Tolerated Stay (“Duldung”)

Do I have any chance to stay in Germany?

The content above is shared from {videoservice}. For more information, click {socialhintlink_begin}here{socialhintlink_end}.

The Tolerated Stay Permit ("Duldung") is issued for individuals who are, in principle, obliged to leave the country, but their departure is temporarily not feasible, due to obstacles to deportation or other reasons which necessitate the continuation of their presence in Germany (§ 60a Asylum Act). Deportation obstacles may include, for instance, a severe illness or the lack of identification papers. Other legitimate reasons for your stay may be, for example, participation in a vocational training programme or going through necessary medical treatments.

A Tolerated Stay Permit or "Duldung" is not an actual residence permit, but rather a temporary residence document which enables you to stay in Germany for a limited period. Those who hold a tolerated stay permit can legally reside in Germany for the time, but their obligation to leave still stands. A tolerated stay permit is usually valid only for a few days, weeks or months. If the deportation impediment(s) or other causes of issuing a "Duldung" persist, your tolerated stay permit will be extended- otherwise, it will not be prolonged. Then, if you cannot obtain a residence permit for any other reason, in principle, you will have to leave Germany.

Important questions about "Duldung"

Can I have a tolerated stay permit (“Duldung”)?

What are my rights and obligations during my tolerated stay?

Can I be deported despite having a "Duldung"?

Where and how can I apply for a "Duldung"?

In many cases, a tolerated stay permit is extended over the years. But those with a tolerated stay may be able to obtain a residence permit as well, granted that they meet specific prerequisites. If you meet only some, seek advice from a counselling centre. You can find a counselling centre nearby, for instance, on the website of the refugee council.

Can I obtain a residence permit despite having a "Duldung"?

Residence permit for humanitarian reasons

Residence permit for well-integrated adults

Residence permit for well-integrated youth and adolescent

Residence permit for qualified individuals with a "Duldung"

Educational Tolerated Stay or "Ausbildungsduldung" (3+2 regulation)

Where and how can I apply for a residence permit?

Important

In 2018, a new regulation regarding rejected asylum seekers and those who have a "Duldung" had been passed, but it will be implemented starting from 1st January 2020.

Duldung

Welche Perspektiven habe ich?

Wir binden an dieser Stelle Inhalte von {videoservice} ein. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie {socialhintlink_begin}hier{socialhintlink_end}.

Eine Duldung wird erteilt, wenn eine Person Deutschland eigentlich verlassen muss, aber die Ausreise vorübergehend nicht möglich ist. Die Ausreise ist nicht möglich, wenn Abschiebungshindernisse bestehen oder es andere Gründe für die weitere Anwesenheit in Deutschland gibt (§ 60a AufenthG).  Abschiebungshindernisse können beispielsweise eine schwere Krankheit oder fehlende Papiere sein. Andere Gründe können zum Beispiel die Aufnahme einer Ausbildung oder die Pflege eines kranken Familienangehörigen in Deutschland sein.

Die Duldung ist kein Aufenthaltstitel, sondern ein Aufenthaltspapier. Der Inhaber hält sich rechtmäßig in Deutschland auf, die Ausreisepflicht bleibt aber weiterhin bestehen. Eine Duldung wird in der Regel nur für einige Tage, Wochen oder Monate ausgestellt. Wenn das Abschiebehindernis oder ein anderer Grund für eine Duldung weiterhin besteht, wird Ihre Duldung verlängert. Wenn das Abschiebehindernis oder der andere Grund wegfällt, wird Ihre Duldung nicht verlängert. Wenn Sie dann keine Aufenthaltserlaubnis aus einem anderen Grund bekommen können, müssen Sie Deutschland in diesem Fall verlassen. Mehr zum Thema Aufenthaltserlaubnis aus einem anderen Grund erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Migration".

Fragen und Antworten zum Thema Duldung

Kann ich eine Duldung bekommen?

Welche Rechte und Pflichten habe ich mit einer Duldung?

Kann ich trotz einer Duldung abgeschoben werden?

Wo und wie kann ich eine Duldung beantragen?

Bei vielen Menschen wird die Duldung oft über Jahre hinweg verlängert. Es gibt aber auch Möglichkeiten für Geduldete eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis zu bekommen. Dazu müssen Sie bestimmte Voraussetzungen erfüllen. Wenn Sie nicht alle Voraussetzungen erfüllen, lassen Sie sich von einer Beratungsstelle beraten. Hilfe finden Sie zum Beispiel beim Flüchtlingsrat in Ihrem Bundesland.

Kann ich mit Duldung eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis bekommen?

Aufenthaltserlaubnis aus humanitären Gründen

Aufenthaltserlaubnis für gut integrierte Erwachsene

Aufenthaltserlaubnis für gut integrierte Jugendliche und Heranwachsende

Aufenthaltserlaubnis für qualifizierte Geduldete

Wo und wie kann ich die Aufenthaltserlaubnis beantragen?

Wichtig

2018 wurden neue Gesetze für Geduldete und abgelehnte Asylbewerber beschlossen. Diese neuen Gesetze werden aber erst ab dem 1. Januar 2020 in Kraft treten.

Aus Gründen der Lesbarkeit wurde im Text die männliche Form gewählt. Dennoch beziehen sich die Angaben auf Angehörige aller Geschlechter.