Does the Dublin regulation apply to me?

The Dublin regulation applies to you when:

  • your fingerprints have been filed in another "Dublin country" before Germany
  • you have applied for asylum in another "Dublin country" and your asylum procedure is still ongoing.
  • you have applied for asylum in another "Dublin country" but have later withdrawn the application.
  • you have applied for asylum in another "Dublin country" and your application has been rejected.
  • you have obtained a visa or residence permit (for example, due to a national ban on deportation) from another "Dublin country".

In all these cases, your asylum application in Germany will be rejected as "inadmissible" ("unzulässig"). The BAMF will not question about the reasons for your flight; instead, they will ask you to leave Germany and order your deportation ("transfer") to the responsible European country.

How does the Dublin procedure work?

As soon as you have filed your application for asylum, the BAMF will check whether Germany is responsible for your asylum procedure or not. The examination takes place with the help of the Eurodac database. This Europe-wide database stores the fingerprints of asylum seekers and other foreign citizens who enter Europe. The BAMF may also ask you for your travel ticket(s) to examine it as evidence. If the Dublin regulation applies to you, the BAMF will reject your asylum application as "inadmissible" ("Unzulässig"). Then you will be asked to leave Germany or face deportion to the Dublin state responsible for you. In the context of the Dublin procedure, however, this process is called "transfer" ("Überstellung") which is to be distinguished from “deportation”.

To carry out the transfer process, the BAMF has to follow some rules:

1. Germany must make a so-called "takeover request" ("Übernahmeersuchen") to the responsible European state, and they have to do so quickly. There are two deadlines Germany has to observe: the takeover request must be sent no later than two months after the German authorities found your fingerprints in the Eurodac system, or at the latest, three months after your application for asylum has been received by the BAMF. If the authorities do not submit the takeover request on time, Germany will be responsible for your asylum procedure.

2. The other Dublin member state may refuse this takeover request if it is not able to accept your asylum case.

  • If you have not applied for asylum in the other European country, in principle, they have two months to respond to the BAMF's request for the transfer. If the other European country does not react within two months, their lack of reaction will be understood as approval and Germany may deport you to the other country.
  • If you have already applied for asylum in the other European country, they will have two weeks to one month to respond to the BAMF's request. If they do not react within the deadline, their lack of reaction will be understood as approval and Germany may deport you to the other country.

3. When the deadline expires without any response from the other country or in case the other state approves the takeover request, Germany has six months to send you back there. If you are not deported within six months, Germany will be responsible for your asylum procedure from then on. Attention: If you are imprisoned, Germany will have 12 months to transfer you to the country responsible for your case. And if you prevent the transfer by, for instance, going into hiding, the deadline for your transfer will be extended to 18 months. If you, for example, do not stay in your accommodation centre for over a week and the BAMF learns about it, they may assume that you have gone into hiding.

Please note: When Germany rejects your asylum request as "inadmissible" ("unzulässig"), that does not automatically mean that the other country will also reject your application. In Dublin cases, such a rejection only means that Germany is not responsible for your case- so, your application for asylum will be thoroughly examined in the other European country.

In which cases is Germany not permitted to transfer me to another Dublin state?

You must not be transferred to another Dublin member state in the following cases:

  • Your spouse or underage children are recognised as a refugee or as an individual entitled to asylum or subsidiary protection in Germany.
  • Your spouse or minor children have applied for asylum in Germany, and Germany is responsible for their asylum application.
  • You have fled your country as an underage child and without your parents, but the odds are not in your favour if you apply for family reunification (to reunite with your parents, siblings or other relatives) in the Dublin country responsible for you. Same applies to you if you are a minor and do not have any family members in Europe.
  • You are seriously ill, and your condition can severely worsen by deportation/transfer to the country responsible for you. In such cases, you need to present various medical certificates to prove your inability to depart.
  • Germany decides to invoke the sovereignty clause, specified in the Dublin regulation. By doing so, Germany voluntarily assumes responsibility for your asylum application. However, this clause is used rarely and only in exceptional cases of hardship, e.g. for sick or traumatised individuals, etc.

What rights and obligations do I have during the Dublin procedure?

You are entitled to be personally asked by the BAMF about your flight route, your state of health and the whereabouts of your family members. In the same interview, you should explain why you cannot return to the other Dublin country. Legitimate reasons, for instance, include: homelessness, lack of access to medical care, maltreatment, imprisonment, your family's residence in Germany, etc.

The BAMF must inform you (in your language) about the Dublin procedure and the current status of the transfer request sent to the other Dublin country. You are entitled to ask for the current state of your Dublin case regularly and must have access to your file. It is recommended to make use of this right and check with your case officer for new developments at least every four weeks.

If you opt for a voluntary return to the other Dublin country, you must be allowed to do so.

You must give the BAMF your current address if you move within Germany. Otherwise, the BAMF will send your letters to your old address, and you may miss important deadlines and appointments. Furthermore, the BAMF may assume that you went into hiding. If you go into hiding, BAMF's deadline for your deportation/transfer will be extended (from six months) to 18 months.

Please note: Asylum seekers who have already been recognised as a refugee or an individual entitled to asylum or subsidiary protection by another Dublin state will no longer receive social benefits in Germany. These individuals only receive a so-called „Überbrückungsleistungen“ for 14 days. There will be no other benefits at the end of these 14 days.

What can I do when Germany wants to send me back to another Dublin country?

You can appeal the rejection of your asylum application as "inadmissible" ("Unzulässig"). You must file the appeal at the responsible administrative court, the name and address of which is specified at the end of your rejection notice under the headline "legal remedies" ("Rechtsmittelbelehrung"). You have two weeks to file the appeal, starting from the date indicated on your rejection notice's envelope. If you intend to file an "urgent appeal" ("Eilantrag"), you must do so within a week. A successful urgent appeal prevents you from being deported during the legal process. Without an urgent appeal, you may be deported before the court decides your case. Please note, however, that an urgent appeal usually means that the above mentioned six-month transfer deadline will start over again. Make sure you consult a lawyer in this regard.

The chances of success are usually not significant in Dublin cases. Appealing the decision is especially worthwhile if "systemic deficiencies" ("Systematische Mängel") have been identified in the Dublin country which is responsible for your asylum application; i.e. when the responsible state cannot guarantee sufficient support or a fair asylum procedure.

In recent years, various courts have repeatedly identified systemic deficiencies in multiple European countries (including Greece, Italy, Bulgaria and Hungary) and banned the transfer of refugees to these countries as a result.

If the lawsuit is not successful, you can try to submit a petition to the state parliament ("Landtag") or the German parliament ("Bundestag") or seek refuge in a church to prevent your transfer to the other European country. If you want to opt for the petition, however, keep in mind that the relevant process is often lengthy, and the submission of a petition does not suspend your deportation/transfer, i.e. you may still be deported during the process. Church asylum ("Kirchenasyl") can be your last option in the face of imminent deportation, as it usually means that you spend your six-month-long transfer period in the church asylum and then Germany will be responsible for your asylum application. However, the original six-month deadline may be extended to 18 months as a result of church asylum. This is the case, namely when the authorities assume that you have taken refuge in a church to "hide" yourself from them. For more information seek help from a counselling centre or a lawyer.

To find a lawyer you can check, for instance, the Pro Asyl website. Their staff speak German and English and can be reached at +49 (0) 69-242 314 20 and proasyl@proasyl.de. To learn more about church asylum visit http://www.kirchenasyl.de.

What if another Dublin state has already granted me protection?

If you have successfully applied for asylum in another Dublin member state and have been recognised as entitled to asylum, refugee status or subsidiary protection, your application for asylum in Germany will be rejected due to "entry from a safe third country" ("wegen der Einreise aus einem sicheren Drittstaat"). Such a ruling has to do with the so-called "third country regulation" ("Drittstaatenregelung").

As a recognised refugee or asylum seeker who comes from another Dublin state, you may travel to Germany and spend 90 days in the country, but you are not allowed to live or work here permanently. If you do not leave after 90 days, you may be deported back to the other EU country. Nonetheless, you can file a complaint at the administrative court when your asylum application has been rejected in Germany. After receiving a rejection notice, you have one week to file a complaint and an urgent appeal ("Eilantrag"). Submitting an urgent appeal prevents you from being deported before the court's decision. If you do not have chances of accessing shelter, food, job, etc. in the country in question, you may win the complaint against the rejection of your asylum application. Make sure you seek advice from a lawyer. You can search for a lawyer, for instance, through Pro Asyl. Their staff speak German and English and can be reached at +49 (0) 69-242 314 20 and proasyl@proasyl.de.

What other agreements exist besides the Dublin regulation?

The European Union is currently trying to reform the Dublin Regulation, but since such a reform takes a long time to accomplish, some countries have been concluding bilateral agreements regarding asylum issues. France and Italy, for instance, have such an arrangement. Germany has also reached a deal with Spain in August 2018. According to this agreement, Germany is allowed to send refugees who have applied for asylum in Spain (and then entered Germany via Austria) back to Spain within 48 hours. Germany is currently preparing to make similar agreements with Greece and Italy.

Gilt die Dublin-Verordnung für mich?

Die Dublin-Verordnung kann auf Sie angewendet werden, wenn

  • Sie Fingerabdrücke in einem anderen Dublin-Staat abgegeben haben.
  • Sie einen Asylantrag in einem anderen Dublin-Staat gestellt haben und Ihr Asylverfahren noch läuft.
  • Sie einen Asylantrag in einem anderen Dublin-Staat gestellt haben und Sie den Antrag später wieder zurückgezogen haben.
  • Sie einen Asylantrag in einem anderen Dublin-Staat gestellt haben und dieser abgelehnt wurde.
  • Sie ein Visum oder eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis (z.B. aufgrund eines nationalen Abschiebungsverbots) von einem anderen Dublin-Staat erhalten haben.

In all diesen Fällen wird Ihr Asylantrag als „unzulässig“ abgelehnt. Sie werden nicht zu Ihren Fluchtgründen befragt. Das BAMF fordert Sie stattdessen zur Rückkehr in das andere Land auf und ordnet Ihre Abschiebung („Überstellung“) in dieses andere Land an.

Wie läuft ein Dublin-Verfahren ab?

Sobald Sie Ihren Asylantrag gestellt haben, prüft das BAMF, ob Deutschland für Ihr Asylverfahren zuständig ist. Die Prüfung wird mit Hilfe der Eurodac-Datenbank gemacht. In dieser europaweiten Datenbank werden die Fingerabdrücke von Asylbewerbern und anderen Ausländern gespeichert. Das BAMF darf Sie auch nach Ihren Fahrkarten oder Tickets fragen und diese zur Prüfung heranziehen. Wenn die Dublin-Verordnung auf Sie anwendbar ist, lehnt das BAMF Ihren Asylantrag als „unzulässig“ ab. Dann werden Sie aufgefordert, Deutschland zu verlassen. Sie können auch in den anderen Dublin-Staat abgeschoben werden. Das nennt man im Rahmen eines Dublin-Verfahrens nicht „Abschiebung“, sondern „Überstellung“. Hier muss das BAMF aber einige Regeln beachten.

1) Deutschland muss ein sogenanntes Übernahmeersuchen an den anderen europäischen Staat stellen. Das muss schnell passieren. Dafür gelten zwei Zeitpunkte, entweder spätestens zwei Monate nach dem Ihre Fingerabdrücke in der Eurodac-Datei von den deutschen Behörden gefunden worden sind oder spätestens drei Monate nach Eingang Ihres Asylantrags beim BAMF. Wenn Deutschland dieses Übernahmeersuchen nicht rechtzeitig stellt, wird Deutschland für Ihr Asylverfahren zuständig.

2) Der andere Dublin-Staat kann dieses Übernahmeersuchen ablehnen, wenn er nicht zur Aufnahme bereit ist.

  • Wenn Sie noch keinen Asylantrag in dem anderen europäischen Land gestellt haben, hat das andere Land in der Regel zwei Monate Zeit, um auf das Übernahmeersuchen des BAMF zu reagieren. Wenn es nicht innerhalb von zwei Monaten antwortet, wird dies als Zustimmung gewertet und Deutschland kann Sie in das andere Land abschieben.
  • Wenn Sie in dem anderen Land bereits einen Asylantrag gestellt haben, hat das andere Land zwei Wochen bis einen Monat Zeit, um zu reagieren. Wenn es nicht innerhalb dieser Fristen antwortet, wird dies als Zustimmung gewertet und Deutschland kann Sie in das andere Land abschieben.

3) Nach Ablauf der Antwortfristen ohne Reaktion aus dem anderen Land bzw. nach dessen Zustimmung hat Deutschland sechs Monate Zeit Sie in das andere Land zurückzubringen. Wenn Sie nicht innerhalb von sechs Monaten abgeschoben werden, wird Deutschland für Ihr Asylverfahren zuständig. Achtung: Wenn Sie in einem Gefängnis inhaftiert sind, verlängert sich die Frist auf 12 Monate. Und weenn Sie z.B. durch Untertauchen die Abschiebung in das andere Land verhindern, verlängert sich die Frist auf 18 Monate. Untertauchen kann Ihnen auch unterstellt werden, wenn Sie z.B. über eine Woche nicht in Ihrer Unterkunft waren und das BAMF dies erfährt.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Deutschland Ihren Asylantrag als „unzulässig“ ablehnt, bedeutet das nicht, dass auch Ihr Asylantrag in dem anderen Dublin-Staat abgelehnt wird. Es bedeutet nur, dass Ihr Asylverfahren nicht in Deutschland, sondern in dem anderen Land stattfinden muss. Ihr Asylantrag wird also dort geprüft.

Wann darf Deutschland mich nicht überstellen?

Sie dürfen nicht in einen anderen Dublin-Staat überstellt werden, wenn:

  • Ihr Ehepartner oder Ihre minderjährigen Kinder in Deutschland als Asylberechtigte, Flüchtlinge oder subsidiär Schutzberechtigte anerkannt sind.
  • Ihr Ehepartner oder Ihre minderjährigen Kinder in Deutschland Asyl beantragt haben und Deutschland für ihr Asylverfahren zuständig ist.
  • Sie minderjährig und ohne Eltern geflüchtet sind und ein Familiennachzug zu ihren Eltern, Geschwistern oder anderen Verwandten in einem anderen Dublin-Staat nicht in Ihrem Interesse ist oder Sie keine Familie in Europa haben.
  • Wenn Sie schwer krank sind und sich Ihre Erkrankung durch die Abschiebung massiv verschlechtern würde. Hierzu benötigen Sie viele Atteste von Ärzten.
  • Wenn Deutschland von seinem Selbsteintrittsrecht Gebrauch gemacht hat. Durch das Selbsteintrittsrecht erklärt sich Deutschland freiwillig für Ihr Asylverfahren zuständig. Das passiert allerdings sehr selten und nur in besonderen Härtefällen, also z.B. bei kranken oder traumatisierten Personen, Schwangeren, etc.

Welche Rechte und Pflichten habe ich während des Dublin-Verfahrens?

Sie haben das Recht, dass das BAMF Sie persönlich zu Ihrem Reiseweg, Ihrem Gesundheitszustand und zum Aufenthaltsort Ihrer Familienangehörigen befragt. In diesem Gespräch sollten Sie erklären, warum Sie nicht in dem anderen Dublin-Staat zurückkehren können. Mögliche Gründe, warum Sie nicht in dem anderen Dublin-Staat bleiben können, sind: Obdachlosigkeit, kein Zugang zu medizinischer Versorgung, Misshandlungen, Inhaftierungen, der Aufenthalt Ihrer Familie in Deutschland, etc.

Das BAMF muss Sie in Ihrer Sprache über das Dublin-Verfahren und den aktuellen Stand des Übernahmeersuchens an den anderen Dublin-Staat informieren. Sie haben das Recht regelmäßig nach dem aktuellen Stand zu fragen und Einsicht in Ihre Akte zu bekommen. Nutzen Sie dieses Recht und erkundigen Sie sich mindestens alle vier Wochen bei Ihrem Sachbearbeiter nach neuen Entwicklungen.

Wenn Sie freiwillig in den anderen Dublin-Staat zurückkehren möchten, statt abgeschoben zu werden, muss Ihnen dies ermöglicht werden.

Sie müssen dem BAMF unbedingt Ihre aktuelle Adresse mitteilen, wenn Sie innerhalb Deutschlands umziehen. Wenn Sie dies nicht tun, schickt das BAMF Ihre Post an Ihre alte Adresse und Sie versäumen möglicherweise wichtige Fristen und Termine. Außerdem kann das BAMF Ihnen Untertauchen unterstellen. Untertauchen erhöht Ihre Überstellungfrist von sechs auf 18 Monate.

Bitte beachten Sie: Ab dem 1. August 2019 erhalten Geflüchtete, die von einem anderen Dublin-Staat bereits als Flüchtling, Asylberechtigter oder subsidiär Schutzberechtigter anerkannt wurden, in Deutschland keine Sozialleistungen mehr. Diese Personen erhalten nur noch sogenannte „Überbrückungsleistungen“ für 14 Tage. Nach Ablauf dieser 14 Tage gibt es keinerlei Leistungen mehr.

Was kann ich tun, wenn Deutschland mich in einen anderen Dublin-Staat zurückschicken will?

Sie können gegen die Ablehnung Ihres Asylantrags als „unzulässig“ klagen. Die Klage müssen Sie beim zuständigen Verwaltungsgericht einreichen. Welches Verwaltungsgericht zuständig ist, steht in der "Rechtsmittelbelehrung" am Ende Ihres Bescheids. Für die Einreichung der Klage haben Sie zwei Wochen Zeit. Die Frist läuft ab dem Tag, der auf dem Briefumschlag Ihres Bescheids angegeben ist. Wenn Sie zusätzlich einen Eilantrag stellen, müssen Sie dies innerhalb einer Woche machen. Ein erfolgreicher Eilantrag verhindert, dass Sie während des Gerichtsverfahrens abgeschoben werden können. Ohne Eilantrag können Sie noch während des Gerichtsverfahrens abgeschoben werden. Beachten Sie aber bitte, dass durch einen Eilantrag in der Regel die oben genannte sechsmonatige Überstellungsfrist erneut zu laufen beginnt. Lassen Sie sich unbedingt von einem Anwalt dazu beraten.

Die Erfolgssausichten einer Klage sind in der Regel nicht groß. Eine Klage lohnt sich vor allem, wenn in dem für Sie zuständigen Dublin-Staat „systemische Mängel“ festgestellt wurden. Das heißt, dass das Asylsystem des zuständigen Staates Ihnen keine angemessene Versorgung oder kein faires Asylverfahren garantieren kann. Verschiedene Gerichte haben in den letzten Jahren immer wieder für verschiedene Staaten (unter anderem Griechenland, Italien, Bulgarien, Ungarn) systemische Mängel festgestellt und die Überstellung in diese Staaten verboten.

Wenn eine Klage nicht erfolgsversprechend war, können Sie versuchen eine Petition beim Landtag oder Bundestag einzureichen oder in einer Kirche Schutz zu finden. Das Petitionsverfahren ist allerdings langwierig und hat keine aufschiebende Wirkung, d.h. dass Sie noch währenddessen abgeschoben werden können. Kirchenasyl kann eine letzte Rettung vor einer drohenden Abschiebung sein, da Sie in der Regel Ihre sechsmonatige Überstellungsfrist im Kirchenasyl abwarten können und danach Deutschland für Ihr Asylverfahren zuständig wird. Es kann allerdings passieren, dass sich die ursprünglich sechsmonatige Frist durch das Kirchenasyl auf 18 Monate erhöht. Das passiert, wenn die Behörde Ihnen unterstellt im Kirchenasyl „untergetaucht“ zu sein. Lassen Sie sich von einer Beratungsstelle oder einem Anwalt beraten.

Einen Anwalt finden Sie zum Beispiel durch Pro Asyl. Die Mitarbeiter sprechen dort Deutsch und Englisch und sind unter +49 (0)69–242 314 20 und proasyl@proasyl.de erreichbar. Auf kirchenasyl.de finden Sie Informationen zum Thema Kirchenasyl.

Was passiert, wenn ein anderer Dublin-Staat mir bereits Schutz gewährt hat?

Wenn Sie in einen anderen Dublin-Staat erfolgreich Asyl beantragt haben und als Asylberechtigter, Flüchtling oder subsidiär Schutzberechtigter anerkannt wurden, wird Ihr Asylantrag in Deutschland „wegen der Einreise aus einem sicheren Drittstaat“ in der Regel als "unzulässig" abgelehnt. Das ist die sogenannte „Drittstaatenregelung“.

Sie dürfen in diesem Fall zwar nach Deutschland reisen und sich hier 90 Tage aufhalten, aber Sie dürfen hier nicht dauerhaft wohnen oder arbeiten. Wenn Sie nach 90 Tagen nicht wieder ausreisen, können Sie in das andere EU-Land abgeschoben werden.

Gegen die Ablehnung Ihres in Deutschland gestellten Asylantrags, können Sie vor dem Verwaltungsgericht klagen. Nach Erhalt des ablehnenden Bescheids haben Sie eine Woche Zeit die Klage und einen Eilantrag einzureichen. Ein erfolgreicher Eilantrag verhindert, dass Sie noch vor der Entscheidung des Gerichts über Ihre Klage abgeschoben werden können. Lassen Sie sich unbedingt von einem Anwalt beraten. Einen Anwalt finden Sie zum Beispiel durch Pro Asyl. Die Mitarbeiter sprechen dort Deutsch und Englisch und sind unter +49 69–242 314 20 und proasyl@proasyl.de erreichbar.

Welche Abkommen gibt es noch?

Die Europäische Union versucht aktuell die Dublin-Verordnung zu reformieren. Weil das noch lange dauern wird, schließen einzelne Länder nun bilaterale Abkommen ab. Ein derartiges Abkommen gibt es zum Beispiel zwischen Frankreich und Italien. Deutschland hat im August und September 2018 Abkommen mit Spanien, Italien und Griechenland geschlossen. Laut diesen Abkommen darf Deutschland Geflüchtete, die bereits in Spanien, Italien oder Griechenland Asyl beantragt haben und an der deutsch-österreichischen Grenze kontrolliert werden, innerhalb von 48 Stunden direkt in diese Länder zurückschicken.