Deportation

Update 04.08.2022

How does the deportation procedure work in Germany?

When your asylum application is conclusively rejected, or in case you lose your residence permit (or were never issued one), you are obliged to leave Germany. In such cases, the Federal Office for Migration & Refugees (BAMF) asks for your departure within a specified time limit and threatens to deport you according to the §34 Asylum Act. They will send you a formal notice which is called "Abschiebungsandrohung". In this notice, the destination of deportation must be specified. Sending such a letter is mandatory before deportation, i.e. If you have not received it, you must not be deported. In principle, when your asylum application is rejected, you receive a deportation order along with your rejection notice from the BAMF. The deportation orders are sent as registered letters; which means the BAMF knows when the letter arrives in your mailbox.

With a simple rejection ("einfache Ablehung"), you have 30 days to leave Germany voluntarily. If your application for asylum is rejected as "inadmissible" (unzulässig") or "obviously unfounded" ("offensichtlich unbegründet"), you have only one week to leave Germany. Your asylum application can be rejected as "inadmissible", if, due to the Dublin Regulation, another EU country is responsible for your asylum case. Your application may be rejected as "obviously unfounded" when, for instance, the BAMF sees significant contradictions in your story or your reasons for flight or believes that you have fled to Germany solely for economic reasons. Check the notice you have received from BAMF to learn how much time you have to react -  the countdown starts from the day you receive the notification.

After receiving a deportation order, you must seek advice from a lawyer or a counselling centre. Even if your asylum application has been rejected, there are still some options which can enable you to stay in Germany. Learn more about these options in the chapter "Rejected Asylum".

If you neither voluntarily leave Germany within the designated deadline nor take any further actions, the police may be called to intervene, and you may be forcibly sent back to your home country or to a third country which accepts you and to which you have a specific connection (e.g. a country in which you used to live). This process is called deportation ("Abschiebung") or repatriation ("Rückführung"). The deportation is regulated in §58 of the Residence Act. A deportation can take place, only when sending the person back is actually possible and not prohibited by law. Therefore, before deportation, all the possible obstacles (legal or practical) are examined. The Immigration Office is responsible for the deportations. If your deportation is forbidden by law or simply not possible for practical reasons, the Immigration Office may grant you a tolerated stay ("Duldung") or issue you a residence permit. Check our chapter “Rejected Asylum" for more detailed information.

What do I need to know?

Can I be deported?

You may be deported when you are obliged to leave the country under an enforceable decision ("vollziehbar ausreisepflichtig") but do not leave voluntarily within the departure period. This, however, will be the case only if your deportation is actually possible and not prohibited for legal reasons. To learn more about the circumstances in which deportation is forbidden or not possible, read the chapter "Rejected Asylum". When you do not have a residence permit, your application for a residence permit has been rejected incontestably, and you have entered Germany illegally, you are obliged to leave the country under an enforceable decision (or "vollziehbar ausreisepflichtig"). Such an obligation applies to you when, for instance, your asylum application has been rejected, and you have exhausted all legal options or have missed the chance as you have not acted within the specified time limit for an appeal. As long as your asylum application is not decided, your deportation is not enforceable and therefore, you may not be deported.

In principle, the following groups are obliged to leave Germany and their deportation is enforceable:

  • Asylum seekers whose case have been incontestably rejected. It also applies to those whose application is rejected due to the Dublin Regulation.
  • Illegalised individuals, i.e. people who are (no longer) registered in Germany.
  • Foreign citizens whose residence permit is expired or has been revoked.
  • Foreign citizens who are to be expelled for committing serious crimes or alike.
  • Individuals with a tolerated residence ("Duldung"). In this case, however, the execution of the obligation to leave is suspended, and the individual's stay is allowed until further notice. You can find more about this topic below in the section "Can I be deported despite having a 'Duldung'?"

Please note: Parents may only be deported together with their children. For instance, if a minor child is missing at the time of deportation, the rest of the family must not be deported.

What steps does the deportation process entail?

The Immigration Office coordinates deportations. In the first step, the staff check whether there is a deportation obstacle, e.g. whether you are able to travel or have a passport. If nothing impedes the deportation, the Immigration Office sets a date for the deportation. The exact date, however, is usually not communicated to the person whose deportation is being planned. Many deportations take place at night hours. The state police will pick you up in your flat or accommodation centre and take you to the airport, where you will be handed over to the Federal Police. The Federal Police will then take you on-board and accompany you during the flight out of Germany. In principle, deportations take place by normal passenger flights. Sometimes, however, aircraft are chartered just for deportation. If the Immigration Office suspects that you want to prevent your deportation, for instance, by going into hiding, you may be taken into custody for a few days before the deportation ("Ausreisegewahrsam") or be placed in a deportation detention centre for months until your deportation is organised ("Abschiebungshaft").

Can I be placed in deportation detention centre?

If the Immigration Office believes that you want to prevent your deportation, you may be placed in a deportation detention centre. The authorities, however, need to justify such a decision by presenting specific evidence, e.g. changing the place of residence without informing the Immigration Office counts as a legitimate reason here. In this case, the Immigration Office assumes that you to want to go into hiding. Before you can be placed in a detention centre, there must be a court hearing where the judge gives you the chance to defend yourself and then decides whether the immigration authorities' application to place you in a detention centre is legitimate. You can also appeal this court's decision. Make sure you seek advice from a lawyer. Also, Pro Asyl is one of the organisations which can help you in such circumstances. Their staff speak German and English and can be reached at +49 (0) 69-242 314 20 and proasyl@proasyl.de.

Certain conditions must be met before the Immigration Office can place an individual in a deportation detention centre:

  • You must be legally obliged to leave Germany, and your deportation must be enforceable ("Vollziehbar ausreisepflichtig"). This enforceable obligation applies to you when you do not have a residence permit or in case you have illegally entered Germany, and your application for a residence permit has been incontestably rejected. You can find more about this topic in the section "Can I be deported?".
  • Your deadline for voluntary departure has expired.
  • There are specific indications that you want to prevent your deportation.

In principle, however, it is not allowed to take a person into custody if it is not clear whether their deportation process can be concluded within three months or not. However, it is possible to derogate from this rule if the individual is personally responsible for the deportation impediments or when he or she is considered to be an actual danger to the security of Germany or other people. In this case, the person may also be placed in a detention centre before the expiration of the deadline for voluntary departure.

What rights do I have during deportation detention ("Abschiebungshaft")?

In principle, you may be detained for up to six months before deportation. If you try to prevent your deportation, this detention period can be extended for another 12 months. Minors and families with minor children, however, may only be detained in exceptional cases and for a short time prior to deportation. As a family, you also have the right to stay together and cannot be separated during the detention period.

During such a detention, individuals are usually placed in special deportation detention centres rather than an ordinary prison. If you are held in a regular prison, you must be separated from the inmates.

You are entitled to have visitors and use the telephone. You also have the right to contact your lawyer and the prison chaplain at any time. You can talk about your concerns and problems with the prison chaplain. Prison chaplains are often Protestant or Catholic priests, but you do not have to be a Christian yourself to seek help from them.

Please note: The police may detain you provisionally even without a court order if the conditions for detention ("Abschiebungshaft") are met and the Immigration Office suspects that you plan to prevent your deportation. In such cases, the court will be informed within 48 hours and then decide whether you must stay in the deportation detention or not.

Is there any other way for the police to detain me prior to my deportation?

If the date of your deportation is already fixed and the Immigration Office has successfully concluded the necessary preparations (your documents, the flight, etc.), the police may take you into custody ("Ausreisegewahrsam"). "Ausreisegewahrsam" or departure custody means that you are held in the transit area of ​​an airport or a special accommodation centre (deportation detention centre, repatriation centre) until the day of your deportation. The objective here is to make sure that you cannot prevent your deportation by, for instance, going into hiding. In such cases, the authorities are permitted to keep you in custody for up to ten days with no need to a court order. However, the following prerequisites must be met:

  • Your deadline for voluntary departure must have expired
  • There must be concrete evidence that you want to prevent your deportation. This could be the case, for instance, if you have provided false information about your identity.

If you do not show up for the appointment which the Immigration Office makes for you at your embassy or the Public Health Office ("Amtsarzt"), you may be taken into custody for up to 14 days to make sure you cooperate with the authorities ("Mitwirkungshaft"). That means you will be detained in a particular location, so the authorities can make you show up at the next appointment.

If you have been taken into custody before deportation (“Ausreisegewahrsam”) or detained to make sure you cooperate with the authorities ("Mitwirkungshaft"), you have the right to contact your lawyer, a relief organisation, a deportation observer ("Abschiebungsbeobachter"), and your family. Check the section "What can I do if I am being deported?" for relevant addresses and contact information.

To which destination can I be deported?

In principle, you are deported to your home country. However, it is also permitted to deport you to another country if you have connections there (for example, if you have lived there for a long time or have family members there) and that country is ready to resettle you. If you are being deported under the Dublin Regulation, you may not be deported to your country of origin, but only to the EU country responsible for your asylum application. You can learn more in our chapter “Dublin Procedure”.

Can I be Deported Despite having a "Duldung"?

A "Duldung" is not a residence permit, but rather a suspension of deportation. Having a "Duldung" does not eliminate your obligation to leave Germany, but only postpones it for a specific period. If your tolerated stay ("Duldung") expires or is revoked, you may be deported. A tolerated stay can be revoked if the reason for its issuance is not valid any more. If you, e.g. have been issued a "Duldung" because you did not have a passport and now can obtain one from your country, your "Duldung" may be revoked.

After the expiration or revocation of your "Duldung", in principle, you can be deported. Your deportation then may be carried out immediately and without any notice. Only if you have lived with a "Duldung" for more than a year, the authorities are obliged to notify you of your deportation at least one month in advance. In this case, you will be sent a deportation order (“Abschiebungsandrohung”).

What consequences does a deportation have?

If you are deported, you will be issued with an official ban of entry and residence according to the article 11 of the Residence Act. Such a ban is also called a re-entry ban ("Wiedereinreisesperre"). The ban comes into effect with your deportation and is usually valid for five years. However, the period may be extended to up to ten years if you have been convicted of a crime or are believed to pose a serious threat to the public order and security in Germany. The re-entry ban applies not only to Germany, but to all the Schengen states. For a list of current Schengen member states, check auswaertiges-amt.de. If you try to go to one of the Schengen states despite the ban, you will be refused entry.

In addition, the word "deported" ("Abgeschoben") is stamped in your passport.

Please note: You may be issued an unlimited ban on entry and stay, although it is against the law. If this is the case, you must contact a lawyer. You can find a lawyer, for instance, through Pro Asyl. The staff at Pro Asyl speak German and English and can be reached at +49 (0) 69-242 314 20 and proasyl@proasyl.de.

What can I do if I am being deported?
  • Call your lawyer and inform a counselling centre or aid initiative about your imminent deportation. If you do not have a lawyer and do not know any counselling centres, you can, for example, contact Pro Asyl for help, or seek assistance from a neighbour or the staff at your accommodation centre. The staff at Pro Asyl speak German and English and can be reached at +49 (0) 69-242 314 20 and proasyl@proasyl.de. In order for a neighbour or staff at the accommodation centre to help you, you must give him or her power of attorney. The person with power of attorney can then hire a lawyer or file an urgent appeal ("Eilantrag") at the administrative court on your behalf to provisionally stop your upcoming deportation.
  • Inform deportation observers ("Abschiebungsbeobachter") about your imminent deportation and ask for help. Deportation observes are available at the airports in Frankfurt, Düsseldorf, Berlin and Hamburg. They can connect you to lawyers. They can also assist you in case you have been taken into custody shortly before deportation ("Ausreisegewahrsam") or have been placed in a deportation detention centre ("Abschiebungshaft"). You can find the contact information of deportation observers on nodeportation.antira.info.
  • To be able to prevent your deportation, you must act quickly. Contact a lawyer and a counselling centre as soon as you have learned about your possible deportation. If the first attempt to deport you fails, you still may be placed in a deportation detention centre ("Abschiebungshaft"). In general, after the first unsuccessful attempt, the next one will be scheduled immediately.

Please note: If you are deported, and you do not have cash with you, the police are obliged to give you some pocket money.

What can I do after I have been deported?

You should contact your lawyer. He or she can check if your deportation is legally justified - otherwise (e.g. when your appeal against the ruling of your asylum application has not yet been decided), you may be allowed to return to Germany. If you do not have a lawyer, ask a friend or a counselling centre for help. One of the organisations you can refer to for help is Pro Asyl. The staff there speak German and English and can be reached at +49 (0) 69-242 314 20 and proasyl@proasyl.de. If you have been deported to another EU country under the Dublin Regulation, please contact one of the local counselling centres. You can search for counselling centres in all EU countries at ecre.org.

Important

The federal states are responsible for deportations. Each state independently decides who to deport. Some states carry out many deportations, others fewer. You may hear about deportations taking place in other federal states, but that does not mean you too are in danger of deportation- although it is possible that you too will be at risk at some point. The best is to seek advice about your options in due time.

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Abschiebung

Aktualisiert 04.08.2022

Kann ich abgeschoben werden?

Wenn Ihr Asylantrag endgültig abgelehnt wurde oder Sie einen bestehenden Aufenthaltstitel verlieren oder Sie nie einen Aufenthaltstitel hatten, sind Sie zur Ausreise verpflichtet und müssen Deutschland verlassen. In diesem Fall fordert Sie das Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF) auf, innerhalb einer festgelegten Frist auszureisen und droht Ihnen die Abschiebung nach AsylG §34 an. Diese Aufforderung nennt man Abschiebungsandrohung. In dieser Abschiebungsandrohung muss das Zielland der Abschiebung genannt sein. Diese Abschiebungsandrohung ist zwingend vorgeschrieben. Wenn Sie keine Abschiebungsandrohung erhalten haben, dürfen Sie später nicht abgeschoben werden.  Wenn Sie einen Asylantrag gestellt haben und dieser abgelehnt wird, ist die Abschiebungsandrohung in Ihrem ablehnenden Bescheid enthalten. Der Brief mit der Abschiebungsandrohung wird Ihnen als Einschreiben zugestellt. Das heißt, dass das BAMF weiß, dass der Brief in Ihrem Briefkasten angekommen ist.

Bei einer einfachen Ablehnung haben Sie 30 Tage Zeit Deutschland freiwillig zu verlassen. Wenn Ihr Asylantrag als „unzulässig“ oder „offensichtlich unbegründet” abgelehnt wird, haben Sie nur eine Woche Zeit auszureisen. Als „unzulässig“ wird Ihr Antrag abgelehnt, wenn aufgrund der Dublin-Verordnung ein anderes EU-Land für Ihr Asylverfahren zuständig ist. Als „offensichtlich unbegründet“ gilt Ihr Asylantrag z.B. dann, wenn das BAMF große Widersprüche in Ihrer Geschichte bzw. in Ihren Fluchtgründen sieht oder glaubt, dass Sie nur aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen nach Deutschland geflüchtet sind. Wieviel Zeit Ihnen bleibt, steht auf Ihrem Bescheid vom BAMF. Die Frist läuft ab dem Zeitpunkt, an dem Sie den Bescheid bekommen haben.

Lassen Sie sich nach Erhalt einer Abschiebungsandrohung unbedingt von einer Anwaltskanzlei oder einer Beratungsstelle beraten. Auch nach Ablehnung eines Asylantrags gibt es noch einige Möglichkeiten, doch in Deutschland bleiben zu können. Welche Schritte Sie unternehmen können, erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Asylantrag abgelehnt“.

Wenn Sie Deutschland innerhalb der genannten Frist nicht freiwillig verlassen und auch keine weiteren Schritte unternehmen, können Sie zwangsweise mit Hilfe der Polizei in Ihr Heimatland oder einen aufnahmebereiten Drittstaat, zu dem Sie einen konkreten Bezug haben (z.B. weil Sie früher dort gewohnt haben), zurückgebracht werden. Das nennt man Abschiebung oder Rückführung. Die Abschiebung ist in §58 AufenthG geregelt. Eine Abschiebung droht nur dann, wenn Sie tatsächlich möglich und auch aus rechtlichen Gründen nicht verboten ist. Darum werden zunächst Abschiebehindernisse geprüft. Die jeweilige Ausländerbehörde ist für die Abschiebung zuständig. Falls Ihre Abschiebung nicht möglich oder verboten ist, kann die Ausländerbehörde Ihnen eine Duldung oder Aufenthaltserlaubnis erteilen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unseren Kapiteln „Asylantrag abgelehnt“ und "Duldung".

Was muss ich wissen?

Kann ich abgeschoben werden?

Sie können abgeschoben werden, wenn Sie vollziehbar ausreisepflichtig sind, Deutschland nicht freiwillig innerhalb der Ausreisefrist verlassen und Ihre Abschiebung tatsächlich möglich und nicht aus rechtlichen Gründen verboten ist. Unter welchen Umständen eine Abschiebung nicht möglich oder verboten ist, erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Asylantrag abgelehnt“. Sie sind vollziehbar ausreisepflichtig, wenn Sie keinen Aufenthaltstitel haben oder Ihr Antrag auf einen Aufenthaltstitel unanfechtbar abgelehnt wurde UND Sie unerlaubt eingereist sind. Sie sind also z.B. vollziehbar ausreisepflichtig, wenn Ihr Asylantrag abgelehnt wurde und Sie alle rechtlichen Möglichkeiten ausgeschöpft haben oder nicht innerhalb der vorgegebenen Frist wahrgenommen haben. Solange also noch nicht über Ihren Asylantrag entschieden wurde, sind Sie nicht vollziehbar ausreisepflichtig und können somit auch nicht abgeschoben werden.

Grundsätzlich vollziehbar ausreisepflichtig sind die folgenden Personengruppen:

  • unanfechtbar abgelehnte Asylbewerber*innen. Das betrifft auch Asylbewerber*innen, deren Asylantrag aufgrund der Dublin-Verordnung abgelehnt wurde.
  • Illegalisierte, also Menschen, die in Deutschland nicht (mehr) registriert sind.
  • Ausländer*innen, deren Aufenthaltstitel erloschen ist oder aufgehoben wurde.
  • Ausländer*innen, die wegen schwerwiegender Straftaten o.ä. ausgewiesen worden sind.
  • Menschen mit Duldung. Bei Geduldeten wird der Vollzug der Ausreisepflicht aber ausgesetzt und der weitere Aufenthalt bis auf weiteres erlaubt. Mehr dazu finden Sie im Abschnitt „Kann ich trotz Duldung abgeschoben werden?“

Bitte beachten Sie: Eltern dürfen nur zusammen mit Ihren Kindern abgeschoben werden. Wenn ein minderjähriges Kind zum Zeitpunkt der Abschiebung nicht auffindbar ist, darf die restliche Familie nicht ohne das Kind abgeschoben werden.

Wie läuft die Abschiebung konkret ab?

Eine Abschiebung wird von der Ausländerbehörde organisiert. Sie prüft zunächst, ob ein Abschiebehindernis vorliegt, also ob Sie z.B. reiseunfähig sind oder ob Sie ohne Reisepass sind. Wenn kein Abschiebehindernis vorliegt, setzt die Ausländerbehörde einen Termin für die Abschiebung fest. Dieser Termin wird Ihnen in der Regel nicht mitgeteilt. Viele Abschiebungen finden nachts statt. Die Landespolizei holt Sie in Ihrer Wohnung oder Unterkunft ab und bringt Sie zum Flughafen, wo Sie der Bundespolizei übergeben werden. Die Bundespolizei bringt Sie anschließend ins Flugzeug und begleitet Sie auch während des Fluges. In der Regel werden Abschiebungen mit normalen Linienflügen vorgenommen. Manchmal werden aber auch eigens Flugzeuge nur für die Abschiebung gechartert.

Wenn die Ausländerbehörde der Meinung ist, dass Sie Ihre Abschiebung z.B. durch Untertauchen verhindern wollen, können Sie auch einige Tage bzw. Monate vor der tatsächlichen Abschiebung in Ausreisegewahrsam bzw. in Abschiebungshaft genommen werden.

Darf ich in Abschiebungshaft genommen werden?

Wenn die Ausländerbehörde der Meinung ist, dass Sie Ihre Abschiebung verhindern wollen, können Sie in Abschiebungshaft genommen werden. Dazu muss es konkrete Anhaltspunkte geben, wie z.B., dass Sie die Unterkunft gewechselt haben und den Wohnortwechsel der Ausländerbehörde nicht mitgeteilt haben. In diesem Fall wird Ihnen unterstellt, dass Sie untertauchen wollen. Bevor Sie in Abschiebungshaft genommen werden können, muss ein Gericht Sie anhören und daraufhin entscheiden, ob dem Antrag der Ausländerbehörde auf Abschiebungshaft stattgegeben wird oder nicht. Gegen die Entscheidung des Gerichts können Sie Beschwerde einlegen. Lassen Sie sich dabei von einer Anwaltskanzlei beraten. Hilfe finden Sie zum Beispiel bei Pro Asyl. Die Mitarbeiter*innen sprechen Deutsch und Englisch und sind unter +49 69–242 314 20 und proasyl@proasyl.de erreichbar.

Damit Sie in Abschiebungshaft genommen werden können, müssen bestimmte Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein:

  • Sie müssen vollziehbar ausreisepflichtig sein. Vollziehbar ausreisepflichtig sind Sie, wenn Sie keinen Aufenthaltstitel haben oder Ihr Antrag auf einen Aufenthaltstitel unanfechtbar abgelehnt wurde UND Sie unerlaubt eingereist sind. Mehr dazu finden Sie im Abschnitt „Kann ich abgeschoben werden?“.
  • Ihre Ausreisefrist ist abgelaufen.
  • Es gibt konkrete Anhaltspunkte, dass Sie Ihre Abschiebung verhindern wollen.

Es ist in der Regel aber nicht erlaubt eine Person in Abschiebungshaft zu nehmen, wenn feststeht, dass ihre Abschiebung nicht innerhalb von drei Monaten durchgeführt werden kann. Von dieser Regelung kann allerdings abgewichen werden, wenn die Person selbst dafür verantwortlich ist, dass sie nicht abgeschoben werden kann oder wenn sie eine konkrete Gefahr für Dritte oder die Sicherheit Deutschlands ist. In diesem Fall kann eine Person auch vor Ablauf der Ausreisefrist in Abschiebungshaft genommen werden.

Welche Rechte habe ich während der Abschiebungshaft?

Sie dürfen in der Regel bis zu sechs Monate in Abschiebungshaft genommen werden. Wenn Sie Ihre Abschiebung zu verhindern versuchen, kann die Abschiebungshaft um weitere 12 Monate verlängert werden. Minderjährige und Familien mit minderjährigen Kindern dürfen allerdings nur in Ausnahmefällen und nur für kurze Zeit in Abschiebungshaft genommen werden. Als Familie haben Sie außerdem das Recht, zusammen untergebracht zu werden.

Während der Abschiebungshaft werden Sie in der Regel in speziellen Abschiebungshaftanstalten und nicht in normalen Gefängnissen untergebracht. Wenn Sie doch in einem normalen Gefängnis festgehalten werden, müssen Sie getrennt von den Strafgefangenen untergebracht werden.

Sie haben das Recht auf Besuch und Telefonate. Außerdem haben Sie das Recht, jederzeit Ihre Anwält*innen und die Gefängnisseelsorger*innen zu kontaktieren. Mit den Gefängnisseelsorger*innen können Sie über Ihre Sorgen und Probleme sprechen. Es sind oft evangelische oder katholische Priester. Sie müssen aber nicht selbst evangelisch oder katholisch sein, um die Gefängnisseelsorger*innen zu kontaktieren.

Bitte beachten Sie: Die Polizei darf Sie auch ohne Entscheidung eines Gerichts vorläufig festhalten, wenn die Voraussetzungen für eine Abschiebungshaft erfüllt sind und die Ausländerbehörde denkt, dass Sie Ihre Abschiebung verhindern wollen. In diesem Fall wird das Gericht innerhalb von 48 Stunden informiert und entscheidet dann darüber, ob Sie in Abschiebungshaft genommen werden dürfen.

Hat die Polizei noch andere Möglichkeiten mich festzuhalten?

Wenn der Termin Ihrer Abschiebung bereits feststeht und die Ausländerbehörde alles Notwendige (Ihre Papiere, einen Flug) organisiert hat, können Sie außerdem in Ausreisegewahrsam genommen werden. Ausreisegewahrsam bedeutet, dass Sie bis zum Tag Ihrer Abschiebung im Transitbereich eines Flughafens oder in einer speziellen Unterkunft (Ausreisezentrum, Rückführungsstelle) festgehalten werden. Auf diese Weise soll sichergestellt werden, dass Sie Ihre Abschiebung nicht z.B. durch Untertauchen verhindern. Die Behörden dürfen Sie bis zu zehn Tage in Ausreisgewahrsam nehmen. Eine Entscheidung eines Gerichts muss hier nicht eingeholt werden. Es müssen aber folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein:

  • Ihre Ausreisefrist ist abgelaufen
  • Es gibt konkrete Anhaltspunkte, dass Sie Ihre Abschiebung verhindern wollen. Zum Beispiel, weil Sie falsche Angaben zu Ihrer Identität gemacht haben.

Wenn Sie von der Ausländerbehörde angeordnete Termine bei Ihrer Botschaft oder bei Amtsärzt*innen nicht wahrnehmen, können Sie bis zu 14 Tage in „Mitwirkungshaft“ genommen werden. Mitwirkungshaft bedeutet, dass Sie in einer speziellen Unterkunft festgehalten werden, um sicher zu stellen, dass Sie zum nächsten Termin erscheinen.

Wenn Sie in Ausreisegewahrsam oder Mitwirkungshaft sind, haben Sie das Recht Ihre Anwält*innen, eine Hilfsorganisation, Abschiebungsbeobachter*innen  und Ihre Familie zu kontaktieren. Adressen finden Sie im Abschnitt „Was kann ich tun, wenn ich abgeschoben werde?“.

Wohin kann ich abgeschoben werden?

In der Regel werden Sie in Ihr Heimatland abgeschoben. Es ist aber auch erlaubt, Sie in ein anderes Land abzuschieben, wenn Sie zu diesem Land einen Bezug haben (z.B., weil Sie dort länger gelebt haben oder dort Familie haben) und dieses Land bereit ist, Sie aufzunehmen. Bei einer Abschiebung im Rahmen der Dublin-Verordnung dürfen Sie nicht in Ihr Heimatland, sondern nur in das EU-Land abgeschoben werden, das für Ihren Asylantrag zuständig ist. Mehr zur Dublin-Verordnung finden Sie in unserem Kapitel "Dublin-Verfahren".

Kann ich trotz Duldung abgeschoben werden?

Eine Duldung ist kein Aufenthaltstitel, sondern eine Aussetzung der Abschiebung. Eine Duldung beseitigt die Ausreisepflicht also nicht, sondern unterbricht sie nur bis zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt. Wenn Ihre Duldung ausläuft oder widerrufen wird, können Sie abgeschoben werden. Eine Duldung kann widerrufen werden, wenn der Grund, der zu ihrer Erteilung geführt hat, wegfällt. Wenn Sie z.B. eine Duldung bekommen haben, weil Sie keinen Pass hatten und nun einen Pass aus Ihrem Land vorweisen können, kann Ihre Duldung widerrufen werden.

Wenn Ihre Duldung abläuft oder widerrufen wird, können Sie in der Regel abgeschoben werden. Ihre Abschiebung kann dann sofort und ohne weitere Abschiebungsandrohung durchgeführt werden. Nur wenn Sie bereits länger als ein Jahr geduldet waren, muss Ihnen eine Abschiebung mindestens einen Monat vorher angekündigt werden. Sie erhalten in diesem Fall erneut eine Abschiebungsandrohung.

Welche Folgen hat eine Abschiebung?

Wenn Sie abgeschoben werden, erhalten Sie nach  §11 AufenthaltsG  ein gesetzliches Einreise- und Aufenthaltsverbot. Dieses Verbot wird auch Wiedereinreisesperre genannt. Die Frist für das Einreise- und Aufenthaltsverbot beginnt mit Ihrer Abschiebung und gilt in der Regel fünf Jahre. Die Frist kann allerdings auf bis zu zehn Jahre verlängert werden, wenn Sie strafrechtlich verurteilt wurden oder Sie eine schwerwiegende Gefahr für die öffentliche Sicherheit und Ordnung darstellen. Das Wiedereinreiseverbot gilt nicht nur für Deutschland, sondern für alle Schengen-Staaten. Welche Länder aktuell zu den Schengen-Staaten gehören, erfahren Sie auf auswaertiges-amt.de. Wenn Sie in eines der Länder des Schengen-Raumes einreisen wollen, kann Ihnen die Einreise verweigert werden.

Außerdem wird in Ihren Pass das Wort „Abgeschoben“ gestempelt.

Bitte beachten Sie: Es kann passieren, dass Ihr Einreise- und Aufenthaltsverbot nicht befristet wird. Das ist rechtswidrig. Wenden Sie sich in diesem Fall unbedingt an eine Anwaltskanzlei. Anwält*innen finden Sie zum Beispiel durch Pro Asyl. Die Mitarbeiter*innen sprechen Deutsch und Englisch und sind unter +49 69–242 314 20 und proasyl@proasyl.de erreichbar.

Was kann ich tun, wenn ich abgeschoben werde?

Rufen Sie Ihre Anwaltskanzlei an und informieren Sie eine Beratungsstelle oder Initiative. Wenn Sie noch keine Anwaltskanzlei haben und keine Beratungsstelle kennen, können Sie z.B. bei ProAsyl nach Hilfe fragen oder Nachbar*innen oder Mitarbeiter*innen Ihrer Unterkunft um Hilfe bitten. Die Mitarbeiter*innen bei Pro Asyl sprechen Deutsch und Englisch und sind unter +49 69–242 314 20 und proasyl@proasyl.de erreichbar. Damit Ihnen Nachbar*innen oder Mitarbeiter*innen der Unterkunft helfen können, müssen Sie ihnen eine Vollmacht ausstellen, mit der sie eine Anwaltskanzlei für Sie beauftragen oder einen Eilantrag auf vorläufigen Stopp der Abschiebung beim Verwaltungsgericht für Sie stellen können.

Informieren Sie die Abschiebungsbeobachtung und bitten Sie sie um Hilfe. Abschiebungsbeobachter*innen gibt es an den Flughäfen in Frankfurt, Düsseldorf, Berlin und Hamburg. Sie vermitteln Anwält*innen und unterstützen Sie während Ihrer Abschiebungshaft bzw. Ihres Ausreisegewahrsams. Die Kontaktdaten der Abschiebungsbeobachter*innen finden Sie hier.

Wenn Sie Ihre Abschiebung verhindern konnten, müssen Sie anschließend sofort handeln. Kontaktieren Sie eine Anwaltskanzlei und eine Beratungsstelle. Nach einer gescheiterten Abschiebung können Sie (erneut) in Abschiebungshaft genommen werden. Außerdem wird der nächste Abschiebungsversuch schnell geplant werden.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie abgeschoben werden und Sie kein Bargeld dabeihaben, muss die Polizei Ihnen ein wenig Bargeld aushändigen.

Was kann ich tun, wenn ich abgeschoben wurde?

Kontaktieren Sie Ihre Anwaltskanzlei. Sie kann prüfen, ob die Abschiebung rechtens war. Wenn Ihre Abschiebung rechtswidrig war (z.B., weil noch nicht über Ihre Klage gegen den ablehnenden Bescheid Ihres Asylantrags entschieden wurde), kann es sein, dass Sie nach Deutschland zurückkehren dürfen. Wenn Sie keine Anwaltskanzlei haben, bitten Sie Freund*innen oder eine Beratungsstelle um Hilfe. Hilfe finden Sie zum Beispiel bei Pro Asyl. Die Mitarbeiter*innen sprechen Deutsch und Englisch und sind unter +49 69–242 314 20 und proasyl@proasyl.de erreichbar.

Wenn Sie im Rahmen der Dublin-Verordnung in ein anderes EU-Land abgeschoben wurden, wenden Sie sich an eine Beratungsstelle vor Ort. Auf ecre.org finden Sie Adressen von Beratungsstellen in allen EU-Ländern.

Wichtig

Für Abschiebungen sind die Bundesländer zuständig. Jedes Bundesland entscheidet allein darüber, wen Sie abschieben. Einige Bundesländer führen viele Abschiebungen durch, andere weniger. Wenn Sie von Abschiebungen aus anderen Bundesländern hören, bedeutet das nicht, dass auch Sie konkret von einer Abschiebung bedroht sind. Es kann aber sein. Lassen Sie sich darum frühzeitig zu Ihren Möglichkeiten beraten.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: