Do I have to have my foreign degree recognised?

In many cases, recognition of your degree is not necessary. But there are some professions for which you need to go through a recognition process, for instance, doctors, lawyers, nurses or engineers. These professions are called "regulated professions" ("reglementierte Berufe"), and you must have your degrees recognised if you want to work in them. Furthermore, you need to have your professional qualifications recognised if you want to become self-employed in a so-called "licensed trade" ("zulassungspflichtigten Handwerk"). You will find a list of all the licensed trades which require recognition in the Trade Guild Codes.

If your job is not regulated, you do not need to have your degree recognised. Going through recognition, however, improves your chances of finding a footing in the German job market. On the Employment Agency's website (in German) and ec.europa.eu (in English) you can check whether your degree is part of the regulated professions in Germany.

Please note: If you would like to come to Germany with a job-hunting or employment visa, you need to have your qualification recognised in advance.

Where can I seek advice regarding the recognition procedure?

It is worth to seek advice concerning the recognition process in advance. Staff at counselling centres can tell you exactly which body is responsible for the recognition of your degrees, what the next steps are, and how you can finance the recognition process.

The best place to seek help is the counselling centres of the IQ Netzwerk. The staff there can help you through all the steps of the recognition process. You can find one of the counselling centres of IQ Netzwerk in your area on netzwerk-iq.de (sorted by federal state) at the top left under the turquoise menu button. You can also contact IQ Netzwerk by phone or e-mail via the helpline "Arbeiten und Leben in Deutschland". The helpline is also responsible for those who are still abroad. The staff speak German and English and can be reached by phone (+49 30 1815 1111). The consultation is free, but you have to pay normal telephone charges for the call. You can also write a message using the hotline contact form.

 

Where can I have my degree recognised?

Depending on whether it is a school diploma, an academic degree or a professional certificate, different bodies are responsible for the recognition procedure.

  • School Diplomas are recognised by the Certificate Recognition Offices ("Zeugnisanerkennungsstelle") of each federal state. You can find the responsible office in the anabin database. If you would like to have your school diplomas recognised because you want to study in Germany, you can also contact the university of your choice.
  • Academic degrees can be recognised by the Central Office for Foreign Education ("Zenteralstelle für auländisches Bildungswesen" or ZAB). The ZAB maintains a database (anabin) where you can see whether your degree is recognised in Germany. You can directly apply for the recognition of your certificates at ZAB. For more information, check the www.kmk.org.
  • For professional qualifications, you can use the "Anerkennungs-Finder" to find out which body is responsible. There you can either enter your job title directly or choose the category "Wählen Sie Ihren Beruf aus der A-Z list" and find your job on the list. The second step is to enter the name of your city. Then the office responsible for your recognition process will be displayed.

If you are not sure what your profession is called in German, you can search the website of the BQ Portal for the exact name (English and German).

Please note: The same offices are in charge of your application for recognition even if you are still abroad. If you are outside Germany, apply to an office in the place where you would like to live in Germany later.

How can I apply for the recognition of my qualifications?

If you have found the proper recognition office, you can apply for the recognition of your degrees directly. But first:

  1. clarify how you want to fund the recognition process. You can read more in this regard in the section "Where can I obtain financial aid to pay for the recognition process?
  2. gather all the relevant certificates and documents in advance. In principle, you must submit the originals and certified copies. In most cases, you must have your documents translated by a sworn translator. Ask the recognition office or a counselling centre about the specific documents you need to have translated. The staff can also give you the contact information of sworn translators. If you do not have any documents which prove the qualifications you have obtained, seek advice from a counselling centre.

After your degree has been checked, you will be notified whether or not your degrees have been recognised. Once your degree is recognised, you will receive a so-called "certificate of equivalence" ("Gleichwertigkeitsbescheinigung"). That means your professional skills are equal to a person with a German degree.

What can I do if my degree is not (or is only partially) recognised?

If your degree has not been accepted as an equal to a similar German degree, your application will be rejected. If that is the case, you can, for instance, take a test on myskills.de to find out which profession fits your skills and knowledge. You can ask the staff at the Jobcentre or Employment Agency for more information about myskills. Your test results can help to find a suitable job offer and they may translate to further qualifications for you. You can make an initial test at home in advance under www.meine-berufserfahrung.de. The tests are available in different languages.

If your degree is only partially recognised, under certain conditions, you may qualify for further education/training or an exam to achieve full recognition. The counselling centres of the IQ Netzwerk can provide you with advice on these qualifying measures. You can find a counselling centre in your area on netzwerk-iq.de (sorted by federal state) at the top left under the turquoise menu button.

How long does the recognition procedure take?

The recognition procedure should typically take no longer than three months, which begins as soon as the competent body has all the necessary documents. For more complex recognition procedures, such a period may be extended once.

How much does the recognition procedure cost?

The costs of the recognition procedure may vary depending on your case. In addition to the fees for the recognition procedure (100 to 600 euro), you must also pay for the translation and certification of the document.

Where can I seek financial aid for the recognition procedure?

If you are registered at the Jobcentre or the Employment Agency, you can ask the staff member responsible for financial support for the recognition procedure. The jobcentre and Employment Agency can cover the costs of the recognition procedure as well as further training. If the Jobcentre or the Employment Agency rejects your application, make sure they send you the rejection notice in writing.

If Jobcentre or the Employment Agency does not support you, you can apply for a so-called "recognition grant" ("Anerkennungszuschuss"). Those with low income are entitled to recognition grants. You can apply for such a grant at one of the counselling centres of the IQ Netzwork. Before applying, you can seek advice in advance via phone or e-mail. You can reach the staff (who mainly speak German) on the phone at +49 371 4 33 11 222 or per mail via recognition-energies@f-bb.de. 

Those who live in Berlin or Hamburg also have an alternative way to support the recognition process financially. To learn about the Hardship Fund for Professional Recognition in Berlin visit berlin.de. If you live in Hamburg, visit diakonie-hamburg.de for more information about the scholarship programs you can use to finance your recognition procedure.

Please note: To benefit from the above-mentioned financial aids, you must apply for them before submitting your application for recognition. Otherwise, you will not be able to receive any financial support for your recognition procedure.

Muss ich meinen ausländischen Abschluss anerkennen lassen?

In vielen Fällen ist eine Anerkennung Ihres Abschlusses nicht nötig. Es gibt aber einige Berufe, für die Sie eine Anerkennung brauchen. Das sind z.B. Ärzte, Rechtsanwälte, Krankenpfleger oder Ingenieure. Diese Berufe nennt man „reglementierte Berufe“. Wenn Sie in einem reglementierten Beruf arbeiten möchten, müssen Sie Ihren Abschluss anerkennen lassen.

Wenn Sie sich in einem sogenannten „zulassungspflichtigen Handwerk“ selbständig machen möchten, müssen Sie Ihren Berufsabschluss ebenfalls anerkennen lassen. Eine Liste mit allen zulassungspflichtigen Handwerken finden Sie in der Handwerksordnung.

Wenn Ihr Beruf nicht reglementiert ist, müssen Sie Ihren Abschluss nicht anerkennen lassen. Eine Anerkennung verbessert allerdings Ihre Chancen auf dem deutschen Arbeitsmarkt.

Auf der Website der Arbeitsagentur können Sie überprüfen, ob Ihr Abschluss zu den reglementierten Berufen gehört. Auf ec.europa.eu können Sie außerdem auf Englisch überprüfen lassen, ob Ihr Abschluss zu den reglementierten Berufen gehört.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie mit einem Visum zur Arbeitssuche oder einem Visum zur Beschäftigung nach Deutschland kommen möchten, müssen Sie Ihren Abschluss immer vorab anerkennen lassen.

Wo kann ich mich zum Anerkennungsverfahren beraten lassen?

Es lohnt sich, sich vorab beraten zu lassen. Die Mitarbeiter in den Beratungsstellen können Ihnen genau erklären, welche Stelle für die Anerkennung Ihres Abschlusses zuständig ist, was die nächsten Schritte sind und wie Sie das Anerkennungsverfahren finanzieren können.

Bei den Beratungsstellen des Netzwerks IQ können Sie sich vor Ort zum Anerkennungsverfahren beraten lassen. Die Mitarbeiter*innen dort helfen Ihnen bei allen Schritten des Anerkennungsverfahrens. Eine Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie auf netzwerk-iq.de.

Sie können sich auch telefonisch von der Hotline „Arbeiten und Leben in Deutschland“ beraten lassen. Die Hotline können Sie auch nutzen, wenn Sie noch im Ausland sind. Die Mitarbeiter*innen sprechen Deutsch und Englisch und sind unter der Telefonnummer +49 30 1815 1111 erreichbar. Bitte beachten Sie, dass ein Anruf aus dem Ausland Geld kostet.

Wo kann ich meinen Abschluss anerkennen lassen?

Je nachdem, ob es sich um einen schulischen, einen akademischen oder einen beruflichen Abschluss handelt, sind unterschiedliche Stellen für die Anerkennung zuständig.

  • Schulzeugnisse werden von den Zeugnisanerkennungsstellen der einzelnen Bundesländer anerkannt. Die zuständige Stelle finden Sie in der Datenbank anabin. Wenn Sie Ihr Schulzeugnis anerkennen lassen möchten, weil Sie in Deutschland studieren möchten, können Sie sich auch an die Hochschule Ihrer Wahl wenden.
  • Akademische Abschlüsse können von der „Zentralstelle für ausländisches Bildungswesen“ (ZAB) anerkannt werden. Die ZAB führt eine Datenbank (anabin), in der Sie nachsehen können, ob Ihr Abschluss anerkannt wird. Den Antrag auf Anerkennung stellen Sie direkt bei der ZAB. Mehr Informationen finden Sie auf der Website „Zeugnisbewertung“.
  • Für berufliche Abschlüsse können Sie über den „Anerkennungs-Finder“ herausfinden, welche Stelle für die Anerkennung dieses Berufs zuständig ist. Dort können Sie entweder direkt Ihre Berufsbezeichnung eingeben oder über die Rubrik „Wählen Sie Ihren Beruf aus der A-Z Liste“ aussuchen. Im zweiten Schritt geben Sie den Namen Ihrer Stadt ein. Dann wird Ihnen die für Sie zuständige Anerkennungsstelle angezeigt.

Falls Sie sich nicht sicher sind, wie Ihr Beruf auf Deutsch heißt, können Sie auf der Website des BQ-Portals nach der genauen Bezeichnung recherchieren.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie noch im Ausland sind, sind ebenfalls die oben genannten Stellen für Sie zuständig. Beantragen Sie die Anerkennung Ihres Abschlusses in diesem Fall bei einer Stelle an dem Ort, an dem Sie später in Deutschland wohnen möchten.

Wie stelle ich den Antrag?

Nachdem Sie die richtige Anerkennungsstelle gefunden haben, können Sie dort einen Antrag auf Anerkennung Ihres Abschlusses stellen. Zuerst sollten Sie aber noch zwei Dinge erledigen:

  1. Klären Sie die Finanzierung des Anerkennungsverfahrens. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie im Abschnitt „Wo bekomme ich finanzielle Unterstützung?“
  2. Sammeln Sie alle Zeugnisse und Dokumente, die Ihren ausländischen Abschluss belegen. In der Regel müssen Sie die Originale sowie beglaubigte Kopien einreichen. Meistens müssen Sie Ihre Dokumente von staatlich anerkannten Übersetzer*innen übersetzen lassen. Fragen Sie bei der Anerkennungsstelle oder einer Beratungsstelle nach, welche Dokumente Sie übersetzen lassen müssen. Die Mitarbeiter*innen können Ihnen auch Adressen von staatlich anerkannten Übersetzer*innen geben. Falls Sie keine Unterlagen über Ihren Abschluss haben, lassen Sie sich von einer Beratungsstelle beraten.

Nachdem Ihr Abschluss überprüft wurde, erhalten Sie einen Bescheid. In diesem Bescheid steht, ob Ihr Abschluss anerkannt wurde oder nicht.

Wenn Ihr Abschluss anerkannt wurde, bekommen Sie eine sogenannte „Gleichwertigkeitsbescheinigung“. Damit sind Sie einer Person mit einem deutschen Abschluss fachlich gleichgestellt.

Was kann ich tun, wenn mein Abschluss nicht / nur teilweise anerkannt wird?

Wenn Ihr Abschluss nicht anerkannt wurde, wird Ihr Antrag abgelehnt. In diesem Fall können Sie aber z.B. mit einem Test auf myskills.de herausfinden, zu welchem Beruf Ihre Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse passen. Sprechen Sie die Mitarbeiter*innen im Jobcenter oder in der Arbeitsagentur auf myskills an. Ihre Testergebnisse können helfen, ein passendes Stellenangebot zu finden oder Sie weiter zu qualifizieren. Vorab können Sie unter www.meine-berufserfahrung.de einen ersten kleineren Test für sich selbst machen. Diese beiden Tests können Sie in verschiedenen Sprachen (Deutsch, Englisch, Arabisch, Russisch, Türkisch und Farsi) machen.

Wenn Ihr Abschluss nur teilweise anerkannt wurde, können Sie unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen eine Weiterbildung oder eine Prüfung machen und so die vollständige Anerkennung erreichen. Die Beratungsstellen des IQ Netzwerks können Sie zu diesen Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen beraten. Eine Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie auf netzwerk-iq.de.

Wie lange dauert das Anerkennungsverfahren?

Das Verfahren sollte normalerweise nicht länger als drei Monate dauern. Diese Frist beginnt, sobald der zuständigen Stelle alle notwendigen Unterlagen vorliegen. Bei einem sehr schwierigen Anerkennungsverfahren kann diese Frist einmal verlängert werden.

Was kostet das Anerkennungsverfahren?

Die Kosten für das Anerkennungsverfahren sind sehr unterschiedlich. Neben den Gebühren für das Verfahren selbst (ca. 100 bis 600 Euro), müssen Sie auch Geld für die Übersetzung und Beglaubigung von Ihren Zeugnissen bezahlen.

Wo bekomme ich finanzielle Unterstützung für das Anerkennungsverfahren?

Wenn Sie beim Jobcenter oder der Agentur für Arbeit gemeldet sind, können Sie ihren Sachbearbeiter nach finanzieller Unterstützung fragen. Die Jobcenter und Arbeitsagenturen können die Kosten für das Anerkennungsverfahren und auch für Weiterbildungen übernehmen. Falls das Jobcenter oder die Agentur für Arbeit Ihren Antrag ablehnen, lassen Sie sich die Absage unbedingt schriftlich geben.

Falls das Jobcenter oder die Agentur für Arbeit Sie nicht unterstützten, können Sie einen sogenannten „Anerkennungszuschuss“ beantragen. Den Anerkennungszuschuss können Menschen bekommen, die nur wenig Geld haben. Den Antrag müssen Sie bei einer Beratungsstelle des IQ Netzwerks stellen. Sie können sich vorab telefonisch oder per E-Mail dazu beraten lassen. Sie erreichen die Mitarbeiter auf Deutsch unter +49 371 4 33 11 222 bzw. anerkennungszuschuss@f-bb.de. Mehr Informationen zum Anerkennungszuschuss finden Sie im Flyer „Der Anerkennungszuschuss“.

Für Menschen, die in Berlin oder Hamburg leben, gibt es außerdem eine weitere Möglichkeit zur finanziellen Unterstützung des Anerkennungsverfahrens. Mehr Informationen zum Berliner Härtefallfond Berufsanerkennung finden Sie auf berlin.de. Informationen zum Hamburger Stipendienprogramm finden Sie auf diakonie-hamburg.de.

Bitte beachten Sie: Alle diese Möglichkeiten zur finanziellen Unterstützung müssen Sie beantragen, bevor Sie Ihren Antrag auf Anerkennung einreichen. Wenn Sie die finanzielle Unterstützung erst danach beantragen, können Sie keine finanzielle Unterstützung mehr bekommen.