School Enrolment

Update 02.09.2022

How can I enrol my child in a school?

The first day of school is significant in every child's life. School is not just somewhere children learn to read, write and do mathematics; it is also where they get to make new friends. Therefore, many schools and families celebrate the first day of school with a special festival. But before planning the celebration, there are a few things to take care of. Here you can learn when your child can start school and what they need for their first school day.

Before starting school, there is a so-called school entry health check. You can learn more about these tests in our chapter "School entry health checks".

What is "Einschulung"?

What is "Einschulung"?

The word "Einschulung" refers to a child's first school day. In some federal states, children celebrate this day in a small festival that might even take place on a Saturday rather than an actual school day. In other federal states, the first school day is celebrated as a special event but on a regular school day. The specific date first-graders start school differs from state to state - it is often a few days before or after the first day of each new school year, which (in all federal states) begins after the summer holidays. You can find the exact dates at schulferien.org.

Every school independently plans the start of school for first-graders. Therefore, the procedures often differ from school to school. It usually includes a welcome speech from the school administration and your child's teacher. In some schools, there are also joint services. You can inquire from the school management whether your child is required to attend. Such a service is often a voluntary offer to the students and their parents. After the service, children go to their new classroom to meet their classmates and teacher. Then, the teacher talks to the children about their first days at school and shows them the school building. Schools usually strive to make the first school day fun and memorable for children.

What is the minimum age for starting school in Germany?

In Germany, every child is required to attend school once they reach the age of 6. That means that all children older than 6 must attend school. However, the federal states regulate the school system independently. Therefore, there are various rules in Germany as to when a child can start school.

That means the age your child can start school depends on the federal state where you live. There are so-called "Stichtage" or deadlines in each federal state- if your child is 6 years old by a specific date, they can usually start school. Before that, all children must go through school entry health tests. You can learn more about these tests in our chapter "School Entry Health Checks".

These are the current "Stichtage" or deadlines you need to consider, depending on your federal state of residence (as of 2022):

  • June 30: Baden-Württemberg, Bremen, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Saarland, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Schleswig-Holstein
  • July 1: Hamburg, Hesse
  • August 1: Thuringia
  • August 31: Rhineland-Palatinate
  • September 30: Bavaria, Berlin, Brandenburg, Lower Saxony, North Rhine-Westphalia
How can I register my child at school?

School registration procedure differs from state to state. You can read more about registration procedures in your federal state in our chapters on school systems in different federal states listed below. In the section "Where and how can I send my child to school?", you will find the regulations applying to your federal state.

My child cannot speak German yet. Can they start school?

Each federal state decides independently whether a child can start school with little or no knowledge of the German language. Therefore, regulations can differ from state to state. In some federal states, there are support programmes available in daycare centres for children who cannot understand and speak German very well. In other federal states, students who speak little or no German take German courses at school, which could be special classes or additional lessons.

It is best to seek advice as early as possible. If your child goes to a daycare centre, the staff can help you. You can also seek advice from the Youth Migration Service or the Parent's Hotline (Elternhotline). Their employees speak many languages, and the service is free.

To find out how you can support your child in learning German, read our chapter "School Entry Health Checks".

Can my child start school if the school year has already begun?

Your child does not have to wait a whole year to start school if you have arrived in Germany or moved within the country during the school year - they can also begin to attend school during the school year. In Germany, the school year starts and ends in the summer months. The exact date varies from state to state. On schhulferien.org, you will find the exact dates for each federal state.

Whether your child should start school during the school year is a topic best discussed with your child's prospective school - you can also ask the school how to register your child and whether your child has to undergo school entry health checks. The school your child attends depends on the federal state in which you live - in some federal states, your child will be assigned to a specific school nearby. In other states, you can choose a school yourself. You will usually receive a letter notifying you about your options. You can learn more about the school registration procedure in the section "How can I register my child at school?".

Can my child start school sooner at the age of 5 or later at the age of 7?

Yes, your child can start school sooner or later.

You can register your child at a school from the age of 5 - but children younger than 5 are not allowed to go to school. The exact regulations concerning starting school at the age of 5 differ from state to state. It is best to ask the prospective school about the details. You often have to first apply to the school in question and then make more inquiries.

If you think your child is not ready for school, they may also start school at the age of 7. If that is the case, you are expected to submit an application. The regulations concerning the application for later school enrolment differ from state to state. You often have to fill out a form. You can usually find the form at the school where your child is to be enrolled. Ask the school staff what exactly you need to do. Keep in mind to inquire at least six months before the new school year begins -this gives you enough time to take care of all the required documents. If you need help filling out the form, contact a counselling centre. You can find contact information of relevant counselling centres in the section "Where can I seek help and support?".

Can my child start school if we do not have a secure residence permit?

Yes, every child can go to school in Germany, as required by the UN Convention on the Children's Rights. All children who are in Germany are also allowed to attend school. However, the exact regulations are different in each federal state.

You can learn more about the regulations in your federal state in our chapters on school systems in different federal states listed below. In the section "When do refugee children have to go to school?" you will find the regulations concerning your federal state.

What does my child need before they start school?

Before the school year starts, there are a few things you need to do - you can usually learn the details from your child's school. You often get a list of everything the child needs. For example, your child needs a school bag, a school pencil case with crayons and pencils, a water paint box and exercise books. You must buy these items before the first day of school. Your child should also have gym clothes. You can get help if you cannot afford to buy all these items - for more information, check out the section "I can't afford to buy all the school supplies. Where can I find help?".

In Germany, each child also gets a "school cone" ("Schultüte") on the first school day. You can buy the school cone or make it yourself. In some daycare centres, the parents meet before the first school day and make the school cones together. Ask your child's daycare centre whether the staff there make school cones together with the parents. However, you can also find corresponding instructions on the Internet, for example, on Basteln und Gestalten or YouTube (under the search term "school cone" or "Schultüte basteln").

I can't afford to buy all the school supplies. Where can I find help?

Children need several items and various supplies when they start school - for many families, such costs are not easy to afford. If you receive financial support from the Social Welfare Office or Jobcentre, for instance, Unemployment Benefit II, you can seek help from the state to cover the expenses. Such aid is part of the "educational package" - you can learn more about it in our chapter "Educational Package".

In some municipalities, there are also local support offers. It is best to ask at a counselling centre in your area or at your child's school. You can find counselling centres nearby in the section "Where can I find advice and support?".

Where can I seek advice and support?

You can seek advice and support from the Youth Migration Service and the Parent's Hotline (Elternhotline). The employees speak different languages, and the service is cost-free.

You can also find other counselling centres in your area on the website of the Federal Association for Educational Issues (Bundesverbandes für Erziehungsfragen e.V.) in German. On their website, you can also search for counselling offers in your language.

For questions about specific issues related to family and children, you can find specialised counselling centres at Deutsche Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Jugend- und Eheberatung e.V. (in German). You need to enter the name of your place of residence or your postal code in the middle field and select the topic in the left drop-down menu. You will then receive a list of available counselling centres in your area.

Important

Whether you live in the countryside or the city, there are a few things to consider when your child reaches school age. The state traffic police of North Rhine-Westphalia has put together some tips and exercises you can use to teach your child about traffic rules and safety.

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Einschulung

Aktualisiert 02.09.2022

Wie melde ich mein Kind für die Schule an?

Der erste Schultag ist ein sehr wichtiger Tag im Leben Ihres Kindes. In der Schule lernt es nicht nur Lesen, Schreiben und Rechnen, sondern wird auch viele Freund*innen finden. Daher feiern viele Schulen und auch Familien den ersten Schultag mit einem besonderen Fest. Doch bis dahin gibt es einige Dinge vorzubereiten. Hier erfahren Sie, wann Ihr Kind mit der Schule beginnen kann und was es für den ersten Schultag benötigt.

Vor der Einschulung gibt es noch die sogenannte Schuleingangsuntersuchung.

Was muss ich wissen?

Was ist die Einschulung?

Mit dem Wort „Einschulung“ ist der erste Schultag eines Kindes gemeint. Daher heißt es manchmal auch „ein Kind einschulen“. In manchen Bundesländern ist dieser Tag ein kleiner Festtag für die Kinder und findet sogar an einem Samstag statt. In anderen Bundesländern ist der Tag zwar auch ein besonderes Ereignis, aber Erstklässler*innen beginnen die Schule meistens an einem normalen Schultag. Das Datum für den ersten Schultag unterscheidet sich von Bundesland zu Bundesland. Oft findet die Einschulung ein paar Tage vor oder nach dem Start des neuen Schuljahres statt und das beginnt in allen Bundesländern nach den Sommerferien. Wann genau ein neues Schuljahr beginnt, können Sie auf schulferien.org nachsehen.

Den ersten Schultag gestaltet jede Schule selbst. Daher unterscheiden sich die Abläufe oftmals von Schule zu Schule. In der Regel gibt es eine Begrüßung durch die Schulleitung und die Klassenlehrer*innen. In manchen Schulen finden auch gemeinsame Gottesdienste statt. Ob Ihr Kind daran teilnehmen muss, erfahren Sie bei der Schulleitung. Meistens ist das ein freiwilliges Angebot an die Schüler*innen und die Eltern. Nach dem Gottesdienst gehen die Kinder in ihr neues Klassenzimmer, um ihre Klassenkamerad*innen und die Klassenlehrerin oder den Klassenlehrer kennenzulernen. Dort informieren die Klassenlehrer*innen die Kinder über die ersten Tage an der Schule und die Klassenlehrer*innen zeigen den Kindern das Schulgebäude. Viele Schulen bemühen sich, den ersten Schultag für die Kinder schön und besonders zu machen.

Wie alt muss mein Kind mindestens sein, um mit der Schule anzufangen?

In Deutschland ist jedes Kind schulpflichtig, wenn es das 6. Lebensjahr vollendet hat. Das heißt, alle Kinder, die älter als 6 Jahre sind, müssen eine Schule besuchen. In Deutschland regeln die Bundesländer das Schulsystem selbst. Daher gibt es in Deutschland viele verschiedene Regeln, wann ein Kind mit der Schule starten kann.

Wann Ihr Kind mit der Schule beginnen kann, hängt also davon ab, in welchem Bundesland Sie leben. In den Bundesländern gibt es sogenannte Stichtage. Wenn Ihr Kind bis zu diesem Stichtag 6 Jahre alt ist, kann es in der Regel mit der Schule beginnen. Vor der Einschulung gibt es eine Schuleingangsuntersuchung. Daran müssen alle Kinder teilnehmen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Schuleingangsuntersuchung“. 

Das sind die aktuellen Stichtage für die verschiedenen Bundesländer (Stand 2022):

  • 30. Juni: Baden-Württemberg, Bremen, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Saarland, Sachsen, Sachsen-Anhalt, Schleswig-Holstein
  • 01. Juli: Hamburg, Hessen
  • 01. August: Thüringen
  • 31. August: Rheinland-Pfalz
  • 30. September: Bayern, Berlin, Brandenburg, Niedersachsen, Nordrhein-Westfalen
Wie melde ich mein Kind für die Schule an?

Das ist von Bundesland zu Bundesland verschieden. Wie Sie Ihr Kind zum Schulstart an einer Schule anmelden, erfahren Sie für Ihr Bundesland in unseren Kapiteln zu den Schulsystemen in den einzelnen Bundesländern. Sie finden diese aufgelistet unten. Im Abschnitt „Wo und wie kann ich mein Kind einschulen?“ finden Sie die genauen Regelungen für Ihr Bundesland.

Mein Kind kann noch kein Deutsch. Kann es mit der Schule beginnen?

Ob Ihr Kind auch mit geringen oder keinen Deutschkenntnissen mit der Schule beginnen kann, entscheiden die Bundesländer. Daher gibt es in jedem Bundesland unterschiedliche Regelungen. In manchen Bundesländern gibt es für Kinder mit wenig Deutschkenntnissen Förderprogramme in der Kita. In anderen Bundesländern erhalten Schüler*innen, die wenig oder kein Deutsch sprechen, Deutschkurse in der Schule. Das können spezielle Klassen sein oder zusätzliche Unterrichtsstunden.  

Lassen Sie sich am besten frühzeitig beraten. Wenn Ihr Kind in die Kita geht, können die Erzieher*innen Ihnen weiterhelfen. Sie können sich aber auch beim Jugendmigrationsdienst oder der Elternhotline beraten lassen. Die Mitarbeiter*innen dort sprechen viele Sprachen. Die Beratung ist kostenlos.

Wie Sie Ihr Kind beim Deutsch Lernen unterstützen können, erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Schuleingangsuntersuchung“.

Kann mein Kind mit der Schule beginnen, wenn das Schuljahr schon angefangen hat?

Wenn Sie während des laufenden Schuljahres nach Deutschland gekommen sind oder innerhalb von Deutschland umgezogen sind, muss Ihr Kind nicht ein ganzes Jahr lang warten. Es kann auch während des Schuljahres mit der Schule beginnen. Das Schuljahr startet und endet in Deutschland in den Sommermonaten. Wann es genau beginnt, unterscheidet sich von Bundesland zu Bundesland. Auf schulferien.org finden Sie die genauen Termine für jedes Bundesland.

Ob Ihr Kind während des Schuljahres mit der Schule beginnen sollte, besprechen Sie am besten mit der Schule, auf die Ihr Kind gehen soll. Dort erfahren Sie auch, wie Sie Ihr Kind anmelden können und ob Ihr Kind die Schuleingangsuntersuchung machen muss. An welcher Schule Sie Ihr Kind anmelden können, hängt davon ab, in welchem Bundesland Sie wohnen. Denn in einigen Bundesländern wird Ihr Kind einer Schule zugewiesen, die in Ihrer Nähe ist. In anderen Bundesländern können Sie selbst die Schule wählen. Darüber werden Sie meistens in einem Brief informiert. Wie Sie Ihr Kind an einer Schule anmelden können, erfahren Sie im Abschnitt „Wie melde ich mein Kind für die Schule an?“.

Kann mein Kind bereits mit 5 Jahren oder später mit 7 Jahren mit der Schule beginnen?

Ja, Ihr Kind kann auch früher oder später mit der Schule anfangen.

Sie können Ihr Kind bereits mit 5 Jahren an einer Schule anmelden. Jüngere Kinder dürfen noch nicht zur Schule gehen. Die genauen Regeln zu einer Einschulung mit 5 Jahren sind in jedem Bundesland unterschiedlich. Fragen Sie am besten bei der Schule nach, die Ihr Kind besuchen soll, wie die Regelungen genau sind. Oft müssen Sie dafür einen Antrag bei der Schule stellen.

Wenn Sie denken, dass Ihr Kind noch nicht bereit für die Schule ist, kann es auch erst mit 7 Jahren mit der Schule beginnen. Dazu müssen Sie einen Antrag stellen. Wie genau Sie die spätere Einschulung für Ihr Kind beantragen, regelt jedes Bundesland anders. Oft müssen Sie ein Formular ausfüllen. Das erhalten Sie meist an der Schule, wo Ihr Kind eingeschult werden soll. Fragen Sie dort nach, was genau Sie tun müssen. Erkundigen Sie sich mindestens ein halbes Jahr vor Beginn des neuen Schuljahres. So haben Sie genügend Zeit, sich um alle Dokumente zu kümmern. Wenn Sie Hilfe beim Ausfüllen des Formulars brauchen, können Sie sich an Beratungsstellen wenden. Adressen finden Sie im Abschnitt „Wo finde ich Beratung und Unterstützung?“.

Kann mein Kind mit der Schule beginnen, wenn wir keinen sicheren Aufenthaltstitel haben?

Ja, jedes Kind darf in Deutschland in die Schule gehen. Das ist in der UN-Kinderrechtskonvention geregelt. Alle Kinder, die sich in Deutschland aufhalten, dürfen auch zur Schule gehen. Die genauen Regelungen sind allerdings in jedem Bundesland unterschiedlich.

Mehr zu den Regelungen in Ihrem Bundesland, erfahren Sie für Ihr Bundesland in unseren Kapiteln zu den Schulsystemen in den einzelnen Bundesländern. Sie finden diese aufgelistet unten. Im Abschnitt „Wann müssen geflüchtete Kinder eine Schule besuchen?“ finden Sie die genauen Regelungen für Ihr Bundesland.

Was braucht mein Kind für den Schulstart?

Vor dem Schulstart müssen Sie einiges besorgen. Was genau, erfahren Sie meistens von Ihrer Schule. Oft erhalten Sie eine Liste mit allen nötigen Dingen. Ihr Kind braucht zum Beispiel einen Schulranzen, ein Schulmäppchen mit Buntstiften und Bleistiften, einen Wassermalkasten und Schulhefte. Diese Dinge müssen Sie vor dem ersten Schultag kaufen. Ihr Kind sollte auch Sportkleidung haben. All diese neuen Dinge sind oft teuer. Wo Sie Unterstützung bekommen, erfahren Sie im Abschnitt „Ich habe nicht genug Geld, um alle Schulsachen zu kaufen. Wo finde ich Hilfe?“.

Am ersten Schultag bekommt jedes Kind auch eine „Schultüte“. Die Schultüte können Sie kaufen oder selbst basteln. In manchen Kitas treffen sich die Eltern vor dem Schulstart und basteln die Schultüte gemeinsam. Fragen Sie bei der Kita Ihres Kindes nach, ob die Mitarbeiter*innen dort gemeinsam mit den Eltern Schultüten basteln. Sie finden aber auch entsprechende Anleitungen im Internet. Zum Beispiel auf der Internetseite von Basteln und Gestalten. Oder auf Youtube unter dem Suchbegriff „Schultüte basteln“. 

Ich kann nicht alle Schulsachen selbst kaufen. Wo finde ich Hilfe?

Die vielen neuen Dinge für den Schulstart können viel Geld kosten. Wenn Sie finanzielle Unterstützung vom Sozialamt oder Jobcenter bekommen, zum Beispiel Arbeitslosengeld II, können Sie für den Schulstart Hilfe vom Staat bekommen. Diese Hilfe ist Teil des Bildungs- und Teilhabepakets. Mehr dazu, erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Bildungs- und Teilhabepaket“.

In manchen Kommunen gibt es auch Förderangebote vor Ort. Fragen Sie am besten bei einer Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe nach oder bei der Schule Ihres Kindes. Beratungsstellen in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie im Abschnitt „Wo finde ich Beratung und Unterstützung?“.

Wo finde ich Beratung und Unterstützung?

Beim Jugendmigrationsdienst und der Elternhotline finden Sie Beratung und Unterstützung. Die Mitarbeiter*innen sprechen verschiedene Sprachen. Die Hilfe ist kostenlos.

Weitere Beratungsstellen in Ihrer Nähe finden Sie auf Deutsch auf der Internetseite des Bundesverbandes für Erziehungsfragen e.V.. Dort können Sie auch nach Angeboten in Ihrer Sprache suchen.

Wenn Sie Fragen zu speziellen Familien- und Kinderthemen haben, finden Sie auf Deutsch auf der Internetseite der Deutschen Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Jugend- und Eheberatung e.V. passende Beratungsstellen. Geben Sie dafür den Namen Ihres Wohnortes oder Ihre Postleitzahl in das mittlere Feld ein und wählen Sie das Thema im linken Drop-Down-Menü aus. Sie erhalten dann eine Liste mit den möglichen Beratungsstellen in Ihrer Nähe.

Wichtig

Ob Sie auf dem Land oder in der Stadt wohnen, beim Schulweg Ihres Kindes gibt es ein paar Dinge zu beachten. Die Landesverkehrswacht Nordrhein-Westfalen hat Tipps und Übungen zusammengestellt, wie Ihr Kind sicher in der Schule ankommt.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: