Declaration of Commitment for a Visitor Visa

A couple is welcoming a visitor at their doorstep
Update 10.08.2022

Can I submit a declaration of commitment?

To obtain a visitor visa for Germany, third-country nationals (non-EU citizens) usually have to prove that they have enough money to support themselves during their stay, even if they only want to visit family or friends for a short time. But if someone cannot prove they have enough money themselves, someone living in Germany can vouch for the visitor(s). This can be a relative or acquaintance - or a company or institution in Germany that can prove they have enough money. Such a guarantee is known as a "Verpflichtungserklärung" or "declaration of commitment", and visitor(s) can present it to the embassy as proof of funding when they apply for their visa(s).

Here you can learn whether and how you can submit a declaration of commitment for a visitor visa. You can find all the other details about visitor visas in our chapter "Visitor Visa". And, you can learn more about the declaration of commitment for long-term stays in our chapter "Declaration of commitment for a national visa".

What do I need to know?

What is a declaration of commitment?

To visit Germany, one often has to prove that they can pay for their trip and stay in Germany. When someone cannot do so, a third person can make a so-called "declaration of commitment" for them. With such a declaration, the third person undertakes to bear the costs for the visitor(s) in an emergency, including costs of medical treatment or possible deportation.

If, for instance, friends or family members of yours want to apply for a visa for Germany but cannot prove that they can pay the expenses for the trip and their stay, you can submit a declaration of commitment for them.

What requirements do I have to meet to submit a declaration of commitment for someone?

To be able to submit a declaration of commitment, you must meet the following requirements:

  • You must be registered in Germany.
  • You must have German citizenship, or the citizenship of an EU country, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway, or a valid residence permit or permanent residence permit in Germany. Please note: Your residence permit must be valid for longer than your visitor's stay in Germany. Important: People with a residence permit, tolerated stay permit ("Duldung") or a so-called "Fiktionsbescheinigung" cannot submit a declaration of commitment.
  • You must have enough income or savings and be able to prove it. You can find out more about in the section "How can I prove that I have enough money?" and "How much money do I need to have to declare my commitment for a visitor?".
How can I prove that I have enough money to sign a declaration of commitment for a visitor?

The documents you can submit as proof of funding depend on your employment status:

I am an employee:

Your last three payslips. In case you don't receive a payslip every month, hand in your latest payslip and your bank statements from the previous three months.

I am retired:

Certificate of your retirement pension

I receive unemployment benefit I:

Certificate of your unemployment benefits

Please note: You cannot submit a declaration of commitment if you receive unemployment benefit II (Hartz 4) or financial aid from the Social Welfare Office.

I am self-employed/freelancer:

  • Your last tax assessment or
  • A certificate from a tax advisor or auditor stating your current net income of the last three months
  • Proof of the amount of your health insurance contributions if you are privately insured or proof of your membership in a statutory health insurance scheme

I do not have a regular income, but I have savings:

Proof of the amount of your savings. Important: You must hand in the original document. Only savings accounts or time deposit accounts at German banks are accepted, i.e., accounts at foreign banks, stocks, funds, etc., are not recognised as proof. 

How much money do I need to have to submit a declaration of commitment?

The amount of income or savings you need depends on who/how many people you want to invite to Germany. It also depends on whether you are married and/or have children.

If you are unmarried and have no children, expect the following sums:

  • For a person of legal age, you need at least an income of € 1,265 net per month or a savings credit of at least € 15,180. For each additional adult you want to invite, the required net income increases by € 333 per month and the required savings credit increases by € 4,000.
  • You need at least an income of € 1,502 net per month for one adult and one child or a savings credit of at least € 18,030. For each additional child, the required net income increases by € 237 per month and the required savings credit by € 2,850.
  • If you only want to invite a minor, you need at least an income of € 1,169 net per month or a savings credit of at least € 14,030.

Please note: If you have children or a spouse without their own income, the minimum income or the minimum savings balance you need increases. Inquire at the Immigration Office about the minimum income or minimum savings balance in your specific case.

How long will the declaration of commitment remain valid?

A letter of commitment can be used for six months as proof of funding when applying for a visa. There should be no more than six months between the submission of the declaration of commitment and issuing the visa.

The obligation to pay all costs applies until the visitor(s) leaves the Federal Republic of Germany or is granted a residence permit on different grounds. Your obligation ends after five years at the latest. Until that point, you must assume all costs for the visitor in an emergency or repay them if the state incurs costs.

Important: Once the visa has been issued, you cannot withdraw your declaration of commitment.

What do I commit to when submitting a declaration of commitment?

With a declaration of commitment, you assume all costs that the German state could incur from the visitor in question, including:

  • Cost of living (food, clothing, etc.)
  • Cost of accommodation
  • Cost of medical care
  • Cost of a possible deportation

If the state incurs costs, you must repay the person.

Where can I submit the declaration of commitment?

You can only submit a declaration of commitment to the Immigration Office at your place of residence in Germany. To do so, you must appear in person and hand in your documents. You can find the address of the relevant Immigration Office at bamf.de.

You need an appointment to hand in the documents - and you can usually book one on the Immigration Office's website. If this is not possible, call them and ask for an appointment. To submit several declarations of commitment (for several visitors), you will usually need separate appointments. However, if you want to make a declaration of commitment for a married couple or parents with underage children, a single appointment will be sufficient.

Submitting a declaration of commitment costs € 29.

What documents do I need?

You must bring the following documents with you to your appointment at the Immigration Office:

  • A completed form "Angaben zur Verpflichtungserklärung" for each person for whom you want to submit a declaration of commitment. Exception: For married couples or parents with unmarried minor children, a single form is sufficient.
  • A completed form "Belehrung zur Speicherung und Nutzung der Antragsdaten im VIS"
  • An unsigned form "Zusatzerklärung zur Verpflichtungserklärung"
  • Evidence of your income or savings
  • Your ID or residence permit and passport
  • A copy of the passport of the person for whom you want to make a declaration of commitment

Please note: The Immigration Office may require further documents from you.

What should I do after the appointment at the Immigration Office?

If all of your documents are in order, the immigration authorities will generate the declaration of commitment directly during your appointment, and you will receive the original. You have to send the document to the person who wants to enter Germany to hand it to the German embassy along with all their other documents. Whether the person will finally be issued a visa is a decision of the embassy.

Important

Deliberately providing incorrect or incomplete information when submitting a declaration of commitment is a criminal offence. If proven, the perpetrator may face a fine or prison sentence.

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Verpflichtungserklärung für ein Besuchervisum

A couple is welcoming a visitor at their doorstep
Aktualisiert 10.08.2022

Kann ich eine Verpflichtungserklärung abgeben?

Auch wer nur kurz Familie oder Freund*innen besuchen will: Um ein Besuchervisum für Deutschland zu bekommen, müssen Drittstaatsangehörige in der Regel nachweisen, dass sie genügend Geld haben, um während ihres Aufenthalts für ihren Lebensunterhalt zu sorgen. Wenn jemand selbst nicht genügend Geld nachweisen kann, kann eine in Deutschland lebende Person für die Besucher*innen bürgen. Das  kann ein*e Verwandte*r, Bekannte*r oder auch eine Firma oder Institution sein, die selbst ausreichend Geld nachweisen können. Diese Bürgschaft nennt man "Verpflichtungserklärung". Diese Verpflichtungserklärung können die Besucher*innen dann der Botschaft als Finanzierungsnachweis vorlegen, wenn sie ihr Visum beantragen.

Hier erfahren Sie, ob und wie Sie eine Verpflichtungserklärung für ein Besuchervisum abgeben können. Alles rund um das Besuchervisum selbst, erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Besuchervisum". Mehr zum Thema Verpflichtungserklärung für längerfristige Aufenthalte erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Verpflichtungserklärung für ein Nationales Visum".

Was muss ich wissen?

Was ist eine Verpflichtungserklärung?

Wenn jemand ein Visum für Deutschland haben will, muss er oder sie nachweisen, dass sie die Kosten für ihre Reise und ihren Aufenthalt in Deutschland bezahlen können. Wenn jemand die Kosten nicht selbst bezahlen kann, kann eine dritte Person eine sogenannte "Verpflichtungserklärung" abgeben. Damit verpflichtet sich diese Person, im Notfall die Kosten für die Besucher*innen zu übernehmen. Das umfasst auch die Kosten für eine Krankenbehandlung oder Abschiebung.

Wenn also z.B. Freund*innen oder Familienmitglieder von Ihnen ein Visum für Deutschland beantragen möchten, aber selbst nicht nachweisen können, dass sie die Kosten für die Reise und ihren Aufenthalt selbst bezahlen können, dann können Sie eine Verpflichtungserklärung für sie abgeben.

Welche Voraussetzungen muss ich erfüllen, um eine Verpflichtungserklärung für jemanden abzugeben?

Um eine Verpflichtungserklärung abgeben zu dürfen, müssen Sie die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Sie sind in Deutschland gemeldet.
  • Sie haben die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft, die Staatsbürgerschaft eines EU- Landes, die Staatsbürgerschaft von Island, Liechtenstein oder Norwegen oder eine gültige Aufenthaltserlaubnis oder Niederlassungserlaubnis für Deutschland. Bitte beachten Sie: Ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis muss länger gültig sein als Ihre Besucher*innen in Deutschland bleiben wollen. Wichtig: Personen mit einer Aufenthaltsgestattung, Duldung oder Fiktionsbescheinigung können keine Verpflichtungserklärung abgeben.
  • Sie haben genug Einkommen oder Sparguthaben und können dies nachweisen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie im Abschnitt "Wie kann ich nachweisen, dass ich genügend Geld habe?" und "Wie viel Geld muss ich haben, um eine Verpflichtungserklärung abzugeben?".
Wie kann ich nachweisen, dass ich genügend Geld habe, um eine Verpflichtungserklärung abzugeben?

Welche Dokumente als Finanzierungsnachweise in Frage kommen, hängt von Ihrem beruflichen Status ab.

  • Ich bin Arbeitnehmer*in:
    Ihre letzten drei Gehaltsabrechnungen. Falls Sie nicht jeden Monat eine Gehaltsabrechnung bekommen: Bringen Sie Ihre letzte Gehaltsabrechnung und Ihre Kontoauszüge der letzten drei Monate mit.
  • Ich bin Rentner*in:
    Der Bescheid über Ihre Altersrente.
  • Ich bekomme Arbeitslosengeld I:
    Der Bescheid über die Höhe Ihres Arbeitslosengelds.

    Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie Arbeitslosengeld II (Hartz 4) oder Geld vom Sozialamt bekommen, können Sie keine Verpflichtungserklärung abgeben.
     
  • Ich bin selbständig oder freiberuflich tätig:
    • Ihr letzter Steuerbescheid oder
    • Eine Bescheinigung eines Steuerberaters oder Wirtschaftsprüfers über ihr aktuelles Netto-Einkommen der letzten drei Monate
    • Ein Nachweis über die Höhe Ihrer Krankenkassenbeiträge, falls Sie privat versichert sind oder einen Nachweis über Ihre Mitgliedschaft in der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung
  • Ich habe kein regelmäßiges Einkommen, aber ein Sparguthaben:
    Nachweise über die Höhe Ihres Sparguthabens. Wichtig: Den Nachweis müssen Sie im Original mitbringen. Es werden nur Sparkonten oder Festgeldkonten bei deutschen Banken berücksichtigt. Keine Konten bei ausländischen Banken und keine Aktien, Fonds, etc.
Wie viel Geld muss ich haben, um eine Verpflichtungserklärung abzugeben?

Wie viel Einkommen bzw. Sparguthaben Sie benötigen, hängt davon ab, wen und wie viele Personen Sie einladen möchten. Außerdem hängt es davon ab, ob Sie verheiratet sind und / oder Kinder haben.

Wenn Sie unverheiratet und kinderlos sind, müssen Sie mit den folgenden Summen rechnen:

  • Für eine volljährige Person benötigen Sie mindestens ein Einkommen von 1.265 € Netto pro Monat oder ein Spar-Guthaben von mindestens 15.180 €. Für jede weitere volljährige Person, die Sie einladen möchten, erhöht sich das erforderliche Netto-Einkommen um 333 € pro Monat bzw. das erforderliche Spar-Guthaben um 4.000€.
  • Für eine volljährige Person + 1 Kind benötigen Sie mindestens ein Einkommen von 1.502 € Netto pro Monat oder ein Spar-Guthaben von mindestens 18.030 €. Für jedes weitere Kind, das sie zusätzlich einladen möchten, erhöht sich das erforderliche Netto-Einkommen um 237 € pro Monat bzw. das erforderliche Spar-Guthaben um 2.850€.
  • Wenn Sie nur eine minderjährige Person einladen möchten, benötigen Sie mindestens ein Einkommen von 1.169 € Netto pro Monat oder ein Spar-Guthaben von mindestens 14.030 €.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie Kinder haben oder eine*n Ehepartner*in ohne eigenes Einkommen, erhöht sich das Mindesteinkommen bzw. das Mindest-Sparguthaben, das Sie benötigen. Erkundigen Sie sich bei der Ausländerbehörde nach den Mindesteinkommen bzw. Mindest-Sparguthaben für Ihren Fall.

Wie lange ist eine Verpflichtungserklärung gültig?

Eine Verpflichtungserklärung kann sechs Monate lang als Finanzierungsnachweis bei der Beantragung eines Visums genutzt werden. Zwischen der Abgabe der Verpflichtungserklärung und der Erteilung des Visums sollten also nicht mehr als sechs Monate liegen.

Die Verpflichtung für alle Kosten aufzukommen, besteht so lange weiter, bis die Person, für die Sie sich verpflichtet haben, die Bundesrepublik Deutschland verlässt oder ihr ein Aufenthaltstitel zu einem anderen Zweck erteilt wird. Spätestens nach 5 Jahren endet Ihre Verpflichtung. Bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt müssen Sie im Notfall alle Kosten für die Person übernehmen bzw. zurückzahlen, falls dem Staat Kosten entstehen.

Wichtig: Sobald das Visum erteilt ist, können Sie Ihre Verpflichtungserklärung nicht mehr zurücknehmen.

Wozu verpflichte ich mich mit einer Verpflichtungserklärung?

Mit einer Verpflichtungserklärung verpflichten Sie sich alle Kosten zu übernehmen, die dem deutschen Staat durch die Person entstehen könnten, für die Sie die Verpflichtungserklärung abgeben. Das umfasst:

  • Die Kosten für den Lebensunterhalt (Essen, Kleidung, etc.)
  • Die Kosten für eine Unterkunft
  • Die Kosten für die medizinische Versorgung
  • Die Kosten für eine eventuelle Abschiebung

Falls dem Staat Kosten entstehen, müssen Sie ihm diese Kosten zurückzahlen.

Wo kann ich die Verpflichtungserklärung abgeben?

Eine Verpflichtungserklärung können Sie nur bei der Ausländerbehörde an Ihrem Wohnsitz in Deutschland abgeben. Dazu müssen Sie persönlich erscheinen und Ihre Unterlagen mitbringen. Die Adresse der Ausländerbehörde an Ihrem Wohnort finden Sie auf bamf.de.

Sie brauchen einen Termin. Den können Sie in der Regel auf der Website der Ausländerbehörde buchen. Falls dies nicht möglich ist, rufen Sie dort an und fragen nach einem Termin. Wenn Sie mehrere Verpflichtungserklärungen abgeben, benötigen Sie in der Regel mehrere Termine. Nur wenn Sie für Ehepaare oder Eltern mit minderjährigen Kindern Verpflichtungserklärungen abgeben wollen, genügt ein Termin.

Die Abgabe einer Verpflichtungserklärung kostet 29 Euro.

Welche Unterlagen brauche ich?

Folgende Unterlagen müssen Sie zu Ihrem Termin in der Ausländerbehörde mitbringen:

  • Ein ausgefülltes Formular „Angaben zur Verpflichtungserklärung“ für jede Person, für die Sie eine Verpflichtungserklärung abgeben wollen. Ausnahme: Für Ehepaare oder Eltern mit minderjährigen ledigen Kindern genügt ein Formular.
  • Ein ausgefülltes Formular „Belehrung zur Speicherung und Nutzung der Antragsdaten im VIS“.
  • Ein nicht-unterschriebenes Formular „Zusatzerklärung zur Verpflichtungserklärung“.
  • Nachweise über Ihr Einkommen oder Sparguthaben.
  • Ihren Ausweis oder Aufenthaltstitel und Pass.
  • Eine Kopie des Passes der Person, für die Sie eine Verpflichtungserklärung abgeben möchten.

Bitte beachten Sie: Es kann sein, dass die Ausländerbehörde weitere Unterlagen von Ihnen haben will.

Was mache ich nach dem Termin in der Ausländerbehörde?

Wenn all Ihre Unterlagen in Ordnung sind, erstellt die Ausländerbehörde die Verpflichtungserklärung direkt während Ihres Termins. Das Original bekommen Sie ausgehändigt. Sie müssen es der Person, die nach Deutschland einreisen will, schicken. Die Person gibt sie dann mit all den anderen Unterlagen bei der deutschen Botschaft ab. Ob die Person dann tatsächlich ein Visum bekommt, ist die Entscheidung der Botschaft.

Wichtig

Vorsätzlich falsche oder unvollständige Angaben bei der Abgabe einer Verpflichtungserklärung sind strafbar. Sie können dafür mit einer Geldstrafe oder einer Gefängnisstrafe bestraft werden.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: