Parenting

Where can I get support as a parent?

Parents are not only faced with the task of raising their children but also nurturing them to become developed adults. Of course, the parenting style you choose is entirely up to you. In many families, arguments and problems are part of everyday life - not only with teenagers but also with younger children. It is worth to mention that in their daily life, in daycare or school, a lot is demanded of children and they too are often exposed to stress and pressure.

Does your baby cry all night? Does your child have problems finding friends? What if your teenager doesn't listen to you anymore and for instance, comes home way too late? Does your child often react aggressively or hide in their room? Does your child spend all his free time on the computer or mobile phone? Does your child have problems at school? Or with the police? Do not worry! You are not alone with your concerns and responsibilities. In Germany, there is a broad network of advice centres and organisations specifically tasked to support parents in bringing up your children.

Important: Children in Germany are entitled to a violence-free upbringing.  As regulated in §1631 of the Civil Code, punishing or injuring children physically or mentally is forbidden- that includes, for instance, slapping, shoving, shaking, locking up, pulling the hair, blows, injuries to the skin, beatings, kicking as well as humiliation and intimidations and alike. If the Youth Welfare Office learns of a child abused in any way from a neighbour, Daycare Centre or school, they are legally bound to investigate the allegations. You can find out more about the responsibilities of the Youth Welfare Office in our chapter "Youth welfare office".

Where can I find help?

Parents hotline („Elternhotline“)

Early help („Frühe Hilfen“)

Family and Parenting Advice Centres

Support for refugee parents

Parents Meetings

Child and Youth Welfare Services

Important

If you have anxieties and difficulties concerning your child or feel overwhelmed, you can also ask your child's Daycare Centre or school for help. Educators and teachers can refer you to social workers or counselling centres specialised on child care.

Kindererziehung

Wer hilft mir?

Eltern sind nicht nur mit der Aufgabe konfrontiert, die eigenen Kinder großzuziehen, sondern sie auch zu erziehen. Welchen Erziehungsstil Sie dabei wählen, liegt ganz bei Ihnen. In vielen Familien gehören Streit und Probleme zum Alltag – nicht nur mit Teenagern, sondern auch mit jüngeren Kindern. Diesen wird in ihrem Alltag, in der Kita oder Schule teilweise viel abverlangt und auch sie sind oft Stress und Druck ausgesetzt.

Weint Ihr Baby die ganze Nacht? Findet Ihr Kind keine Freunde? Hält sich Ihr Teenager nicht mehr an die Regeln und kommt z.B. viel zu spät nach Hause? Reagiert Ihr Kind oft aggressiv oder verkriecht sich in seinem Zimmer? Verbringt Ihr Kind seine Freizeit nur noch am Computer oder Handy? Hat Ihr Kind Probleme in der Schule? Oder mit der Polizei? … Keine Sorge. Sie sind mit Ihren Problemen und Aufgaben nicht allein. In Deutschland gibt es ein breites Netz an Beratungsstellen und Organisationen, die Ihnen bei der Erziehung Ihrer Kinder zur Seite stehen.

Wichtig: Kinder haben in Deutschland ein Recht auf eine Erziehung ohne Gewalt. Das ist in §1631 des Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuchs geregelt. Es ist verboten, sein Kind körperlich oder seelisch zu bestrafen oder zu verletzen. Konkret bedeutet dass, dass z.B. Ohrfeigen, Schubsen, Schütteln, Einsperren, an den Haaren ziehen, Schläge, Verletzungen der Haut, Prügel, Treten und auch Demütigungen, Drohungen, etc. verboten sind. Wenn das Jugendamt durch Nachbar*innen, Kita oder Schule von einem auf diese Weise misshandelten Kind erfährt, wird es diese Vorwürfe überprüfen. Mehr zu den Aufgaben des Jugendamts erfahren Sie in unsere Kapitel "Jugendamt".

Wo finde ich Hilfe?

Elternhotline

Frühe Hilfen

Familien- und Erziehungsberatungsstellen

Elternkurse für geflüchtete Eltern

Elterntreffs

Kinder- und Jugendhilfe

Wichtig

Wenn Sie Sorgen und Probleme mit Ihrem Kind haben oder Sie sich überfordert fühlen, können Sie auch die Kita oder Schule Ihres Kindes nach Hilfe fragen. Die Erzieher*innen und Lehrer*innen können Sie an Sozialarbeiter*innen oder Erziehungsberatungsstellen vermitteln.

Aus Gründen der Lesbarkeit wurde im Text die männliche Form gewählt. Dennoch beziehen sich die Angaben auf Angehörige aller Geschlechter.