Does my German-born child get German citizenship?

A German-born child will be considered a German citizen at birth if at the time of delivery (at least) one parent has German nationality or has been legally residing in Germany for (at least) eight years and holds a permanent residence permit ("Niederlassungserlaubnis"). "Legal" in this context means that you (or the other parent) have always had a residence permit throughout eight years of stay. Your stay during your asylum procedure is also considered “lagal” if your asylum application is accepted at the end of the process.

Along with German citizenship, your child can also have the citizenship of your home country. 

Please note: If you are not married and only the child's father has German citizenship (or has been legally residing in Germany for at least eight years and has a permanent residence permit), the father must officially recognise paternity so that the child can obtain German citizenship. Learn more about paternity recognition in the section "What is paternity recognition?".

If neither parents meet the requirements mentioned above, the child will not automatically obtain German citizenship, but you can have your child naturalised later.

Important: For children of stateless parents, there are particular requirements for acquiring German citizenship:

  • The child must be stateless from birth.
  • The child must have been born in Germany or on board of a German plane or ship.
  • The child must be legally residing in Germany for at least five years.
  • The child must not have been sentenced to more than five years' of imprisonment.
  • The child must apply for naturalisation before his/her 21st birthday.

Does my German-born child receive a residence permit?

Whether a German-born child is issued a residence permit depends on the residence status of the parents.

If a parent is already recognised as an individual entitled to asylum, refugee status or subsidiary protection, his/her German-born child will have two options:

1. If you can obtain a passport for your child from your home country or have your child’s name added to your passport, your child can obtain a residence permit according to §33 of Residence Act. To apply for the residence permit, you must go to your local Immigration Office and present your residence permit and the child's passport and birth certificate. Please note that as a recognised refugee or asylum seeker, you are not allowed to visit your home country's embassy or travel to your home country. You can find more detailed information about birth certificates in our chapter "Pregnancy".

2.  You can apply for asylum on your child's behalf. To do so, you must send an informal letter to the BAMF in Nuremberg (BAMF, Unit 716, Frankenstraße 210, 90461 Nuremberg) indicating that you would like to apply for asylum for your German-born child. The letter must be accompanied by your personal data and your BAMF file reference number and a copy of the child's birth certificate. In principle, the child will be granted the same status as you- so if you, for instance, are recognised as a refugee, your child will also be recognised as a refugee. As soon as the BAMF decides on your child's asylum application, you will receive a letter. You must then go to the Immigration Office responsible for you and present the mentioned letter along with your police registration notice, your child’s birth certificate, and a passport photo of him/her.

An asylum procedure will be automatically initiated for your newborn child if your asylum procedure is ongoing or your application has been rejected or in case you have been granted a residence permit due to a  national ban on deportation or "Abschiebungsverbot" (§25 Paragraph 5 Residence Act). Then, the child will be granted a temporary residence permit ("Aufenthaltsgestattung"). To initiate the asylum procedure, you must inform the Immigration Office about the childbirth by presenting them the birth certificate or the register extract from the Civil Registry Office ("Standesamt"). You can find more detailed information about birth certificates in our chapter "Pregnancy". The Immigration Office, then, informs the BAMF. Once the asylum procedure has been initiated for your child, you will be notified in writing. You will then be asked if you would like to cancel your child's asylum procedure. It is best to seek advice from a counselling centre or lawyer before replying, as this can be a tricky decision to make. The reason is that if your own asylum application is rejected, your child's asylum application is also likely to be rejected. However, your child's application will not be simply rejected ("einfache Ablehnung"), but will be dismissed as obviously unfounded ("Ablehnung als offensichtlich unbegründet"). Rejection as obviously unfounded has serious consequences for the designated departure deadline and any possible re-entry. You can read more about different types of rejection in our chapter "Rejected Asylum". You can find a counselling centre in your area on proasyl.de. To find a lawyer nearby visit rechtsberaterkonferenz.de. If you do not carry out an asylum procedure for your child, your child will be granted a tolerated stay permit or "Duldung".

Please note: If you have a tolerated stay permit or "Duldung", your child will be granted one as well.

Can I obtain a residence permit if my child has German nationality?

If you have a child with German nationality, you can obtain a residence permit for the family reunification or "Familiennachzug zu Deutschen" (§28 paragraph 1, sentence 1, no. 3 Residence Act). You can obtain this type of residence permit even if you are already in Germany. The prerequisite is that you actually take care of the child, which you can prove by presenting a declaration of joint parental custody ("gemeinsame Sorgerechterklärung"). Having such a document means you share the custody of your child with your partner. The one who has custody rights is responsible for taking care of the child. He/she decides, e.g. which kindergarten or school the child attends, with whom the child interacts and where he/she lives. When the parents have had a civil marriage, however, they both automatically hold joint custody of their children. Otherwise, the mother has sole custody. If the mother wishes to share custody rights with the child's father, both parents must hand in a so-called "custody statement" ("Sorgerechtserklärung") to the appropriate Youth Welfare Office. You can find the Youth Welfare Office responsible for you on jugendaemter.de. In addition to "custody statement" ("Sorgerechtserklärung"), you will also need to present the following documents when applying for a residence permit:

  • A valid passport
  • The birth certificate of the child in which your name is indicated as mother/father (Learn more about how to obtain a birth certificate in our chapter "Pregnancy".)
  • A statement from the other parent or other evidence that proves you are actually taking care of the child (in case you and your child are not living under the same roof).

You do not have to prove that your livelihood is secure; which means you can obtain a residence permit even if you receive benefits from the Jobcentre or the Social Welfare Office.

Please note: To obtain a residence permit in the framework mentioned above, you must not have been issued an "Aufenthaltsverbot" or residence ban (e.g. due to a previous deportation).

After three years of living in Germany with such a residence permit, you can apply for a permanent residence permit according to §28 paragraph Residence Act. The prerequisite of obtaining a permanent residence permit is that you continue to look after the child and can prove that you have a basic knowledge of the German language.

If you do not fulfil the requirements specified in §28 Residence Act- e.g. because you do not have custody of your child- you can obtain a residence permit according to § 25 paragraph 5 Residence Act. To do so, however, you must also meet some requirements. You can read more in our chapter Tolerated Stay Permit (“Duldung”), section "Residence permit for humanitarian reasons".

Can I obtain a residence permit if I have a child with a residence permit?

If your child has a residence permit through the other parent, you may also obtain a residence permit; but whether you succeed depends on the specifics of your case. Seek advice from a counselling centre or a lawyer to learn more about your chances. You can find a counselling centre nearby, for instance, on Pro Asyl’s website. To find a lawyer in your area, visit www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de.

The basic requirement for obtaining a residence permit as a result of your child's residence permit is that you take care of the child. As a father, you must also have recognised paternity and have signed a declaration of joint parental custody. Having such a document means you share the custody of your child with your partner. A parent with costudy rights is responsible for taking care of the child. He/she decides, e.g. which kindergarten or school the child attends, with whom the child interacts and where he/she lives. When the parents have had a civil marriage, they both automatically hold joint custody of their child. Otherwise, the mother has sole custody. If she wishes to share custody rights with the child's father, both parents must hand in a so-called "custody statement" ("Sorgerechtserklärung") to the appropriate Youth Welfare Office. Read more about paternity recognition in our chapter "Pregnancy".

Please note: If your minor child has been recognised as a refugee or asylum seeker, the family reunification regulations apply to you. Find out more in our chapter "Family reunification".

What does paternity recognition ("Vaterschaftsanerkennung") mean?

If you are not married, the child's father can acknowledge paternity, i.e. officially accept the child as his biological child. Only when the father recognises paternity is he obliged to provide maintenance and only then can the child have the citizenship of the father. To recognise paternity, the child's parents must go to the Youth Welfare Office of their place of residence together. The paternity recognition service is free of charge. The mother has to bring along her "Mutterpass", ID card and birth certificate. The father also has to present his ID card and birth certificate. Foreign birth certificates must have been translated by a certified interpreter. If you are trying to go through paternity recognition after childbirth, you must also present your child's birth certificate. Without the required documents, paternity recognition is usually not possible. If that is the case, seek advice from a counselling centre or a lawyer. You can find a counselling centre nearby on Pro Asyl's website. To find a lawyer who specialises in refugees' and asylum seekers' issues, visit www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de.

Please note: The Youth Welfare Office can report your application for paternity recognition to the Immigration Office if they suspect that you only recognise the paternity to obtain a residence permit for yourself, the mother of the child or the child. The Immigration Office will then check your case- but they can only do so if you are not the biological father of the child. Seek advice from a counselling centre or lawyer if the Immigration Office is investigating your case.

What can I do when the father does not recognise paternity?

If the father of the child does not want to recognise the paternity, you can apply to the Family Court for determination of paternity ("Antrag auf Feststellung der Vaterschaft"). The Family Court will then order a "paternity test" ("Vaterschaftstest"). A paternity test compares the DNA of the alleged father and the child to prove whether he is the child's biological father. You can find the Family Court responsible for you on gerichtsverzeichnis.de.

Bekommt mein hier geborenes Kind die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft?

Ein in Deutschland geborenes Kind bekommt mit der Geburt die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft, wenn mindestens ein Elternteil zum Zeitpunkt der Geburt die deutsche Staatsangehörigkeit hat oder seit mindestens acht Jahren rechtmäßig in Deutschland wohnt und eine Niederlassungserlaubnis hat. „Rechtmäßig“ bedeutet, dass Sie während der gesamten Zeit eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis hatten. Die Zeit während Ihres Asylverfahrens gilt ebenfalls als rechtmäßig, wenn Ihr Asylantrag positiv entschieden wurde.

Ihr Kind kann neben der deutschen Staatsbürgerschaft auch die Staatsangehörigkeit Ihres Landes haben.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie nicht verheiratet sind und nur der Vater des Kindes die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft hat oder seit mindestens acht Jahren rechtmäßig in Deutschland wohnt und die unbefristete Aufenthaltserlaubnis hat, muss der Vater das Kind offiziell anerkennen, damit das Kind die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft bekommt. Mehr zum Thema Vaterschaftsanerkennung erfahren Sie im Abschnitt „Was ist die Vaterschaftsanerkennung?“.

Wenn beide Elternteile die oben genannten Voraussetzungen nicht erfüllen, bekommt das Kind nicht automatisch die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft. In diesem Fall können Sie Ihr Kind erst später einbürgern lassen.

Wichtig: Für Kinder von Staatenlosen gibt es besondere Voraussetzungen für den Erwerb der deutschen Staatsbürgerschaft. Kinder von staatenlosen Personen müssen die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Das Kind muss von Geburt an staatenlos sein.
  • Das Kind muss in Deutschland bzw. in einem deutschen Flugzeug oder auf einem deutschen Schiff geboren sein.
  • Das Kind muss sich seit mindestens fünf Jahren rechtmäßig in Deutschland aufhalten.
  • Das Kind darf nicht zu einer Freiheitsstrafe von mehr als fünf Jahren verurteilt worden sein.
  • Das Kind muss den Antrag auf Einbürgerung vor seinem 21.Geburtstag stellen.

 

Bekommt mein hier geborenes Kind einen Aufenthaltstitel?

Ob ein hier geborenes Kind einen Aufenthaltstitel bekommt, hängt vom Status seiner Eltern ab.

Wenn ein Elternteil bereits als Asylberechtigter, Flüchtling oder subsidiär Schutzberechtigter anerkannt ist, hat Ihr in Deutschland geborenes Kind zwei Möglichkeiten:

  1. Wenn Sie für Ihr Kind einen Pass aus Ihrem Heimatland bekommen können oder das Kind in Ihrem Pass miteingetragen ist, kann Ihr Kind einen Aufenthaltstitel nach §33 AufenthG bekommen. Um den Aufenthaltstitel zu beantragen, müssen Sie zur für Sie zuständigen Ausländerbehörde gehen und Ihren Aufenthaltstitel sowie den Pass und die Geburtsurkunde des Kindes vorlegen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie als anerkannter Flüchtling oder Asylberechtigter Ihre Heimatbotschaft oder Ihr Heimatland nicht besuchen dürfen. Informationen zum Thema Geburtsurkunde finden Sie in unserem Kapitel „Schwangerschaft“.
  2. Sie können für Ihr Kind einen Asylantrag stellen. Dazu müssen Sie einen formlosen Brief an das BAMF in Nürnberg (BAMF, Referat 716, Frankenstraße 210, 90461 Nürnberg) schicken, in dem Sie mitteilen, dass Sie für Ihr in Deutschland geborenes Kind Asyl beantragen möchten. Dem Brief müssen Sie Ihre Daten und Ihre Aktenzeichen beim BAMF und eine Kopie der Geburtsurkunde des Kindes beifügen. In der Regel erhält das Kind denselben Status wie Sie. Das bedeutet, dass es z.B. auch als Flüchtling anerkannt wird, wenn Sie anerkannter Flüchtling sind. Sobald das BAMF über den Asylantrag Ihres Kindes entschieden hat, erhalten Sie einen Brief. Mit diesem Brief und Ihrer polizeilichen Anmeldung und der Geburtsurkunde und einem Passfoto Ihres Kindes müssen Sie dann zur für Sie zuständigen Ausländerbehörde gehen.

Wenn Sie sich noch im Asylverfahren befinden, Ihr Asylantrag abgelehnt wurde oder Sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis aufgrund eines Abschiebungsverbots (§25 Absatz 5 AufenthG) bekommen haben, wird automatisch ein Asylverfahren für Ihr neugeborenes Kind eingeleitet. Es bekommt dann eine Aufenthaltsgestattung. Damit das Asylverfahren eingeleitet werden kann, müssen Sie die Ausländerbehörde über die Geburt Ihres Kindes informieren. Bringen Sie dazu die Geburtsurkunde oder den Registerauszug aus dem Standesamt zur Ausländerbehörde. Informationen zum Thema Geburtsurkunde finden Sie in unserem Kapitel „Schwangerschaft“. Die Ausländerbehörde informiert dann das BAMF. Sobald das Asylverfahren für Ihr Kind eingeleitet wurde, werden Sie schriftlich informiert. Sie werden dann gefragt, ob Sie auf die Durchführung des Asylverfahrens für Ihr Kind verzichten wollen. Lassen Sie sich hierzu von einer Beratungsstelle oder einem Anwalt beraten, da das eine schwierige Entscheidung sein kann: Denn, wenn Ihr eigener Asylantrag abgelehnt wurde, wird voraussichtlich auch der Asylantrag Ihres Kindes abgelehnt. Ihr Kind erhält dann allerdings keine einfache Ablehnung, sondern eine Ablehnung als „offensichtlich unbegründet“. Eine Ablehnung als „offensichtlich unbegründet“ hat schwerwiegende Folgen für die Ausreisefrist und eine mögliche spätere Wiedereinreise. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Asylantrag abgelehnt“. Eine Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie auf proasyl.de. Einen Anwalt können Sie auf rechtsberaterkonferenz.de finden. Wenn Sie für Ihr Kind kein Asylverfahren durchführen möchten, bekommt Ihr Kind eine Duldung.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie selbst eine Duldung haben, bekommt Ihr Kind ebenfalls eine Duldung.

Bekomme ich einen Aufenthaltstitel, wenn ich ein deutsches Kind habe?

Wenn Sie ein deutsches Kind haben, können Sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis zum „Familiennachzug zu Deutschen“ (§28 Absatz 1, Satz 1, Nr. 3 AufenthG) bekommen. Diese Aufenthaltserlaubnis können Sie auch bekommen, wenn Sie schon in Deutschland sind. Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass Sie sich tatsächlich um das Kind kümmern. Dies können Sie durch eine gemeinsame Sorgerechtserklärung nachweisen. Mit einer Sorgerechtserklärung teilen Sie sich das Sorgerecht für Ihr Kind. Derjenige, der das Sorgerecht hat, ist für die Erziehung des Kindes verantwortlich. Er entscheidet z.B. in welchen Kindergarten oder in welche Schule das Kind geht, mit wem es Umgang hat und wo es wohnt. Nur wenn die Eltern des Kindes standesamtlich verheiratet sind, haben sie beide automatisch das gemeinsame Sorgerecht für ihr Kind. Wenn sie nicht standesamtlich verheiratet sind, hat die Mutter das alleinige Sorgerecht. Wenn sie sich das Sorgerecht mit dem Vater des Kindes teilen möchte, müssen beide Elternteile zusammen eine sogenannte „Sorgerechtserklärung“ beim für Sie zuständigen Jugendamt abgeben. Das für Sie zuständige Jugendamt können Sie auf der Website jugendaemter.de finden. Neben dieser Sorgerechtserklärung benötigen Sie außerdem die folgenden Dokumente für den Antrag auf eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis:

  • einen gültigen Pass
  • die Geburtsurkunde des Kindes, auf der Sie als Mutter / Vater eingetragen sind (Informationen zum Thema Geburtsurkunde finden Sie in unserem Kapitel „Schwangerschaft“.)
  • eine Erklärung des anderen Elternteils oder sonstige Nachweise, dass Sie sich tatsächlich um das Kind kümmern, falls Sie nicht mit dem Kind zusammenwohnen.

Sie müssen nicht nachweisen, dass Ihr Lebensunterhalt gesichert ist. Das bedeutet, dass Sie diese Aufenthaltserlaubnis auch bekommen können, wenn Sie Geld vom Jobcenter oder dem Sozialamt bekommen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Um diese Aufenthaltserlaubnis zu bekommen, darf kein Aufenthaltsverbot (z.B. aufgrund einer früheren Abschiebung) gegen Sie bestehen.

Nach drei Jahren mit dieser Aufenthaltserlaubnis, können Sie dann eine Niederlassungserlaubnis nach §28 Absatz AufenthG beantragen. Voraussetzung hierfür ist, dass Sie sich weiterhin um das Kind kümmern und einfache Deutschkenntnisse nachweisen können.

Wenn Sie die Voraussetzungen für §28 AufenthG nicht erfüllen, z.B. weil Sie nicht das Sorgerecht für Ihr Kind haben, können Sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis nach §25 Absatz 5 AufenthG bekommen. Um eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis nach §25 Absatz 5 zu bekommen, müssen Sie ebenfalls einige Voraussetzungen erfüllen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Duldung“ im Abschnitt „Aufenthaltserlaubnis aus humanitären Gründen“.

Bekomme ich einen Aufenthaltstitel, wenn ich ein Kind mit einem Aufenthaltstitel habe?

Wenn Ihr Kind durch den anderen Elternteil einen Aufenthaltstitel hat, haben auch Sie die Möglichkeit, einen Aufenthaltstitel zu bekommen. Ob das gelingt, ist von Fall zu Fall verschieden. Wenn Sie wissen möchten, ob Sie durch Ihr Kind einen Aufenthaltstitel bekommen können, müssen Sie eine Beratungsstelle oder einen Anwalt fragen. Eine Beratungsstelle finden Sie z.B. auf dieser Website von Pro Asyl. Unter www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de können Sie Anwälte finden.

Grundvoraussetzung dafür ist auf jeden Fall, dass Sie sich um das Kind kümmern. Als Vater müssen Sie außerdem die Vaterschaft anerkannt haben und eine gemeinsame Sorgerechtserklärung unterschrieben haben. In dieser Sorgerechtserklärung teilen Sie sich das Sorgerecht für Ihr Kind mit dem anderen Elternteil. Derjenige, der das Sorgerecht hat, ist für die Erziehung des Kindes verantwortlich. Er entscheidet z.B. in welchen Kindergarten oder in welche Schule das Kind geht, mit wem es Umgang hat und wo es wohnt. Nur wenn die Eltern des Kindes standesamtlich verheiratet sind, haben sie beide automatisch das gemeinsame Sorgerecht für ihr Kind. Wenn sie nicht standesamtlich verheiratet sind, hat die Mutter das alleinige Sorgerecht. Wenn sie sich das Sorgerecht mit dem Vater des Kindes teilen möchte, müssen beide Elternteile zusammen eine sogenannte „Sorgerechtserklärung“ beim für Sie zuständigen Jugendamt abgeben. Mehr zum Thema Vaterschaftsanerkennung erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Schwangerschaft“.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Ihr minderjähriges Kind als Flüchtling oder Asylberechtigter anerkannt wurde, gelten die Regeln des Familiennachzugs für Sie. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Familiennachzug“.

Was bedeutet "Vaterschaftsanerkennung"?

Wenn Sie nicht verheiratet sind, kann der Vater des Kindes die Vaterschaft anerkennen lassen. Nur wenn der Vater die Vaterschaft anerkennt, ist der Vater dem Kind gegenüber unterhaltspflichtig. Und nur dann kann das Kind z.B. auch die Staatsbürgerschaft des Vaters bekommen. Um die Vaterschaft anzuerkennen, müssen die Eltern des Kindes gemeinsam zum Jugendamt Ihres Wohnortes gehen. Die Vaterschaftsanerkennung ist kostenlos. Die Mutter muss dazu ihren Mutterpass, ihren Ausweis und ihre Geburtsurkunde mitbringen. Der Vater muss seinen Ausweis und seine Geburtsurkunde mitbringen. Ausländische Geburtsurkunden müssen von einem beeidigten Dolmetscher übersetzt worden sein. Wenn Sie die Vaterschaftsanerkennung erst nach der Geburt machen möchten, müssen Sie außerdem die Geburtsurkunde Ihres Kindes mitbringen. Wenn Sie die geforderten Dokumente nicht haben, ist eine Vaterschaftsanerkennung in der Regel nicht möglich. Lassen Sie sich in diesem Fall von einer Beratungsstelle oder einem Anwalt beraten. Eine Beratungsstelle finden Sie z.B. auf dieser Website von Pro Asyl. Unter www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de können Sie Anwälte finden, die auf die Beratung von Geflüchteten und Asylsuchenden spezialisiert sind.

Bitte beachten Sie: Das Jugendamt kann Ihren Antrag auf Vaterschaftsanerkennung der Ausländerbehörde melden, wenn die Mitarbeiter*innen des Jugendamts denken, dass Sie die Vaterschaft nur anerkennen, um einen Aufenthaltstitel für sich oder die Mutter oder das Kind zu bekommen. Die Ausländerbehörde überprüft dann Ihren Fall. Das darf sie aber nur machen, wenn Sie nicht der leibliche Vater sind. Wenn die Ausländerbehörde Ihren Fall prüft, sollten Sie sich an einen Anwalt oder eine Beratungsstelle wenden.

Was kann ich machen, wenn der Vater die Vaterschaft nicht anerkennen will?

Wenn der Vater des Kindes die Vaterschaft nicht anerkennen will, können Sie beim Familiengericht einen Antrag auf Feststellung der Vaterschaft stellen. Das Familiengericht wird dann einen „Vaterschaftstest“ in Auftrag geben. Mit einem Vaterschaftstest wird die DNA des Vaters und des Kindes verglichen. Auf diese Weise kann bewiesen werden, ob der mutmaßliche Vater wirklich der Vater des Kindes ist. Auf der Website gerichtsverzeichnis.de können Sie das für Sie zuständige Familiengericht finden.