zu werfen, da dies sehr viel Lärm machen kann und in der Regel vor 8 Uhr und nach 20 Uhr verboten ist. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie unter "Ruhezeiten".

Bitte beachten Sie: Trinkgläser, Fensterglas und Teekannen oder Tassen aus Glas gehören nicht in den Glascontainer. Diese Art von Glas müssen Sie im Restmüll entsorgen.

Was mache ich mit Sondermüll, Elektroschrott, Sperrmüll und Altkleidern?

Sondermüll, Elektroschrott, Sperrmüll und Altkleider dürfen Sie nicht in den Hausmüll werfen. Insbesondere Sondermüll und Elektroschrott schaden der Natur und unserer Gesundheit enorm und müssen daher vom Hausmüll getrennt entsorgt werden. In den meisten Kommunen können Sie diese Sorte Müll auf dem Recycling- oder Wertstoffhof entsorgen. Für die Entsorgung müssen Sie manchmal eine kleine Gebühr bezahlen. Für Elektroschrott bekommen Sie aber manchmal aber sogar noch selbst ein wenig Geld. Einen Recyclinghof in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie, wenn Sie das Wort „Recyclinghof“ und den Namen Ihrer Kommune googeln. Oder Sie fragen im Bürgeramt nach der Adresse.

  • Sondermüll: Medikamente, Lösungsmittel, Batterien, Energiesparlampen, Leuchtstoffröhren, Pflanzenschutzmittel und nicht restlos entleerte Verpackungen von Farben und Klebern. In manchen Städten gibt es einen Abholservice, in anderen müssen sie selbst zum Wertstoffhof fahren. Ihr Bürgeramt kann Ihnen dazu mehr sagen. Energiesparlampen, LED und Batterien können auch in Drogeriemärkten und Baumärkten abgegeben werden.
  • Elektroschrott: alle Geräte, durch die elektrischer Strom fließt. In manchen Städten gibt es Sammelcontainer für kleinere Elektrogeräte, in anderen muss man zu einem Wertstoffhof fahren oder es kommt ein Abholservice. Ihr Bürgeramt kann Ihnen dazu mehr sagen. Kleine Elektrogeräte (wie Handys oder MP3-Player) können Sie auch bei großen Elektronikgeschäften abgeben. Große Geräte werden von den Elektronikgeschäften nur angenommen, wenn Sie dort ein ähnliches neues Produkt kaufen.
  • Sperrmüll: sperrige Gegenstände und Haushaltsgeräte, die wegen ihrer Größe und ihres Gewicht nicht in die normalen Tonnen passen. Es gibt Metall-, Holz- und Restsperrmüll. Sie können diese Dinge selbst zum Recyclinghof bringen. In vielen Städten gibt es auch feste Termine für die Abholung von Sperrmüll. Am besten fragen Sie im Bürgeramt nach.
  • Altkleider: In allen kleinen und großen Städten gibt es Altkleidercontainer, in denen noch brauchbare Kleidung und brauchbare Schuhe gesammelt werden. Auf der Webseite des DRK finden Sie einen Altkleidercontainer in Ihrer Nähe.

 

 

Wie vermeide ich Müll?

Wenn Sie generell Müll vermeiden möchten, helfen Ihnen vielleicht die folgenden Tipps:

  • regionale Produkte ohne Plastikverpackung kaufen,
  • langlebige Produkte und weniger kaufen,
  • Brotzeitdose und Trink- oder Thermoflasche für unterwegs mitnehmen,
  • Korb oder Einkaufstasche aus Stoff mitnehmen, statt Plastiktüten zu kaufen sowie
  • tauschen, leihen und reparieren – so sparen Sie außerdem auch Geld.

Weitere Ideen zum Umweltschutz finden Sie auf der mehrsprachigen Seite www.refugeeguide.de. Wenn Sie im Umweltschutz aktiv werden möchten, können Sie auf der Seite des Naturschutzbunds regionale Projekte in Ihrer Nähe finden.