What are the advantages and disadvantages of subcontracted work?

It is usually easier to find a job at a temporary employment agency. Subcontracted labour can, therefore, function as an opportunity for entering the German job market. Subcontracted labour often means working in several different companies, so you can also gain a lot of experience and make professional contacts. Sometimes, a temporary worker is eventually hired as a regular employee by the company he has been sent to as a subcontracted worker. However, this only works when your employment contract with the temporary employment agency has expired or terminated.

Subcontracted labour also entails some disadvantages: The company which "borrows" you, rather than paying you directly, pays the temporary employment agency for your labour. To stay profitable, the temporary employment agencies usually pay the workers less than what they could earn as a regular employee. Furthermore, employment in different companies often means frequent changes in your working environment. So you have to adapt to new jobs, colleagues, and workplaces all the time. In some cases, this also means you have to anticipate long commutes to work.

What are my rights as a subcontracted worker?

The rights of temporary workers are regulated by the laws governing the lease of employees (“Arbeitnehmerüberlassungsgesetz” or AÜG). Many temporary employment agencies are also bound by sectoral collective agreements. Sectoral collective agreements are the agreements signed between companies and unions for regulation of working conditions in a particular industry.

  • You have the right to receive a written document which specifies your working conditions, including the starting date and duration of your employment, a brief description of your tasks, the amount of your salary, the number of weekly working hours and the deadline for a cancellation notice (“Kündigungsfrist”). Having such a document is crucial, particularly when a problem occurs between you and your employer.
  • You have the right to the same working conditions as the regular employees of the company which "borrows" you on a temporary basis. That means you must not be treated differently compared to your other colleagues who are not subcontracted.
  • In principle, you are not allowed to work for the same company for more than 18 months. If your temporary employment agency assigns you to a company for more than 18 months, it automatically means that the company which has "borrowed" you is your official employer- but you can stick to your contract with the temporary employment agency if you prefer. To do so, you must go to the Federal Employment Agency and submit a request in writing.
  • You do not have to accept all the jobs which the temporary employment agency offers you. In principle, you are only required to fulfil the tasks listed in your contract. If you, for instance, have been hired to work in the metal industry, you do not have to accept a job as security staff.
  • At the start of your work, the temporary employment agency must hand you over the "Information Leaflet for Subcontracted workers" provided by the Federal Employment Agency. In this leaflet, your rights as a temporary worker are specified. You are entitled to demand this leaflet in your native language.

How do I receive my wages?

  • You are entitled to receive (at least) the minimum wage. The minimum wage is currently € 9.27 in Berlin, Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia- and it mounts to € 9.49 in all other federal states. So the wages you receive has partly to do with the location of your workplace.
  • If you, as a subcontracted worker, are sent to work in the same company for more than nine months, you will, in principle, be entitled to receive the same salary as your other colleagues there. In some industries, there may be sectoral collective agreements which stipulate that subcontracted workers are entitled to the same wages only after 15 months.
  • You should receive wages from your temporary employment agency, even if you are not currently assigned to any company.
  • Overtime hours are usually not paid. Instead, you will be entitled to time off in lieu. For instance, if you work for more than eight hours in one day, you may leave early on another day or take a whole day off. But you have to communicate with your boss first- your temporary employment agency regulates the issue of time off in lieu.
  • The temporary employment agency usually has to pay the travel costs for your commute between its office and your place of work. The travel time is not considered as working time. It must be specified in your contract how far your workplace may be from the location of the temporary employment agency.

How can I Find a Temporary Employment Agency?

Temporary employment agencies are often looking for new employees- and they use regular job search engines for recruiting. You can read more on this in our chapter "Job search and application." You can also check https://info-zeitarbeit.de/zeitarbeitsfirmen-in-deutschland and http://www.zeitarbeit-job-netzwerk.de/ to find a temporary employment agency in your state or city.

Where can I complain?

If you face a problem in the workplace, you can contact the Workers' Council ("Betriebsrat") of the company at which you are assigned to work. The Workers' Council represents the interests of the employees in the company. One of the council's tasks is to ensure that laws and sectoral collective agreements are respected. If you face any difficulties regarding your salary or other contractually agreed issues, then the Workers' Council at the temporary employment agency is where you should contact. In case your temporary employment agency does not have a Workers' Council, you can take those problems to the Workers' Council at the company where you are assigned to work. You can usually find the working hours of the Workers' Council in the break room or on the office's message board.

You can also visit the counselling centres of the project “Fair Integration”. Their staff speak several languages and can provide you advice free of charge if you face any problems with your employer. On faire-integration.de, you can search for one of their offices in your area.

If you are discriminated against -in the temporary employment agency or a company where you have been assigned to work- due to your family background, nationality, sexual orientation, gender or age, you can contact the Federal Anti-Discrimination Agency. The staff are available on Mondays (13:00 to 15:00), Wednesdays and Fridays (9:00 to 12:00) at 030-18555 1855. You can also contact them via email at beratung@ads.bund.de. The staff speak German, English and Arabic.

Please note: You can seek help from all of these agencies anonymously if you prefer so. That means your boss will not know about your complaint unless you want him to.

Welche Vor- und Nachteile hat Zeitarbeit?

Es ist in der Regel einfacher einen Vertrag mit einer Zeitarbeitsfirma zu bekommen. Zeitarbeit kann also ein Einstieg in den deutschen Arbeitsmarkt für Sie sein. Dadurch, dass Sie in verschiedenen Unternehmen eingesetzt werden, können Sie außerdem viele Erfahrungen sammeln und berufliche Kontakte knüpfen. Manchmal wird ein Zeitarbeiter nach seinem Einsatz in einem Unternehmen auch übernommen und direkt als regulärer Angestellter eingestellt. Das geht allerdings nur, wenn Ihr Arbeitsvertrag mit der Zeitarbeitsfirma ausgelaufen ist oder Sie Ihren Vertrag gekündigt haben.

Zeitarbeit hat aber auch Nachteile. Das Unternehmen, das Sie von der Zeitarbeitsfirma ausleiht, bezahlt Geld an die Zeitarbeitsfirma. Damit die Zeitarbeitsfirma Gewinn macht, bezahlt Sie Ihnen in der Regel weniger Gehalt als das Gehalt, dass Sie als regulärer Angestellter bekommen könnten. Dadurch, dass Sie in verschiedenen Unternehmen eingesetzt werden, wechselt außerdem Ihr Arbeitsumfeld sehr oft. Sie müssen sich also ständig an einen neuen Arbeitsplatz und neue Kollegen gewöhnen. Zum Teil müssen Sie auch lange Anfahrtswege in Kauf nehmen.

Welche Rechte habe ich?

Die Rechte von Zeitarbeitern sind im Arbeitnehmerüberlassungsgesetz (AÜG) geregelt. Viele Zeitarbeitsfirmen unterliegen außerdem auch Branchentarifverträgen. Branchentarifverträge sind Verträge zwischen Unternehmen und Gewerkschaften über die Arbeitsbedingungen in einem bestimmten Wirtschaftszweig.

  • Sie haben das Recht auf einen schriftlichen Nachweis über Ihre Arbeitsbedingungen. Dieser Nachweis sollte die folgenden Fakten auflisten: den Beginn und die Dauer Ihres Arbeitsverhältnisses, eine kurze Beschreibung Ihrer Tätigkeiten, die Höhe Ihres Lohns, die Anzahl Ihrer wöchentlichen Arbeitsstunden, die Kündigungsfrist, etc. Dieser Nachweis ist sehr wichtig, wenn es Probleme mit Ihrem Arbeitgeber gibt. 
  • Sie haben das Recht auf die gleichen Arbeitsbedingungen wie die regulären Arbeitnehmer des Unternehmens, bei dem Sie zeitweise eingesetzt werden. Das bedeutet, dass Sie nicht anders behandelt werden dürfen als Ihre festangestellten Kollegen.
  • Sie dürfen in der Regel nicht länger als 18 Monate für dasselbe Unternehmen arbeiten. Wenn Ihre Zeitarbeitsfirma Sie für länger als 18 Monate an ein Unternehmen ausleiht, entsteht automatisch ein Arbeitsverhältnis zwischen Ihnen und dem Unternehmen, in dem Sie eingesetzt sind. Wenn Sie dies nicht möchten, können Sie an Ihrem Vertrag mit der Zeitarbeitsfirma festhalten. Dazu müssen Sie in eine Bundesagentur für Arbeit gehen und Ihren Wunsch dort schriftlich äußern.
  • Sie müssen nicht alle Jobs annehmen, die die Zeitarbeitsfirma Ihnen zuteilt. In der Regel sind Sie laut Ihrem Vertrag nur verpflichtet, diejenigen Tätigkeiten auszuüben, die in Ihrem Vertrag aufgezählt sind. Wenn Sie z.B. als Metallarbeiter eingestellt wurden, müssen Sie keinen Job als Security annehmen.
  • Die Zeitarbeitsfirma muss Ihnen zu Beginn Ihrer Tätigkeit das „Merkblatt für Leiharbeiternehmer“ der Bundesagentur für Arbeit aushändigen. In diesem Merkblatt werden Ihnen Ihre Rechte als Leiharbeiter erklärt. Sie haben das Recht dieses Merkblatt in Ihrer Muttersprache zu bekommen.

Wie werde ich bezahlt?

  • Sie haben ein Recht darauf mindestens den Mindestlohn zu bekommen. 
  • Wenn Sie mehr als neun Monate in derselben Firma eingesetzt werden, müssen Sie in der Regel auch das gleiche Gehalt wie Ihre dort angestellten Kollegen bekommen. In einigen Branchen kann es vorkommen, dass es Tarifverträge gibt, die regeln, dass Sie erst nach 15 Monaten das gleiche Gehalt wie Ihre festangestellten Kollegen bekommen müssen.
  • Sie müssen Ihren Lohn auch bekommen, wenn Sie aktuell in keinem Unternehmen eingesetzt werden.
  • Überstunden werden in der Regel nicht bezahlt. Stattdessen bekommen Sie später freie Tage. Wenn Sie also z.B. an einem Tag mehr als acht Stunden arbeiten, dürfen Sie an einem anderen Tag früher gehen oder können ganz zuhause bleiben. Diesen Freizeitausgleich regelt Ihre Zeitarbeitsfirma.
  • Die Zeitarbeitsfirma muss Ihnen in der Regel die Fahrtkosten für den Weg von Ihrer Zeitarbeitsfirma zu Ihrem Einsatzort bezahlen. Die Fahrtzeit gilt aber nicht als Arbeitszeit. In Ihrem Vertrag steht, wie weit Ihr Einsatzort vom Ort der Zeitarbeitsfirma selbst entfernt sein darf.

Wie finde ich eine Zeitarbeitsfirma?

Zeitarbeitsfirmen suchen in der Regel ständig neue Mitarbeiter. Sie nutzen dazu auch die üblichen Jobbörsen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Arbeitssuche und Bewerbung.“ Außerdem können Sie auch auf https://info-zeitarbeit.de/zeitarbeitsfirmen-in-deutschland und http://www.zeitarbeit-job-netzwerk.de/ nach Zeitarbeitsfirmen in Ihrem Bundesland oder Ihrer Stadt suchen.

Wo kann ich mich beschweren?

Wenn es Probleme mit Ihrem konkreten Arbeitsplatz geht, können Sie sich an den Betriebsrat des Unternehmens wenden, an dem Sie eingesetzt sind. Der Betriebsrat vertritt die Interessen der Arbeitnehmer gegenüber dem Arbeitgeber. Er kümmert sich zum Beispiel darum, dass Gesetze und Tarifverträge eingehalten werden. Wenn es Probleme mit Ihrem Lohn oder anderen vertraglich vereinbarten Regelungen gibt, ist der Betriebsrat der Zeitarbeitsfirma zuständig. Wenn Ihre Zeitarbeitsfirma keinen Betriebsrat hat, können Sie sich auch mit diesen Problemen an den Betriebsrat des Unternehmens wenden, in dem Sie eingesetzt sind. Informationen zu den Sprechzeiten des Betriebsrats finden Sie z.B. im Pausenraum oder auf dem „Schwarzen Brett“.

Sie können sich außerdem auch eine Beratungsstelle des Projekts „Faire Integration“ wenden. Die Mitarbeiter*innen sprechen verschiedene Sprachen und unterstützen Sie kostenlos bei Problemen mit Ihrem Arbeitgeber. Eine Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie auf faire-integration.de.

Wenn Sie in der Zeitarbeitsfirma oder einem Unternehmen, bei dem Sie eingesetzt werden, aufgrund Ihrer Herkunft, Ihrer Nationalität, Ihrer sexuellen Orientierung, Ihres Geschlechts oder Ihres Alters benachteiligt werden, können Sie sich an die Anti-Diskriminierungsstelle des Bundes wenden. Die Mitarbeiter dort sind montags von 13-15 Uhr und mittwochs und freitags von 9-12 Uhr telefonisch unter der Nummer 030-18555 1855 oder via Email unter beratung@ads.bund.de erreichbar. Sie sprechen Deutsch, Englisch und Arabisch.

Bitte beachten Sie: Sie können sich bei allen genannten Stellen anonym beraten lassen. Ihr Chef wird nichts von Ihrer Beschwerde erfahren, wenn Sie das nicht möchten.