Learning German

Update 04.08.2022

Where and how can I learn German?

There are various ways to learn German and improve your proficiency, even if you are not (yet) allowed to attend an integration- or vocational language course. Here we show you which possibilities you have to learn the German language cost-free or at an affordable cost.

Where can I learn German?

German courses

There are many cost-free German courses, mainly organised by volunteers. Teachers in these courses are often not professional educators, but people who would like to help the newcomers in Germany. Most of these courses are for beginners, but there are also courses for more advanced German-learners. For some of these courses, you have to register, but in others, you can just go there at the designated dates and participate. On our Local Search pages (and also on Deutschstunde.eu) you can search for a free German course nearby. If you cannot find any free German course around, ask a Migration Counselling centre or the Youth Migration Service for help. In some cities, Adult Education Centers (“Volkshochschule”) offer free German courses for refugees.

In addition, many universities offer German courses for refugees. Most of these university courses are cost-free as they are either funded by the respective university or the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). Some of these courses aim to prepare the participants for studying at the respective university. In others, you may participate without any further requirement. If there is a university or college in your city, visit their website and search for 'Angeboten für Flüchtlinge' or contact the International Office, the Language Center ("Sprachenzentrum") or The Centre for Applied Linguistics and Special Languages ("Fachsprachenzentrum") in the university directly.

German courses in official language schools, such as the Goethe Institute are often quite pricey, and you usually have to pay for them personally. The language courses in Adult Education Centres ("Volkshochschule" or VHS) are another affordable alternative. Adult Education Centres are available in almost every German city. If you have a job and need to advance your knowledge of German to handle your day-to-day work better, you may ask your boss if he/she is willing to pay for your German course within the framework of further education or "Weiterbildung".

Please note: Some German foundations and universities provide scholarships for advanced German-learners. For example, the Institute for International Communication (IIK) in Düsseldorf offers several scholarships per year for their different types of summer courses (starting from B1). If you are enrolled at a university and have been living in German for less than 15 months, you are eligible to apply for a language scholarships at the German Academic Exchange Service (“Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst” or DAAD). As an academician, you can also apply for a fellowship at the Humboldt Foundation if you are planning to continue your research in Germany. Humboldt Foundation offers scholarships for intensive German courses, among other things, but their academic selection criteria are quite strict.

Language cafes

There are often many volunteers in the so-called language cafes ("Sprachcafés" or language meet-ups) who can help you learn German. In the language cafés, you can meet other people and speak German with them to practice and learn new words. You may also find new friends in these cafes and meet-ups. Here, it does not matter if you are a beginner or an advanced-learner; everyone can take part in these often small groups and speak German with others.

On our Local Search pages (and also on Deutschstunde.eu) you can search for a language cafe nearby. If you cannot find any free German course around, ask a Migration Counselling centre or the Youth Migration Service for help.

Learning with a tandem partner

You can also look for a tandem partner. A tandem partner is a person who speaks German very well and wants to learn your language. Tandem partners meet and try to exchange their knowledge of their respective language by talking together, so this is a win-win situation: you learn German, and the other person can learn your language cost-free.

You can search for a tandem partner in your area on our Local Search pages and Deutschstunde.eu. If you cannot find anyone, ask a Migration Counselling Centre or the Youth Migration Service for help.

You can search for a tandem partner in your area on our Local Search pages (and also on Deutschstunde.eu). If you cannot find anyone, ask a Migration Counselling centre or the Youth Migration Service for help.

Learning German online

There are various ways to practice German independently and online:

  • The website dw.com and the the Adult Education Centre's portal will help you learn German - regardless of your current knowledge of the language. Here you can learn the German vocabulary and grammar and practice listening comprehension, reading and writing.
  • At deutschakademie.de and deutsch-lernen.com you can complete online German courses of different levels free of charge.
  • The Goethe Institut offers beginners and advanced learners various opportunities to learn and practice German. There you can also learn relevant vocabulary for specific professions.
  • There is also a beginner's booklet that you can download for free in many different languages.
  • At lernox.de you will find many videos and exercise sheets on various topics, which can make learning German easier.
  • On ondaz.de  you will find interactive exercises on various grammar topics. You can also register there so that you can always keep an eye on your progress. In the "andere Webseiten" tab you will also find links to other platforms on which you can practice listening comprehension, for example.
  • At lunes.app, you can download a free vocabulary app, where you will mainly find German vocabulary relevant to training and work in different fields such as handicraft, health care and office work.
  • There is also a German language course for Farsi-speakers with over 300 lessons and another one entailing various youtube videos for Arabic-speaking people who would like to learn German.

A comprehensive overview of all audio and video materials for different language levels can be found on the website of the Alumniportals Deutschland. There you will also find learning materials which will help you to prepare for various German exams.

Libraries

In public libraries, you will find many dictionaries and learning materials for improving your German. You can also study there in peace and (often also) surf the Internet. You can search for a public library nearby on bibliotheksportal.de. Membership is either free or pretty low-priced. Many libraries also have special offers for refugees. You can find out more at Library offers for refugees and asylum seekers.

Important

The most important thing when learning a new language is practising. So: Dare to speak German! It is completely normal to make a lot of mistakes at the beginning. But you will still be understood and eventually become more fluent.

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Deutsch lernen

Aktualisiert 04.08.2022

Wo kann ich Deutsch lernen?

Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten, Deutsch zu lernen oder Ihr Deutsch zu verbessern - auch, wenn Sie (noch) keinen Integrationskurs oder Berufssprachkurs besuchen dürfen. Hier zeigen wir Ihnen, welche Möglichkeiten Sie haben die deutsche Sprache kostenlos oder kostengünstig zu lernen.

Wo kann ich Deutsch lernen?

Deutschkurse

Es gibt viele kostenlose Deutschkurse, die von freiwilligen Helfer*innen angeboten werden. Das sind meistens keine professionellen Lehrer, sondern Menschen, die Ihnen gerne beim Ankommen helfen möchten. Die meisten dieser Kurse sind für Anfänger. Es gibt aber auch Kurse für Fortgeschrittene. Für manche dieser Kurse müssen Sie sich anmelden. Zu anderen können Sie einfach hingehen und sofort mitmachen. Auf unseren Local Search-Seiten und auf Deutschstunde.eu können Sie nach einem kostenlosen Deutschkurs in Ihrer Nähe suchen. Wenn Sie dort nichts für Ihre Stadt oder Kommune finden, können Sie bei einer Beratungsstelle für Migranten oder beim Jugendmigrationsdienst nach einem kostenlosen Deutschkurs in Ihrer Nähe fragen. In einigen Städten bieten auch die Volkshochschulen kostenlose Anfängerkurse für Geflüchtete an.

Außerdem bieten viele Universitäten spezielle Deutschkurse für Geflüchtete an. Die meisten dieser Hochschulkurse sind kostenfrei und werden entweder von der jeweiligen Universität oder dem Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) finanziert. Einige dieser Kurse haben das Ziel, die Teilnehmer auf ein Hochschulstudium an der jeweiligen Univeristät vorzubereiten. In anderen dürfen Sie ohne weitere Voraussetzung teilnehmen. Wenn es in Ihrer Stadt eine Universität oder Hochschule gibt, können Sie auf deren Website nach „Angeboten für Flüchtlinge“ suchen oder das Akademische Auslandsamt, das Sprachenzentrum bzw. Fachsprachenzentrum kontaktieren.

Kurse in offiziellen Sprachschulen wie z.B. dem Goethe Institut sind meist sehr teuer und müssen in der Regel von Ihnen selbst bezahlt werden. Eine günstige und gute Alternative zu einer Sprachschule sind die Kurse an den Volkshochschulen (VHS). Diese gibt es in fast jeder deutschen Stadt. Wenn Sie eine Arbeitsstelle haben und Ihre Deutschkenntnisse nicht gut genug sind, um Ihren Arbeitsalltag zu meistern, können Sie Ihren Chef fragen, ob er Ihnen Kurse im Rahmen eine Weiterbildung bezahlt.

Bitte beachten Sie: Einige deutsche Stiftungen und Hochschulen vergeben Stipendien für Fortgeschrittenenkurse. Das Institut für Internationale Kommunkation (IIK) in Düsseldorf beispielsweise schreibt jährlich mehrere Stipendien für verschiedene Sommerkurse aus (ab B1-Niveau). Wenn Sie an einer Hochschule eingeschrieben sind und weniger als 15 Monate in Deutschland leben, können Sie sich außerdem für ein Sprachstipendium des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD) bewerben. Als Akademiker können Sie auch Stipendiat der Humboldt Stiftung werden, wenn Sie Ihre Forschungen in Deutschland fortführen wollen. Die Humboldt Stiftung bietet u.a. Stipendien für Deutschintensivkurse an.

Sprachcafés

Auch in sogenannten Sprachcafés (oder Sprachtreffs) gibt es viele Freiwillige, die Sie beim Deutsch Lernen unterstützen. In den Sprachcafés können Sie sich mit anderen Leuten treffen und mit ihnen Deutsch sprechen. So üben Sie Ihr Deutsch und lernen neue Wörter. Und finden nebenbei vielleicht noch neue Freunde. In den Sprachcafés ist es egal, ob Sie Anfänger oder Fortgeschrittener sind. Alle sitzen in kleinen Gruppen zusammen und unterhalten sich einfach.

Auf unseren Local Search-Seiten und auf Deutschstunde.eu können Sie nach einem Sprachcafé in Ihrer Nähe suchen. Wenn Sie dort nichts für Ihre Stadt oder Kommune finden, können Sie bei einer Beratungsstelle für Migranten oder beim Jugendmigrationsdienst nach einem Sprachcafé in Ihrer Nähe fragen.

Lernen mit einem Tandempartner

Sie können sich auch einen Tandempartner suchen. Das ist eine Person, die sehr gut Deutsch spricht und Ihre Sprache lernen will. Sie treffen sich miteinander und lernen und sprechen abwechselnd Deutsch und Ihre Sprache. So lernen Sie Deutsch und die andere Person lernt Ihre Sprache.

Auf unseren Local Search-Seiten und auf Deutschstunde.eu können Sie nach einem Tandempartner in Ihrer Nähe suchen. Wenn Sie dort nichts für Ihre Stadt oder Kommune finden, können Sie bei einer Beratungsstelle für Migranten oder beim Jugendmigrationsdienst nach einer Möglichkeit fragen, einen Tandempartner zu finden.

Online Deutsch lernen

Es gibt auch viele Möglichkeiten, allein und online Deutsch zu üben:

  • Die Website dw.com und das Lernportal der Volkshochschulen helfen Ihnen beim Deutschlernen – egal, ob Sie gerade anfangen oder schon gut Deutsch können. Sie können hier Vokabeln und Grammatikregeln lernen und Hörverstehen, Lesen und Schreiben üben.
  • Auf deutschakademie.de und deutsch-lernen.com können Sie Online-Deutschkurse verschiedener Sprachniveaus kostenlos absolvieren.
  • Das Goethe Institut bietet sowohl Anfängern als auch Fortgeschrittenen verschiedene Möglichkeiten an, Deutsch zu lernen und zu üben. Dort können Sie auch wichtige Vokabeln für bestimmte Berufe lernen.
  • Außerdem gibt es ein Lernheft für Anfänger, das Sie in vielen verschiedenen Sprachen kostenlos downloaden können.
  • Auf lernox.de finden Sie viele Videos und Übungsblätter zu verschiedenen Themen, die Ihnen das Deutsch Lernen einfacher machen.
  • Auf ondaz.de finden Sie interaktive Übungen zu verschiedenen Grammatik-Themen. Sie können sich dort auch registrieren, um Ihre Fortschritte immer im Blick zu haben. Im Reiter "andere Webseiten" finden Sie außerdem Links zu anderen Plattformen, auf denen Sie z.B. Hörverstehen üben können.
  • Auf lunes.app können Sie sich eine kostenlose Vokabel-App herunterladen. Dort finden Sie vor allem Vokabeln, die für Ausbildung und Beruf wichtig sind. Egal ob Handwerk, Pflege oder Büro.
  • Außerdem gibt es einen Deutschkurs mit über 300 Lektionen für Personen, die Farsi sprechen, und einen Kurs aus verschiedenen You-Tube-Videos zum Deutschlernen für Arabisch sprechende Menschen.

Eine gute Übersicht aller Audio- und Videomaterialien für verschiedene Sprachniveaus finden Sie auf der Website des Alumniportals Deutschland. Dort finden Sie auch Material, das Ihnen hilft, sich auf verschiedene Deutschprüfungen vorzubereiten.

Bibliotheken

In den öffentlichen Bibliotheken finden Sie viele Wörterbücher und Lernmaterialien zum Deutsch lernen. Außerdem können Sie dort in Ruhe lernen und meistens auch das WLAN nutzen. Auf bibliotheksportal.de können Sie nach einer öffentlichen Bibliothek in Ihrer Nähe suchen. Die Nutzung ist entweder kostenlos oder sehr günstig. Viele Bibliotheken haben auch spezielle Angebote für Geflüchtete. Mehr dazu  erfahren Sie unter Bibliotheksangebote für Flüchtlinge und Asylbewerber.

Wichtig

Das Wichtigste beim Lernen einer neuen Sprache ist die Praxis. Also: Trauen Sie sich Deutsch zu sprechen! Es ist völlig normal, dass man am Anfang viele Fehler macht. Sie werden aber trotzdem verstanden.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: