Mahmood Saeed

Pashto Editor

Ayşe Tunca

Mahmood Saeed is an Afghan Engineer, civil activist, writer and translator. He studied civil engineering at Polytechnic University in Kabul and worked with various national and international organisations in both fields, i.e. engineering and media. 

Mahmood was the co-founder of different civil society organisations, including, the most prominent academic website in Pashto. The first book he has translated from English to Pashto ("Kiss That Frog", by Brian Tracy) was published in 2016. He has written hundreds of articles in Pashto and contributed to several cooperative projects as a translator, editor and writer. 

In 2016, he moved to Germany and started to learn the language. Mahmood Joined Handbook Germany team in January 2018 as the Pashto editor and is responsible for the Pashto content on the website. He hopes to make Handbook Germany the first trustable information Hub for the Pashto speaking community in Germany.

Mahmood Saeed

Redakteur

Mahmood Saeed ist afghanischer Ingenieur, Bürgerrechtsaktivist, Schriftsteller und Übersetzer. Er studierte Bauingenieurwesen an der politechnischen Universität in Kabul und arbeitete mit verschiedenen nationalen und internationalen Organisationen in beiden Bereichen - Ingenierwesen und Medien – zusammen.

Er war außerdem Mitbegründer verschiedener zivilgesellschaftlicher Organisationen, wie www.lomritob.com, die bekannteste Webseite für Akademiker auf Paschtu. Seine erste Literaturübersetzung aus dem Englischen ins Paschtunische wurde 2016 veröffentlicht (“Kiss That Frog!”, von Brian Tracy). Mahmood Saeed schrieb hunderte von Artikeln auf Paschtunisch und beteiligte sich als Übersetzer, Redakteur und Schriftsteller an mehreren Hilfsprojekten.

2016 kam Mahmood Saeed nach Deutschland und fing an Deutsch zu lernen. Seit Januar 2018 ist er Teil von Handbook Germany als Redakteur für die paschtunische Seite. Er hofft mit Hanbook Germany den ersten vertrauenswürdigen Knotenpunkt für Informationen für die paschtunisch sprechende Gemeinschaft in Deutschland zu schaffen.