Registration as an asylum seeker

Das Bild zeigt, wie eine Person ihren Ringfinger auf ein elektronisches Registriergerät legt.
Update 01.08.2022

How do I register as an asylum seeker in Germany?

Every refugee who comes to Germany has to go to the relevant German authorities and register- this is called "Asylgesuch". "Asylgesuch" is an initial -but necessary- registration to notify the German state that you want to apply for asylum in Germany. Then, you should go to BAMF and officially apply for asylum. It is after submitting this application that your asylum procedure will start.

Registering as an Asylum Seeker

Where and how can I register as an asylum seeker?

You can register as an asylum seeker at a border authority, police station, foreigner’s registration office ("Ausländerbehörde") or an initial accommodation centre for refugees ("Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung"). You just need to say the word "asyl" (or "asylum"), and the staff would know what you mean. After announcing that you want to apply for asylum, you would be considered an asylum seeker. Then you would be taken to an initial accommodation centre for refugees to register. Or, you may receive a document and a ticket to go to such facility on your own. The document mentioned above is called "Anlaufbescheinigung", and it shows that you have done the initial registration as an asylum seeker.

How does the registration process work?

The registration takes place in an initial reception centre. That means a photo of you will be taken and recorded along with your fingerprints. You will also be asked for your name, date of birth, country of origin and maybe even your flight route. All these information is stored. After the registration, you will receive a so-called proof of arrival or "Ankunftsnachweis". 

The proof of arrival tells all the relevant German authorities that you are allowed to stay in Germany for a certain period of time. This document is considered to be a kind of initial ID, so it is very important and you need to always carry it with you. When you submit your application for asylum, you will be issued a temporary residence permit ("Aufenthaltsgestattung").

Why are my fingerprints recorded?

All the individuals who have fled to Europe have to have their fingerprints checked and recorded. This is necessary for the implementing of the so-called "Dublin III Regulation". According to this regulation, the EU Member State where you were fingerprinted first is responsible for your asylum case. So if you have given your fingerprints in another European country first, Germany can send you back to that country. In principle, you must then submit your asylum application there. You can learn more in our chapter Dublin Procedure.

Your fingerprints are stored in the Foreigners Central Register (AZR). The AZR is a database that contains information about people from abroad who have lived or are living in Germany. It is administered by the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF).

If you intentionally manipulate your fingertips, your asylum procedure can be stopped by authorities. If you have been fingerprinted in another EU member state, but do not want to return there, contact a lawyer specialised in refugee laws or a counselling centre. In some cases, there are ways to prevent your transfer to the other EU country. You can find a counselling centre nearby at proasyl.de. You can also call the hotline of www.proasyl.de at 069-242 314 20. The staff there can provide you information and assistance in German and English. To find a lawyer in your area check rechtsberaterkonferenz.de.

What happens after registration?

Whether you can reside at the initial reception facility where you registered is not clear beforehand. You may stay there, in case there is a spot available and the initial reception facility is assigned to house refugees from your country of origin. Otherwise, you will be sent to another initial reception facility in another German city. But it is not the staff who decide where each asylum seeker should be sent- this decision is made by a  computer system called EASY ("Erstverteilung der Asylbegehrenden" or First Distribution of Asylum Seekers).

Once you arrive at your designated initial reception centre, you will be given a place to sleep. In principle, only the refugees who have recently arrived in Germany live in initial reception centres. After a few weeks or months, asylum seekers are usually transferred to another place of residence. This can be another shared accommodation centre or an apartment. Such accommodation centre may also be located in another city nearby.

It is very difficult to oppose and change the decisions made regarding your place of residence. You can learn more in our chapter temporary residence permit ("Aufenthaltsgestattung").

Where can I obtain food, clothes and money?

Immediately after registration, you are entitled to the German state's assistance. Such aids are called "Asylbewerberleistungen" or asylum seeker's benefits. You will receive food and drink, clothes and shoes, toiletries and household items directly in the initial reception centre. In addition, you will receive a "pocket money", with which you can cover the costs of a SIM card, public transportation tickets or other things.

When can I apply for asylum?

In some cases, you can immediately apply for asylum. But sometimes you have to wait for an appointment to do so. You will receive an invitation for this appointment either during the registration or later per post. Your asylum procedure starts as soon as you submit your asylum application. Learn more in our chapter Asylum procedure.

Important

If you have moved to an apartment or have been transferred to another accommodation centre, you must notify the Foreigners' Registration Office ("Ausländerbehörde") and the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF) about your new address. Otherwise, you will not receive your letters and may miss crucial dates or deadlines.

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Registrierung als Asylsuchende*r

Das Bild zeigt, wie eine Person ihren Ringfinger auf ein elektronisches Registriergerät legt.
Aktualisiert 01.08.2022

Wie registriere ich mich?

Alle Geflüchteten, die nach Deutschland kommen und bleiben wollen, müssen sich bei einer deutschen Behörde melden und registrieren. Das nennt man „ein Asylgesuch stellen“. Das Asylgesuch ist noch nicht Teil des Asylverfahrens, sondern der Schritt davor.

Registrierung als Asylsuchende*r

Wo und wie kann ich ein "Asylgesuch stellen"?

Sie können sich bei einer Grenzbehörde, der Polizei, einer Ausländerbehörde, einem Ankunftszentrum oder einer Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung für Geflüchtete melden. Es genügt, hier das Wort "Asyl" zu sagen. Dann sind Sie offiziell "Asylsuchende*r". Wenn Sie nicht schon dort sind, werden Sie zu Ihrer ersten Unterkunft gebracht. Es kann auch sein, dass Sie ein Dokument und ein Ticket bekommen und allein zu dieser Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung fahren müssen. Das Dokument heißt "Anlaufbescheinigung".

Wie läuft die Registrierung ab?

In der Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung werden Sie registriert. Das bedeutet, dass ein Foto von Ihnen gemacht wird und Fingerabdrücke genommen werden. Außerdem werden Sie nach Ihrem Namen, Ihrem Geburtsdatum, Ihrem Herkunftsland und vielleicht auch schon nach Ihrem Reiseweg gefragt. Diese Daten werden gespeichert. Nach der Registrierung erhalten Sie einen sogenannten "Ankunftsnachweis". 

Dieser Ankunftsnachweis zeigt allen Behörden, dass Sie sich für eine bestimmte Zeit in Deutschland aufhalten dürfen. Der Ankunftsnachweis ist für die erste Zeit eine Art Ausweis. Er ist sehr wichtig. Deswegen müssen Sie ihn immer bei sich tragen. Sobald Sie Ihren Asylantrag gestellt haben, bekommen Sie dann stattdessen eine "Aufenthaltsgestattung".

Warum muss ich meine Fingerabdrücke abgeben?

Alle Personen, die nach Europa geflohen sind, müssen ihre Fingerabdrücke abgeben. Das ist nötig, damit die sogenannte "Dublin-III-Verordnung" durchgeführt werden kann. Laut dieser Verordnung ist der EU-Mitgliedsstaat, bei dem Sie als erstes Ihre Fingerabdrücke abgegeben haben, für Ihr Asylverfahren zuständig. Falls Sie Ihre Fingerabdrücke in einem anderen europäischen Land abgegeben haben, kann Deutschland Sie in dieses Land schicken. Sie müssen Ihren Asylantrag in der Regel dann dort stellen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Dublin-Verfahren".

Ihre Fingerabdrücke werden im Ausländerzentralregister (AZR) gespeichert. Das AZR ist eine Datei, die Informationen über Menschen aus dem Ausland enthält, die sich in Deutschland aufhalten oder aufgehalten haben. Geführt wird es vom Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF).

Wenn Sie Ihre Fingerkuppen absichtlich manipulieren, kann Ihr Asylverfahren eingestellt werden. Falls Sie Fingerabdrücke in einem anderen EU-Mitgliedsstaat abgegeben haben, aber nicht dorthin zurückkehren möchten, wenden Sie sich an eine Anwaltskanzlei für Geflüchtete oder eine Beratungsstelle. Denn manchmal gibt es Möglichkeiten, die Rückschiebung zu verhindern. Beratungsstellen finden Sie auf proasyl.de. Sie können auch die Hotline von www.proasyl.de unter der 069–242 314 20 anrufen. Die Mitarbeiter*innen dort helfen auf Deutsch und Englisch. Anwält*innen finden Sie auf rechtsberaterkonferenz.de.

Was passiert nach der Registrierung?

Ob Sie in der Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung bleiben können, bei der Sie sich gemeldet haben oder zu der Sie geschickt wurden, ist nicht sicher. Wenn dort ein Platz frei ist und diese Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung für Ihr Herkunftsland zuständig ist, können Sie bleiben. Wenn nicht, werden Sie in eine andere Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung in eine andere deutsche Stadt geschickt. Wer in welche Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung geschickt wird, entscheiden nicht die Mitarbeiter*innen, sondern ein Computersystem, das EASY (Erstverteilung der Asylbegehrenden) genannt wird.

Sobald Sie in Ihrer Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung angekommen sind, erhalten Sie einen Schlafplatz. In den Erstaufnahmeeinrichtungen wohnen normalerweise nur Geflüchtete, die neu in Deutschland angekommen sind. Nach einigen Wochen oder Monaten werden sie in der Regel in eine andere Unterkunft geschickt. Das kann ein anderes Heim oder eine Wohnung sein. Diese Unterkunft kann auch in einer anderen Stadt in der Nähe sein.

Es ist sehr schwierig, gegen die Entscheidungen über Ihren Wohnort etwas zu machen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Aufenthaltsgestattung".

Woher bekomme ich Essen, Kleidung und Geld?

Sie haben sofort nach der Registrierung Anspruch auf Hilfen vom Staat. Diese Hilfen heißen "Asylbewerberleistungen". Sie bekommen Essen und Trinken, Kleidung und Schuhe, Hygieneartikel und Hausrat direkt in der Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung. Außerdem erhalten Sie ein so genanntes “Taschengeld”, mit dem Sie z. B. eine SIM-Karte, ein Busticket oder andere Dinge kaufen können.

Wann kann ich meinen Asylantrag stellen?

In manchen Fällen können Sie sofort Ihren Asylantrag stellen. In anderen Fällen müssen Sie auf einen Termin dafür warten. Die Einladung zu diesem Termin erhalten Sie entweder direkt bei der Registrierung oder per Post. Mit dem Asylantrag beginnt Ihr Asylverfahren. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Asylverfahren".

Wichtig

Wenn Sie umziehen oder in eine andere Unterkunft verlegt werden, müssen Sie Ihre neue Adresse unbedingt der Ausländerbehörde und dem Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF) mitteilen. Wenn Sie das vergessen, bekommen Sie Ihre Post nicht und verpassen vielleicht wichtige Termine oder Fristen.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: