Tolerated Stay for Work ("Beschäftigungsduldung")

Update 04.08.2022

What requirements do I have to meet?

Since January 1, 2020, there is a new type of "Duldung" or tolerated stay permit: the so-called "Beschäftigungsduldung", which is regulated in §60d Residence Act. "Beschäftigungsduldung" is issued for those with a "Duldung" who already have a job and meet other requirements. Tolerated Stay for Working Professionals or "Beschäftigungsduldung" has two significant advantages over regular "Duldung":

  1. As long as you have a "Beschäftigungsduldung", you cannot be deported.
  2. As a holder of a "Beschäftigungsduldung", you can obtain a residence permit more quickly.

What do I have to know?

Can I obtain a "Beschäftigungsduldung"?

To obtain a "Beschäftigungsduldung", you (and sometimes your family) have to meet several requirements:

  • You must have come to Germany before 01.08.2018.
  • You must have been having a "Duldung" for at least 12 months. Please note: The new so-called "Duldung mit ungeklärter Identität" (§60b Residence Act) does not count here.
  • You must have been working in a job which includes social security contributions at least 35 hours per week for at least 18 months. If you are a single parent, you have to work at least 20 hours per week (in a job which includes social security contributions).
  • You have not been financially supported by the Social Welfare Office or Jobcentre for at least 12 months.
  • You must prove a German language skill of level A2.
  • You must have come to Germany before 08/01/2018.
  • You (and your spouse) must have identification documents (e.g. passport, driver's license, birth certificate, etc.) from your country or prove that, despite all efforts, you cannot obtain any papers.  There are important deadlines you need to observe. You can read more in section “When is my deadline for identity verification?”.
  • If you (and your spouse) had to take part in an integration course, you must have successfully completed it.
  • If you have school-age children, they must go to school.
  • You (and your spouse and children) must not have been convicted of a crime. You can find out more in the section "What happens if a family member has committed a crime?".
  • You (and your spouse) must have no connection with any terrorist or extremist organisation.
When is my deadline for identity verification?

People who entered the country before December 31, 2016, and were employed on January 1, 2020, are required to prove their identity before applying for "Beschäftigungsduldung". Everyone else had until June 30, 2020 to prove their identity.

Even if, despite all your efforts, you have not been able to prove your identity, you may still be able to obtain an “Ausbildungsduldung”. But you are not legally entitled to it- which means Immigration Office' decide whether to issue you the permission.

Important: You have to document your efforts for verifying your identity. So if you, e.g. go to your embassy to ask for an ID, ask them to confirm in writing that you were there. You can also take photos, etc. The more evidence you have, the better. If you are concerned you may get deported, seek advice from a counselling centre or a lawyer in advance. You can find a counselling centre nearby, e.g. on proasyl.de. To search for a lawyer, check rechtberaterkonferenz.de.

Can my family members who live here also obtain a "Duldung"?

If you have a "Beschäftigungsduldung", your spouse and minor children will also be issued a "Duldung" which will be valid as long as your "Beschäftigungsduldung" is.

What happens if a family member has committed a criminal offence?

If you or your spouse have committed a criminal offence, in principle, you will not be issued a "Beschäftigungsduldung" -regardless of the seriousness of the crime. The only exception is a crime which is a violation of the Residence Act or the Asylum Act: for these types of crimes, only if you have been sentenced to more than 90 days of fine (calculated from your daily rate of income) the "Beschäftigungsdudludng" does not apply to you. 

The laws are somewhat milder for children. In principle, you will not be able to obtain a "Beschäftigungsduldung" if your child has been sentenced to more than a year in prison or has been convicted of certain - serious - criminal offences such as drug offences, violence, etc.

How long is a "Beschäftigungsduldung" valid?

The "Beschäftigungsduldung" is valid for 30 months. As long as you continue to meet the above requirements, you cannot be deported during this time. You can then apply for a residence permit or extend your "Beschäftigungsduldung".

Can I obtain a residence permit later?

Yes. After 30 months, you can apply for a residence permit for well-integrated adults (Section 25b Residence Act). You can also try to get a residence permit for humanitarian reasons (Section 25, Paragraph 5 of the Residence Act). If you have young children, a residence permit for well-integrated young people and adolescents (§25a Residence Act) and their relatives would also be an option. You can find out more about these options in our chapter "Residence Permits for Individuals with 'Duldung'".

Can I lose my "Beschäftigungsduldung"?

Yes. You may lose your "Beschäftigungsduldung" if the conditions mentioned above are no longer met, e.g. if you lose your job and don't immediately find a new one.

Can I change jobs while having "Beschäftigungsduldung"?

Yes. But you cannot be unemployed at any point in time, i.e. the transition from one job to the next must take place without interruption. Please also note that you often have to apply for a new work permit as well. You can learn more in our chapter "Work permit".

Can I switch directly from "Ausbildungsduldung" to "Beschäftigungsduldung"?

If you drop out of your dual vocational training after 18 months (at the earliest) and start working instead, you may obtain a "Beschäftigungsduldung". However, that is only possible if the Immigration Office responsible for you regards your previous training as "work". Currently, there is no precise regulation in this regard.

Where and how do I apply for a "Beschäftigungsduldung"?

You can apply for a "Beschäftigungsduldung" in writing at the Immigration Office responsible for you - you can find the responsible office at bamf.de. To apply, submit the application and all relevant documents to the Immigration Office.

There is no official application form available- but the Refugee Council of Thuringia has created an application template for "Beschäftigungsduldung" which you can use. You can find the template on the website of Refugee Council Thüringen, section "Beschäftigungsduldung".

Don't forget to seek advice from a counselling centre or a lawyer in advance. You can find a counselling centre nearby, e.g. on proasyl.de. You can search for a specialised lawyer at rechtsberaterkonferenz.de.

What rights do I have as someone with a "Beschäftigungsduldung"?
Can I travel abroad with "Beschäftigungsduldung"?

No. Individuals who have a "Duldung" are not allowed to travel abroad, including those with a "Beschäftigungsduldung". When you later manage to obtain a residence permit, of course, you can travel abroad.

What can I do if the Immigration Office rejects my application for a "Beschäftigungsduldung"?

Even if you meet all the requirements, the Immigration Office may reject your application, as there is no legal entitlement to "Beschäftigungsduldung". If your application is denied, however, you should seek advice from a counselling centre or a lawyer. A lawyer can have the decision of the Immigration Office reviewed and possibly reversed. You can find a counselling centre nearby, e.g. on proasyl.de. Check rechtsberaterkonferenz.de to search for a specialised lawyer in your area. 

I do not meet the requirements for "Beschäftigungsduldung" - what can I do?

Even if you cannot obtain a "Beschäftigungsduldung", you still have a few options left. You can find out more in our chapter "Asylum Application Rejected".

Where can I seek advice and support?

If you have any questions regarding your rights and opportunities, contact a counselling centre nearby - you can find one, e.g. on the Pro Asyl website or the website of your Refugee Council. You can also find support at the Youth Migration Services (JMD) or the Migration Centres for adults. At www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de, you can find lawyers who specialise in refugees' and asylum seekers' issues.

Important

"Beschäftigungsduldung" is meant to protect working people with "Duldung" from deportation. However, the requirements are very high and quite challenging to meet.

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Beschäftigungsduldung

Aktualisiert 04.08.2022

Welche Voraussetzungen muss ich erfüllen?

Seit dem 1. Januar 2020 gibt es eine neue Art der Duldung: die sogenannte „Beschäftigungsduldung“, die in §60d AufenthG geregelt ist. Die Beschäftigungsduldung können Menschen mit Duldung bekommen, die bereits einen Job haben und weitere Voraussetzungen erfüllen. Die Beschäftigungsduldung hat zwei Vorteile gegenüber einer normalen Duldung:

  1. Solange Sie eine Beschäftigungsduldung haben, können Sie nicht abgeschoben werden.
     
  2. Als Inhaber*in einer Beschäftigungsduldung können Sie schneller eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis bekommen.

Was muss ich wissen?

Kann ich eine Beschäftigungsduldung bekommen?

Um eine Beschäftigungsduldung zu bekommen, müssen Sie (und zum Teil auch Ihre Familie) viele Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Sie müssen vor dem 01.08.2018 nach Deutschland gekommen sein.
  • Sie müssen seit mindestens 12 Monaten eine Duldung haben. Bitte beachten Sie: Die neue sogenannte „Duldung mit ungeklärter Identität“ (§60b AufenthG) zählt hier nicht.
  • Sie müssen seit mindestens 18 Monaten mindestens 35 Stunden pro Woche sozialversicherungspflichtig arbeiten. Wenn Sie alleinerziehend sind, müssen Sie mindestens 20 Stunden pro Woche sozialversicherungspflichtig arbeiten.
  • Sie dürfen seit mindestens 12 Monaten kein Geld vom Sozialamt oder Jobcenter bekommen.
  • Sie müssen Deutschkenntnisse auf dem Niveau A2 nachweisen.
  • Sie (und Ihr*e Ehepartner*in) müssen Ausweispapiere (z.B. Pass, Führerschein, Geburtsurkunde, …) aus Ihrem Land haben oder beweisen, dass Sie trotz aller Bemühungen keine Papiere bekommen können. Dafür gibt es Fristen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie im Abschnitt "Bis wann muss meine Identität geklärt sein?".
  • Wenn Sie (und Ihr*e Ehepartner*in) an einem Integrationskurs teilnehmen mussten, müssen Sie diesen erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben.
  • Wenn Sie schulpflichtige Kinder haben, müssen diese die Schule besuchen.
  • Sie (und Ihr*e Ehepartner*in sowie Ihre Kinder) dürfen nicht wegen einer Straftat verurteilt worden sein. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie im Abschnitt „Was passiert, wenn ein Familienmitglied straffällig geworden ist?“.
  • Sie (und Ihr*e Ehepartner*in) dürfen keine Beziehungen zu einer terroristischen oder extremistischen Organisation haben.
Bis wann muss meine Identität geklärt werden?

Personen, die vor dem 31. Dezember 2016 eingereist sind und am 1. Januar 2020 bereits eine Arbeitsstelle hatten, müssen ihre Identität vor dem Antrag auf die Beschäftigungsduldung klären. Alle anderen hatten bis zum 30. Juni 2020 Zeit, ihre Identität zu klären.

Wenn Sie Ihre Identität trotz aller Mühe nicht klären konnten, können Sie trotzdem eine Beschäftigungsduldung bekommen. Das ist dann aber die Entscheidung der Ausländerbehörde. Sie haben dann keinen Anspruch darauf.

Wichtig: Sie müssen Ihre Bemühungen dokumentieren. Wenn Sie also z.B. zu Ihrer Botschaft gehen und dort nach Dokumenten fragen, lassen Sie sich eine Bestätigung geben. Sie können auch Fotos, etc. machen. Umso mehr Beweise Sie haben, desto besser. Wenn Sie Angst vor einer Abschiebung haben, können Sie sich vorab von einer Beratungsstelle oder Anwält*innen beraten lassen. Eine Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie z.B. auf proasyl.de. Anwält*innen finden Sie auf rechtberaterkonferenz.de.

Bekommt meine hier lebende Familie auch eine Duldung?

Wenn Sie eine Beschäftigungsduldung haben, bekommen auch Ihr*e Ehepartner*in und Ihre minderjährigen Kinder eine Duldung. Diese Duldung ist ebenso lange gültig wie Ihre Beschäftigungsduldung.

Was passiert, wenn ein Familienmitglied straffällig geworden ist?

Wenn Sie oder Ihr*e Ehepartner*in straffällig geworden sind, ist eine Beschäftigungsduldung in der Regel nicht möglich. Unabhängig von der Schwere der Straftat. Nur bei Straftaten nach dem Aufenthaltsgesetz oder dem Asylgesetz gibt es eine Ausnahme: Hier zählen nur Straftaten, für die Sie zu mehr als 90 Tagessätzen verurteilt worden sind.

Bei Kindern sind die Regeln etwas milder. Nur wenn Ihr Kind zu mehr als einem Jahr Gefängnis verurteilt wurde oder wegen bestimmter – schwerwiegender – Straftaten (z.B. Drogendelikte, Gewalt, etc.) verurteilt wurde, können Sie in der Regel keine Beschäftigungsduldung bekommen.

Wie lange gilt die Beschäftigungsduldung?

Die Beschäftigungsduldung ist 30 Monate lang gültig. Solange Sie die oben genannten Voraussetzungen weiter erfüllen, können Sie während dieser Zeit nicht abgeschoben werden. Danach können Sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis beantragen oder ihre Beschäftigungsduldung verlängern.

Kann ich später eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis bekommen?

Ja. Nach 30 Monaten können Sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis für gut integrierte Erwachsene (§25b AufenthG) beantragen. Außerdem können Sie auch versuchen, eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis aus humanitären Gründen (§25 Absatz 5 AufenthG) zu bekommen. Wenn Sie jugendliche Kinder haben, wäre auch eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis für gut integrierte Jugendliche und Heranwachsende (§25a AufenthG) und ihre Angehörigen möglich. Mehr zu diesen Möglichkeiten erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Bleiberecht für Geduldete“.

Kann ich die Beschäftigungsduldung wieder verlieren?

Ja. Wenn die oben genannten Voraussetzungen nicht mehr vorliegen, können Sie Ihre Beschäftigungsduldung wieder verlieren. Das kann z.B. passieren, wenn Sie Ihre Arbeit verlieren und nicht sofort eine neue Arbeitsstelle finden.

Kann mich mit einer Beschäftigungsduldung meinen Job wechseln?

Ja. Sie dürfen aber nie ohne Job sein. Das heißt, dass der Übergang von einem Job zum nächsten ohne Unterbrechung erfolgen muss. Beachten Sie dabei auch, dass Sie in der Regel eine neue Arbeitserlaubnis beantragen müssen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Arbeitserlaubnis“.

Kann ich von der Ausbildungsduldung direkt in die Beschäftigungsduldung wechseln?

Wenn Sie Ihre betriebliche Ausbildung nach frühestens 18 Monaten abbrechen und stattdessen eine Arbeit aufnehmen, könnte eine Beschäftigungsduldung eine Option für Sie sein. Dies ist allerdings nur möglich, wenn die für Sie zuständige Ausländerbehörde Ihre vorherige Ausbildung als „Arbeit“ wertet. Dazu gibt es aktuell noch keine Regelungen.

Wo und wie beantrage ich die Beschäftigungsduldung?

Den Antrag auf eine Beschäftigungsduldung stellen Sie schriftlich bei der für Sie zuständigen Ausländerbehörde. Die für Sie zuständige Ausländerbehörde finden Sie auf bamf.de. Dazu reichen Sie dort den Antrag sowie alle relevanten Unterlagen ein. Es gibt kein offizielles Formular für den Antrag. Der Flüchtlingsrat Thüringen hat aber ein Muster für den Antrag auf Beschäftigungsduldung erstellt, das Sie als Vorlage nutzen können. Sie finden es auf der Website des Flüchtlingsrats Thüringen im Abschnitt "Beschäftigungsduldung".

Lassen Sie sich vorab von einer Beratungsstelle oder Anwält*innen dazu beraten. Eine Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie z.B. auf proasyl.de. Anwält*innen finden Sie auf rechtsberaterkonferenz.de.

Welche Rechte habe ich mit einer Beschäftigungsduldung?
Kann ich mit der Beschäftigungsduldung ins Ausland reisen?

Nein. Menschen mit Duldung dürfen nicht ins Ausland reisen. Das gilt auch für die Beschäftigungsduldung. Wenn Sie später eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis haben, können Sie aber ins Ausland reisen.

Was tun, wenn mein Antrag auf Beschäftigungsduldung abgelehnt wird?

Auch wenn Sie alle Voraussetzungen erfüllen, kann die Ausländerbehörde Ihren Antrag ablehnen. Es gibt keinen Rechtsanspruch auf die Beschäftigungsduldung. Wenn Ihr Antrag abgelehnt wird, sollten Sie sich von einer Beratungsstelle oder Anwält*innen beraten lassen. Ein Anwalt oder eine Anwältin kann die Entscheidung der Ausländerbehörde überprüfen lassen und sie damit möglicherweise rückgängig machen. Eine Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie z.B. auf proasyl.de. Anwält*innen finden Sie auf rechtsberaterkonferenz.de.

Ich erfülle die Voraussetzungen für eine Beschäftigungsduldung nicht. Was kann ich tun?

Wenn Sie keine Beschäftigungsduldung bekommen können, bleiben Ihnen dennoch noch einige Möglichkeiten. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Asylantrag abgelehnt“.

Wo bekomme ich Beratung & Unterstützung?

Wenn Sie Fragen zu Ihren Rechten und Möglichkeiten haben, wenden Sie sich an eine Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe. Eine Beratungsstelle finden Sie z.B. auf dieser Website von Pro Asyl oder auf der Website Ihres Flüchtlingsrats. Hilfe finden Sie außerdem bei den Jugendmigrationsdiensten oder den Migrationsberatungsstellen für Erwachsene.

Unter www.rechtsberaterkonferenz.de können Sie Anwält*innen finden, die auf die Beratung von Geflüchteten und Asylsuchenden spezialisiert sind.

Wichtig

Die Beschäftigungsduldung soll Personen mit Duldung und Arbeit vor Abschiebung schützen. Die Voraussetzungen sind aber sehr hoch und schwierig zu erfüllen.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: