Where can I apply for a permanent residence permit?

You must apply for the permanent residence permit in writing at the Immigration Office responsible for you. You can search for the responsible Immigration Office at  bamf.de. You will find the necessary form, i.e. "Application for the Permanent Residence Permit" ("Antrag auf Erteilung der Niederlassungserlaubnis") on the website of the Immigration Office. You have to send the filled application form, a biometric passport photo and the following documents to the responsible Immigration Office per post:

  • a copy of your passport

  • a copy of your employment contract, your last six payslips, and a recent confirmation letter from your employer which verifies that you are still employed there. This confirmation must not be older than 14 days. If you are self-employed: your last tax assessment and an audit report completed by a tax consultant.

  • a recent document from your health insurance company verifying that you are insured.

  • a copy of your rental agreement

  • a copy of your German language certificates

  • your pension information (from the German pension insurance scheme)

  • if you receive child benefit, parental allowance or alike: the relevant confirmation letters

  • the confirmation of your registration with the police

  • If you belong to a group entitled to easier requirements, you will have to submit fewer documents. You can find out the list of needed documents on the application.

Keep in mind that you have to pay in order to obtain a permanent residence permit.

As soon as the Immigration Office has checked your application, they will notify you in writing.

Could I lose my permanent residence permit?

Yes. Under the following circumstances, you may lose your permanent residence permit:

  • If you do not reside in Germany for more than 6 months or move to another country, in principle, you will lose your permanent residence permit (§ 51 I Residence Act). That does not apply to people with a Blue Passport.

  • Your permanent residence permit may be revoked if you have obtained it as a result of providing false information to the authorities.

  • If you are considered to be a threat to public safety and order, you may be deported. In this case, you will also lose your permanent residence permit.

If you think you may lose your recognition or residence permit, make sure you seek advice from a counselling centre or lawyer. You can find support, for instance, at a Counselling Centre for Adult Migrants or Youth Migration Service.

Where can I find advice and support?

The Counselling Centre for Adult Migrants (MBE) or the Youth Migration Service (JMD) can provide you with advice regarding permanent residence permit. The counselling centres of the JMD specialise on providing support for youth and young adults (under the age of 27). The staff at the MBEs and JMDs speak many languages and the service they provide is cost-free.

I have a permanent residence permit. Can I also live and work in another EU country?

No, not with a permanent residence permit you have obtained from Germany. To live and work in other EU countries, you need a permanent EU residence permit. With an EU long-term residence permit, you have the option of obtaining a residence permit in another EU country. You can find out more in our chapter "EU Permanent Residence Permit".

Wo kann ich die Niederlassungserlaubnis beantragen?

Die Niederlassungserlaubnis müssen Sie schriftlich bei der für Sie zuständigen Ausländerbehörde beantragen. Die für Sie zuständige Ausländerbehörde finden Sie auf bamf.de. Den für die Beantragung nötigen „Antrag auf Erteilung der Niederlassungserlaubnis“ finden Sie auf der Website Ihrer Ausländerbehörde. Sie müssen den ausgefüllten Antrag, ein biometrisches Passfoto und in der Regel folgende Dokumente per Post an die für Sie zuständige Ausländerbehörde schicken oder vorbeibringen:

  • eine Kopie Ihres Passes
  • eine Kopie Ihres Arbeitsvertrages, Ihre letzten sechs Gehaltsnachweise und eine aktuelle Bestätigung Ihres Arbeitgebers, dass Sie noch immer dort beschäftigt sind. Diese Bestätigung darf nicht älter als 14 Tage sein. Falls Sie selbständig sind: Ihren letzten Steuerbescheid sowie einen von Steuerberater*innen ausgefüllten Prüfungsbericht.
  • eine aktuelle Bestätigung Ihrer Krankenkasse, dass Sie dort versichert sind.
  • eine Kopie Ihres Mietvertrags
  • eine Kopie Ihrer Deutsch-Zertifikate
  • Ihre Rentenauskunft der Deutschen Rentenversicherung
  • falls Sie Kindergeld, Elterngeld oder ähnliches bekommen: Ihre entsprechenden Bescheide
  • Ihre polizeiliche Anmeldung

Wenn Sie zu einer Gruppe mit erleichterten Voraussetzungen gehören, müssen Sie weniger Dokumente vorlegen. Welche Dokumente Sie benötigen, finden Sie auf dem Antrag.

Die Ausstellung der Niederlassungserlaubnis kostet Geld.

Sobald die Ausländerbehörde Ihren Antrag geprüft hat, bekommen Sie schriftlich Bescheid.

 

Kann ich meine Niederlassungserlaubnis wieder verlieren?

Ja, wenn eine der folgenden Situationen zutrifft, können Sie Ihre Niederlassungserlaubnis verlieren.

  • Wenn Sie länger als sechs Monate nicht in Deutschland sind oder ausreisen, um dauerhaft in einem anderen Land zu leben, erlischt Ihre Niederlassungserlaubnis in der Regel (§ 51 I AufenthG). Das gilt nicht für Menschen mit dem Blauen Pass.  
  • Ihre Niederlassungserlaubnis kann zurückgenommen werden, wenn Sie sie aufgrund falscher Angaben bekommen haben.
  • Wenn Sie eine Gefahr für die öffentliche Sicherheit und Ordnung sind, können Sie ausgewiesen werden. In diesem Fall verlieren Sie auch Ihre Niederlassungserlaubnis.

Wenn die Gefahr besteht, dass Sie Ihre Anerkennung bzw. Ihren Aufenthaltstitel verlieren, lassen Sie sich unbedingt von einer Beratungsstelle oder einem Anwalt beraten. Hilfe finden Sie zum Beispiel bei der Migrationsberatung für Erwachsene oder dem Jugendmigrationsdienst.

Wo finde ich Beratung & Unterstützung?

Die Migrationsberatung für Erwachsene (MBE) oder der Jugendmigrationsdienst (JMD) beraten Sie gern. Die Beratungsstellen des Jugendmigrationsdienstes sind speziell für Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene unter 27 Jahren. Die Mitarbeiter*innen bei den MBEs und JMDs  sprechen viele Sprachen. Die Beratung ist kostenlos.

Kann ich mit der Niederlassungserlaubnis in einem anderen EU-Land wohnen & arbeiten?

Nein. Dafür gibt es die Erlaubnis zum Daueraufenthalt-EU. Mit der Erlaubnis zum Daueraufenthalt-EU haben Sie die Möglichkeit, zusätzlich eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis in einem anderen EU-Staat zu bekommen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Erlaubnis zum Daueraufenthalt-EU".