The idea

The idea behind handbookgermany.de

Handbookgermany.de is an information platform from communities for communities of refugees and newcomers. We want to work closely together with our target group. We do not want to work FOR, but WITH the people who visit our site. Not only refugees and newcomers, but also people who live in Germany since a long time, find useful information on handbookgermany.de.

Our multilingual editorial team bundles existing information. Through direct access to the communities of new arriving people in Germany, we can spread reliable information.

There are a lot of native-speaking groups on Facebook, What's App, Instagram, blogs and Twitter which are being used actively, often as a form of self-help. However, imprecise and in parts also incorrect information have been exchanged in these groups as well. On handbookgermany.de we provide first-hand trustworthy information.

We provide information about basic knowledge on live, learnwork, asylumrights and laws in Germany. "What protection status counts for me?" and "Where can my child go to school?" are typical questions that we can answer quickly and easily. Even detailed questions, such as "How to get a German driving license?", "What is the Dublin Procedure?” and "How can I finance my studies?" will be answered.

Especially local information are important for all people, the ones who just arrived and also people who live in Germany since a while. It is a central topic on handbookgermany.de and supported by the search engine local.handbookgermany.de.

How we work

handbookgermany.de is mainly adjusted for the usage with smartphones. A simple and completely intuitive handling is essential. We stand for short texts, compability with social media channels and easy accessible information. Our tools are short videos in several languages.

During their research of reliable information, users concentrate on different “hotspots” for information and communication such as Facebook or What’s App groups, blogs or Twitter. That’s why handbookgermany.de will provide and share information especially on those channels.

Neue deutsche Medienmacher (NdM/ “New German media professionals”) are responsible for the concept and editorial content of handbookgermany.de. The NdM is an association of media professionals with and without migration background, campaigning for more diversity in the media and supporting journalists in exile.

Handbookgermany.de is a project financed by the Federal Government Commissioner for Migration, Refugees and Integration. The construction and operation of handbookgermany.de is realized in collaboration with our partners Telekom and Adobe.

Die Idee

Die Idee von handbookgermany.de

Handbookgermany.de ist ein Informationsportal aus den Communities für die Communities geflüchteter Menschen. Unser Anspruch ist es, eng mit unserer Zielgruppe zusammenzuarbeiten. Wir wollen nicht FÜR, sondern MIT den Menschen, die unsere Seite besuchen, arbeiten. Die von uns recherchierten Informationen sind nicht nur für Menschen, die neu in Deutschland sind, nützlich.  

In einer mehrsprachigen Redaktion bündeln wir bestehende Informationsangebote. In einer Form, die gemeinsam mit unserer Zielgruppe erarbeitet wurde, bieten wir Infos an, die wirklich ankommen. Durch direkte Zugänge zu den Communities der in Deutschland neu ankommenden Menschen können wir zuverlässige Informationen verbreiten.

Auf Facebook, What's App, Instagram in Blogs und auf Twitter gibt es zahlreiche muttersprachliche Gruppen, die rege genutzt werden und in einer Form der Selbsthilfe agieren. Dort werden allerdings oft unpräzise, teils auch falsche Informationen untereinander ausgetauscht. Wir liefern mit handbookgermany.de vertrauenswürdige Informationen aus erster Hand.

Wir informieren über Grundlagenwissen zum Leben, LernenArbeiten, Asyl und Gesetzen  in Deutschland. "Welche Schutzform gilt für mich?" oder "Welche Schule sollte mein Kind besuchen?" sind typische Fragen, die wir schnell und einfach beantworten. Aber auch Detailfragen, wie "Wie kann ich meinen Führerschein umschreiben lassen?", "Was passiert beim Dublin-Verfahren?” oder "Wie kann ich mein Studium finanzieren?"  haben bei uns Platz.

Besonders lokale Informationen und Angebote vor Ort sind für alle neu Ankommenden aber auch Menschen, die seit längerer Zeit in Deutschland leben, wichtig. Die Suchmaschine local.handbookgermany.de soll helfen, Angebote in der Umgebung schnell zu finden.

Wie wir arbeiten

handbookgermany.de ist vor allem auf die Nutzung mit Smartphones ausgerichtet. Eine einfache und vollkommen intuitive Bedienung steht im Vordergrund. Kurze Texte, Kompatibilität mit Social Media Kanälen und niedrigschwellige Informationen zeichnen uns aus. Transportiert wird dies vor allem in kurzen Videos in mehreren Sprachen.

Da geflüchtete Menschen sich bei der Informationssuche auf teilweise immer wieder wechselnde "Hot-Spots" der Information und Kommunikation, z.B. Facebook- oder What's App-Gruppen, Blogs oder Twitterkanäle konzentrieren, teilt und verbreitet die Redaktion von handbookgermany.de vor allem über diese Kanäle Informationen.

Für das Konzept und die Redaktion von handbookgermany.de sind die Neuen deutschen Medienmacher e.V. (NdM) verantwortlich. Die NdM sind ein Zusammenschluss von Medienschaffenden mit und ohne Migrationsgeschichte, die sich für mehr Vielfalt in den Medien einsetzen und u.a. geflüchtete Journalist*innen unterstützen.

Finanziert wird das Projekt handbookgermany.de von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Migration, Integration und Flüchtlinge. Der Aufbau und der Betrieb der Website handbookgermany.de werden in Zusammenarbeit und mit Unterstützung der Partner Telekom und Adobe verwirklicht.