The school system in Baden-Wuerttemberg

Which schools are there in Baden-Wuerttemberg?

There are five options in Baden-Wuerttemberg after elementary school: Hauptschule (also Werkrealschule), Realschule, Gemeinschaftsschule or Gymnasium.

The school system

Elementary school („Grundschule“)

Hauptschule and Werkrealschule




How can I register my child at school?

From what time are refugee children obliged to attend school?

When and where can I enrol my child?