LGBTIQ

What rights does the LGBTIQ community have in Germany?

The content above is shared from {videoservice}. For more information, click {socialhintlink_begin}here{socialhintlink_end}.

In Germany,  sexual orientation and gender identity are largely private matters. The state has to respect and protect your individual choices. This means that homosexual acts between consenting adults are not criminalised. In order to protect the health and safety of its LGBTIQ residents, Germany has passed a number of laws.  

Since 1 October 2017, same-sex couples in Germany can also marry. Before that day, they could only register their union as "civil partnership", which did not grant them the same rights as heterosexual married couples.

LGBTIQ is an abbreviation that refers to people whose sexual or gender identity is non-traditional. L means Lesbian (women who love women), G means Gay (men who love men), B means Bisexual (people who love both men and women), T means Transgender (people who have a gender identity or gender expression that differs from their assigned sex), I means Intersex (people who were born with bodies that don’t fit the typical definitions for male or female bodies), and Q means Queer (any person with a non-traditional sexual or gender identity).

It is possible to apply for asylum in Germany based on your sexual orientation or gender identity. If you face problems during your asylum process or in your camp, you can seek help from LGBTIQ support groups.

LGBTIQ Rights and Support

Homosexuality and the Law

Marriage and Civil Rights

Transgender and Intersex Rights

LGBTIQ Asylum Seekers

LGBTIQ Homes

Important

If you are LGBTIQ and need special protection, you have to declare your orientation or identity during the asylum process. Before you do so, you should contact an NGO which offers specific support for LGBTIQ refugees. If you face discrimination or harassment, you should contact the local anti-discrimination agency (“Antidiskriminierungsstelle”). Please note that camp administrations, housing services and the social welfare office are mostly unhelpful in these situations.

LSBTTIQ

Identität und Orientierung

Sexuelle Orientierung und Geschlechtsidentität sind in Deutschland Ihre Privatsache. Der Staat muss Ihre Ausrichtung respektieren und schützen. Das heißt, homosexuelle Handlungen zwischen zwei Erwachsenen sind kein Verbrechen, wenn beide einverstanden sind. 

Seit 1. Oktober 2017 ist es nun in Deutschland für gleichgeschlechtliche Paare möglich, zu heiraten. Bis dahin konnten sie nur eine eingetragene Lebenspartnerschaft schließen. Sie hatten dadurch allerdings nicht die gleichen Rechte.

LGBTIQ oder LGBT sind englische Abkürzungen. Sie stehen für Menschen, deren Sexualität und Geschlechtsidentität nicht traditionell sind. Im Deutschen wird manchmal die Abkürzung LSBTTIQ verwendet. L heißt lesbisch (Frauen, die Frauen lieben), S heißt schwul (Männer, die Männer lieben), B heißt bisexuell (Menschen, die Frauen und Männer lieben), T heißt transgender (Menschen, die nicht den heteronormativen Geschlechterrollen und -merkmalen folgen) und transsexuell (Menschen, die sich dem anderen Geschlecht zugehörig fühlen, sich aber nicht immer chirurgisch oder hormonell angleichen), I heißt intersexuell (Menschen, die genetisch, hormonell oder anatomisch nicht eindeutig weiblich oder männlich sind)und Q steht für queer (alle Menschen, die von den traditionellen Geschlechtsnormen und Partnermodellen abweichen).

Um für die Gesundheit und Sicherheit von LSBTTIQ Menschen zu sorgen, gibt es in Deutschland Gesetze. Sie können in Deutschland Asyl aufgrund Ihrer sexuellen Orientierung oder Geschlechtsidentität erhalten. Wenn Sie während des Asylverfahrens oder in Ihrer Unterkunft Probleme haben, können Sie LSBTTIQ Gruppen um Hilfe bitten.

LSBTTIQ Rechte und Unterstützung

Homosexualität im Gesetz

Ehe und Zivilrecht

Rechte von Transgender und Intersexuellen

LSBTTIQ und Asyl

LSBTTIQ Unterkünfte

Wichtig

Wenn Sie LSBTTIQ sind und besonderen Schutz brauchen, können Sie Ihre sexuelle Orientierung und Geschlechtsidentität während des Asylverfahrens erklären. Kontaktieren Sie vorher eine NGO, die besondere Hilfe und Beratung für LSBTTIQ Geflüchtete anbietet. Wenn Sie diskriminiert oder belästigt werden, können Sie die lokale Antidiskriminierungsstelle kontaktieren. Die Heimverwaltung, Hausverwaltung oder Sozialämter sind meist nicht hilfreich in solchen Situationen.