Elections in Germany

How do people vote here?

The content above is shared from {videoservice}. For more information, click {socialhintlink_begin}here{socialhintlink_end}.

Elections are the most fundamental component of a democratic state. Every four years, the most important election in Germany takes place: the "Bundestag" election. The Bundestag is the German Parliament, and the elected members of parliament represent the people. All citizens over 18 years of age who have the German nationality are entitled to vote. The Parliament elects the Federal Chancellor and controls the government.

In each of the 16 federal states, state parliamentary elections ("Landtagswahl") and local elections ("Kommunalwahl") are held every five years, but not necessarily at the same time. In addition, voters with the German nationality, as EU citizens, take part in the European Parliament elections every five years.

Without the German nationality or EU citizenship, you cannot vote in Germany. If you are an EU citizen and have been living in Germany for more than three months, then you can participate in the municipal and city council elections.

How does the voting system work?

What does the law say?

What types of election exist here?

How many votes does each citizen have?

How is the government formed?

How does the voting process work?

When do the elections take place?

How high is the participation rate?

What are an election assistant's tasks?

How can I become politically active?


If you live in Berlin or plan to visit, you can tour the German parliament ("Bundestag"). Keep in mind that you must register for your tour in advance.