Laura Pannasch

Editor

Laura Pannasch

Laura Pannasch grew up in Bavaria - already in her childhood passionate about drawing, photography and filming. In Vienna she studied German literature and Arabic. In 2008 she travelled to Syria. Since then, the Arab world didn’t let go of her: 2010 she spent half a year in Morocco, 2013 a year in Egypt.

In both places, she taught German and studied Arabic. In 2014 she came to Berlin to work in the editorial office of the Orient magazine Zenith. After a year of freelance journalism and teaching German for adult refugees she decided in 2016 to work as an counsellor on the recognition of professional qualifications for arabic speakers at Netzwerk IQ Berlin.

Since November 2016 she is one of the editors of handbookgermany.de, where she can finally combine her artwork - e.g. by illustrating the videos Phrase of the Day - with her passion for the Arabic language.

Laura Pannasch

Redakteurin

Laura Pannasch

Laura Pannasch wuchs in Bayern auf, wo sie sich als Kind Zeichnen, Fotografieren und Filmen selbst beibrachte. In Wien studierte sie Germanistik und Arabistik und reiste 2008 nach Syrien. Seitdem hat sie die arabische Welt nicht mehr losgelassen: 2010 verbrachte sie ein halbes Jahr in Marokko und 2013 ein Jahr in Ägypten.

In beiden Ländern unterrichtete sie Deutsch und lernte Arabisch. 2014 kam sie nach Berlin, um in der Redaktion der Orientzeitschrift zenith zu arbeiten. Nach einem Jahr als freie Journalistin und Deutschlehrerin für erwachsene Geflüchtete, beriet sie 2016 arabischsprachige Fachleute zur Anerkennung ihrer beruflichen Qualifikationen im Netzwerk IQ Berlin.

Seit November 2016 ist sie Redakteurin für "Handbook Germany", wo sie endlich ihre künstlerischen Talente - unter anderem durch die Illustrationen der Videoserie Phrase of the Day - mit ihrer Liebe zur arabischen Sprache verbinden kann.