Work Permit for Refugees

Update 31.08.2022

When can I start to work?

You need a work permit before you can start to work in Germany. And whether you would be issued a work permit depends on your residence permit. Here you can learn more about the regulations which apply to you when it comes to obtaining a work permit in Germany.

If you are not a refugee, visit our chapter “Immigration to Germany” to learn when and how you can apply for a work permit and enter the German job market.

Can I obtain a work permit?

My asylum application is still ongoing

If you have an “Aufenthaltsgestattung”, i.e. a proof of arrival ("Ankunftsnachweis") or a "Duldung", your access to the labour market will remain limited. Self-employment is in principle not allowed and to work as an employee, you must first apply for a work permit at your immigration office ("Ausländerbehörde").

Asylum seekers can obtain a work permit if they have been in Germany for 3 months and are no longer obliged to live in an initial reception facility. If you still have to live in an initial reception centre, in case you have underage children, you can obtain a work permit after 6 months- and if you don't have children, after 9 months.  Rejected asylum seekers whose application have been rejected due to Dublin Agreement, i.e.  other EU countries are responsible for their case AND those who come from a safe country of origin and have applied for asylum after August 31, 2015, cannot obtain work permits. You can find out more about the safe countries of origin in our chapter "Safe countries of origin".

IMPORTANT: Your work permit will be only valid for a specific job. Your future boss will need to fill a form to describe the offered position, and you should apply for a work permit. Once both forms have been filled and submitted, the immigration office is obliged to react within two weeks. If you have not received any answer, contact a counselling centre. You can also submit an emergency application to the Administrative Court. On Proasyl you can find counselling centres in your area.

I have a “Duldung”

If you have a “Duldung” your access to the labour market will remain limited. Self-employment is in principle not allowed and to work as an employee, you must first apply for a work permit at your immigration office ("Ausländerbehörde").

Those who have a “Duldung” can obtain a work permit if they have been in Germany for 3 months and are no longer obliged to live in an initial reception facility. If you still have to live in an initial reception centre, you can obtain a work permit after 6 months.

Keep in mind that you cannot obtain a work permit if you have prevented your deportation through lack of cooperation or deception- OR in case you come from a safe country of origin and have applied for asylum after August 31, 2015. You can find out more about the safe countries of origin in our chapter "Safe countries of origin".

IMPORTANT: Your work permit will be only valid for a specific job. Your future boss will need to fill a form to describe the offered position, and you should apply for a work permit. Once both forms have been filled and submitted, the immigration office is obliged to react within two weeks. If you have not received any answer, contact a counselling centre. You can also submit an emergency application to the Administrative Court. On Proasyl you can find counselling centres in your area.

I have a residence permit

If your application for asylum has been accepted, i.e. you have been recognised as a refugee, or an individual entitled to asylum or subsidiary protection, you may work as an employee or a self-employed person without any restrictions. That means you have the same rights as a German citizen in the job market.

If your application for asylum has been rejected, but you have been granted a residence permit based on a national deportation ban, the immigration office will decide whether you can obtain a work permit. Check your residence permit or the additional papers given to you to see if you are allowed to work in Germany.

Important

Before, work permits were granted to people in asylum procedure and the ones with a “Duldung” only if no German or EU citizen has applied for the position. The regulation (known as priority check or “"Vorrangsprüfung") does not apply anymore.

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Arbeitserlaubnis für Geflüchtete

Aktualisiert 13.10.2022

Darf ich arbeiten?

Um in Deutschland arbeiten zu dürfen, brauchen Sie eine Arbeitserlaubnis. Ob sie eine Arbeitserlaubnis bekommen, hängt von Ihrem Aufenthaltsstatus ab. Hier erfahren Sie welche Regeln für Sie gelten.

Wenn Sie nicht geflüchtet sind, finden Sie hilfreiche Informationen zum Thema Arbeitserlaubnis in unserem Kapitel "Migration nach Deutschland".

Bekomme ich eine Arbeitserlaubnis?

Ich bin noch im Asylverfahren

Wenn Sie eine Aufenthaltsgestattung bzw. einen Ankunftsnachweis haben, ist Ihr Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt eingeschränkt. Eine selbständige Tätigkeit ist generell nicht erlaubt. Für eine Arbeit als Beschäftigte*r müssen Sie bei Ihrer Ausländerbehörde eine Arbeitserlaubnis beantragen, bevor Sie anfangen zu arbeiten.

Asylbewerber*innen können eine Arbeitserlaubnis bekommen, wenn sie bereits seit 3 Monaten in Deutschland sind und nicht mehr in einer Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung wohnen müssen. Wenn Sie noch in einer Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung wohnen müssen, können Sie nach 6 Monaten eine Arbeitserlaubnis bekommen, wenn Sie minderjährige Kinder haben. Wenn Sie keine minderjährigen Kinder haben und noch in einer Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung wohnen, können Sie nach 9 Monaten eine Arbeitserlaubnis bekommen.

Asylbewerber*innen können keine Arbeitserlaubnis bekommen, wenn ihr Asylantrag abgelehnt wurde, weil ein anderes EU-Land dafür zuständig ist (Dublin-Verfahren) oder wenn sie aus einem "sicheren" Herkunftsland kommen und ihr nach dem 31. August 2015 gestellter Asylantrag abgelehnt wurde. Mehr zu den sicheren Herkunftsländern erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Sichere Herkunftsländer".

Wichtig: Ihre Arbeitserlaubnis gilt nicht generell, sondern für eine ganz bestimmte Arbeitsstelle. Ihr*e zukünftige*r Arbeitgeber*in muss dazu ein Formular über die Bedingungen der Arbeitsstelle ausfüllen, und Sie selbst müssen den "Antrag auf Erlaubnis einer Beschäftigung" ausfüllen. Sind beide Formulare vollständig ausgefüllt, sollte die Ausländerbehörde Ihnen innerhalb von zwei Wochen antworten. Wenn Sie keine Antwort oder eine Absage bekommen, wenden Sie sich an eine Beratungsstelle. Sie können auch einen Eilantrag beim Verwaltungsgericht stellen. Beratungsstellen in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie z.B. auf proasyl.de.

Ich habe eine Duldung

Wenn Sie eine Duldung haben, ist Ihr Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt eingeschränkt. Eine selbständige Tätigkeit ist generell nicht erlaubt. Für eine Arbeit als Beschäftigte*r müssen Sie bei Ihrer Ausländerbehörde eine Arbeitserlaubnis beantragen, bevor Sie anfangen zu arbeiten.

Personen mit Duldung können eine Arbeitserlaubnis bekommen, wenn sie bereits seit 3 Monaten in Deutschland sind und nicht mehr in einer Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung wohnen müssen. Wenn sie noch in einer Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung wohnen müssen, können sie nach 6 Monaten eine Arbeitserlaubnis bekommen.

Sie können keine Arbeitserlaubnis bekommen, wenn sie ihre Abschiebung durch "fehlende Mitwirkung oder Täuschung" verhindert haben oder wenn sie aus einem "sicheren" Herkunftsland kommen und ihr nach dem 31. August 2015 gestellter Asylantrag abgelehnt wurde. Mehr zu den sicheren Herkunftsländern erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Sichere Herkunftsländer".

Wichtig: Ihre Arbeitserlaubnis gilt nicht generell, sondern für eine ganz bestimmte Arbeitsstelle. Ihr*e zukünftige*r Arbeitgeber*in muss dazu ein Formular über die Arbeitsstelle ausfüllen, und Sie selbst müssen den "Antrag auf Erlaubnis einer Beschäftigung" ausfüllen. Sind beide Formulare vollständig ausgefüllt, sollte die Ausländerbehörde Ihnen innerhalb von zwei Wochen antworten. Wenn Sie keine Antwort oder eine Absage bekommen, wenden Sie sich an eine Beratungsstelle. Sie können auch einen Eilantrag beim Verwaltungsgericht stellen. Beratungsstellen in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie z.B. auf proasyl.de.

Ich habe eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis

Wenn Ihr Asylantrag positiv entschieden wurde, Sie also einen Schutzstatus als Asylberechtigte*r, als Flüchtling oder als subsidiär Schutzberechtigte*r erhalten haben, dürfen Sie ohne Einschränkungen als Arbeitnehmer*in oder als Selbständige*r arbeiten. Für Sie gelten auf dem Arbeitsmarkt dieselben Regeln wie für deutsche Staatsbürger*innen.

Wenn Ihr Asylantrag abgelehnt wurde, Sie aber eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis aufgrund eines nationalen Abschiebungsverbots erhalten haben, entscheidet die Ausländerbehörde darüber, ob Sie eine Arbeitserlaubnis bekommen oder nicht. Sie finden diese Information auf Ihrer Aufenthaltserlaubnis bzw. in einem Zusatzblatt, das Ihnen mit der Aufenthaltserlaubnis ausgehändigt wird.

Wichtig

Früher gab es die Regelung, dass Asylbewerber*innen  und Geduldete nur dann eine Arbeitserlaubnis für eine Stelle bekommen haben, wenn sich keine deutschen Staatsbürger*innen oder EU-Bürger*innen für den Job fanden. Das nannte sich "Vorrangsprüfung". Diese Regel gibt es nicht mehr.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: