Employment Contract

Arbeitsvertrag
Update 27.09.2022

What are my rights and duties?

Finding the proper job can be tedious- but it is fabulous when you finally get a "yes" from a company you like. Before you sign the contract and start to work, you should examine the proposed employment agreement thoroughly.

What do I need to know?

What is the difference between a fixed-term and a permanent contract?

In a fixed-term employment contract, the end of the employment is set clearly at the very start. Upon the expiration date, your employment relations with the employer ends automatically- so no extra move is required. A permanent employment contract, on the other hand, does not include and end date. Therefore, your permanent employment contract will not stop unless you or your employer actively terminate it.

Please note: If you are not sure whether you will find a new job after the end of your fixed-term contract, you must notify the Employment Agency at least three months before the end of your contract. Otherwise, you risk cuts in your unemployment benefits.

Am I entitled to a written employment contract?

Whether you are entitled to a written employment contract depends on the type of your contract: 

  • In the case of temporary employment contracts, you must receive a written employment contract before you start working. If you do not get a contract or receive one later, the time limit specified in the contract is not valid- which means you are entitled to a permanent employment contract.
  • In the case of permanent contracts, a written employment contract is not mandatory- and an employment agreement can initially be concluded orally. But even here, your employer must provide you with written proof of your working conditions at the latest one month after you start working. Such written evidence should specify details like the start and duration of your employment, a brief description of your tasks,  your wages, the number of hours you work per week, the notice period, etc.

Please note: Make sure you ask your employer for an employment contract or proof of working conditions. Otherwise, you are not going to be legally protected in case issues come up later.

What is a collective agreement ("Tarifvertrag")?

Collective agreements are agreements between employers or employers' organisations and unions ("Gewerkschaften"). Unions represent the interests of workers. Collective agreements are meant to regulate the working conditions (i.e. working hours, wages, etc.) of the employees of a company or an industry such as the metal and electrical industry or the chemical industry. In principle, the working conditions laid down in a collective agreement are more advantageous for the employees compared to the circumstances in the companies or sectors without collective agreements. You can find out more about unions in our chapter "Works councils and unions".

How high is the minimum wage for my job?

In Germany, adult workers and many interns have the right to a statutory minimum wage, which is adjusted every year. From October 1, 2022, the statutory minimum wage will be raised to 12 gross per hour – that means employees cannot pay their employers less for their labour.

Please note: The statutory minimum wage does not apply to the following groups:

  • Interns who are doing a mandatory internship ("Pflichtpraktikum") for school or university. 
  • Interns who are doing an orientation internship ("Orientierungspraktikum") for their vocational training or university degree given their internship takes less than three months.
  • People who are partaking in a scheme arranged by the Employment Agency or the Jobcentre (e.g. an entry qualification scheme or "Einstiegsqualifizierung").
  • Workers who have been unemployed for over a year and started to work less than six months ago.
  • Volunteers.

Since 2020, a minimum wage has been designated for apprentices (i.e. those who are doing an "Ausbildung") as well. Currently, the trainees must not be paid less than €585 per month during the first year of "Ausbilding" (as of 2022). In the second and third year, the minimum wage increases accordingly.

How long may I work per day?

In principle, you are not allowed to work longer than 8 hours a day. You can also work up to 10 hours a day for a brief time. The additional hours must then be compensated for by extra free time within six months.

Please note: When you work for more than 6 hours, you have to take a 30-minute mandatory break. Your break-time does not count as working hours.

Am I entitled to a break?

If you work more than 6 hours, you are entitled to a 30-minute break. If you work more than 9 hours, you are entitled to a 45-minute break. In case you are a minor, you are entitled to a 30-minute break after more than 4.5 hours of work and an hour-long break if you work for more than 6 hours. The break time is usually not paid.

Small breaks which take less than 5 minutes are not counted as break-time. So you can, e.g. go to the toilet or have a brief rest - without it being deducted from your working hours. Smoking breaks are not part of these short breaks, so if you take smoking breaks, you must work more to fill your hours. Your employer can also entirely ban you from smoking.

You also have the right to rest between two working days; so there must be at least 10 to 11 hours of relaxation between two working days.

Do I have to work overtime?

If you work more than what is agreed contractually, these extra hours are known as overtime or "Überstunde".

Whether you have to work overtime depends on your employment contract or collective agreement. So if there is a regulation about overtime in your contract or "Tarifvertrag", you must abide. Otherwise, you can often reject overtime working if you choose so. Only in exceptional cases, i.e. in the event of disasters and emergencies (e.g. a flood in the company) or concerning special operational assignments (e.g. when a task is essential for the survival of the company and has to be completed in at short notice), all employees must work overtime regardless of your employment contract or collective agreement.

Whether the overtime is compensated by additional money or additional free time is often regulated in the employment contract. If your contract specifies that overtime work is not compensated (either by money or free time), the overtime work you do may not amount to more than 10% of your contractually agreed working hours. If your contract does not include any regulation regarding overtime, in principle, you will receive extra wages for the overtime work according to your hourly wages – the prerequisite, however, is that overtime work is ordered by your superiors, and you have documented your overtime(s) in writing- i.e. you need to write down your overtime(s) and have it signed by your boss.

Please note: Employees who receive higher wages (As of 2022: 6750 gross in East Germany and over 7050 gross in West Germany) do not receive extra pay for working overtime.

Do I have to do all the tasks my superiors demand?

You will usually find a list of designated responsibilities you must fulfil in your employment contract. Your superiors may also assign you other tasks. However, these additional tasks must meet the following requirements:

  • They must be legal and safe.
  • They must be relevant to your actual job.
  • They must match your qualifications.
Do I have a right to vacation?

In Germany, all employees are legally entitled to paid vacation. If you work full-time, you can go on paid leave for at least 20 days per year. If you work part-time (or less), your vacation entitlement is reduced accordingly. In many employment contracts, the right to vacation is regulated directly: If you have been promised more vacation in your employment contract, the number of days mentioned in your employment contract applies.

If you don't manage to take your vacation during the year, you are permitted to use your remaining vacation days next year. However, you must use up the remaining days no later than March 31- otherwise, it will be lost.

Please note: People with disabilities can have five additional days of vacation.

Where can I seek advice and support?

If you are uncertain whether you should sign an employment contract or face any problems in this regard, you can contact one of the counselling centres of the "Fair Integration" project. Their staff speak different languages ​​and can provide you support free of charge. You can find a counselling centre of Fair Integration nearby at faire-integration.de.

In case you are discriminated against based on your origin, nationality, sexual orientation, gender or age, you can contact the Federal Anti-Discrimination Agency. The employees there can be reached on Mondays (1 p.m. to 3 p.m.) and on Wednesdays and Fridays (9 a.m. to 12 p.m.) at 030-18555 1855 or per email (beratung@ads.bund.de). They speak German, English and Arabic.

Please note: You can seek advice from all of the above-mentioned agencies anonymously. No one will know about the issue if you wish to keep in confidential.

Important

Read your employment contract thoroughly before signing it. If you are uncertain, seek help from friends or visit a counselling centre. You can search for a councelling centre nearby at faire-integration.de

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Arbeitsvertrag

Arbeitsvertrag
Aktualisiert 14.10.2022

Welche Rechten und Pflichten habe ich?

Die Suche nach einem Job kann sehr mühsam sein. Umso großartiger ist es, wenn man schließlich eine Zusage von einem Unternehmen bekommt. Bevor Sie Ihren Job antreten, sollten Sie Ihren Arbeitsvertrag aber genau prüfen.

Was muss ich wissen?

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen einem befristeten und einen unbefristeten Arbeitsvertrag?

Bei einem befristeten Arbeitsvertrag steht von Beginn an fest, wann Ihr Arbeitsverhältnis enden wird. Sobald dieses Datum erreicht ist, endet Ihr Arbeitsverhältnis automatisch. Es gibt also keine Kündigung. Bei einem unbefristeten Arbeitsvertrag gibt es dieses Enddatum nicht. Ein unbefristeter Arbeitsvertrag muss also aktiv von Ihnen oder Ihrem*Ihrer Arbeitgeber*in beendet werden.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie nicht sicher sind, ob Sie nach dem Ende Ihres befristeten Arbeitsvertrags einen neuen Job finden, müssen Sie sich spätestens drei Monate vor dem Ende Ihres Vertrags bei der Arbeitsagentur arbeitssuchend melden. Ansonsten riskieren Sie Kürzungen beim Arbeitslosengeld.

Habe ich das Recht auf einen schriftlichen Arbeitsvertrag?

Ob sie einen Anspruch auf einen schriftlichen Arbeitsvertrag haben, hängt von der Art Ihres Arbeitsvertrages ab.

  • Bei zeitlich befristeten Arbeitsverträgen müssen Sie vor Beginn Ihrer Tätigkeit einen schriftlichen Arbeitsvertrag bekommen. Wenn Sie Ihren Arbeitsvertrag erst später oder gar nicht bekommen, ist die Befristung nicht gültig und Sie haben das Recht auf einen unbefristeten Arbeitsvertrag.
  • Bei unbefristeten Verträgen ist ein schriftlicher Arbeitsvertrag keine Pflicht. Ein Arbeitsvertrag kann in diesem Fall auch zunächst nur mündlich geschlossen werden. In diesem Fall, muss Ihr Arbeitgeber Ihnen aber spätestens einen Monat nach Beginn Ihrer Tätigkeit einen schriftlichen Nachweis über Ihre Arbeitsbedingungen aushändigen. Dieser Nachweis sollte die folgenden Fakten auflisten: den Beginn und die Dauer Ihres Arbeitsverhältnisses, eine kurze Beschreibung Ihrer Tätigkeiten, die Höhe Ihres Lohns, die Anzahl Ihrer wöchentlichen Arbeitsstunden, die Kündigungsfrist, etc. 

Bitte beachten Sie: Fordern Sie unbedingt einen Arbeitsvertrag bzw. den Nachweis über Ihre Arbeitsbedingungen bei Ihrem Arbeitgeber ein. Andernfalls sind Sie rechtlich nicht abgesichert, wenn es Probleme mit Ihrem Arbeitgeber gibt.

Was ist ein Tarifvertrag?

Tarifverträge sind Vereinbarungen zwischen Arbeitgebern oder Arbeitgeberverbänden und Gewerkschaften. Gewerkschaften vertreten die Interessen der Arbeitnehmer*innen. Tarifverträge regeln die Arbeitsbedingungen (also die Arbeitszeiten, Löhne, etc.) der Arbeitnehmer*innen eines Unternehmens oder einer Branche wie z.B. der Metall- und Elektroindustrie oder der Chemieindustrie. In der Regel sind die in einem Tarifvertrag festgeschriebenen Arbeitsbedingungen besser als in ähnlichen Unternehmen oder Branchen ohne Tarifvertrag. Mehr zum Thema Gewerkschaften erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Betriebsräte und Gewerkschaften“.

Wie hoch muss mein Lohn mindestens sein?

In Deutschland haben volljährige Arbeitnehmer*innen und auch viele Praktikant*innen das Recht auf den gesetzlichen Mindestlohn. Der gesetzliche Mindestlohn wird jedes Jahr neu angepasst. Seit dem 1. Oktober 2022 beträgt der gesetzliche Mindestlohn 12,00 Euro brutto pro Stunde. Weniger dürfen Arbeitnehmer*innen nicht verdienen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Der gesetzliche Mindestlohn gilt nicht für folgende Gruppen:

  • Praktikant*innen, die ein Pflichtpraktikum für Schule oder Universität absolvieren.
  • Praktikant*innen, die ein Orientierungspraktikum für die Ausbildung oder Ihr Studium absolvieren, wenn das Praktikum weniger als drei Monate dauert.
  • Personen, die eine Maßnahme der Arbeitsagentur oder des Jobcenters (z.B. eine Einstiegsqualifizierung) absolvieren.
  • Arbeitnehmer*innen, die vorab mehr als ein Jahr arbeitslos waren und seit weniger als sechs Monaten wieder arbeiten.
  • Volontär*innen.

Für Auszubildende gibt es seit 2020 ebenfalls einen Mindestlohn. Auszubildende im ersten Lehrjahr dürfen aktuell (Stand 2022) nicht weniger als 585 Euro pro Monat verdienen. Im zweiten und dritten Lehrjahr erhöht sich der Mindestlohn entsprechend.

Wie lange darf ich pro Tag arbeiten?

Grundsätzlich dürfen Sie nicht länger als 8 Stunden pro Tag arbeiten.  Für eine kurze Zeit dürfen Sie auch bis zu 10 Stunden pro Tag arbeiten. Die zusätzlichen Stunden müssen dann aber innerhalb von sechs Monaten durch zusätzliche Freizeit ausgeglichen werden.

Bitte beachten Sie: Ab einer Arbeitszeit von mehr als 6 Stunden, müssen Sie eine 30-minütige Pause machen. Diese Pause ist Pflicht. Sie zählt aber nicht als Arbeitszeit.

Habe ich einen Anspruch auf eine Pause?

Wenn Sie mehr als 6 Stunden arbeiten, haben Sie Anspruch auf eine 30-minütige Pause. Wenn Sie mehr als 9 Stunden arbeiten, haben Sie Anspruch auf eine 45-minütige Pause. Wenn Sie noch minderjährig sind, haben Sie nach mehr als 4,5 Stunden Anspruch auf eine 30-minütige Pause und nach mehr als 6 Stunden Anspruch auf eine 60-minütige Pause. Die Pausenzeit wird in der Regel nicht bezahlt.

Kurze Arbeitsunterbrechungen, die nicht länger als 5 Minuten dauern, gelten nicht als Pause und werden bezahlt. Sie können also z.B. auf die Toilette gehen oder sich kurz ausruhen – ohne dass dies von Ihrer Arbeitszeit abgezogen werden darf. Raucherpausen gehören allerdings nicht zu diesen kurzen Arbeitsunterbrechungen. Das bedeutet, dass die durch die Raucherpause verloren gegangene Zeit nachgearbeitet werden muss. Ihr Arbeitgeber kann Ihnen eine Raucherpause außerdem auch komplett verbieten.

Außerdem haben Sie auch das Recht auf eine Erholungspause zwischen zwei Arbeitstagen. Aus diesem Grund müssen zwischen zwei Arbeitstagen mindestens 10 bis 11 Stunden liegen. Diese Zeit ist für Ihre Erholung gedacht.

Muss ich Überstunden machen?

Überstunden sind zusätzliche Arbeitsstunden. Wenn Sie also mehr arbeiten als vertraglich vereinbart ist, machen Sie Überstunden.

Ob Sie Überstunden machen müssen, hängt von den Regelungen in Ihrem Arbeitsvertrag oder Tarifvertrag ab. Wenn es dort eine Regelung zum Thema Überstunden gibt, müssen Sie sich an diese Regelung halten. Wenn es keine Regelung dazu gibt, können Sie Überstunden in der Regel ablehnen. In Ausnahmefällen, d.h. bei Katastrophen und Notfällen (z.B. eine Überschwemmung in der Firma) oder bei besonderen betrieblichen Bedarfen (z.B. wenn ein für das Überleben der Firma sehr wichtiger Auftrag kurzfristig erledigt werden muss), müssen alle Arbeitnehmer*innen Überstunden machen. Unabhängig von Ihrem Arbeitsvertrag oder Tarifvertrag.

Ob die Überstunden durch zusätzliches Geld oder zusätzliche Freizeit ausgeglichen werden, ist in der Regel im Arbeitsvertrag geregelt. Wenn Sie laut Arbeitsvertrag weder mit Geld noch mit Freizeit für geleistete Überstunden bezahlt werden, dürfen die Überstunden allerdings nicht mehr als 10% der vertraglich vereinbarten Arbeitszeit ausmachen. Wenn es in Ihrem Arbeitsvertrag keine Regelung zu diesem Thema gibt, bekommen Sie für die geleisteten Überstunden in der Regel Ihren normalen Stundenlohn. Voraussetzung dafür ist aber, dass Ihre Vorgesetzten die Überstunden angeordnet haben und Sie die geleisteten Überstunden schriftlich dokumentiert haben. Dazu müssen Sie Ihre Überstunden aufschreiben und dieses Papier von Ihrem Vorgesetzen unterschreiben lassen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Arbeitnehmer*innen, die sehr viel Gehalt bekommen (Stand 2022: ab 6.750 Euro brutto in Ostdeutschland und ab 7.050 Euro brutto in Westdeutschland), werden für Überstunden nicht extra bezahlt.

Muss ich alle Aufgaben erledigen, die meine Vorgesetzten von mir verlangen?

In der Regel finden Sie in Ihrem Arbeitsvertrag eine Auflistung Ihrer Aufgaben. Sie sind verpflichtet, diese Aufgaben zu erledigen. Ihre Vorgesetzten können Ihnen auch weitere Aufgaben zuteilen. Allerdings müssen diese weiteren Aufgaben folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Sie sind legal und ungefährlich.
  • Sie haben etwas mit Ihrer eigentlichen Tätigkeit zu tun.
  • Sie entsprechen Ihrer Qualifikation.
Habe ich ein Recht auf Urlaub?

Alle Arbeitnehmer*innen haben einen gesetzlichen Anspruch auf einen bezahlten Erholungsurlaub. Wenn Sie Vollzeit arbeiten, dürfen Sie für mindestens 20 Tage in Urlaub gehen. Wenn Sie Teilzeit oder weniger arbeiten, reduziert sich Ihr Urlaubsanspruch entsprechend. In vielen Arbeitsverträgen ist der Urlaubsanspruch aber direkt geregelt: Wenn Ihnen in Ihrem Arbeitsvertrag mehr Urlaub zugesagt wurde, gilt die Regelung aus Ihrem Arbeitsvertrag.

Wenn Sie es nicht schaffen, Ihren Urlaub im laufenden Jahr zu nehmen, können Sie Ihren Resturlaub ins nächste Jahr mitnehmen. Sie müssen den Resturlaub aber spätestens bis zum 31. März des nächsten Jahres verbrauchen. Ansonsten geht er verloren.

Bitte beachten Sie: Menschen mit Behinderung können zusätzliche 5 Tage Urlaub bekommen.

Wo finde ich Hilfe & Unterstützung?

Wenn Sie unsicher sind, ob Sie Ihren Arbeitsvertrag unterschreiben sollen oder wenn Sie Probleme damit haben, können sich an eine Beratungsstelle des Projekts „Faire Integration“ wenden. Die Mitarbeiter*innen sprechen verschiedene Sprachen und unterstützen Sie kostenlos. Eine Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie auf faire-integration.de.

Wenn Sie aufgrund Ihrer Herkunft, Ihrer Nationalität, Ihrer sexuellen Orientierung, Ihres Geschlechts oder Ihres Alters benachteiligt werden, können Sie sich an die Anti-Diskriminierungsstelle des Bundes wenden. Die Mitarbeiter dort sind montags von 13-15 Uhr und mittwochs und freitags von 9-12 Uhr telefonisch unter der Nummer 030-18555 1855 oder via Email unter beratung@ads.bund.de erreichbar. Sie sprechen Deutsch, Englisch und Arabisch.

Bitte beachten Sie: Sie können sich bei allen genannten Stellen anonym beraten lassen. Niemand wird von Ihrer Beschwerde erfahren, wenn Sie das nicht möchten.

Wichtig

Lesen Sie Ihren Arbeitsvertrag gut durch, bevor Sie ihn unterschreiben. Wenn Sie sich unsicher sind, suchen Sie sich Hilfe bei Bekannten oder einer Beratungsstelle. Eine Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie auf faire-integration.de.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: