What is a disability?

Disability is defined as a limitation of physical, psychological or mental ability that lasts longer than six months and prevents a person from living a life typical of their age. Disabilities include not only physical and mental conditions but also chronic illnesses (such as rheumatism, multiple sclerosis, cancer) and mental illness.

There are several degrees of disability (in German: "Grade von Behinderung" or "GdB") ranging from 20 to 100. The higher your GdB (i.e. the harder your disability), the more support you receive from the state. Your doctor will determine what your GdB is.

Does the state support people with disabilities?

The German state supports people with disabilities to compensate for the disadvantages they have to face due to their conditions. This regulation is called "disadvantage compensation" („Nachteilsausgleich“ ). Disabled people can, for instance, benefit from the following:

  • Special medical care
  • Assistance in job hunting or protection from dismissal
  • A household helper
  • Support for childcare costs
  • Cost-free use of buses & trains
  • Early retirement
  • Lower taxes

But not every person with a disability is entitled to all of these special supports. Your personal condition determines if such support options apply to you and when so, from which ones you can benefit.

To apply for support from the state, you must first register for a "Disability Card" ("Schwerbehindertenausweis"). Only people with a severe disability (a GdB of 50 or higher) can obtain this card. To apply for a "Disability Card", you must fill the relevant form and hand it in (along with all your medical certificates) to your local Pension Office ("Versorgungsamt"). In case your GdB is lower than 50, you may still be able to benefit from the support you need under some circumstances. To do so, seek help from a counselling centre.

Please note: You can apply for a "Disability Card" regardless of your residence status, which means even if you are still in the asylum procedure or have a Tolerated Stay ("Duldung"), you can still obtain a "Disability Card".

Where can I find counselling service and support?

All counselling centres also provide support to people with disabilities. For instance, you can go to a Migration counselling centre for Adults- or if you are under 27, seek advice from a Youth Migration Service (JMD) in your area. The staff in both organisations speak various languages. Refugees with disabilities can also find help at ProAsyl (in German and English) by calling 069-242 31472 or sending an email to proasyl@proasyl.de.

You can also contact one of the five organisations and associations which offer support to people with disabilities in Germany- where you can find detailed information about everyday life, law, work, health insurance and various other matters related to the people with disabilities (in German):

Where can I find support for children with disabilities?

The youth welfare office in your municipality or district is responsible for children with disabilities and offers advice and support to families. At www.jugendaemter.com  you will find the Youth Welfare Office responsible for you. To learn more about your rights and opportunities you can also check www.familienratgeber.de and  www.kindergesundheit-info.de. Furthermore, on www.bvkm.de, you will find a helpful brochure concerning children with disabilities and their needs, and on www.patiententelefon.de, you can benefit from a useful collection of links and contact information for parents.

The inclusion of children with disabilities in regular schools is promoted in Germany, but these children can also attend specialised schools, which are tailored to fit their particular needs. The Youth Welfare Office responsible for you or a counselling centre nearby can provide you with more specific advice.

Was ist Behinderung?

Behinderung wird als eine Einschränkung körperlicher, seelischer oder geistiger Fähigkeiten definiert, die länger als sechs Monate dauert und eine Person daran hindert, ein für ihr Alter typisches Leben zu führen. Als Behinderung zählen nicht nur körperliche und geistige Behinderungen, sondern auch chronische Krankheiten (z.B. Rheuma, Multiple Sklerose, Krebs) und psychische Erkrankungen.

Es gibt verschiedene Grade von Behinderungen (kurz: GdB), die zwischen 20 und 100 variieren können. Je höher Ihr GdB ist, desto schwerer ist Ihre Behinderung und desto mehr Unterstützung erhalten Sie vom Staat. Ihr GdB wird von Ihrem Arzt bestimmt.

Unterstützt der Staat Menschen mit Behinderung?

Der deutsche Staat unterstützt Menschen mit Behinderung, um die Nachteile, die behinderte Menschen aufgrund ihrer Behinderung haben, auszugleichen. Das nennt man „Nachteilsausgleich.“

Behinderte Menschen können z.B. folgende Unterstützung bekommen:

  • besondere medizinische Betreuung
  • Unterstützung bei der Jobsuche oder dabei, ihren Job zu behalten
  • eine Haushaltshilfe
  • Unterstützung bei den Kosten für die Kinderbetreuung
  • kostenlose Nutzung von Bussen & Bahnen
  • Sie können früher in Rente gehen
  • Sie müssen weniger Steuern bezahlen
  • Aber nicht jede Person mit einer Behinderung bekommt jede Unterstützung. Es hängt von Ihrer persönlichen Situation ab, ob und welche Unterstützung Sie bekommen.

Um Unterstützung vom Staat zu beantragen, müssen Sie sich zuerst für einen „Schwerbehindertenausweis“ registrieren.  Nur Menschen mit einer schweren Behinderung (ein GdB von 50 oder höher) können diesen Ausweis bekommen. Um den Schwerbehindertenausweis zu beantragen, müssen Sie ein Formular ausfüllen und dieses Formular zusammen mit all Ihren ärztlichen Attesten beim für Sie zuständigen Versorgungsamt abgeben. Das für Sie zuständige Versorgungsamt finden Sie auf integrationsaemter.de. Falls Ihr GdB niedriger als 50 ist, können Sie unter bestimmten Umständen trotzdem die für Sie notwendige Unterstützung bekommen. Lassen Sie sich in diesem Fall von einer Migrationsberatungsstelle helfen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Den Schwerbehindertenausweis können Sie unabhängig von Ihrem Aufenthaltsstatus beantragen. Das heißt, auch wenn Sie noch im Asylverfahren sind oder eine Duldung haben, können Sie einen Schwerbehindertenausweis bekommen.

Wo finde ich Beratung & Unterstützung?

Sie können sich zum Beispiel an eine Migrationsberatung für Erwachsene wenden. Wenn Sie jünger als 27 Jahre sind, können Sie sich bei einem Jugendmigrationsdienst in Ihrer Nähe beraten lassen. Alle Beratungsstellen unterstützen auch Menschen mit Behinderung. Die Mitarbeiter in den Migrationsberatungen und Jugendmigrationsdiensten sprechen verschiedene Sprachen. Geflüchtete können sich zudem auf Deutsch und Englisch unter der Telefonnummer 069-242 31472 oder der Email proasyl@proasyl.de an ProAsyl wenden.

Außerdem können Sie sich an einen der fünf Verbände und Vereinigungen für Menschen mit Behinderung in Deutschland wenden. Hier können Sie sich zu Arbeit, Krankenversicherung und anderen Themen, die Ihre Bedürfnisse als Mensch mit Behinderung betreffen, auf Deutsch beraten lassen.

Wo finde ich Unterstützung für Kinder mit Behinderung?

Das Jugendamt in Ihrer Kommune oder Ihrem Bezirk ist für Kinder mit Behinderung zuständig. Sie erhalten dort Beratung und Unterstützung. Auf www.jugendaemter.com  finden Sie das für Sie zuständige Jugendamt. Informationen über Ihre Rechte und Möglichkeiten finden Sie außerdem auch auf www.familienratgeber.de und www.kindergesundheit-info.de. Auf www.bvkm.de finden Sie eine Broschüre über Hilfen für behinderte Kinder in verschiedenen Sprachen. Unter www.patiententelefon.de finden Sie eine Linksammlung und Telefonnummern für Eltern von Kindern mit Behinderung.

Die Inklusion von Kindern mit Behinderung an regulären Schulen wird in Deutschland gefördert. Es gibt aber auch spezielle Schulen für Kinder mit Behinderungen, die auf die besonderen Bedürfnisse der Kinder eingestellt sind. Das für Sie zuständige Jugendamt oder eine Migrationsberatungsstelle können Sie dazu beraten. Das für Sie zuständige Jugendamt finden Sie auf familieportal.de.