Deportation

Abschiebung

When your asylum application is conclusively rejected, or in case you lose your residence permit (or were never issued one), you are obliged to leave Germany. In such cases, the BAMF asks you to depart within a specified time limit and threatens to deport you according to the Asylum Law §34. They will send you a formal notice which is called "Abschiebungsandrohung" (roughly: "deportation order"). In this notice, the destination of deportation must be specified. Sending such a letter is mandatory before deportation, i.e. If you have not received it, you must not be deported. In principle, when your asylum application is rejected, you receive a deportation order along with your rejection notice from the BAMF. The deportation orders are sent as registered letters; which means the BAMF knows when the letter arrives in your mailbox.

With a simple rejection ("einfache Ablehung"), you have 30 days to leave Germany voluntarily. If your application for asylum is rejected as "inadmissible" (unzulässig") or "obviously unfounded" ("offensichtlich unbegründet"), you have only one week to depart Germany. Your asylum application can be rejected as "inadmissible", if, due to the Dublin Regulation, another EU country is responsible for your asylum case. Your application may be rejected as "obviously unfounded" when, for instance, the BAMF sees significant contradictions in your story or your reasons for flight or believes that you have fled to Germany solely for economic reasons. Check the notice you have received from BAMF to learn how much time you have to react-  the countdown starts from the day you receive the notification.

After receiving a deportation order, you must seek advice from a lawyer or a counselling centre. Even if your asylum application has been rejected, there are still some options which can enable you to stay in Germany. Learn more about these options in the chapter "Rejected Asylum".

If you neither voluntarily leave Germany within the designated deadline nor take any further actions, the police may be called to intervene, and you may be forcibly sent back to your home country or to a third country which accepts you and to which you have a specific connection (e.g. a country in which you used to live). This process is called deportation ("Abschiebung") or repatriation ("Rückführung"). The deportation is regulated in the article 58 of the Residence Act. A deportation can take place, only when sending the person back is actually possible and not prohibited by law. Therefore, before deportation, all of the possible obstacles (legal or practical) are examined. To learn more, read the chapter "Rejected Asylum". The Immigration Office is responsible for the deportations. If your deportation is forbidden by law or simply not possible for practical reasons, the Immigration Office may grant you a tolerated stay ("Duldung") or issue you a residence permit. Check our chapter “Rejected Asylum" for more detailed information in this regard.

Was muss ich wissen?

Can I be deported?

What steps does the deportation process entail?

Can I be placed in deportation detention centre?

What rights do I have during deportation detention ("Abschiebungshaft")?

Is there any other way for the police to detain me prior to my deportation?

To which destination can I be deported?

Can I be Deported Despite having a 'Duldung'?

What consequences does a deportation have?

What can I do if I am being deported?

What can I do after I have been deported?

Important

The federal states are responsible for deportations. Each state independently decides who to deport. Some states carry out many deportations, others fewer. You may hear about deportations taking place in other federal states, but that does not mean you too are in danger of deportation.

Abschiebung

Kann ich abgeschoben werden?

Abschiebung

Wenn Ihr Asylantrag endgültig abgelehnt wurde oder Sie einen bestehenden Aufenthaltstitel verlieren oder nie einen hatten, sind Sie zur Ausreise verpflichtet und müssen Deutschland verlassen. In diesem Fall fordert Sie das Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF) auf, innerhalb einer festgelegten Frist auszureisen und droht Ihnen die Abschiebung nach AsylG §34 an. Diese Aufforderung nennt man Abschiebungsandrohung. In dieser Abschiebungsandrohung muss das Zielland der Abschiebung genannt sein. Diese Abschiebungsandrohung ist zwingend vorgeschrieben. Wenn Sie keine Abschiebungsandrohung erhalten haben, dürfen Sie später nicht abgeschoben werden.  Wenn Sie einen Asylantrag gestellt haben und dieser abgelehnt wird, ist die Abschiebungsandrohung in Ihrem ablehnenden Bescheid enthalten. Der Brief mit der Abschiebungsandrohung wird Ihnen als Einschreiben zugestellt. Das heißt, dass das BAMF weiß, dass der Brief in Ihrem Briefkasten angekommen ist.

Bei einer einfachen Ablehnung haben Sie 30 Tage Zeit Deutschland freiwillig zu verlassen. Wenn Ihr Asylantrag als „unzulässig“ oder „offensichtlich unbegründet” abgelehnt wird, haben Sie nur eine Woche Zeit auszureisen. Als „unzulässig“ wird Ihr Antrag abgelehnt, wenn aufgrund der Dublin-Verordnung ein anderes EU-Land für Ihr Asylverfahren zuständig ist. Als „offensichtlich unbegründet“ gilt Ihr Asylantrag z.B. dann, wenn das BAMF große Widersprüche in Ihrer Geschichte bzw. in Ihren Fluchtgründen sieht oder glaubt, dass Sie nur aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen nach Deutschland geflüchtet sind. Wieviel Zeit Ihnen bleibt, steht auf Ihrem Bescheid vom BAMF. Die Frist läuft ab dem Zeitpunkt, an dem Sie den Bescheid bekommen haben.

Lassen Sie sich nach Erhalt einer Abschiebungsandrohung unbedingt von einem Anwalt oder einer Beratungsstelle beraten. Auch nach Ablehnung eines Asylantrags gibt es noch einige Möglichkeiten, doch in Deutschland bleiben zu können. Welche Schritte Sie unternehmen können, erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Asylantrag abgelehnt".

Wenn Sie Deutschland innerhalb der genannten Frist nicht freiwillig verlassen und auch keine weiteren Schritte unternehmen, können Sie zwangsweise mit Hilfe der Polizei in Ihr Heimatland oder einen aufnahmebereiten Drittstaat, zu dem Sie einen konkreten Bezug haben (z.B. weil Sie früher dort gewohnt haben), zurückgebracht werden. Das nennt man Abschiebung oder Rückführung. Die Abschiebung ist in §58 AufenthG geregelt. Eine Abschiebung droht nur dann, wenn Sie tatsächlich möglich und auch aus rechtlichen Gründen nicht verboten ist. Darum werden zunächst Abschiebehindernisse geprüft. Die jeweilige Ausländerbehörde ist für die Abschiebung zuständig. Falls Ihre Abschiebung nicht möglich oder verboten ist, kann die Ausländerbehörde Ihnen eine Duldung oder Aufenthaltserlaubnis erteilen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Asylantrag abgelehnt".

Was muss ich wissen?

Kann ich abgeschoben werden?

Wie läuft die Abschiebung konkret ab?

Darf ich in Abschiebungshaft genommen werden?

Welche Rechte habe ich während der Abschiebungshaft?

Hat die Polizei noch andere Möglichkeiten mich festzuhalten?

Wohin kann ich abgeschoben werden?

Kann ich trotz Duldung abgeschoben werden?

Welche Folgen hat eine Abschiebung?

Was kann ich tun, wenn ich abgeschoben werde?

Was kann ich tun, wenn ich abgeschoben wurde?

Wichtig

Für Abschiebungen sind die Bundesländer zuständig. Jedes Bundesland entscheidet allein darüber, wen Sie abschieben. Einige Bundesländer führen viele Abschiebungen durch, andere weniger. Wenn Sie von Abschiebungen aus anderen Bundesländern hören, bedeutet das nicht, dass auch Sie konkret von einer Abschiebung bedroht sind.