Immigration

How can I legally reside in Germany?

Foreign citizens who want to reside in Germany need to obtain a residence permit. For a short-term stay, a visa will suffice - but if you'd like to stay longer or plan to make Germany your new home, you must apply for and acquire a residence permit. Citizens of other EU states, however, are exempt from this rule, i.e. they may stay in Germany without a visa or residence permit.

On this page, you will read about some options for foreign citizens to obtain longer-term right of residence in Germany. If you have fled to Germany, read the chapter "Residence Permit for Refugees", where you can find all essential information concerning right of residence for asylum seekers.

Various ways of obtaining a residence permit

Vocational Training ("Ausbildung")

Study

Job Hunting

Employment

EU Blue Card

Self-employment

Research Work

Family Reunion

If you require a visa to enter Germany, you must apply for it at the German Embassy or Consulate in your home country and present the required documents there. After entering Germany, you must register your address and apply for a residence permit at the relevant Immigration Office within three months. To do so, you must submit the necessary documents and, in principle, a confirmation of registration (“Meldebestätigung”) and a rental agreement. The authorities will check your papers and decide if you should be granted a residence permit. Please note that the processing of your visa application may take several months.

If you do not require a visa to enter Germany, please register with the Immigration Office at your new place of residence upon arrival and present the required documents there.

Important

If you are a citizen of an EU country or Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland or Norway, you do not require a residence permit for vocational training, studying, working or residence in Germany.

Migration

Wie kann ich legal nach Deutschland einreisen und bleiben?

Alle Ausländer, die sich in Deutschland aufhalten, brauchen einen Aufenthaltstitel. Falls Sie nur kurz bleiben möchten, genügt ein Visum. Wenn Sie länger bleiben und Deutschland vielleicht zu Ihrer neuen Heimat machen wollen, brauchen Sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis. Davon ausgenommen sind Bürger anderer EU-Staaten. Diese dürfen sich ohne Visum und Aufenthaltserlaubnis in Deutschland aufhalten.

Im Folgenden stellen wir Ihnen einige Möglichkeiten für ein längerfristiges Aufenthaltsrecht für Migranten vor. Wenn Sie nach Deutschland geflüchtet sind, finden Sie in unserem Kapitel „Aufenthaltserlaubnis für Geflüchtete“ alle wichtigen Informationen für Geflüchtete.

Mögliche Wege zu einer Aufenthaltserlaubnis

Ausbildung

Studium

Arbeitssuche

Arbeit

Blaue Karte EU

Selbständigkeit

Forschung

Familiennachzug

Wenn Sie für die Einreise nach Deutschland ein Visum brauchen, müssen Sie zunächst bei der deutschen Botschaft / dem deutschen Konsulat in Ihrer Heimat ein Visum beantragen und die genannten Unterlagen dort vorlegen. Nach der Einreise müssen Sie sich innerhalb von drei Monaten bei der Ausländerbehörde an Ihrem neuen Wohnort melden und dort eine Aufententhaltserlaubnis beantragen. Dazu müssen Sie erneut die Unterlagen sowie in der Regel auch eine Meldebestätigung und einen Mietvertrag vorlegen. Die Behörden überprüfen Ihre Papiere und entscheiden daraufhin, ob Sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis bekommen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Bearbeitung Ihres Visumsantrags mehrere Monate dauern kann.

Wenn Sie kein Visum für die Einreise nach Deutschland brauchen, melden Sie sich nach der Einreise bei der Ausländerbehörde an Ihrem neuen Wohnort und legen die geforderten Unterlagen dort vor.

Wichtig

Wenn Sie die Staatsangehörigkeit eines EU-Landes oder die von Island, Liechtenstein, der Schweiz oder Norwegen besitzen, benötigen Sie keine Aufenthaltserlaubnis, um in Deutschland eine Ausbildung zu machen, zu studieren oder zu arbeiten oder um in Deutschland zu wohnen.