What is "Duldung"?

A Tolerated Stay Permit or "Duldung" is not an actual residence permit, but rather a temporary residence document which enables you to stay in Germany for a limited period. Those who hold a tolerated stay permit can legally reside in Germany for the time, but their obligation to leave still stands. A tolerated stay permit is usually valid only for a few days, weeks or months. If the deportation impediment(s) or other causes of issuing a "Duldung" persist, your tolerated stay permit will be extended- otherwise, it will not be prolonged.

You can learn more in section “How long is my Duldung valid?“ below.

Can I have a tolerated stay permit (“Duldung”)?

In principle, you have to leave Germany when your application for asylum is rejected. Same applies to you if you have entered Germany without a visa or residence permit and have not applied for asylum. Under certain circumstances, however, you may be granted a tolerated stay permit or "Duldung".

You may be issued a "Duldung", if:

  • there is an obstacle to deportation, i.e. your deportation is not feasible due to legal or practical reasons. This is the case, for instance, when you do not have a passport, you are unable to travel due to your health conditions, or when there are no flight connections to your home country. In such situations, you must be permitted a tolerated stay, i.e. the Immigration Office is obliged to issue you a "Duldung".
  • you should stay in Germany for important humanitarian or personal reasons. This is the case, for instance, when you are about to graduate from school, need to complete medical treatments, care for a sick family member in Germany, or take part in pre-vocational courses or study in a university. In such situations, the Immigration Office can grant you a "Duldung", although they are not obliged to do so ("Ermessensduldung").
  • the public interest requires your further presence in Germany. This is the case, for instance, when you are a witness in a lawsuit.
  • you start a qualified school-based vocational training programme or a dual degree course. In such cases, you will be granted a so-called educational tolerated stay or "Ausbildungsduldung" if you meet certain preconditions. In contrast to other forms of tolerated stay, the educational tolerated stay is valid for the entire duration of your training/education, i.e. usually two to three years. For more, read our chapter “Tolerated Stay for the Purpose of Vocational Training (Ausbildungsduldung)”.
  • you have been holding a "Duldung" for at least 12 months, you have an ID issued by your country, you have been working for at least 35 hours a week for at least 18 months, you are not receiving aids from the Social Welfare Office, you have an A2 (or higher) language certificate, and you have come to Germany before 01.08.2018. If you meet all of these requirements, you will be issued a so-called "Beschäftigungsduldung" valid for 30 months. You can learn more about this form of Duldung in our chapter "Beschäftigungsduldung".
  • the Ministry of the Interior in your federal state or the German Federal Ministry of the Interior has issued a deportation ban for people from your country. However, such a decision is made rarely and only in cases of acute disaster. It may happen if, for instance, there is a famine in your home country.

Contact a counselling centre or a lawyer to learn more about your options and whether you can be issued a tolerated stay permit. You can search for a lawyer or a counselling centre, namely at www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de or ProAsyl.

What are my rights and obligations during my tolerated stay?

There are many special regulations for people with a tolerated stay permit-  and their rights are limited. When you have a "Duldung", you:

  • may only work if the Immigration Office issues you a work permit. You can learn more in our chapter “Work Permit”.
  • can take part in vocational training programmes and study. Keep in mind that you need to obtain a work permit to start dual vocational training.
  • are not entitled to participation in an integration course. However, you can search for a free spot in an integration course and submit the corresponding application to the BAMF. Learn more in our chapter “Intergration Course”.
  • receive asylum seeker benefits and not benefits from the Jobcentre.
  • are not, in principle, entitled to any parental benefits ("Elterngeld") or child support ("Kindergeld").
  • are not allowed to move to another city or federal state as long as you receive state benefits.
  • are not permitted, in principle, to travel abroad. Traveling out of Germany may lead to the revocation or termination of your "Duldung".
  • must provide the immigration authorities with information about your identity and citizenship and present the relevant documents.
  • The immigration authorities may evaluate data from your smartphone or your computer if this is necessary to establish your identity.

People with Duldung are obliged to cooperate to ensure that their identity is clarified and their deportation is possible. This obligationto cooperate is known as "Mitwirkungspflicht". That is why, for example, the authorities may require you to apply for a passport from your home country’s embassy. If you do not try to get a passport, the immigration authorities may issue you a “Duldung” according to §60b Asylum Act. This is a form of “Duldung” that can have many negative effects on your situation. You can find out more in our chapter "Tolerance for people with unclear identities". If you do not cooperate, in addition, your asylum seeker benefits also can be decreased- it may even be considered a crime.

Please note: Seek advice from a counselling centre or a law firm if the immigration authorities demand your cooperation. You are not obliged to take every action in every case. The law firm or an counselling centre can tell you what you actually need to do and what the consequences are. You can search for a lawyer or counselling centre, namely, at  www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de or ProAsyl.

How long is my "Duldung" valid?

A “Duldung” is usually only valid for a short time: often one, three or six months. and then you need to have them extended. If your deportation is still not possible, your Duldung will be extended. A Duldung can be extended again and again over many years. If the original reason for the issuing of your Duldung no longer applies and there is no new reason for a Duldung, your Duldung will not be extended. When that is the case, you may be at risk of deportation.

Please note: The date stated in the Duldung does not guarantee that you will not be deported before. In many Duldung papers, it is indicated that the document loses its validity if a certain event occurs. The mentioned event could be the end of your medical treatment or the arrival of your passport, for example. The immigration authorities can also revoke your Duldung at any time if the reasons for the issuing of your Duldung no longer exist. For example, if you received a Duldung because there was no flight connection to your home country but now the necessary flight connection exists, the Immigration Office can revoke your Duldung. The Duldung then loses its validity and you may be deported.

Can I be deported despite having a "Duldung"?

A "Duldung" is not a residence permit but rather the suspension of your deportation obligation. Having a "Duldung" does not eliminate your obligation to leave Germany, but only postpones it for a specific period. 

After the expiration or revocation of your "Duldung", in principle, you may be deported. Your deportation then may be carried out immediately and without any notice (“Abschiebungsandrohung”). Only if you have lived with a "Duldung" for more than a year, the authorities are obliged to notify you of your imminent deportation at least one month in advance. In this case, you will be sent a deportation notice or “Abschiebungsandrohung“ unless you have a “Duldung” according to §60b Asylum Act.

Where and how can I apply for a "Duldung"?

You can apply for a tolerated stay permit or "Duldung" at the Immigration Office responsible for you. You need to make an appointment and bring along all the documents you need for your application. For instance, if you wish to apply for aso-called "Ausblidungsdudldung", you need to bring along your vocational training contract and, if necessary, a confirmation from the Chamber of Crafts ("Handwerkskammer") or the Chamber of Commerce and Industry ("Industrie- und Handelskammer").

If your deportation is not possible due to practical or legal reasons, you will automatically be granted a tolerated stay permit, i.e. you do not need to apply for it personally. But the Immigration Office needs to know about your departure not being feasible at the time. It is therefore imperative that you always inform the immigration authorities about all relevant events. It is best to seek advice from a counselling centre or a law firm beforehand.

You can find the Immigration Office responsible for you at bamf.de.

Can I get married despite having a “Duldung”?

A “Duldung” per se is not an obstacle to a marriage. In order to get married at a German registry office, however, you need a number of documents, including a passport. If the reason for issuing of your “Duldung” is the lack of a passport, you should definitely seek advice from a counselling centre or a lawyer in advance. You can find out more about marriage in Germany in our chapter "Marriage".

Can I obtain a residence permit as someone with a “Duldung”?

Many people live in Germany with “Duldung” for years. But there are also possibilities for persons with “Duldung” to obtain a residence permit. You can find out more in our chapter "Residence Permits for Individuals with Duldung“.

Where can I find counselling and support?

If you have a Duldung, you should definitely seek advice from a counselling centre or a lawyer. Every case is unique. You can find lawyers or a counselling centre, for example, at www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de or bei  ProAsyl.

Was ist eine Duldung?

Die Duldung ist kein Aufenthaltstitel, sondern ein Aufenthaltspapier. Der Inhaber hält sich rechtmäßig in Deutschland auf, die Ausreisepflicht bleibt aber weiterhin bestehen. Eine Duldung wird in der Regel nur für einige Tage, Wochen oder Monate ausgestellt. Wenn das Abschiebehindernis oder ein anderer Grund für eine Duldung weiterhin besteht, wird Ihre Duldung verlängert. Wenn das Abschiebehindernis oder der andere Grund wegfällt, wird Ihre Duldung nicht verlängert. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie im Abschnitt "Wie lange gilt meine Duldung?".

 

Kann ich eine Duldung bekommen?

Wenn Ihr Asylantrag abgelehnt wurde oder Sie ohne Visum oder Aufenthaltserlaubnis nach Deutschland eingereist sind und keinen Asylantrag stellen, müssen Sie Deutschland in der Regel verlassen. Unter bestimmten Umständen kann Ihnen aber eine Duldung ausgestellt werden.

Sie können eine Duldung bekommen, wenn:

  • Ihre Abschiebung aus rechtlichen oder tatsächlichen Gründen nicht möglich ist, es also ein Hindernis für die Abschiebung gibt. Das ist zum Beispiel der Fall, wenn Sie keinen Pass haben, Sie gesundheitlich nicht in der Lage sind zu reisen oder es gar keine Flugverbindung in Ihr Heimatland gibt. In diesen Fällen müssen Sie sogar eine Duldung bekommen, d.h. die Ausländerbehörde ist verpflichtet, Ihnen eine Duldung auszustellen.
  • Ihre weitere Anwesenheit in Deutschland aus dringenden humanitären oder persönlichen Gründen erforderlich ist. Das ist zum Beispiel der Fall, wenn Sie kurz vor Ihrem Schulabschluss stehen, eine medizinische Behandlung abschließen müssen, ein krankes Familienmitglied in Deutschland betreuen oder an einer berufsvorbereitenden Maßnahme teilnehmen oder studieren. In diesen Fällen kann Ihnen die Ausländerbehörde eine Duldung erteilen, sie muss aber nicht („Ermessensduldung“).
  • Das öffentliches Interesse Ihre weitere Anwesenheit in Deutschland erfordert. Das ist zum Beispiel der Fall, wenn Sie Zeuge oder Zeugin in einem Gerichtsverfahren sind.
  • Sie eine qualifizierte duale Ausbildung oder schulische Ausbildung oder ein duales Studium beginnen. In diesem Fall bekommen Sie unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen eine sogenannte "Ausbildungsduldung". Im Gegensatz zu anderen Duldungsarten gilt eine Ausbildungsduldung für die gesamte Dauer der Ausbildung, also in der Regel für zwei bis drei Jahre. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Ausbildungsduldung".
  • Sie seit mindestens 12 Monaten eine Duldung haben, Sie Ausweispapiere aus Ihrem Land haben, Sie seit mindestens 18 Monaten mindestens 35 Stunden pro Woche arbeiten, Sie keine Leistungen vom Sozialamt bekommen können, Sie Deutschkenntnisse auf dem Niveau A2 oder höher haben und Sie vor dem 01.08.2018 nach Deutschland eingereist sind. Wenn Sie all diese Voraussetzungen erfüllen, können Sie eine Duldung für 30 Monate bekommen. Diese Duldung nennt man „Beschäftigungsduldung“. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Beschäftigungsduldung".
  • das Innenministerium Ihres Bundeslands oder das Bundesinnenministerium einen Abschiebestopp für Menschen aus Ihrem Land erlassen hat. Das wird aber nur sehr selten und nur in akuten Katastrophensituationen (z.B., wenn es eine Hungersnot in Ihrem Land gibt) gemacht.

Eine Beratungsstelle oder eine Anwaltskanzlei können Ihnen sagen, ob Sie eine Duldung bekommen können und was zu tun ist. Anwält*innen oder eine Beratungsstelle finden Sie z.B. auf www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de oder bei ProAsyl.

Welche Rechte und Pflichten habe ich mit einer Duldung?

Für Menschen mit Duldung gelten viele spezielle Regelungen und sie haben nur eingeschränkte Rechte:

  • Sie dürfen nur arbeiten, wenn die Ausländerbehörde Ihnen eine Arbeitserlaubnis erteilt hat. Mehr dazu in unserem Kapitel "Arbeitserlaubnis".
  • Sie dürfen eine Ausbildung machen oder studieren. Für eine duale Ausbildung brauchen Sie allerdings auch eine Arbeitserlaubnis.
  • Sie haben keinen Anspruch auf die Teilnahme an einem Integrationskurs. Sie können aber nach einem freien Platz in einem Integrationskurs fragen und einen entsprechenden Antrag beim BAMF stellen. Mehr dazu in unserem Kapitel "Integrationskurse".
  • Sie erhalten Asylbewerberleistungen und keine Leistungen vom Jobcenter.
  • Sie bekommen in der Regel kein Eltern- und Kindergeld.
  • Sie dürfen in der Regel nicht in eine andere Stadt oder in ein anderes Bundesland umziehen, solange Sie staatliche Leistungen beziehen.
  • Sie dürfen in der Regel nicht ins Ausland reisen. Wenn Sie aus Deutschland ausreisen, kann das den Widerruf oder das Erlöschen Ihrer Duldung zur Folge haben.
  • Sie müssen gegenüber der Ausländerbehörde Angaben über Ihre Identität und Staatsbürgerschaft machen und entsprechende Dokumente vorlegen.
  • Die Ausländerbehörde darf Daten von Ihrem Smartphone oder Ihren Computer auswerten, wenn das für die Feststellung Ihrer Identität notwendig ist.

Menschen mit Duldung sind verpflichtet daran mitzuwirken, dass Ihre Identität geklärt ist und Ihre Abschiebung möglich ist. Das nennt man "Mitwirkungspflicht". So kann es zum Beispiel sein, dass Sie von den Behörden verpflichtet werden, einen Pass für Ihr Heimatland zu beantragen. Wenn Sie sich nicht um einen Pass bemühen, kann Ihnen die Ausländerbehörde eine Duldung nach §60b AufenthG geben. Das ist eine Form der Duldung, die viele negative Auswirkungen für Sie hat. Außerdem können Ihre Asylbewerberleitungen gekürzt werden. Und Sie können sich sogar strafbar machen.

Beachten Sie bitte: Lassen Sie sich von einer Beratungsstelle oder einer Anwaltskanzlei beraten, wenn die Ausländerbehörde Ihre Mitwirkung verlangt. Sie sind nicht in jedem Fall zu jeder Handlung verpflichtet. Die Anwaltskanzlei oder eine Beratungsstelle können Ihnen sagen, was Sie tatsächlich tun müssen und welche Folgen das für Sie haben kann. Anwält*innen oder eine Beratungsstelle finden Sie z.B. auf www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de oder bei ProAsyl.

 

Wie lange gilt meine Duldung?

Eine Duldung gilt in der Regel nur für kurze Zeit. Häufig gelten Duldungen für einen, drei oder sechs Monate und müssen dann verlängert werden. Wenn Ihre Abschiebung weiterhin nicht möglich ist, wird diese verlängert. Eine Duldung kann so über viele Jahre immer wieder verlängert werden. Wenn der ursprüngliche Grund für Ihre Duldung nicht mehr gilt und es keinen neuen Grund für eine Duldung gibt, wird Ihre Duldung nicht verlängert. In diesem Fall droht die Abschiebung.

Bitte beachten Sie: Das in der Duldung genannte Datum ist keine Garantie, dass Sie bis dahin nicht abgeschoben werden. In vielen Duldungen steht ein Hinweis, dass die Duldung ihre Gültigkeit verliert, wenn ein bestimmtes Ereignis eintritt. Dieses Ereignis kann z.B. das Ende Ihrer medizinischen Behandlung sein oder das Eintreffen Ihres Passes. Die Ausländerbehörde kann Ihre Duldung außerdem jederzeit widerrufen, wenn die Gründe für Ihre Duldung nicht mehr bestehen. Wenn Sie also z.B. eine Duldung bekommen haben, weil es keine Flugverbindung in Ihr Heimatland gab und diese Flugverbindung jetzt besteht, kann die Ausländerbehörde Ihre Duldung widerrufen. Die Duldung verliert dann Ihre Gültigkeit und Sie können abgeschoben werden.

Kann ich trotz einer Duldung abgeschoben werden?

Eine Duldung ist kein Aufenthaltstitel, sondern eine Aussetzung der Abschiebung. Eine Duldung beseitigt die Ausreisepflicht also nicht, sondern unterbricht sie nur bis zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt.

Wenn Ihre Duldung abläuft, ungültig wird oder widerrufen wird, können Sie in der Regel abgeschoben werden. Ihre Abschiebung kann dann sofort und ohne weitere Abschiebungsandrohung durchgeführt werden. Wenn Sie bereits länger als ein Jahr geduldet waren, muss Ihnen eine Abschiebung aber mindestens einen Monat vorher angekündigt werden. Sie erhalten in diesem Fall erneut eine Abschiebungsandrohung. Dies gilt allerdings nicht für Menschen, die eine Duldung nach §60b haben.

Wo und wie kann ich eine Duldung beantragen?

Eine Duldung beantragen Sie in der für Sie zuständigen Ausländerbehörde. Vereinbaren Sie dazu einen Termin und bringen Sie alle Unterlagen mit, die Sie für Ihren Antrag benötigen. Wenn Sie zum Beispiel eine "Ausbildungsduldung" beantragen möchten, bringen Sie Ihren Ausbildungsvertrag und gegebenenfalls eine Bestätigung der Handwerkskammer oder Industrie- und Handelskammer mit.

Wenn Ihre Abschiebung aus tatsächlichen oder rechtlichen Gründen nicht möglich ist, bekommen Sie in der Regel automatisch eine Duldung. Das heißt, dass Sie sie nicht extra beantragen müssen. Die Ausländerbehörde muss aber z.B. über Ihre Reiseunfähigkeit informiert sein. Informieren Sie die Ausländerbehörde also unbedingt immer über alle relevanten Ereignisse. Lassen Sie sich dazu am besten vorher auch von einer Beratungsstelle oder einer Anwaltskanzlei beraten.

Die für Sie zuständige Ausländerbehörde finden Sie auf bamf.de.

Kann ich mit Duldung heiraten?

Eine Duldung ist an sich kein Hindernis für eine Heirat. Um bei einem deutschen Standesamt heiraten zu können, benötigen Sie allerdings eine Reihe von Dokumenten, unter anderem auch einen Pass. Wenn der Grund für Ihre Duldung der fehlende Pass ist, sollten sich unbedingt vorab von einer Beratungsstelle oder einer Anwaltskanzlei beraten lassen. Mehr zum Thema Heirat finden Sie in unserem Kapitel "Heirat".

Kann ich mit Duldung eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis bekommen?

Viele Menschen leben jahrelang von Duldung zu Duldung in Deutschland. Es gibt aber auch Möglichkeiten für Geduldete eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis zu bekommen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Bleiberecht für Geduldete".

Wo finde ich Beratung & Unterstützung?

Wenn Sie eine Duldung haben, sollten Sie sich auf jeden Fall von einer Beratungsstelle oder einer Anwaltskanzlei beraten lassen. Jeder Fall ist einzigartig. Anwält*innen oder eine Beratungsstelle finden Sie z.B. auf www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de oder bei ProAsyl.