Integration Courses

How can I learn German?

The content above is shared from {videoservice}. For more information, click {socialhintlink_begin}here{socialhintlink_end}.

If you have recently arrived in Germany, you might find that the language is one of the biggest challenges. In order to interact with German authorities, at the Immigration Office (“Ausländerbehörde”) or the Social Welfare Office (“Sozialamt”) for example, you need to speak German. If you want to settle down in Germany and get to know its people on a personal level, study at university, do vocational training or find a job, you will also need to know German.

Depending on your residence status, you will have different options regarding school and course type. Official language courses which combine German lessons with an introduction to the history and culture of Germany, are called integration courses (“Integrationskurs”). They include 600 hours of language lessons and a 100-hour orientation course which will teach you the basics about German law, history and culture. If you cannot read and write the Latin alphabet, you are eligible for a 1,000-hour integration course. There are specialised courses for parents with minor children, women and young adults, too. If you don’t pass the exam at the end of the course, you can take an additional 300 hours of German lessons. To be allowed to do so, you need to fill out an application.

There are also a number of other language courses which are run by various public and private institutions. Be aware that not all of them are recognised by the Immigration Office or other German authorities. You can also find a lot of good language learning resources online, many of them for free.

How can I attend a German course?

I just arrived in Germany

I have already applied for asylum

I have already been granted asylum

I don’t fit in any of these categories

Once you have successfully completed a language course, you will receive an attendance certificate (“Anwesenheitsbescheinigung”). If your course finishes with a general exam, like the integration course does, you will receive a language certificate which includes your overall level according to the Common European Framework of Reference as well as your performance in the individual testing sections (“Deutschzertifikat”).

Important

In most cases, being entitled to follow an integration course equals being obliged to do so. That means attending a course is not an option for you but a must. It is important to sign up for a course as soon as you have received your certificate of eligibility (“Berechtigungsschein”). If you fail to do so, your social benefits will be reduced.

Integrationskurse

Wie kann ich Deutsch lernen?

Die deutsche Sprache ist wahrscheinlich eine der größten Herausforderungen, wenn Sie gerade in Deutschland angekommen sind. Bei deutschen Behörden (wie der Ausländerbehörde oder dem Sozialamt), im Studium, in der Ausbildung oder in der Arbeit wird oft nur Deutsch gesprochen. Die deutsche Sprache wird aber auch dann eine wichtige Rolle für Sie spielen, wenn es darum geht in Deutschland Fuß zu fassen und Menschen persönlich kennenzulernen. 

Was ist ein Integrationskurs?

Je nach Ihrem Aufenthaltsstatus, haben Sie verschiedene Möglichkeiten einen Deutschkurs zu machen. Die offiziellen Deutschkurse, in denen eine Kombination aus Sprache und deutscher Geschichte und Kultur unterrichtet werden, heißen Integrationskurse. In 600 Unterrichtsstunden Deutschkurs und 100 Stunden Orientierungskurs lernen Sie die Sprache und das Wichtigste über die deutschen Gesetze, die deutsche Geschichte und Kultur. Es gibt auch Kurse die 1.000 Unterrichtseinheiten dauern. Das sind spezielle Integrationskurse, zum Beispiel für Eltern, Jugendliche, Frauen, oder Menschen, die nicht richtig lesen und schreiben können. Wenn Sie die Prüfung am Ende des Kurses nicht bestehen, können Sie weitere 300 Deutschstunden nehmen. Dazu müssen Sie einen Antrag stellen.

Es gibt auch andere Deutschkurse, welche von verschiedensten öffentlichen und privaten Institutionen angeboten werden. Achten Sie darauf, dass Kurse von manchen Schulen bei der Ausländerbehörde oder anderen deutschen Behörden nicht anerkannt werden. Natürlich können Sie auch gutes Lernmaterial online finden, vieles ist kostenlos.

Kann ich einen Integrationskurs machen?

Ich bin gerade in Deutschland angekommen

Ich habe bereits Asyl beantragt

Ich bin asylberechtigt

Ich passe in keine der Kategorien

Wenn Sie einen Deutschkurs erfolgreich beendet haben, erhalten Sie eine Anwesenheitsbescheinigung. Wenn Ihr Kurs wie der Integrationskurs mit einer Prüfung endet, erhalten Sie ein Deutschzertifikat. Darauf stehen Ihr Sprachniveau nach dem europäischen Referenzrahmen und Ihre Noten in den einzelnen Prüfungsteilen. 

Wichtig

Wenn Sie berechtigt sind, einen Integrationskurs zu machen, sind Sie meist auch dazu verpflichtet. Das heißt, Sie müssen an einem Kurs teilnehmen. Melden Sie sich deshalb so schnell wie möglich für einen Kurs an, sobald Sie den Berechtigungsschein haben. Wenn Sie das nicht machen, kann es sein, dass Ihre Leistungsbehörde (zum Beispiel das Jobcenter) Ihre Leistungen kürzt.