Educational Package

Update 04.08.2022

What is "Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket"?

Participation in school trips, learning to play a musical instrument or joining a sports club can be costly. And such expenses are often not easy to afford for many families. The "Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket" (also called "Bildungspaket" or "Educational Package") is a form of state aid for children from low-income families intended to enable them to participate in school-related and leisure activities. With the Educational Package, the government supports children to participate in and benefit from certain activities and services at school and in their leisure time, such as lunch service at school or after-school care, private tuition and joining sports clubs and music classes.

What do I need to know?

What is the "Educational Package"?

"Educational Package" (Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket) is a form of financial support from the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs for low-income families. With the money provided within the Educational Package, the participation of children and adolescents in specific school or leisure time activities is funded - including tutoring fees, membership fees for sports clubs or costs of school supplies. This financial aid is intended to ensure that children from low-income families are well-supported.

What exactly does the Educational Package include?

The Educational Package supports families with less income so that their children can take part in certain educational and leisure activities. These offers and activities can take place, for instance, at your child's school or daycare centre.

The following is available for children in daycare and at school:

  • Your child gets a total of €156 (as of 2022) for school supplies such as notebooks, pens or, for instance, a new school bag. Each semester, you will receive a portion of the money - the larger portion will be paid out at the beginning of the school year. The amount is reviewed every year and adjusted if necessary.
  • If your child goes to school by bus or train, their commute costs will be fully covered.
  • Extra tuition costs will be covered if your child needs help learning at school. However, your child's school must confirm that your child actually needs the extra help. It is best to ask your child's school directly for more information.
  • If there is a lunch service at your child's daycare centre, after-school care or school, your child can use the service, and the associated costs will be covered. Please note: This only applies to lunch. You will have to cover the costs of any other meals provided at the school or care centre, for instance, breakfast.
  • The "actual costs" of one-day or multiple-day trips with the school or daycare centre are also covered. The "actual costs" include the costs of accommodation and travelling to and from the hotel. That means that pocket money, for instance, is not covered. 

In the area of ​​leisure activities, the following expenses are covered:

You receive €15 per month so that your child can take part in leisure activities. This amount remains the same each month. You may also decide to save the money. With this money, you can, for instance, pay for your child's membership in a sports or music club, a visit to a museum or participation in the so-called "Freizeiten". "Freizeiten" or "leisure time" is an excursion with one or more overnight stays organised by an association or a group. You can also use the money, for instance, to buy new sportswear or a musical instrument for your child. You can often find out what leisure activities are available for children in your area on your city administration's website. Alternatively, ask your child's school.

Important: Keep all evidence confirming that you actually used the offers or services included in the educational package: this can be a purchase receipt for exercise books or a club membership certificate. The Social Welfare Office or the Jobcenter can ask you to present such evidence later. The authorities sometimes do so to make sure you have used the money for the intended purpose. Otherwise, you have to pay the money back.

Check out the section "Where and how can I apply for the educational package?" to learn where you can apply. 

How do I receive the benefits included in the Educational Package?

Municipalities can independently decide how to pay for the services included in the educational package. They can transfer the money directly to your account, issue you a voucher or transfer the money directly to the school, club or company which provides the service.

Important: Vouchers are only valid until a specific date, so redeem the voucher in due time. If the voucher expires, or you lose it, you would need to apply for it again.

Who can benefit from the Educational Package?

Your child must be under 18 and attend a daycare centre or school to benefit from the educational package. Under certain conditions, children over the age of 18 may also be eligible for the educational package. You can learn more in the section "My child is over 18 years old. Can we benefit from the Educational Package?".

In addition, you or your child must receive one of the following benefits:

  • "Kinderzuschlag"
  • Unemployment benefit 2 (the so-called "Hartz IV")
  • Social Benefits ("Sozialgeld")
  • "Sozialhilfe"
  • Housing Benefits ("Wohngeld")
  • Asylum Seekers Benefits (according to the Asylum Seekers Act)

Important: If your child is going through dual vocational training and receives a "vocational training allowance" ("Ausbildungsvergütung"), they will not be eligible for the Educational Package, even if they are younger than 18.

My child is over 18 years old. Can we benefit from the Educational Package?

After the 18th birthday, your child can only receive education grants. Education grants cover the costs of school supplies and excursions, commute expenses for school and private tuition fees. You can learn more in the section "What exactly does the Educational Package include?". You will only receive education grants if:

  • Your child is under 25 years of age.
  • Your child continues to attend school.
  • Your child is going through vocational training and is not receiving any money for it- this often includes young trainees going through school-based vocational training.
Where should I apply for benefits from the Educational Package?

The municipalities regulate the educational package, i.e. the administration in your place of residence. They decide which authority should receive the application form and where you have to hand it in. The responsible office can be, for instance, the Jobcenter or the Social Welfare Office.

To apply for the educational package, you need to fill in a form. Your municipality determines which office should provide you with the application form. Some cities and counties use a single application form for the entire educational package. In others, you have to fill out a particular form for each benefit included in the Educational Package separately.

On www.bmas.de, you can check out which office is responsible for the Educational Package applications in your municipality. Click on your state's and then city's name - Then you will see the address and often also the opening hours and the website of the respective office.

When do I need to apply for the Educational Package?

You must always apply for the Educational Package before claiming any benefits. In other words, if you do not submit an application ahead of time, you will not be reimbursed. Therefore, you should always try to submit your application as early as possible. Check with the responsible office to find out when you have to submit your application- the application timing can differ depending on the benefit.

What documents do I need for the application?

In order to apply for a benefit within the Educational Package, you must submit different documents depending on the respective benefit and the municipality. It is best to ask about the required documents from the office responsible in your place of residence.

In general, you should have and keep these documents:

  • Proof of the benefits you receive from the Jobcenter or the Social Welfare Office. This can be, for instance, a confirmation from the Jobcenter indicating that you are receiving unemployment benefit 2, which often comes in the form of a letter.
  • Your child's school confirmation or school certificate. A school confirmation or certificate is a document that states your child's name, birthday, school name, current class and end of the school year. You can find a template on the website of the Employment Agency. You need to obtain a new confirmation from your child's school every school year since such a document is only valid for one school year. If your child changes schools, you need to obtain a school certificate from the new school.
  • Evidence that confirms your child has actually used the offer or service provided within the educational package. This can be, for instance, a purchase receipt for exercise books or a club membership certificate. The Social Welfare Office or the Jobcenter can ask you to present such evidence later. The authorities sometimes do so to make sure you have used the money for the intended purpose. Otherwise, you have to pay the money back.

Important

Is your child having problems at school? Do you, as a parent, sometimes feel overwhelmed? Then contact the "Elternhotline" network and ask for help. On their website, you will find support and helpful information for parents and children in many languages.

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket

Aktualisiert 04.08.2022

Wie beantrage ich das Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket?

An einem Schulausflug teilnehmen, ein Musikinstrument lernen oder im Verein Sport machen: All das kostet Geld und ist für viele Familien oft unbezahlbar. Damit auch Kinder aus Familien mit wenig Geld an Schul- und Freizeitangeboten teilnehmen können, gibt es das
„Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket“. Mit dem Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket fördert der deutsche Staat die Teilnahme an bestimmten Schul- und Freizeitangeboten, wie das Mittagessen in Schule oder Hort, Nachhilfe oder die Mitgliedschaft im Sport- und Musikverein.

Was muss ich wissen?

Was ist das Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket?

Das Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket ist eine finanzielle Unterstützung für Familien mit wenig Geld des Bundesministeriums für Arbeit und Soziales. Mit dem Paket wird die Teilnahme an bestimmten Angeboten in der Schule oder Freizeit mit Geld unterstützt. Das können Nachhilfestunden sein, die Mitgliedschaft in Sportvereinen oder Schulmaterial. Damit soll sichergestellt werden, dass auch Kinder aus Familien mit weniger Geld gut gefördert werden.

Was für Angebote unterstützt das Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket genau?

Das Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket unterstützt Familien mit wenig Geld dabei, dass ihre Kinder an bestimmten Bildungs- und Freizeitangeboten teilnehmen können. Diese Angebote können, zum Beispiel, an der Schule oder Kindertagesstätte (Kita) Ihres Kindes stattfinden.

Für einen Kita- und Schulbesuch gibt es diese Unterstützungen:

  • Ihr Kind bekommt insgesamt 156 Euro (Stand 2022) für Schulbedarf, wie Hefte, Stifte oder eine neue Schultasche. Pro Schulhalbjahr erhalten Sie von dem Geldbetrag einen Anteil. Zu Beginn des neuen Schuljahres ist der Betrag höher als zum Halbjahr. Die Höhe des Betrages wird jedes Jahr überprüft und gegebenenfalls angepasst.
  • Wenn Ihr Kind mit Bus oder Bahn zur Schule kommt, werden die Fahrtkosten komplett übernommen.
  • Wenn Ihr Kind Hilfe in der Schule braucht, werden die Kosten für Nachhilfestunden übernommen. Dazu muss die Schule Ihres Kindes bestätigen, dass Ihr Kind Unterstützung benötigt. Fragen Sie dazu am besten direkt bei der Schule Ihres Kindes nach.
  • Wenn es in der Kindertagesstätte, dem Hort oder der Schule Ihres Kindes ein Mittagessen gibt, werden die Kosten dafür übernommen. Bitte beachten Sie: Das gilt nur für das Mittagessen. Die Kosten für andere Mahlzeiten, zum Beispiel ein Frühstück, müssen Sie selbst bezahlen.
  • Für ein- oder mehrtägige Ausflüge mit der Schule erhalten Sie die „tatsächlichen Kosten“. Das gilt auch für eintägige Ausflüge mit der Kita. Die „tatsächlichen Kosten“ sind nur die Kosten, die für die Übernachtung und die An- und Abreise anfallen. Ein Taschengeld wird nicht übernommen.

Im Bereich Freizeit gibt es diese Unterstützung:

Damit Ihr Kind an Freizeitangeboten teilnehmen kann, bekommen Sie pro Monat 15 Euro. Der Betrag bleibt jeden Monat gleich. Sie können den Betrag auch ansparen. Mit dem Betrag können sie, zum Beispiel, eine Mitgliedschaft in einem Sport- oder Musikverein, einen Museumsbesuch oder die Teilnahme an sogenannten „Freizeiten“ bezahlen. Das ist ein Ausflug mit einer oder mehreren Übernachtungen und wird von einem Verein oder einer Gruppe organisiert. Das Geld können Sie auch verwenden, um, zum Beispiel, neue Sportkleidung oder ein Musikinstrument für Ihr Kind zu kaufen.

Was für Freizeitangebote es in Ihrem Wohnort gibt, erfahren Sie oft auf der Internetseite Ihrer Stadt. Alternativ fragen Sie bei der Schule Ihres Kindes nach.

Wichtig: Bewahren Sie alle Nachweise auf, die bestätigen, dass Sie das Angebot oder die Leistung aus dem Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket tatsächlich benutzt haben. Das kann der Einkaufsbeleg für Schulhefte sein oder die Mitgliedsbescheinigung in einem Verein. Das Sozialamt oder das Jobcenter können diese Nachweise von Ihnen verlangen. Damit prüfen die Behörden, ob Sie das Geld für den beantragten Zweck verwendet haben. Ist das nicht der Fall, müssen Sie das Geld wieder zurückzahlen.

Wie Sie die Leistungen beantragen, erfahren Sie im Abschnitt „Wo beantrage ich die Leistungen aus dem Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket?“.

Wie erhalte ich die Leistungen aus dem Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket?

Jede Kommune entscheidet selbständig, wie sie die Leistungen aus dem Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket bezahlt. Sie kann Ihnen das Geld direkt überweisen, Ihnen einen Gutschein ausstellen oder das Geld direkt an die Schule, den Verein oder das Unternehmen überweisen.

Wichtig: Gutscheine sind nur bis zu einem gewissen Datum gültig. Lösen Sie daher den Gutschein rechtzeitig ein. Falls der Gutschein abgelaufen ist oder Sie ihn verloren haben, müssen Sie ihn neu beantragen.

Wer kann Leistungen aus dem Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket bekommen?

Um Unterstützung aus dem Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket zu bekommen, muss Ihr Kind unter 18 Jahre alt sein und eine Kita oder Schule besuchen. Kinder über 18 Jahre können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen unterstützt werden. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie im Abschnitt „Mein Kind ist über 18 Jahre alt. Können wir trotzdem unterstützt werden?“.

Außerdem müssen Sie oder Ihr Kind eine der folgenden Leistungen bekommen:

  • Kinderzuschlag
  • Arbeitslosengeld II (das sogenannte „Hartz IV“)
  • Sozialgeld
  • Sozialhilfe
  • Wohngeld
  • Leistungen nach dem Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz

Wichtig: Macht Ihr Kind eine duale Ausbildung und erhält dafür Geld („Ausbildungsvergütung“), bekommt es keine Leistungen aus dem Paket. Auch wenn es jünger als 18 Jahre ist.   

Mein Kind ist über 18 Jahre alt. Können wir trotzdem unterstützt werden?

Nach dem 18. Geburtstag kann Ihr Kind nur Zuschüsse zur Bildung bekommen. Das sind: Kosten für den Schulbedarf und Ausflüge, Fahrtkosten zur Schule und Nachhilfestunden. Im Abschnitt „Was für Angebote unterstützt das Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket genau?“ finden Sie dazu mehr Infos.

Die Zuschüsse zur Bildung erhalten Sie nur dann, wenn:

  • Ihr Kind unter 25 Jahre alt ist.
  • Ihr Kind weiterhin eine Schule besucht.
  • Ihr Kind eine Berufsausbildung macht und kein Geld dafür bekommt. Das betrifft oft Auszubildende, die eine schulische Ausbildung machen.
Wo beantrage ich Leistungen aus dem Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket?

Das Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket regeln die Kommunen, also die Verwaltung in Ihrem Wohnort. Sie entscheiden, bei welcher Behörde Sie Ihren Antrag bekommen und wo Sie ihn abgeben müssen. Das kann zum Beispiel das Jobcenter oder Sozialamt sein.

Die Leistungen aus dem Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket beantragen Sie über ein Formular. Bei welcher Behörde Sie das Formular erhalten, bestimmt Ihre Kommune. Manche Städte und Gemeinden verwenden ein Formular für alle Leistungen. Bei anderen müssen Sie pro Leistung aus dem Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket ein Formular ausfüllen.

Auf der Website des Bundesministeriums für Arbeit und Soziales können Sie sehen, wer in Ihrer Kommune für die Beantragung des Bildungs- und Teilhabepakets zuständig ist. Klicken Sie auf Ihr Bundesland und dann auf Ihren Wohnort. Dort finden Sie die Adresse und oft auch die Öffnungszeiten und die Website der zuständigen Behörde.

Bis wann muss ich das Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket beantragen?

Sie müssen die Leistungen immer beantragen, bevor Sie eine Leistung in Anspruch nehmen. Sie erhalten die Kosten nicht zurück, wenn Sie keinen Antrag gestellt haben. Daher sollten Sie immer versuchen, Ihren Antrag so früh wie möglich einzureichen. Fragen Sie bei Ihrer zuständigen Behörde nach, bis wann Sie Ihren Antrag abgeben müssen. Das kann sich je nach Leistung unterscheiden.  

Welche Unterlagen brauche ich für die Beantragung?

Um eine Leistung aus dem Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket zu beantragen, müssen Sie je nach Leistung und Kommune unterschiedliche Unterlagen einreichen. Am besten Sie erkundigen sich bei der zuständigen Behörde an Ihrem Wohnort, was Sie brauchen.

Generell sollten Sie diese Dokumente haben und aufbewahren:

  • Nachweis über die Leistung, die Sie vom Jobcenter oder Sozialamt bekommen. Das kann die Bestätigung vom Jobcenter sein, dass Sie zum Beispiel Arbeitslosengeld II bekommen. Oft ist das ein Brief.
  • Eine Schulbestätigung oder Schulbescheinigung für Ihr Kind. Eine Schulbestätigung oder -bescheinigung ist ein Papier, wo der Name, Geburtstag, die Schule, aktuelle Klasse und Ende der Schulzeit Ihres Kindes steht. Auf der Internetseite der Agentur für Arbeit finden Sie eine Vorlage. Lassen Sie sich von der Schule Ihres Kindes jedes Schuljahr eine neue Bestätigung ausstellen. Denn die Bestätigung ist nur für ein Schuljahr gültig. Falls Ihr Kind die Schule wechselt, brauchen Sie eine Schulbestätigung der neuen Schule.
  • Nachweise, dass Sie das Angebot oder die Leistung aus dem Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket tatsächlich benutzt haben. Das kann zum Beispiel der Einkaufsbeleg für Schulhefte sein oder die Mitgliedsbescheinigung in einem Verein. Das Sozialamt oder das Jobcenter kann diese Nachweise von Ihnen verlangen. Damit prüft die Behörde, ob Sie das Geld für den beantragten Zweck verwenden. Ist das nicht der Fall, müssen Sie das Geld wieder zurückzahlen.

Wichtig

Ihr Kind hat Probleme in der Schule? Oder Sie fühlen sich manchmal erschöpft? Dann kontaktieren Sie das Netzwerk „Elternhotline“. Auf der Website von Elternhotline finden Sie Hilfe und Informationen für Eltern und Kinder in mehreren Sprachen.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: