Waste Separation

How do I separate waste correctly?

The content above is shared from {videoservice}. For more information, click {socialhintlink_begin}here{socialhintlink_end}.

The German system for waste separation is so complicated that the Germans themselves often do not completely understand it. The various colors and containers available mean mistakes are common during waste separation. Because of these little missteps, the employees or sorting personnel at the recycling facilities have to re-sort the waste. If we all separate waste properly, this extra effort could be avoided and our environment would be better preserved.

A large part of the waste generated in Germany is reused and composted, which saves resources and protects the nature. Germany is even set to become the world champion of waste separation. However, the recycling industry and the combustion manufacturers benefit from the waste and also compete in their businesses. That is why there are people who doubt the purpose of the waste separation and would happily discuss the topic. To avoid creating waste is, therefore, still the easiest way to tackle the issue.

The Waste Separation System

What goes where?

Reusable bottles and cans (deposit)

Glass bottles

Special waste, electrical waste, bulky waste and old clothing

How can I reduce waste?

Important

Special waste, in particular, harms nature and our health gravely and must be disposed of separately from household waste. Because of the harmful ingredients, special waste is also often referred to as "hazardous waste".

Mülltrennung

Was kommt in welche Tonne?

Wir binden an dieser Stelle Inhalte von {videoservice} ein. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie {socialhintlink_begin}hier{socialhintlink_end}.

Das deutsche System zur Mülltrennung ist so kompliziert, dass es die Deutschen oft selbst nicht verstehen. Bei den vielen verschiedenen Tonnen und Containern passiert schon mal ein „Fehlwurf“. Dann müssen die Mitarbeiter oder Sortieranlagen in den Wertstoff- und Recyclinghöfen nachsortieren. Wenn wir alle richtig trennen, vermeiden wir diesen Aufwand, senken die Kosten und schützen die Umwelt.

Ein Großteil des Mülls in Deutschland wird recycelt und kompostiert, wodurch Ressourcen geschont werden und die Umwelt geschützt wird. Deutschland ist angeblich sogar Europameister in Sachen Mülltrennung. Allerdings verdienen die Recyclingindustrie und die Verbrennungsindustrie Geld mit dem Müll, weshalb einige Menschen am Sinn der Mülltrennung zweifeln. Grundsätzlich gilt: Müll zu vermeiden ist immer noch der einfachste Weg, etwas gegen die wachsenden Müllberge zu unternehmen.

Das Mülltrennungssystem

Was kommt in welche Tonne?

Was muss ich für "Pfand" wissen?

Was mache ich mit Glasflaschen ohne Pfand?

Was mache ich mit Sondermüll, Elektroschrott, Sperrmüll und Altkleidern?

Wie vermeide ich Müll?

Wichtig

Wenn Sie Müll illegal entsorgen, also z.B. in einem Wald oder an der Straße abladen oder verbrennen, müssen Sie eine Geldstrafe bezahlen. Wenn Ihr Müll die Umwelt gefährdet, machen Sie sich außerdem strafbar. Das kann eine sehr hohe Geldstrafe oder sogar Gefängnis zur Folge haben.