Do I currently have a Duldung according to §60b Residence Act?

Your Duldung type is specified on your Duldung paper. When your Duldung is issued according to §60b, you may see the following sentences:

  • für Personen mit ungeklärter Identität“ ("for people with unclear identity")
  • Erlischt bei Besitz eines zur Ausreise bzw. Rückführung in den Herkunftsstaat berechtigenden Dokumentes“ ("Expires if you have a document authorising you to leave or return to your country of origin")
  •  „Erwerbstätigkeit nicht gestattet (§60b Abs. 5 S. 2 AufenthG)“ ("Employment not permitted (Section 60b, Paragraph 5, Sentence 2, Residence Act)") and „Bei Verstößen droht Unternehmer/Arbeitgeber Bußgeld bis zu 500.000€“ ("In the event of violations, entrepreneurs / employers face a fine of up to € 500,000")
  • Wohnsitznahme in … erforderlich“ ("Residency in ... required")

Who is issued a Duldung according to §60b Residence Act?

When the Immigration Office concludes that generally, you are entitled to a Duldung, at the time of issuing or extending the document, they will check whether you meet all the requirements for a Duldung following Section 60a of the Residence Act. If not, it will be checked whether the grounds for a "Duldung light" according to the §60b Residence Act exist- that is when you could not be deported because:

  • you have misled authorities about your identity or nationality, e.g., you have not given them your actual country of origin or have not submitted a real passport.
  • you have given false information.
  • you do not have a passport and you have not made an effort to obtain one. This is called the "passport procurement obligation" ("Passbeschaffungspflicht")

 

Important: §60b does not apply to you if:

  • there are other reasons (e.g., an illness) for your Duldung. For a "Duldung Light", deception, false information or lack of attempt to obtain a passport must be the only reason why you cannot be deported.
  • you are a minor. Minors are not liable for deception, false information or a missing passport - their parents or guardians are.
  • you have a Duldung for vocational training ("Ausbildungsduldung") or a Duldung for employment ("Beschäftigungsduldung") or you have already applied for one of them and meet all the requirements.

Please note: The immigration authorities must inform you of your obligation to cooperate and give you the opportunity to apply for a passport. Only if you fail to apply for a passport or prove that you have made an effort, the Immigration Office can give you a Dudung according to §60b.

What does "Passbeschaffungspflicht" mean?

In principle, people with "unclear identity" are obliged to obtain a passport and are expected to do all they can to do so, but within what is feasible. Generally speaking, for obtaining a passport the following steps are considered feasible:

  • Visiting the embassy in person as well as the submission of fingerprints or other identification measures (e.g., photos, measurements).
  • Submitting a declaration of willingness ("Freiwilligkeitserklärung"). A declaration of willingness states that you are willing to return to your home country voluntarily if necessary. Many countries require this declaration before they can issue you with ID papers (from your home country). You have to sign the declaration in the embassy of your country.
  • Attending hearings.
  • Communication of all facts and evidence that are necessary to clarify your identity.
  • You have to make a declaration in which you confirm your general readiness to do military service in your country. You do not have to declare that you have done your military service.
  • Payment of passport fees and other costs.
  • Obtaining documents such as a birth certificate from contact persons in your home country.

Please note: If the authorities require you to do something that you find unreasonable, e.g., because you have a well-founded fear of visiting the embassy or you cannot make the declaration about military service, you should contact a counselling centre. You can find the addresses of a counselling centre in your area in the section "Where can I find help and support?".

If the authorities so require and a different outcome is likely in the future, you must repeat the above actions in order to obtain a passport.

Important: You do not need to apply for a passport if:

  • You have a ban on deportation according to Section 60 (5) or (7) that is not based solely on health reasons.
  • You are still in the asylum procedure. Please note: Your asylum procedure is only completed when the rejection of your asylum application becomes final.

How can I prove that I have applied for a passport?

To avoid being accused of failing to get a passport, you need to convince the Immigration Office about your efforts. So you do not necessarily have to present a passport right away. It is enough if you can prove that you are trying to obtain a passport. Possible evidence can be, for instance, an appointment confirmation from the embassy, ​​a letter from the embassy or a letter to a relevant contact person in your home country. You can also try to prove your efforts with photos of your visits to the embassy. The Thuringia Refugee Council has developed a template that you can use for documenting your efforts. You can find it on the last pages of the Info-booklet " Arbeitshilfe "Mitwirkungspflichten" (PDF).

If the evidence proves that you are making an effort, you have fulfilled your obligation to cooperate. When that is the case, §60b does not apply to you any longer and you will receive a Duldung according to §60a. You can find out more about your rights and obligations as a person with a Duldung according to §60a in our chapter "Duldung". If you do not have any proof, but the immigration authorities believe that you have made an effort, they can ask you to take out a so-called "eidesstaatliche Versicherung" i.e. an affirmation in lieu of an oath. An "eidesstaatliche Versicherung" or "Versicherung an Eides Staat" is a specific affirmation with which a person confirms that a certain declaration is true. Once you have submitted such an affirmation, you have fulfilled your obligation to cooperate. That means §60b will not apply to you any longer.

Please note: Whether you get the opportunity to prove your efforts through an affirmation in lieu of an oath is up to the immigration authorities to decide. That means you are not entitled to it.

Important: If you submit a false affirmation in lieu of an oath, you will be liable to prosecution - and you can be punished with a prison sentence or a fine.

What effects does a Duldung according to §60b Residence Act have?

When you have a Duldung under §60b, there are some direct legal implications you need to consider.

Holders of "Duldung light" are:

  • Not allowed to work.
  • Not allowed to move to another district.
  • Your asylum seeker benefits will be reduced. So you get less financial aid from the state.
  • Also,The months or years with "Duldung light" are not counted if you later want to apply for a residence permit for people with Duldung such as the residence permit according to §25a or §25b Residence Act or a settlement permit. You can find out more about residence permits for people with Duldung in our chapter "Residence permit for individuals with Duldung".

Please note: Failure to make an effort to get a passport is an administrative offence. And it can be punished with a fine of up to € 5000.

How can I switch from Duldung light to regular Duldung?

To get rid of your Duldung Light (§60b), you have to make credible efforts to obtain a passport. As soon as you can prove that you are trying to get a passport, you have fulfilled your obligation to cooperate. To find out how to do so, see "How can I prove that I am trying to get a passport?". As soon as you have fulfilled your obligation to cooperate, you can switch to the "regular" Duldung according to §60a. And again have the rights that holders of a Duldung according to §60a have. You can find out more about this in our chapter "Duldung".

Where can I find advice and support?

If you have (or qualify for) a Duldung according to §60b, you should seek advice from a counselling centre or lawyer. A Duldung according to §60b has several negative impacts that you should try to avoid. Therefore, you need to find out what kind of cooperation the immigration authorities can ask you for toward procuring a passport and what consequences they may have for you. Many people with a Duldung are, for instance, afraid that they will be deported if they present a passport. For others, it is very difficult or even impossible to obtain a passport. It is therefore important that each individual seek case-specific counselling. You can find a counselling centre, for example, on the Pro Asyl website or at Refugee Council. For specialised lawyers visit www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de

Habe ich aktuell eine Duldung nach §60b?

Welche Duldung Sie haben, können Sie auf Ihrer Duldung selbst lesen. Bei einer Duldung nach §60b stehen dort folgende Sätze:

  • „für Personen mit ungeklärter Identität“
  • „Erlischt bei Besitz eines zur Ausreise bzw. Rückführung in den Herkunftsstaat berechtigenden Dokumentes“
  •  „Erwerbstätigkeit nicht gestattet (§60b Abs. 5 S. 2 AufenthG)“ und „Bei Verstößen droht Unternehmer/Arbeitgeber Bußgeld bis zu 500.000€“
  • „Wohnsitznahme in …  erforderlich“

Wer bekommt eine Duldung nach §60b ?

Wenn die Ausländerbehörde zu dem Ergebnis kommt, dass Ihnen generell eine Duldung zusteht, dann prüft sie bei der Ersterteilung oder bei der Verlängerung, ob Sie alle Ansprüche für eine Duldung gemäß §60a AufenthG erfüllen. Falls nicht, wird geprüft ob die in §60b AufenthG genannten Gründe für eine "Duldung light" vorliegen. Das ist der Fall, wenn Sie nicht abgeschoben werden konnten, weil

  • Sie über Ihre Identität oder Staatsangehörigkeit getäuscht haben, also z.B. ein falsches Herkunftsland angegeben oder einen falschen Pass abgegeben haben.
  • Sie falsche Angaben gemacht haben.
  • Sie keinen Pass haben und sich nicht bemüht haben, einen Pass zu bekommen. Das nennt man "Passbeschaffungspflicht".

Wichtig: §60b gilt für Sie nicht:

  • Wenn es noch andere Gründe (z.B. eine Krankheit) für Ihre Duldung gibt. Die Täuschung oder die falschen Angaben oder die Passlosigkeit müssen also der einzige Grund sein, warum Sie nicht abgeschoben werden können.
  • Wenn Sie minderjährig sind. Minderjährige sind für eine Täuschung oder falsche Angaben oder einen fehlenden Pass nicht selbst verantwortlich, da ihre Eltern oder ihr Vormund dafür verantwortlich sind.
  • Wenn Sie eine Ausbildungsduldung oder eine Beschäftigungsduldung haben oder Sie bereits eine Ausbildungsduldung oder Beschäftigungsduldung beantragt haben und alle Voraussetzungen erfüllen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Die Ausländerbehörde muss Sie auf Ihre Mitwirkungspflicht hinweisen und Ihnen die Möglichkeit geben, sich um einen Pass zu bemühen. Nur wenn Sie sich dann nicht um einen Pass bemühen oder nicht glaubhaft machen können, dass Sie sich bemüht haben, kann die Ausländerbehörde Ihnen eine Duldung nach §60b geben.

Was bedeutet "Passbeschaffungspflicht"?

Generell besteht eine Pflicht sich einen Pass zu beschaffen und alles Notwendige zu unternehmen, um einen Pass zu bekommen. Allerdings nur solange dies zumutbar ist. Zumutbar sind in der Regel folgende Handlungen:

  • Die persönliche Vorsprache bei der Botschaft sowie die Abgabe von Fingerabdrücken oder anderen erkennungsdienstlichen Maßnahmen (z.B. Fotos, Messungen).
  • Die Abgabe einer Freiwilligkeitserklärung. Eine Freiwilligkeitserklärung  besagt, dass Sie gegebenenfalls bereit sind freiwillig in Ihr Heimatland zurückzukehren. Viele Länder verlangen diese Erklärung, bevor Sie Ihnen Papiere aus Ihrem Heimatland ausstellen. Die Freiwilligkeitserklärung müssen Sie in der Botschaft Ihres Landes unterschreiben.
  • Die Teilnahme an Anhörungen.
  • Die Angabe aller Tatsachen und Nachweise, die zur Klärung Ihrer Identität nötig sind.
  • Sie müssen eine Erklärung abgeben, in der Sie bestätigen, dass sie generell bereit sind, die Wehrpflicht in ihrem Land zu erfüllen. Sie müssen nicht erklären, dass Sie Ihren Militärdienst geleistet haben.
  • Die  Zahlung der Passgebühren und sonstiger Kosten.
  • Das Beschaffen von Unterlagen  wie z.B. eine Geburtsurkunde über Kontaktpersonen im Heimatland.

Bitte beachten Sie: Falls die Behörde eine Handlung von Ihnen verlangt, die Sie nicht zumutbar finden, weil Sie z.B. begründete Angst vor einem Besuch bei der Botschaft haben oder Sie die Erklärung über den Militärdienst nicht abgeben können, sollten Sie sich an eine Beratungsstelle wenden. Die Adressen von Beratungsstellen in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie im Abschnitt "Wo finde ich Hilfe & Unterstützung?".

Falls die Behörde es verlangt, müssen Sie die oben genannten Handlungen auch wiederholen. Allerdings nur, wenn dieses Mal ein anderes Resultat zu erwarten ist.

Wichtig: Sie müssen sich nicht um einen Pass bemühen, wenn:

  • Sie ein Abschiebungsverbot nach §60 Absatz 5 oder 7 haben, das nicht allein auf gesundheitlichen Gründen beruht.
  • Sie noch im Asylverfahren sind. Bitte beachten Sie: Ihr Asylverfahren ist erst abgeschlossen, wenn Ihre Ablehnung rechtskräftig ist.

Wie kann ich nachweisen, dass ich mich um einen Pass bemüht habe?

Damit Ihnen nicht vorgeworfen wird, dass Sie sich nicht um einen Pass bemühen, müssen Sie Ihre Bemühungen glaubhaft machen. Sie müssen also nicht unbedingt gleich einen Pass vorlegen. Es genügt, wenn Sie nachweisen können, dass Sie sich um einen Pass bemühen. Mögliche Nachweise können z.B. eine Terminbestätigung der Botschaft, ein Schreiben der Botschaft oder ein Schreiben an eine Kontaktperson im Heimatland sein. Sie können auch versuchen, Ihre Bemühungen durch Fotos Ihrer Botschaftsbesuche zu beweisen. Der Flüchtlingsrat Thüringen hat ein Muster entwickelt, das Sie als Vorlage für die Dokumentation Ihrer Bemühungen nutzen können. Sie finden es auf den letzten Seiten des PDFs Arbeitshilfe "Mitwirkungspflichten".

Wenn diese Nachweise glaubhaft belegen, dass Sie sich bemühen, haben Sie Ihre Mitwirkungspflicht erfüllt. In diesem Fall gilt §60b nicht (mehr) für Sie und Sie bekommen eine Duldung nach §60a. Mehr zu Ihren Rechten & Pflichten mit einer Duldung nach §60a erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Duldung".

Wenn Sie keine Nachweise haben, aber die Ausländerbehörde Ihnen glaubt, dass Sie sich bemüht haben, kann sie Sie zu einer sogenannten "eidesstaatliche Versicherung" auffordern. Die eidesstaatliche Versicherung oder auch "Versicherung an Eides Staat" ist eine besondere Beteuerung, mit der eine Person bekräftigt, dass eine bestimmte Erklärung der Wahrheit entspricht. Wenn Sie die eidesstaatliche Versicherung abgegeben haben, haben Sie Ihre Mitwirkungspflicht erfüllt. Auch in diesem Fall gilt §60b nicht (mehr) für Sie. Bitte beachten Sie: Ob Sie die Möglichkeit bekommen, Ihre Bemühungen durch eine eidesstaatliche Versicherung zu beweisen, ist die Entscheidung der Ausländerbehörde. Sie haben keinen Anspruch darauf.

Wichtig: Wenn Sie eine falsche eidesstaatliche Versicherung abgeben, machen Sie sich strafbar. In diesem Fall können Sie mit einer Gefängnisstrafe oder einer Geldstrafe bestraft werden.

   

Welche Auswirkungen hat eine Duldung nach §60b?

Wenn Sie eine Duldung nach §60b haben, gibt es einige direkte gesetzliche Auswirkungen. Für Inhaber*innen einer "Duldung light" gelten folgende Regeln:

  • Sie dürfen nicht arbeiten.
  • Sie dürfen nicht in einen anderen Landkreis umziehen.
  • Ihre Asylbewerberleistungen werden gekürzt. Sie erhalten also weniger finanzielle Hilfe vom Staat.
  • Die Monate oder Jahre mit "Duldung light" werden nicht angerechnet, wenn sie später eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis für Menschen mit Duldung wie z.B. die Aufenthaltserlaubnis nach §25a oder §25b AufenthG oder eine Niederlassungserlaubnis beantragen wollen. Mehr zu den Aufenthaltserlaubnissen für Menschen mit Duldung erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Bleiberecht für Geduldete".

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie sich nicht bemühen, einen Pass zu bekommen, ist das eine Ordnungswidrigkeit. Das kann mit einer Geldbuße bis zu 5000 Euro bestraft werden.

 

Wie kann ich von der "Duldung light" zu einer normalen Duldung wechseln?

Um Ihre Duldung nach §60b loszuwerden, müssen Sie sich glaubhaft um einen Pass bemühen. Sobald Sie nachweisen, dass Sie sich um einen Pass bemühen, haben Sie Ihre Mitwirkungspflicht erfüllt. Wie Sie dies tun können, erfahren Sie im Abschnitt "Wie kann ich nachweisen, dass ich mich um einen Pass bemühe?". Sobald Sie Ihre Mitwirkungspflicht erfüllt haben, wechseln Sie in die "normale" Duldung nach §60a. Und haben auch wieder die Rechte, die Inhaber*innen einer Duldung nach §60a haben. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Duldung".

Wo bekomme ich Beratung & Unterstützung?

Wenn Sie eine Duldung nach §60b haben oder bekommen sollen, sollten Sie sich bei einer Beratungsstelle oder einer Anwaltskanzlei beraten lassen. Eine Duldung nach §60b hat viele negative Auswirkungen, die Sie vermeiden sollten. Darum sollten Sie sich darüber informieren, welche Art der Mitwirkung an der Passbeschaffung die Ausländerbehörde von Ihnen verlangen kann und welche Folgen dies für Sie haben kann. Viele Menschen mit Duldung haben z.B. Angst, dass sie bei Vorlage eines Passes abgeschoben werden. Für andere ist es sehr schwierig oder sogar unmöglich, einen Pass zu bekommen. Darum ist es wichtig, dass sich jede*r Einzelne konkret zu seinem Fall beraten lässt. Eine Beratungsstelle finden Sie z.B. auf der Website von Pro Asyl oder auf der Website Ihres Flüchtlingsrats.  Anwält*innen finden Sie auf www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de.