Student Finance

Update 13.10.2022

What types of financial aid are available to students?

Financing your studies is one of the major issues you have to deal with before enrolling at a university. Fortunately, most public universities in Germany do not charge tuition fees, but studying, in principle, costs money: Every semester, you have to pay a semester fee, buy books and, of course, continue to maintain your livelihood.

In addition to student jobs and BAföG, there are also numerous scholarships as well as special loans and other financing options for students in Germany.

What options do I have?

Scholarships (“Stipendien”)

Many public and private organisations, universities, federal states, districts and cities in Germany offer scholarships for students. Some of these scholarships are specifically for refugees. Most scholarships cover the cost of the semester fees, everyday living and possible tuition fees- and you do not have to repay them. Unfortunately, there is no complete database of scholarship programmes available in Germany- the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), however, has a database of scholarships for international students. You can also search for a scholarship on MyStipendium or Stipendienlotse websites.

Furthermore, foundations provide many scholarships at different levels. You can find an overview of scholarships provided by foundations on the webpage of the Federal Association of German Foundations ("Bundesverbands Deutscher Stiftungen"). As soon as you are enrolled at a university, you can seek advice from the students' union ("Studentenwerk") or take part in informational events concerning funding at your university.

"Garantiefonds Hochschule"

"Bildungsberatung Garantiefonds Hochschule" is an organisation which financially supports young refugees and repatriates who want to study. The scholarships of the Bildungsberatung Garantiefonds Hochschule are intended for young people who wish to attend a preparatory colleague ("Studienkolleg") or a German course (in C1, TestDaF or DSH level). They cover the tuition fees and costs of living, and you do not have to repay anything. If you live in Germany and are under 30, you can apply for this grant. Please note: The previous regulation which required that you only apply for "Garantiefonds Hochschule" within the first two years of your arrival in Germany no longer applies.

You can find a counselling centre of the Bildungsberatung Garantiefonds Hochschule in your area on bildungsberatung-gfh.de. You can send the application (online or per mail) to the Education counselling Center ("Bildungsberatungsstelle") in your area. To apply online, visit bildungsberatung-gfh.de. You can find a printable version of the application form on the website of the Bildungsberatung.

Educational grant for the particularly gifted students ("Begabtenförderung")

If you have a particularly good performance at school or university and are involved in social initiatives, you can apply for an educational grant for the particularly gifted students ("Begabtenförderung"). You do not have to pay back what you receive in this framework. The scholarships are awarded by 13 organisations which provide educational grants for the particularly gifted students in Germany- these organisations are funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). These 13 organisations have different ideological, political or denominational orientations, hence different criteria in their choice of applicants. For instance, the Avicenna study programme is aimed mainly at socially active Muslim students, including doctoral students. These organisations support students in all degrees, which means you can also apply as a doctoral candidate.

National Scholarship ("Deutschlandstipendium")

If you have particularly significant academic accomplishments, you can apply for the National Scholarship  or "Deutschlandstipendium" which amounts to € 300 per month. National Scholarship is not a loan, which means you do not have to pay back the money. You have an increased chance of receiving this grant if you are socially active. Migration background and experience of flight or political persecution are also considered to affect the selection process positively. However, not all universities participate in the programme. Ask your university if the “Deutschlandstipendium” is offered there. As a doctoral candidate, you cannot apply for the National Scholarship.

Training loan programme ("Bildungskreditprogramm")

The training loan programme is funded by the Federal Administration Office ("Bundesverwaltungsamt"). It offers financial support for advanced students, so you cannot apply for this financial support if you are in the first year of your bachelor's degree. The loan can also be applied for in addition to BAföG. Unlike BAföG or regular loans, your income does not matter here. All advanced students under the age of 36 who have a residence permit in Germany can apply for the training loan programme. If you have a tolerated stay permit ("Duldung"), you must have lived in Germany for at least four years before you can apply for the programme. Unlike BAföG, there are no grants involved here, which means you have to repay the full amount plus interest. The loan is offered in monthly instalments of € 100 to € 300. Overall, the amount of credit can reach up to € 7,200. However, applying for it only makes sense if you know that you will be able to repay what you ow in the future. The repayment starts four years after receipt of the first instalment. To participate in a training loan programme, you can apply online at the Federal Administration Office.

Student Jobs

Students are allowed to work along with their studies. There are, however, some issues to keep in mind. You can read more about these rules and regulations in our chapter “Student Jobs”.

How can I save money as a student?

As a student, you have some opportunities to save money:

  • All universities have student residences, which are, in principle, affordable housing options. Often, however, it is necessary to register early on for a place in a student dormitory, as the number of rooms or apartments are limited. To learn more about dorms in Germany visit studentenwerke.de.
  • As a student under 30, you can benefit from the student rate of statutory health insurance and pay a lower fee for your coverage. If you are older than 30, using the "health insurance for students" scheme ("Krankenversicherung für Studenten") is only possible in exceptional cases. For more information, seek advice from your health insurance company. You can find more information about student insurance (in German) at verbraucherzentrale.de.
  • Many universities offer so-called "Semestertickets" for public transportation, the price of which is usually included in semester fees. With a semester ticket, you can use buses, subways, suburban trains and trams in your city and often also certain trains in your state for free.
  • Students also often receive discounts on various cultural activities, such as theatre, cinema, etc.

Important

Political engagement and voluntary service can increase your chances of success in most scholarship programmes, i.e. if you are a member of an association or work as a volunteer in the fire brigade.

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Studienfinanzierung

Aktualisiert 13.10.2022

Welche Stipendien und Programme gibt es?

Die Finanzierung des Studiums ist eine der großen Fragen, die Sie sich vor Beginn Ihres Studiums stellen müssen. Glücklicherweise verlangen die meisten öffentlichen Hochschulen in Deutschland keine Studiengebühren, aber dennoch kostet ein Studium natürlich Geld. Sie müssen jedes Semester den Semesterbeitrag bezahlen, Bücher kaufen und natürlich auch Ihren Lebensunterhalt weiter finanzieren. Neben einem Studentenjob oder der Finanzierung durch BAföG, gibt es auch zahlreiche Stipendien sowie spezielle Darlehen und andere Finanzierungsprogramme für Studierende.

Welche Möglichkeiten habe ich?

Stipendium

Viele öffentliche und private Organisationen, Universitäten, Bundesländer, Landkreise und Städte in Deutschland bieten Stipendien für Studierende an. Manche dieser Stipendien sind speziell für Geflüchtete. Die meisten Stipendien decken die Kosten für den Semesterbeitrag, die Kosten für Ihren Lebensunterhalt und die Kosten für eventuelle Studiengebühren ab. Ein Stipendium müssen Sie nicht zurückzahlen. Leider gibt es keine vollständige Datenbank mit einer Liste aller Stipendienprogramme. Beim Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) finden Sie eine Datenbank über Stipendien für internationale Studierende. Außerdem können Sie auf den Internetseiten MyStipendium oder Stipendienlotse nach einem Stipendium suchen. Viele Stipendien werden von Stiftungen gezahlt. Einen Überblick über Stipendien von Stiftungen finden Sie auf der Website des Bundesverbands Deutscher Stiftungen. Sobald Sie an einer Universität eingeschrieben sind, können Sie sich außerdem beim Studentenwerk beraten lassen oder zu Informationsveranstaltungen über Stipendien an Ihrem Institut gehen.

Garantiefonds Hochschule

Die Bildungsberatung Garantiefonds Hochschule fördert junge Geflüchtete und Spätaussiedler*innen, die studieren wollen. Die Stipendien der Bildungsberatung Garantiefonds Hochschule sind für junge Menschen gedacht, die ein Studienkolleg oder einen Deutschkurs (mit dem Ziel C1, TestDaF oder DSH) besuchen wollen. Sie decken die Unterrichtskosten und die Kosten für Ihren Lebensunterhalt ab. Die Förderung müssen Sie nicht zurückbezahlen. Wenn Sie in Deutschland leben und unter 30 Jahren sind, können Sie die Förderung beantragen. Bitte beachten Sie: Die frühere Regelung, dass Sie sich nur innerhalb der ersten zwei Jahre nach Ihrer Ankunft in Deutschland für diese Förderung bewerben können, gilt nicht mehr.

Eine Beratungsstelle der Bildungsberatung Garantiefonds Hochschule finden Sie auf bildungsberatung-gfh.de.  Den Antrag können Sie online oder per Post an die Bildungsberatungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe schicken. Die Online-Anmeldung finden Sie auf bildungsberatung-gfh.de. Den Antrag zum Ausdrucken finden Sie auf der Website der Bildungsberatung.

Begabtenförderung

Wenn Sie besonders gute Leistungen in der Schule oder im Studium haben und sich sozial engagieren, können Sie eine Begabtenförderung beantragen. Das Stipendium muss nicht zurückgezahlt werden. Die Stipendien werden von 13 Begabtenförderungswerken in Deutschland vergeben, die vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert werden. Die Begabtenförderungswerke haben unterschiedliche weltanschauliche, politische oder konfessionelle Ausrichtungen und so unterschiedliche Schwerpunkte bei ihrer Auswahl der Bewerber*innen. Zum Beispiel richtet sich das Avicenna-Studienwerk besonders an sozial engagierte muslimische Studierende und Doktorand*innen. Die Begabtenförderung fördert alle Studienabschlüsse. Sie können sich also auch als Doktorand*in für ein Stipendium bewerben.

Deutschlandstipendium

Wenn Sie besonders gute Leistungen im Studium haben, können Sie sich für das Deutschlandstipendium in Höhe von monatlich 300 Euro bewerben. Das Geld müssen Sie nicht zurückzahlen. Wenn Sie sich sozial engagieren, steigen Ihre Chancen. Migrationshintergrund, Fluchterfahrung oder die Erfahrung politischer Verfolgung werden im Auswahlverfahren ebenfalls positiv berücksichtigt. Es nehmen jedoch nicht alle Hochschulen an dem Programm teil. Fragen Sie bei Ihrer Hochschule nach, ob das Deutschlandstipendium angeboten wird. Als Doktorand*in können Sie sich nicht für ein Deutschlandstipendium bewerben.

Bildungskreditprogramm

Das Bildungskreditprogramm wird vom Bundesverwaltungsamt angeboten und bietet finanzielle Hilfe für fortgeschrittene Studierende. Das heißt, dass Sie kein*e Studienanfänger*in mehr sein dürfen. Der Kredit kann auch zusätzlich zum BAföG beantragt werden. Anders als beim BAföG oder bei normalen Krediten ist Ihr Einkommen hier egal. Alle fortgeschrittenen Studierenden unter 36 Jahren, die eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis in Deutschland haben, können den Kredit beantragen. Wenn Sie eine Duldung haben, müssen Sie seit mindestens vier Jahren in Deutschland leben, um den Kredit beantragen zu dürfen. Anders als BAföG sind im Bildungskredit keine Zuschüsse enthalten. Das heißt, dass Sie den vollen Betrag (und Zinsen) zurückzahlen müssen. Den Kredit erhalten Sie in monatlichen Raten von 100 bis 300€. Insgesamt kann das Kreditvolumen bis zu 7.200 Euro betragen. Dies macht jedoch nur Sinn, wenn Sie wissen, dass Sie den Kredit in Zukunft zurückzahlen können. Die Rückzahlung beginnt nicht früher als vier Jahre nach dem Erhalt der ersten Rate. Den Antrag auf einen Bildungskredit können Sie beim Bundesverwaltungsamt stellen.

Studentenjobs

Studierende dürfen grundsätzlich als Ergänzung zu ihrem Studium arbeiten. Dabei gibt es allerdings einiges zu beachten. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Studentenjobs".

Wie kann ich als Student*in Geld sparen?

Studierende haben einige Möglichkeiten um Geld zu sparen:

  • Alle Universitäten haben Studierendenwohnheime, welche generell eine billige Wohnmöglichkeit sind. Oft ist es aber notwendig sich frühzeitig für einen Platz in einem Studierendenwohnheim anzumelden, da die Zimmer bzw. Wohnungen begrenzt sind. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie auf studentenwerke.de.
  • Als Student*in können Sie sich bis zu Ihrem 30. Geburtstag über den Studententarif der Gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungen versichern. So bezahlen Sie einen geringeren Beitrag.  Wenn Sie älter als 30 Jahre sind, ist die Versicherung über die „Krankenversicherung für Studenten“ nur in Ausnahmefällen möglich. Lassen Sie sich dazu von Ihrer Krankenkasse beraten. Mehr zum Thema studentische Krankenversicherung finden Sie auf Deutsch auf verbraucherzentrale.de.
  • Viele Universitäten bieten sogenannte „Semestertickets“ an. Der Preis dafür ist meist im Semesterbeitrag enthalten. Mit einem Semesterticket können Sie Busse, U-Bahnen, S-Bahnen und Trams in Ihrer Stadt und oft auch bestimmte Züge in Ihrer Region kostenlos nutzen.
  • Studierende erhalten außerdem oft Ermäßigungen für verschiedene kulturelle Aktivitäten, wie Theater, Kino, usw.

Wichtig

Bei vielen Stipendienprogrammen ist es sehr nützlich, wenn Sie politisch engagiert oder ehrenamtlich aktiv sind, also z.B. Mitglied in einem Verein oder der Freiwilligen Feuerwehr sind.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: