Student Finance

How can I pay for my studies?

If you are planning to study at a German university, you will probably be wondering how to finance your studies. Fortunately, most public universities in German charge no or very low tuition fees (“Studiengebühren”) because they are state-subsidised. If you are enrolled in a bachelor’s degree programme, you won’t normally pay any tuition fees at all. Certain master’s degree programmes, however, come with tuition fees.

No matter where and what you study, you will have to pay a semester contribution (“Semesterbeitrag”) at the beginning of each term. This money is used to fund university services, e.g. the cafeteria, student halls and administrative services. The semester contribution will cost you 250 euros on average. The exact amount is set by the university you are enrolled at. In addition to that, you will have to cover your living expenses, e.g. rent, food and books for your studies. All universities offer accommodation in student halls which is generally basic, but very cheap. As a student you will also receive a lot of reductions, e.g. on public transport or at cultural venues.

Student Loans and Grants

Depending on your financial situation, you will have various options how to finance your studies. A lot of German students receive state-funded loans, referred to as “BAföG”, which you might also be entitled to depending on your residence status. Germany has set up this programme in order to grant access to higher education to every student regardless of their financial situation. In addition to that, scholarships, loans and other funding programmes are open to German and foreign students alike. You are also allowed to work as a student, but certain restrictions apply.

Please note that a lot of information in this chapter will only helpful if you are already living in Germany. If you are still in your home country and planning to come to Germany on a student visa, read on here


What is BAföG?

Can I apply for BAföG?

How do I apply for BAföG?

How do I receive the money?

How much do I have to pay back?

If you aren’t entitled to receive BAföG or you prefer to finance your studies by other means, you will have a number of alternative options. Most of them entail just as much paperwork as the BAföG application, but you shouldn’t let this deter you from applying.

Scholarships and Loans

Scholarships (“Stipendien”)

University Guarantee Fund

Education Loan

Student Jobs

Scholarships for Excellent Students

National Scholarship („Deutschlandstipendium“)


As a student, you aren’t entitled to receive Jobcenter benefits. Those are only meant for unemployed people whereas students technically have an “occupation”. Financial support for students is granted according to another scheme which is known as “BaföG”. Please note that you’re not eligible for BaföG if you have come to Germany on a student visa.

Studienfinanzierung

BAFöG, Kredit oder Stipendium?

Wenn Sie an einer deutschen Universität studieren wollen, werden Sie sich vielleicht fragen, wie Sie diese Zeit finanzieren können. Zum Glück verlangen die meisten öffentlichen Universitäten in Deutschland keine oder nur wenig Studiengebühren, da Sie vom Staat finanziert werden. Nur für einige wenige Masterprogramme werden Studiengebühren verlangt.    

Egal wo und was Sie studieren, müssen Sie aber einen Semesterbeitrag am Beginn jeden Semesters bezahlen. Dieses Geld wird verwendet um Dienstleistungen an der Universität, wie zum Beispiel Mensen, Studentenheime und die Verwaltung zu finanzieren. Der Semesterbeitrag beträgt ungefähr 250 Euro. Der genaue Beitrag wird von der Universität, an der Sie inskribiert sind, festgelegt. Zusätzlich zu Studiengebühr und Semesterbeitrag müssen Sie natürlich Ihre Lebensunterhaltskosten, wie Miete, Lebensmittel und Bücher für Ihr Studium, bezahlen können. Alle Universitäten haben Studentenheime, welche generell eine billige Wohnmöglichkeit sind. Studierende erhalten außerdem oft Ermäßigungen, zum Beispiel für öffentliche Verkehrsmittel oder kulturelle Aktivitäten.

Förderprogramme und Stipendien

Abhängig von Ihrer finanziellen Situation, haben Sie verschiedene Möglichkeiten Ihr Studium zu finanzieren. Viele deutsche Studierende beantragen die staatliche Förderung BAföG. Je nach Ihrem aufenthaltsrechtlichen Status könnte diese Förderung auch eine Möglichkeit für Sie sein. Der deutsche Staat möchte mit dieser Förderung allen ein Studium ermöglichen, unabhängig von der finanziellen Situation jedes einzelnen. Zusätzlich gibt es für deutsche und internationale Studierende noch Stipendien, Darlehen und andere Finanzierungsprogramme. Studierende können auch mit Einschränkung arbeiten.

Beachten Sie, dass einige Informationen auf dieser Seite nur dann für Sie zutreffen, wenn Sie bereits in Deutschland leben. Wenn Sie noch in Ihrem Heimatland sind und planen mit einem Studentenvisum nach Deutschland zu kommen gelten oftmals andere Regelungen. 

BAföG

Was ist BAföG?

Kann ich BAföG beantragen?

Wie beantrage ich BAföG?

Wie erhalte ich das Geld?

Wieviel muss ich zurückzahlen?

Schüler-BAföG

Wenn Sie kein BAföG erhalten, haben Sie andere Möglichkeiten Ihr Studium fördern zu lassen. Die meisten Förderprogramme sind mit Antragsformularen verbunden, was Sie aber nicht von der Antragsstellung abhalten sollte. 

Stipendien, Förderprogramme und Kredite

Stipendien

Garantiefonds Hochschule

Das Bildungskreditprogramm

Studentenjobs

Begabtenförderung

Deutschlandstipendium

Wichtig

Als Student bekommen Sie keine Sozialhilfe vom Jobcenter. Diese Hilfe bekommen Sie nur, wenn Sie arbeitssuchend gemeldet sind. Der Status Student zählt als Arbeit. Staatliche finanzielle Hilfe für Studierende leistet BAföG. Wenn Sie mit einem Studentenvisum nach Deutschland gekommen sind, können Sie jedoch kein BAföG bekommen.