Can I receive legal aid?

You can receive legal aid if you meet the following requirements:

  • You cannot pay the costs of the legal proceedings, or you can only afford part of it. This can be the case, for instance, when you are eligible for state benefits such as Hartz IV, social benefits or asylum seeker benefits. If you earn an income, you must disclose your salary, assets, and expenses. The court then will decide whether you can afford the costs or are eligible for legal aid.

  • You have (at least) some chances of success in court. That means if it is clear from the very start that you will lose the case, you will not receive legal aid.

  • The legal process makes sense for you. That means if, for instance, the money you could end up winning is less than the costs of a lawsuit, you will not receive legal aid.

Please note: It does not matter whether you are the plaintiff or the defendant. If you meet the requirements above, you can benefit from legal aid.

For which legal proceedings can I acquire legal aid?

You can receive legal aid if you meet the following requirements:

  • You cannot pay the costs of the legal proceedings, or you can only afford part of it. This can be the case, for instance, when you are eligible for state benefits such as Hartz IV, social benefits or asylum seeker benefits. If you earn an income, you must disclose your salary, assets, and expenses. The court then will decide whether you can afford the costs or are eligible for legal aid.

  • You have (at least) some chances of success in court. That means if it is clear from the very start that you will lose the case, you will not receive legal aid.

  • The legal process makes sense for you. That means if, for instance, the money you could end up winning is less than the costs of a lawsuit, you will not receive legal aid.

Please note: It does not matter whether you are the plaintiff or the defendant. If you meet the requirements above, you can benefit from legal aid.

Which costs does legal aid exactly cover?

If you lose the legal process, you can use legal aid to pay your lawyer and court costs. However, if you lose and your opponent had a lawyer, you will have to pay for their lawyer as well. This applies to all proceedings - except for proceedings before the labour court. In a labour court, you don't have to pay the opponent's lawyer if you lose.

If you win the lawsuit, your opponent will have to take over the costs of your lawyer and the court.

Please note: You are free to choose your lawyer. Who you pick to defend your rights is not determined by court.

 

How can I obtain legal aid?

You have to make an application. You can obtain the proper form directly from the court or find it on the website of the relevant court. To learn which court is responsible for your case, check gerichtsverzeichnis.de. If you need help filling out the form, a lawyer can help you. Alternatively, you can seek assistance from a Migration Counselling centre for adults or a Youth Migration Office. At bamf.de, you can find the proper Migration Counselling centre for adults. You can search for a Youth Migration Office in your area at jugendmigrationsdienste.de. The staff there speak several languages.

My application for legal aid was denied. What can I do?

You can file a complaint ("Beschwerde") against the rejection within a month after you are notified of it. In the letter of rejection you receive, you can find more information about how to object the decision.

Do I have to pay back legal aid later?

The court can review your financial situation up to four years later and send you the relevant forms. You must fill and return this form to the court, along with records of your income, assets, and expenses. If your financial situation improves significantly within these four years, the court can ask you to return what you've obtained as legal aid. In this case, you have to pay the legal aid back in instalments.

Is it possible to first obtain legal advice?

If you have little or no income and would like to seek advice from a lawyer first, you can apply for and receive a so-called "financial aid certificate for counselling" ("Beratungshilfeschein") from the local court responsible for the issue in question. To find the local court responsible, check gerichtsverzeichnis.de. The requirements of eligibility for "Beratungshilfeschein" are similar to those of the legal aid mentioned above.

With this document, you can seek advice from a lawyer of your choice. The district court then pays the lawyer. You only have to pay a maximum of 15 euros of the total costs personally.

Please note: You can seek advice on any legal matters.

Kann ich Prozesskostenhilfe bekommen?

Sie können Prozesskostenhilfe bekommen, wenn Sie die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Sie können die Kosten für das Gerichtsverfahren nicht oder nur zum Teil bezahlen. Das ist z.B. der Fall, wenn Sie Hilfen vom Staat wie Hartz4, Sozialhilfe oder Asylbewerberleistungen bekommen. Wenn Sie Einkommen haben, müssen Sie Ihr Einkommen, Ihr Vermögen und Ihre Ausgaben offenlegen. Das Gericht prüft dann, ob Sie wirklich zu wenig Geld haben.
  • Sie haben zumindest eine Chance auf ein erfolgreiches Gerichtsverfahren. Wenn also von Anfang an klar ist, dass Sie vor Gericht verlieren werden, bekommen Sie keine Prozesskostenhilfe.
  • Das Gerichtsverfahren macht für Sie Sinn. Wenn Sie also z.B. durch das Gerichtsverfahren mehr Geld ausgeben würden, als sie am Ende gewinnen könnten, bekommen Sie keine Prozesskostenhilfe.

Bitte beachten Sie: Es ist egal, ob Sie selbst Ihr Recht vor Gericht einfordern, also der Kläger sind oder ob Sie sich vor Gericht verteidigen müssen, also der Beklagte sind.

Für welche Gerichtsverfahren kann ich Prozesskostenhilfe bekommen?

Prozesskostenhilfe ist für Gerichtsverfahren vor den folgenden Gerichten möglich:

  • Verwaltungsgericht: z.B. wenn Sie gegen die negative Entscheidung des BAMF klagen.
  • Zivilgericht: z.B. wenn Sie einen Streit mit einem Nachbarn vor Gericht klären müssen.
  • Arbeitsgericht, z.B. wenn Sie gegen eine Kündigung klagen möchten.
  • Sozialgericht, z.B. wenn Sie gegen die Kürzung Ihrer Sozialhilfe klagen möchten.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie wegen einer Straftat angeklagt sind, können Sie keine Prozesskostenhilfe bekommen. Wenn Sie wenig oder kein Geld haben, bezahlt der Staat aber einen Anwalt oder eine Anwältin für Sie. Diese Anwältin oder diesen Anwalt können Sie sich aber nicht selbst aussuchen. Sie werden vom Gericht bestimmt.

Was genau kannn ich mit der Prozesskostenhilfe bezahlen?

Wenn Sie das Gerichtsverfahren verlieren, können Sie mit der Prozesskostenhilfe Ihren Anwalt oder Ihre Anwältin und die Gerichtskosten bezahlen. Wenn Sie verlieren und Ihr Gegner Anwält*innen hatte, müssen Sie allerdings die Kosten für diese Anwält*innen selbst bezahlen. Das gilt für alle Verfahren – außer für Verfahren vor dem Arbeitsgericht. Bei einem Verfahren vor dem Arbeitsgericht, müssen Sie die Anwält*innen der Gegenseite auch nicht bezahlen, wenn Sie verlieren.

Wenn Sie das Gerichtsverfahren gewinnen, muss Ihr Gegner die Kosten für Ihre Anwält*innen und das Gericht bezahlen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Sie können Ihren Anwalt oder Ihre Anwältin selbst auswählen. Er wird nicht vom Gericht bestimmt.

Wie kann ich Prozesskostenhilfe bekommen?

Sie müssen einen Antrag stellen. Das Formular bekommen Sie direkt beim Gericht oder auf der Website des für Sie zuständigen Gerichts. Das für Sie zuständige Gericht finden Sie auf gerichtsverzeichnis.de. Wenn Sie Hilfe beim Ausfüllen brauchen, kann Ihnen ein Anwalt oder eine Anwältin helfen. Auch eine Migrationsberatung für Erwachsene oder ein Jugendmigrationsdienst kann Ihnen helfen. Eine Migrationsberatung für Erwachsene finden Sie auf bamf.de. Einen Jugendmigrationsdienst in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie auf jugendmigrationsdienste.de. Die Mitarbeiter*innen dort sprechen verschiedene Sprachen.

 

Mein Antrag auf Prozesskostenhilfe wurde abgelehnt. Was tun?

Sie können innerhalb eines Monats nach der Ablehnung Ihres Antrags auf Prozesskostenhilfe eine "Beschwerde" gegen die Ablehnung einlegen. Informationen darüber finden Sie in der schriftlichen Ablehnung Ihres Antrags.

Muss ich die Prozesskostenhilfe später zurückbezahlen?

Das Gericht kann bis zu vier Jahre danach Ihre finanzielle Situation prüfen. Dazu verschickt das Gericht ein Formular. Dieses Formular müssen Sie zusammen mit Unterlagen zu Ihrem Einkommen, Vermögen und Ausgaben an das Gericht zurückschicken. Wenn sich Ihre finanzielle Situation innerhalb dieser vier Jahre sehr verbessert, kann das Gericht die Prozesskostenhilfe von Ihnen zurückverlangen. In diesem Fall müssen Sie die Prozesskostenhilfe dann in Raten zurückbezahlen.

Kann ich mich auch erst nur rechtlich beraten lassen?

Wenn Sie kein oder wenig Geld haben und sich bei einem Anwalt oder einer Anwältin beraten lassen möchten, können Sie einen sogenannten "Beratungshilfeschein" beantragen. Diesen Beratungshilfeschein bekommen Sie beim für Sie zuständigen Amtsgericht. Das für Sie zuständige Amtsgericht finden Sie auf gerichtsverzeichnis.de. Die Voraussetzungen sind ähnlich für die Prozesskostenhilfe.

Mit diesem Beratungshilfeschein können Sie sich dann bei einem Anwalt oder einer Anwältin Ihrer Wahl beraten lassen. Die Anwält*innen werden dann vom Amtsgericht bezahlt. Sie selbst müssen höchstens 15 Euro selbst bezahlen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Beratungshilfe können Sie in allen rechtlichen Angelegenheiten bekommen.