Voting in Germany

Update 26.07.2022

Who can participate in elections?

Free elections are fundamental components of democracy. Through elections, all citizens can regularly participate in the political process and have a say in politics. The parties elected by the majority of voters are allowed to form a government for a definite period. If citizens are dissatisfied with the government's policies, they can vote them out in the next election.

What do I need to know?

What types of election exist here?
  • At the Parliament Election ("Bundestagswahl"), the members of the parliament are elected. They, in turn, elect the Federal Chancellor. 
  • The State Elections ("Landtagswahl") take place every five years-although not simultaneously- in all the 16 federal states. Bremen is the only city in which the election happens every four years. The state parliaments have different names in different cities: In Hamburg and Bremen it is called "Bürgerschaft". In Berlin, it is called "Abgeordnetenhaus" or "House of Representatives", and in all other federal states it is known as "Landtag".
  • In Municipal Elections ("Kommunalwahl"), people elect political representatives for the local councils and town councils, as well as mayors and district administrators. As an EU citizen, you can take part in the municipal elections, even without German citizenship.
  • German nationals, like all other EU citizens, elect their representatives in the European Parliament ("Europawahl") every five years. In the European elections, each citizen can only choose and vote for one party.
Who can vote?

In the Bundestag election, all people who are over 18 years old and have German citizenship can vote.

In the State elections (“Landtagswahlen”), all people who are over 18 years old and have German citizenship can vote. In Brandenburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Bremen and Hamburg, you can vote from the age of 16 - German citizenship remains a requirement.

All German citizens and EU citizens who have lived in Germany for more than three months can vote in the municipal/ local elections (“Kommunalwahlen”). The minimum age depends on the state. In Saxony, Saarland, Rhineland-Palatinate, Hesse and Bavaria, only people aged 18 and over are allowed to vote. In other federal states, you can vote in local elections from the age of 16.

Furthermore, all adult EU citizens are allowed to vote in the European elections.

Who can get elected?

Anyone who is over 18 and has German citizenship may run as a candidate and get elected. State election in Hesse is the only exceptions: candidates must be at least 21 years old and have German citizenship.

When do the elections take place?

In principle, elections in Germany are always held on Sundays, as most people don't work and have time to go to cast their votes. But there is also always the possibility to vote in advance per post. However, you have to apply for the postal vote. As a person entitled to vote, a few weeks before each election you will receive a voting notification where you can find detailed information about postal vote.

How many votes does each citizen have?

In the federal, state and local elections, all voters have two votes: the first and the second vote. With the first vote, voters elect a candidate from their constituency (“direct election”). They give their second vote to the list of a specific party ("proportional representation"). The second vote is more significant as it determines the distribution of seats in the parliaments. The system mentioned above is also known as "personalized election on the basis of proportional representation" ("personalisierte Verhältniswahl").

In state elections, the right to vote and thus also the number of votes differ depending on the federal state. In most federal states, the system of "personalized election on the basis of proportional representation" ("personalisierte Verhältniswahl") also applies to state elections. The voters, therefore, have a first vote and a second vote.

In local elections, the right to vote and thus the number of votes differ depending on the federal state.

In the European elections, you only have one vote to elect a party.

How does the voting process work?

All voters will receive an "electoral notification" ("Wahlbenachrichtigung") by post with the address of the relevant voting stations, no later than three weeks before the election day. The voting stations are temporarily set up in schools or other public buildings. Election booths are set up within the polling stations. When entering the polling station, electoral assistants will ask for your name, ID and electoral notification to mark you out of the voter's list after you cast your vote. This ensures that everyone gets to vote only once. The voter receives the ballot, goes into one of the election booths and marks his or her two choices on the ballot (first and second vote). The cabins are used for privacy so that voters cannot see each other’s ballot. After the voter mark his or her choices, the ballot is folded and cast into the sealed ballot box.

Important: If you have not received an electoral notification despite being eligible to vote, contact your city administration. 

What if I do not have time on the election day?

If you cannot go to a voting station on the election day, it is possible to apply for an absentee ballot. You will find a form on the back of the electoral notification that has been sent to you. Then you will receive your voting documents per post, so that you can fill them out at home before election day and then send them back.

On the back of your voting notification you will find a form and often also an email address, web address or a QR code. You can use these to apply for absentee voting.

What are an election assistant's tasks?

Many helping hands are needed during an election. The election assistants are individuals, who are themselves entitled to vote and all of them work voluntarily. They distribute the ballots, check whether the voter is at the right voting station, and count the votes after the voting time is over. If you are eligible to vote, you can register as a volunteer at your town hall, citizens advice bureau or district office.

What does the German law say regarding elections?

Elections must meet the following requirements in Germany:

  • Public: All German citizens can elect or be elected if they are at least 18 years of age.
  • Direct: Members of parliament are elected directly or through party lists, not by electors, unlike, e.g. in the Electoral College System in the USA.
  • Free: There is no compulsory voting, and no one can be forced to vote.
  • Equal: Each voice counts same as others.
  • Confidential: only the total result is published. The individual choices of voters remain secret.
What does “five percent hurdle” mean?

In the Federal election (and to some extent, state elections) there is a so-called “5% hurdle”(„Fünf-Prozent-Hürde“) the parties have to pass. That means Each party, must, receive at least five percent of the votes or three direct mandates to be able to enter the parliament. The “hurdle” is supposed to prevent the fragmentations which the presence of too many small parties might cause in the parliament.

What are "overhang mandates"?

So-called "overhang mandates" are the reason behind the changing number of Bundestag members after each election.

The second vote each voter cast determines how many seats a party is entitled to in parliament. However, if a party receives more seats via the first vote ("direct mandate") than it is allowed via the second vote, it receives "overhang" seats. As a result, the party in question will send additional members to the Bundestag. To maintain the balance of power between all parties, the other parties receive so-called "compensation mandates" - i.e. they are also allowed to send (some) additional members to the parliament.

As a result, the planned number of 598 MPs is usually exceeded. Since the federal election in 2021, the number of MPs has increased to 736 - which is more than ever before.

The number of overhang mandates and compensation mandates each party receives is calculated according to quite complicated formulas. Our explanatory animation video on overhang mandates offers a simple example.

How is the government formed?

As a result of the distinctive electoral system in Germany, it is hardly possible for a single party to form a government. To do so, a party would have to win more than 50% of the mandates. So the coalition among parties is a norm. That means two or more competing parties will form a coalition and govern the country together. That's why the parties often communicate their possible coalition partners before the elections.

How high is the participation rate?

In each election, the voter turnout is measured, that is, the percentage of eligible citizens who actually took part in the election. The level of participation in the “Bundestag” election is traditionally high in Germany. In the seventies, it was over 90 percent. Since reunification in 1990, it was 80 percent. In 2021, 76.6% of the eligible citizens participated in the election.

How can I become politically active?

Even if you are not allowed to vote, there are many other ways you can become politically active.

  • You can, for instance, join a citizens' initiative ("Bürgerinitiative"). In citizens' initiatives, people work together for a cause, such as building a street or protecting a park. After the goal has been reached, the citizens' initiative usually dissolves.
  • If you want to get involved politically for a long-term cause, an interest group ("Interessensverband") could be an option. Here you can commit to a specific issue, e.g. for more environmental protection or workers rights.
  • You can also join a party, found a partner- or sub-organisation of a German party, or work in local communities at migrant organisations or integration advisory council. To learn more about German political scene, read our chapter political parties in Germany.

Important

If you live in Berlin or plan to visit, you can tour the German parliament ("Bundestag"). Keep in mind that you must register for your tour in advance at  www.reichstag-fuehrung.de.

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Das deutsche Wahlsystem

Aktualisiert 09.11.2022

Wie wird gewählt?

Freie Wahlen sind in einer Demokratie unerlässlich. Durch Wahlen können sich alle Bürger*innen ganz einfach am politischen Prozess beteiligen und die Politik mitbestimmen. Die Parteien, die von der Mehrheit der Wähler*innen gewählt werden, dürfen für eine festgelegte Zeit die Regierung bilden. Wenn die Bürger*innen mit der Politik der Regierung unzufrieden sind, können sie diese bei der nächsten Wahl dann wieder abwählen.

Was muss ich wissen?

Was wird gewählt?

In Deutschland gibt es mehrere Wahlen: Bundestagswahlen, Landtagswahlen, Kommunalwahlen und Europawahlen.

  • Bei der Bundestagswahl werden die Abgeordneten des Bundestags gewählt. Diese wählen wiederum die / den Bundeskanzler*in.
  • Landtagswahlen finden alle fünf Jahre zu verschiedenen Zeiten in den 16 Bundesländern statt. Nur in Bremen wird alle vier Jahre gewählt. Die Parlamente haben unterschiedliche Namen: „Bürgerschaft“ in Hamburg und Bremen, „Abgeordnetenhaus“ in Berlin und in allen anderen Bundesländern „Landtag“.
  • Bei der Kommunalwahl werden die politischen Vertreter*innen in Gemeinde- und Stadträten gewählt. Außerdem werden Bürgermeister*innen und Landrät*innen gewählt.
  • Bei der Europawahl wird alle fünf Jahre das Europäische Parlament gewählt. Diese Wahl findet in allen EU-Ländern gleichzeitig statt.
Wer darf wählen?

Bei der Bundestagswahl dürfen alle Menschen wählen, die über 18 Jahre alt sind und die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft haben.

Bei den Landtagswahlen dürfen alle Menschen wählen, die über 18 Jahre alt sind und die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft haben. In Brandenburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Bremen und Hamburg darf man bereits ab 16 Jahren wählen. Die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft bleibt eine Voraussetzung.

Bei den Kommunalwahlen dürfen alle deutschen Staatsbürger*innen und EU-Bürger*innen wählen, die seit mehr als drei Monaten in Deutschland leben. Das Mindestalter hängt vom Bundesland ab. In Sachsen, Saarland, Rheinland-Pfalz, Hessen und Bayern dürfen nur Personen ab 18 Jahren wählen. In den anderen Bundesländern darf man bei Kommunalwahlen schon ab 16 Jahren wählen.

Bei der Europawahl dürfen alle volljährigen EU-Bürger*innen wählen.

Wer darf gewählt werden?

Gewählt werden darf jeder, der über 18 Jahre alt ist und die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft hat. Eine Ausnahme ist die Landtagswahl in Hessen: Wer hier gewählt werden will, muss mindestens 21 Jahre alt sein und die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft haben.

Wann wird gewählt?

Grundsätzlich werden Wahlen in Deutschland immer sonntags durchgeführt, weil die meisten Leute dann nicht arbeiten und Zeit haben, ins Wahllokal zu gehen. Es gibt aber auch immer die Möglichkeit schon vorab per Briefwahl zu wählen. Die Briefwahl muss beantragt werden. Wie das geht, steht auf der Wahlbenachrichtigung, die alle Wähler*innen einige Wochen vor der jeweiligen Wahl per Post bekommen. 

Wie viele Stimmen haben die Wähler*innen?

Bei der Bundestagswahl haben alle Wähler*innen zwei Stimmen: Erst- und Zweitstimme. Mit der Erststimme wählen die Wähler*innen einen Kandidaten oder eine Kandidatin aus ihrem Wahlkreis („Direktwahl“). Ihre Zweitstimme geben sie der Liste einer Partei („Verhältniswahl“). Wichtiger ist die Zweitstimme, weil diese Stimme über die Verteilung der Sitze in den Parlamenten entscheidet. Dieses System wird auch „personalisierte Verhältniswahl“ genannt.

Bei den Landtagswahlen unterscheiden sich das Wahlrecht und damit auch die Anzahl der Stimmen je nach Bundesland. In den meisten Bundesländern gilt auch bei den Landtagswahlen das System der personalisierten Verhältniswahl. Die Wähler*innen haben also eine Erststimme und eine Zweitstimme.

Bei den Kommunalwahlen unterscheiden sich das Wahlrecht und damit auch die Anzahl der Stimmen je nach Bundesland.

Bei der Europawahl hat man nur eine Stimme, mit der man eine Partei wählt.

Wie läuft die Wahl ab?

Alle Wähler*innen erhalten spätestens drei Wochen vor dem Wahltag eine „Wahlbenachrichtigung“ per Post mit der Adresse des jeweiligen Wahllokals. Wahllokale werden temporär in Schulen oder anderen öffentlichen Gebäuden eingerichtet. Innerhalb der Wahllokale sind Wahlkabinen aufgestellt. Beim Betreten des Wahllokals fragen die Wahlhelfer*innen nach dem Namen, Ausweis und der Wahlbenachrichtigung, um die Wähler*innen aus der Liste zu streichen. So wird sichergestellt, dass jeder nur einmal wählt. Die Wähler*innen erhalten den Stimmzettel, gehen in eine der Wahlkabinen und machen ihre Kreuzchen. Die Kabinen dienen dem Sichtschutz, damit die anderen Wähler*innen nicht sehen, was gewählt wird. Wenn die Wähler*innen ihre Kreuzchen gemacht hat, falten sie den Stimmzettel zusammen und werfen ihn in die versiegelte Wahlurne.

Wichtig: Wenn Sie keine Wahlbenachrichtigung erhalten haben, aber wahlberechtigt sind, fragen Sie bei Ihrer Stadtverwaltung nach.

Was kann ich machen, wenn ich am Wahltag keine Zeit habe?

Wenn Sie am Wahltag nicht zur Wahl gehen können, gibt es die Möglichkeit, Briefwahl zu beantragen. Dann bekommen Sie Ihre Wahlunterlagen mit der Post zugeschickt und können sie vor dem Wahltag zuhause ausfüllen und dann zurückschicken.

Auf der Rückseite Ihrer Wahlbenachrichtigung finden Sie ein Formular und oft auch eine E-Mail-Adresse, Internetadresse oder einen QR-Code. Damit können Sie die Briefwahl beantragen. Wie das geht, erfahren Sie in unserem Video.

Was machen die Wahlhelfer*innen?

Bei den Wahlen werden viele helfende Hände benötigt. Wahlhelfer*innen können nur Leute sein, die selbst auch wahlberechtigt sind. Alle Wahlhelfer*innen arbeiten ehrenamtlich. Sie geben die Stimmzettel aus, kontrollieren, ob die Wahlberechtigten im richtigen Wahllokal sind, und zählen die Stimmen nach Schließung der Lokale aus. Wenn Sie selbst wahlberechtigt sind, können Sie sich bei Ihrem Rathaus, Bürgerbüro oder Bezirksamt vor Ort als Wahlhelfer*in anmelden.

Welche Grundsätze gelten für alle Wahlen in Deutschland?

Die Wahlen in Deutschland müssen die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • allgemein: Alle deutschen Staatsbürger*innen dürfen wählen und gewählt werden, wenn Sie mindestens 18 Jahre alt sind.
  • unmittelbar: Die Abgeordneten werden direkt oder über eine Liste gewählt und nicht über Wahlfrauen oder –männer wie z.B. in den USA.
  • frei: Es gibt keine Wahlpflicht. Niemand darf gezwungen werden zu wählen.
  • gleich: Jede Stimme zählt gleich viel.
  • geheim: Nur das Gesamtergebnis wird veröffentlicht. Die einzelne Stimme der Wähler*innen bleibt geheim.
Was ist die "Fünf-Prozent-Hürde"?

Bei der Bundestagswahl und zum Teil auch bei den Landtagswahlen gibt es die sogenannte „Fünf-Prozent-Hürde“. Diese Regelung bedeutet folgendes: Eine Partei muss mindestens fünf Prozent der abgegebenen Wählerstimmen oder drei Direktmandate erhalten, damit sie im Parlament vertreten sein kann. Diese Regelung soll eine Zersplitterung in zu viele kleine Parteien im Parlament verhindern.

Was sind "Überhangmandate"?

Sogenannte „Überhangmandate“ sind der Grund, weshalb die Anzahl der Abgeordneten im Bundestag nach jeder Bundestagswahl unterschiedlich ist.

Die Zweitstimme der Wähler*innen regelt, wie viele Sitze einer Partei im Parlament zustehen. Erhält eine Partei aber mehr Sitze über die Erststimme, als ihr über die Zweitstimme zustehen, bekommt sie Überhangmandate. Sie darf also zusätzliche Abgeorndete in den Bundestag schicken. Damit das Kräfteverhältnis zwischen allen Parteien bestehen bleibt, erhalten die übrigen Parteien sogenannte „Ausgleichsmandate“ – sie dürfen auch zusätzliche Abgeordnete ins Parlament schicken.

Das hat zur Folge, dass die vorgesehene Anzahl von 598 Abgeordneten meistens überschritten wird. Nach der Bundestagswahl 2021 sitzen 736 Abgeordnete im Bundestag – so viele wie noch nie zuvor.

Wie viele Überhang- und Ausgleichmandate die Parteien erhalten, wird anhand komplizierter Formeln berechnet. Unser Erklärfilm zu Überhangmandaten zeigt ein einfaches Beispiel.

Wie wird die Regierung gebildet?

Wegen des speziellen Wahlsystems kann eine einzelne Partei in Deutschland nur selten alleine die Regierung bilden. Dazu müsste sie mehr als 50 % der Mandate erhalten. Darum ist ein Regierungsbündnis der Normalfall. Das heißt, das zwei oder mehr konkurrierende Parteien sich zu einer Koalition zusammenschließen und gemeinsam regieren. Deswegen machen die einzelnen Parteien schon vor den Wahlen Aussagen zu möglichen Koalitionspartnern. 

Wie hoch ist die Wahlbeteiligung?

Bei jeder Wahl wird die Wahlbeteiligung gemessen, also der Anteil der Wahlberechtigten, die tatsächlich wählen gegangen sind. Die Wahlbeteiligung bei den Bundestagswahlen ist in Deutschland traditionell hoch. In den siebziger Jahren lag sie über 90 Prozent. Seit der Wiedervereinigung 1990 lag sie bei 80 Prozent. Im Jahr 2021 beteiligten sich 76,6 Prozent der Wahlberechtigten.  

Wie kann ich sonst politisch aktiv werden?

Auch wenn Sie nicht selbst wählen dürfen, gibt es viele Möglichkeiten, politisch aktiv zu werden.

  • Sie können sich zum Beispiel einer Bürgerinitiative anschließen. In Bürgerinitiativen werden Menschen gemeinsam für ein Anliegen aktiv, zum Beispiel für den Bau einer Straße oder den Schutz eines Parks. Nachdem das Ziel erreicht wurde, löst sich die Bürgerinitiative in der Regel wieder auf.
  • Wenn Sie sich langfristig politisch engagieren wollen, könnte ein Interessensverband eine Möglichkeit sein. Hier setzen Sie sich für ein bestimmtes Thema ein, z.B. für mehr Umweltschutz oder Arbeitnehmerrechte.
  • Sie können aber auch einer Partei beitreten, Partner- oder Unterorganisationen deutscher Parteien gründen oder in den Kommunen bei Migrantenorganisationen oder Integrationsbeiräten mitarbeiten. Mehr zum Thema Parteien erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Politische Parteien".

Wichtig

Wenn Sie in Berlin wohnen oder dort zu Besuch sind, können Sie den deutschen Bundestag besichtigen. Dafür müssen Sie sich vorher auf www.reichstag-fuehrung.de anmelden.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: