Discover what profession suits you

If you have no idea which profession you want to learn and practice, you can get some ideas by doing a test on the website of the Employment Agency. The so-called "self-examination tool" ("Selbsterkundungstool") help you find out which vocational training or degree programs might suit you. The test is designed to identify your talents and interests and then proposes fitting occupations accordingly. Keep in mind that to take the test you need sufficient German language skills. At www.entdecker.biz-medien.de there is also another test which may help you discover the right job- In this one, you will see different pictures, each of which has to do with a specific professional field. You can select those you like, and in the end, suitable occupations will be displayed for you. You can do both tests in the Vocational Information Center (BIZ) in your area. You can go to the BIZ without prior registration and do both tests at their computer workstations free of charge.

If you already have work experience in your home country but do not have a (recognised) professional qualification, there is a test you can take on myskills.de to find out what professions in the German job market fit your skills and knowledge. You can ask the staff at the Jobcentre or Employment Agency for more information about myskills. Your test results can help to find a suitable job offer and they may translate to further qualifications for you. You can make an initial test at home in advance under www.meine-berufserfahrung.de. The tests are available in different languages ​​(German, English, Arabic, Russian, Turkish and Farsi).

Find out more about specific jobs

Once you've narrowed down your search to a few professional fields or specific occupations, you can find out more about the steps you need to take and the prospects you can expect in these jobs at the local Vocational Information Center (BIZ) or online. The BIZ has informative leaflets and brochures covering all professions. If you have any further question, you can refer to the BIZ staff.

Furthermore, you can find general information on various occupational fields as well as specific detailed information about all professions on planet-beruf.de and berufenet.arbeitsagentur.de. At planet-beruf.de, those who are going through vocational training report about their daily routines and experiences they gain in their occupations. There you can also find out whether a dual or school-based vocational training or university education suits you better and benefit from helpful tips regarding writing an application.

On berufe.tv you will find many introductory videos about different jobs. In these videos, trainees talk about their work and their everyday experiences as trainees. You can find the professions you are interested in directly through the A-Z search or watch all the films available on your field of interest. Through these stories, you get an accurate impression about the job in which you are interested and find out what you can expect during vocational training.

Look for a training place

You can find out how to look for a vocational training position in our chapter "dual vocational training" and "school-based vocational training".

If you need help finding a training place or applying for a spot, the Vocational Information Center (BIZ) can provide you with assistance. At the computer workstations there, you can search for a place in a vocational training programme and also create applications. You can scan your certificates, seek help from staff for searching or writing applications, and print your documents there. In the BIZ, you can also regularly participate in workshops or use coaching on how to write a proper job application. On the website of the Employment Agency, you can search for a BIZ branch nearby.

You can also use the app "AzubiWelt" to search for a training place. If you need some tips regarding application writing or the job interview, you can download the app "Bewerbung: Fit fürs Vorstellungsgespräch".

If you have decided to study at university, visit our chapter "University Application" and "University System" for more information. In addition, you can visit the portal "abi" to learn more about different fields of study and university education.

Seek advice

If you need assistance in finding the right job or require information about the prerequisites or usual tasks a profession entails, you can also contact the Vocational counselling at your local Employment Agency. The staff there are knowledgeable about the job market and know what jobs are in high demand. They can also help you to find a training place.

The Vocational counselling staff can also support you if you are not yet ready for to start a vocational training programme because, for instance, your German is not good enough yet or you do not have a school leaving certificate. If these cases apply to you, you can continue your education through a so-called pre-vocational training program ("berufsvorbereitende Bildungsmaßnahme") and make up for the lack of qualification. If you actually meet the requirements but still find no training spot, the so-called introductory training ("Einsiegsqualifizierung") may be beneficial for you. Introductory training entails of a six-month internship in a company during which, you not only get an initial insight into your dream job but also gain some experience and increase your chances of finding a training place. On www.einfachzukunft.de you can learn about the experiences of former participants of introductory training programmes in different languages ​​(German, English, French, Arabic, Farsi, Tigrinya). If you are interested in a pre-vocational training or introductory training, talk to the vocational counselling staff at the jobcentre or Employment Agency.

You can make an appointment at the Employment Agency's website, via phone under 0800-4555500 or in person at the Employment Agency in your area.

Berufe entdecken

Wenn Sie noch gar keine Idee haben, welchen Beruf Sie lernen möchten, können Sie mit einem Test eine erste Idee bekommen. Auf der Website der Arbeitsagentur können Sie mit Hilfe eines sogenannten „Erkundungstools“ (CHECK-U) herausfinden, welche Ausbildungsberufe oder Studiengänge zu Ihnen passen könnten. Der Test ermittelt Ihre Stärken und Interessen und schlägt Ihnen dann passende Berufe vor. Diesen Test können Sie nur mit guten Deutschkenntnissen machen. Den Test können Sie auch im Berufsinformationszentrum (BIZ) in Ihrer Nähe machen. Sie können ohne Anmeldung zum BIZ gehen und den Test dort an einem der Computer-Arbeitsplätze machen.

Auf planet-berufe.de können Sie auf Deutsch Ihre Stärken und Interessen herausfinden und passende Ausbildungen und Berufe finden.

Wenn Sie schon Berufserfahrungen in Ihrem Heimatland gesammelt haben, aber keinen (anerkannten) Berufsabschluss haben, können Sie mit einem Test auf myskills.de herausfinden, zu welchem Beruf Ihre Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse passen. Sprechen Sie die Mitarbeiter*innen im Jobcenter oder in der Arbeitsagentur auf myskills an. Ihre Testergebnisse können helfen, ein passendes Stellenangebot zu finden oder Sie weiter zu qualifizieren. Vorab können Sie unter www.meine-berufserfahrung.de einen ersten kleineren Test für sich selbst machen. Diese beiden Tests können Sie in 12 verschiedenen Sprachen (Deutsch, Englisch, Arabisch, Russisch, Türkisch, Farsi, Französisch, Spanisch, Portugiesisch, Polnisch, Bulgarisch, Rumänisch) machen.

Informationen finden

Sobald Sie Ihre Suche auf einige Berufsfelder oder konkrete Berufe eingegrenzt haben, können Sie sich im Berufsinformationszentrum (BIZ) in Ihrer Nähe oder online genauer darüber informieren, welche Anforderungen dafür nötig sind und wie Ihre Zukunftsperspektiven in diesen Berufen sind. Im BIZ finden Sie Informationsblätter und Broschüren zu allen Berufen. Außerdem können Sie den Mitarbeiter*innen dort auch Fragen stellen.

Online finden Sie auf der Website planet-beruf.de und berufenet.arbeitsagentur.de Informationen über verschiedene Berufsfelder und konkrete Informationen über alle Berufe.

Auf berufe.tv finden Sie viele Videos über verschiedene Berufe. In diesen Videos berichten Azubis über ihren Beruf und ihren Alltag als Auszubildende. Sie können die für Sie interessanten Berufe direkt durch die A-Z-Suche finden oder sich alle Filme eines bestimmten Bereichs anschauen. Durch diese Berichte bekommen Sie viele direkte Eindrücke über verschiedene Berufe und die Tätigkeiten, die Sie während der Ausbildung erwarten.

Einen Ausbildungsplatz suchen

Wie Sie nach einem Ausbildungsplatz suchen können, erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „duale Ausbildung“ und „schulische Ausbildung“.

Wenn Sie Hilfe bei der Suche nach einem Ausbildungsplatz oder bei der Bewerbung benötigen, kann Ihnen das Berufsinformationszentrum (BIZ) weiterhelfen. An den Computer-Arbeitsplätzen dort können Sie nach Ausbildungsplätzen suchen und Bewerbungen erstellen. Sie können Ihre Zeugnisse einscannen, die Mitarbeiter*innen nach Tipps für die Suche oder Ihre Bewerbung fragen und Ihre Unterlagen dort auch ausdrucken. Im BIZ können Sie außerdem regelmäßig an Workshops oder Trainings zum Thema Bewerbung teilnehmen. Ein BIZ in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie auf der Website der Arbeitsagentur.

Bei der Suche nach einem Ausbildungsplatz kann Ihnen außerdem die App „AzubiWelt“ weiterhelfen.

Wenn Sie sich für ein Studium entschieden haben, erfahren Sie alles Weitere in unseren Kapiteln „Hochschulbewerbung“ und „Hochschulsystem“. Außerdem können Sie sich im Portal „abi“ rund um das Thema Studienwahl und Studium informieren.

Beratung bekommen

Wenn Sie Unterstützung bei der Suche nach dem passenden Beruf oder Informationen zu den Voraussetzungen oder Inhalten brauchen, können Sie sich auch bei der Berufsberatung der Arbeitsagentur beraten lassen. Die Mitarbeiter*innen dort kennen den Arbeitsmarkt und wissen, in welchen Berufen Leute gesucht werden. Sie helfen Ihnen auch dabei, einen Ausbildungsplatz zu finden.

Die Mitarbeiter*innen der Berufsberatung helfen Ihnen auch, wenn Sie noch nicht die Voraussetzungen für eine Ausbildung erfüllen, weil z.B. Ihr Deutsch nicht gut genug ist oder Sie keinen Schulabschluss haben. In diesen Fällen können Sie sich durch eine sogenannte berufsvorbereitende Bildungsmaßnahme weiterbilden und die fehlenden Kenntnisse nachholen. Wenn Sie die Voraussetzungen eigentlich erfüllen, aber trotzdem keinen Ausbildungsplatz finden, ist die sogenannte Einstiegsqualifizierung vielleicht etwas für Sie. Bei der Einstiegsqualifizierung machen Sie ein sechsmonatiges Praktikum in einem Betrieb. Auf diese Weise bekommen Sie nicht nur einen ersten Einblick in Ihren Wunschberuf, sondern sammeln bereits erste Erfahrungen und erhöhen so Ihre Chancen auf einen Ausbildungsplatz. Auf www.einfachzukunft.de können Sie sich in verschiedenen Sprachen (Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Arabisch, Farsi, Tigrinya) über die Erfahrungen von ehemaligen Teilnehmern einer Einstiegsqualifizierung informieren. Wenn Sie Interesse an einer berufsvorbereitenden Bildungsmaßnahme oder einer Einstiegsqualifizierung haben, sprechen Sie einfach die Mitarbeiter*innen der Berufsberatung beim Jobcenter oder der Arbeitsagentur an.

Einen Beratungstermin können Sie online auf der Website der Arbeitsagentur, telefonisch unter der Telefonnummer 0800-4555500 oder persönlich bei der Arbeitsagentur in Ihrer Nähe vereinbaren.