Internship

Update 04.08.2022

How can I find a suitable internship position?

Doing an internship helps you to gain work experience and can considerably improve your job opportunities. In many schools and universities, the students are expected to take part in a compulsory internship during their studies. Here you will learn about your rights as an intern, the benefits of doing an internship, and the crucial issues you need to consider before starting your internship.

What do I need to know?

What is an internship?

introduce you to a professional setting (in a company or organisation) and help you gain initial experience in a field. An internship usually takes place during school or university years or shortly before finding a job.

What types of internship exist?

There are three different types of internship in Germany:  the student internship ("Schülerpraktikum"), the compulsory internship for university students ("Pflichtpraktikum") and the voluntary internship.

Based on the type of school one attends, a student internship ("Schülerpraktikum") is usually completed in the eighth or eleventh grade. Such an internship is often included in the curriculum, which means It is usually mandatory for all students. A student internship usually takes one to two weeks to accomplish and serves to help students in their career orientation.

Compulsory internships ("Pflichtpraktikum") are often included in university programmes. In some specific fields, you have to take part in an internship before you start your university education. The course and duration of a compulsory internship are usually specified in the program's guidelines and regulations. Compulsory internship is meant to facilitate students' professional orientation and help them to start gathering work experience in some fields.

Anyone who wants to gain hands-on experience or familiarise himself with the environment and workflow of a company or organisation can do a voluntary internship there. A voluntary internship usually takes between two weeks to a few months to accomplish.

How can I benefit from an internship?

An internship provides you with the necessary insight into different occupational fields or companies, and thus, can help you choose a better job or establish an initial connection with a specific company. Such a connection may help you in case you decide to apply for a job at the same company. By doing an internship, you also have a better chance of employment in the future, because any potential employer recognises that you have already gained some initial work experience during your internship. If you are currently unemployed, specific types of internship can help you to make your CV more interesting- adding an internship to your CV means you have more comprehensive and diverse work experiences to attract the potential employers.

 

What residence status do I need to start an internship?

You can do a student internship ("Schülerpraktikum") or a compulsory internship (“Pflichtpraktikum”). Whether you are permitted to do a voluntary internship, however, depends on your residence permit. The following applies to refugees:

  • If you have a valid residence permit as a refugee, in principle, you are allowed to do an internship without any restrictions. Recognised refugees and asylum seekers are entitled to full access to the labour market, including internships, for the duration of their residence permit.
  • If you have a tolerated stay permit ("Duldung"), you need to apply for a work permit from the Immigration Office before starting an internship. They review each case separately to decide whether a work permit must be issued or not. In order to obtain the Immigration Office's approval, you must first find an internship position in a company or organisation and then apply for a work permit for that specific position.
  • If your asylum procedure is still ongoing, you need a work permit from the Immigration Office before you can start an internship. You can apply for such a work permit at the Immigration Office three months after the submission of your asylum application (so-called “Sperrzeit ”). In order to obtain their approval, you first need to find an internship position in a company or organisation and then apply for a work permit for that specific position.

Please note: If you have a tolerated stay ("Duldung") or a residence permit, come from a so-called safe country of origin (currently: Serbia, Macedonia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Albania, Ghana, Senegal) and have applied for asylum after 31.08.2015, you will not be granted a work permit. Likewise, people with a tolerated stay ("Duldung") who intend to prevent their deportation by starting an internship or the individuals who are believed to have come to Germany only for financial reasons are not issued work permits and cannot start internships.

What rights am I entitled to as an intern?

In a voluntary internship extending three months, you have the same rights as an employee when it comes to wage, vacation and working hours. In other words, you must receive (at least) the minimum wage, be allowed to take a vacation (two days a month), and should be treated like your employed colleagues in the workplace. You can read more in our chapters “Employment Contract” and “Labour Rights”.For compulsory internships, however, there are no specific pre-existing laws regarding wages and vacations- nevertheless, your working hours must not differ from the usual working hours in the company or organisation.

You are entitled to gain beneficial information and experiences during your internship. So, if all you are doing during your internship is preparing coffee for the team or standing in front of a copy machine, you must speak to your supervisor. If things remain the same, you have the right to cancel your internship contract and search for a better position.

After doing an internship, you are entitled to receive an internship certificate. In this certificate, the company or organisation verifies that you have performed certain activities during your internship period. The company also evaluates your performance and your social skills. When it comes to job hunting, presenting an internship certificate can increase your chances of landing your favourite job.

Can I receive wages during my internship?

Your employer may choose to pay you during a student internship ("Schülerpraktikum") or a compulsory internship ("Pflichtpraktikum"), but he is not obliged to do so. Wages you may receive during a compulsory internship usually does not require you to make social insurance contributions. You can learn more in our chapter “social insurance”.

During a voluntary internship, you usually receive wages. The amount of your monthly income, however, is decided by the company or organisation which has provided you with the internship opportunity. If your internship period extends three months, your wages must not be less than the minimum wage. Furthermore, the company or organisation must then make contributions to your health and pension insurances. If your internship period extends three months and provides you with an income higher than 450€ per month, then you too must make social insurance contributions.

Attention: If your internship extends three months and provides you with an income higher than 450€ per month, you cannot continue to be covered by a family insurance and have to apply for a health insurance scheme independently. You can read more in our chapter “Health Insurance”.

Can I continue to receive financial assistance (BAföG) during an internship?

If you start a compulsory internship before or during your university years, you will be entitled to the financial support designated for students or the BAföG. In case you receive wages which exceed the stipulated income limits for entitlement to the BAföG, you will receive correspondingly less or no BAföG.

If you finish a voluntary internship before graduation, you will not be entitled to the BAföG- but if the voluntary internship takes place during a semester break or as a part-time internship during university semesters, you will still be considered as entitled to the BAföG. However, if your internship produces an income, the amount of money you receive as BAföG will be reduced accordingly. In case you start a voluntary full-time internship during the university semesters or if you take a leave semester to do a voluntary internship, you will lose your entitlement to the BAföG.

How can I find an internship position?

You can find an internship position at the Federal Employment Agency or try various job search engines specifically set up for internships such as www.praktikum.infowww.meinpraktikum.de,  www.praktika.dewww.karriere.unicum.de or www.prabo.de. You can also directly contact companies and organisations and make inquiries regarding the possibility of an internship. In principle, you do not need to have any work experience to apply for an internship- all you need is some enthusiasm and motivation. To learn more about applying process, check the Job hunting and application chapter on our website.

If you have found an internship position, it is recommended to sign an internship contract with the relevant company or organisation. However, an internship contract is not required by law.

Please note: In most companies and organisations, you need to speak German to be able to work. Sometimes speaking English may suffice, but for most internships, it is important that you speak German well. There are many ways to learn German or to improve your proficiency. For more information, please refer to the language chapters on our website.

 

Can I do an internship despite receiving unemployment benefits?

Yes. However, the Employment Agency (or the Jobcentre) must approve your internship position- which often happens when the internship is assumed to lead to a gainful employment subjected to social insurance contributions. If your internship is not paid, you can continue to receive unemployment benefits. If your internship wages exceed € 100 (for unemployment benefit II) or € 165 (for unemployment benefit I), your unemployment benefits will be reduced accordingly.

Important

Internships can be quite beneficial for your future career- but after gaining some experience, you should try to find a job instead of starting another internship. Keep in mind that some companies use interns as a cheap labour force. If you have the same responsibilities as an employed worker, you should ask the company or organisation for a permanent employment contract.

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Praktikum

Aktualisiert 04.08.2022

Wie finde ich einen Praktikumsplatz?

Mit einem Praktikum können Sie erste Berufserfahrungen sammeln und Ihre Jobchancen erhöhen. In vielen Schulen und Universitäten sind Praktika während des Studiums sogar Pflicht. Sie können aber natürlich auch jederzeit freiwillig ein Praktikum absolvieren. Hier erfahren Sie, welche Rechte Sie als Praktikant*in haben, was Sie beachten müssen und warum ein Praktikum nützlich ist.

Was muss ich wissen?

Was ist ein Praktikum?

Ein Praktikum ist eine zeitlich beschränkte praktische Tätigkeit in einem Unternehmen oder einer Organisation, die dazu dient in einen Beruf hinein zu schnuppern und erste Erfahrungen in einer Branche zu sammeln. Ein Praktikum wird meist während der Schulzeit, während des Studiums oder kurz vor dem Berufseinstieg absolviert.

Welche Arten von Praktika gibt es?

Üblicherweise wird zwischen einem Schülerpraktikum, einem Pflichtpraktikum im Studium und einem freiwilligen Praktikum unterschieden.

Ein Schülerpraktikum wird – je nach Schulart – meist zwischen der achten und elften Klasse absolviert. Es ist im Lehrplan festgeschrieben, d.h. es ist üblicherweise nicht freiwillig, sondern muss von allen Schülern absolviert werden. Ein Schülerpraktikum dauert meistens ein bis zwei Wochen und dient der Berufsorientierung.

Ein Pflichtpraktikum während des Studiums ist in vielen Studiengängen vorgeschrieben. Zum Teil muss man dieses sogar schon vor dem Beginn des Studiums absolvieren. Ablauf und Dauer eines Pflichtpraktikums sind in der Studienordnung geregelt. Ein Praktikum während des Studiums dient der Berufsorientierung und dazu erste Berufserfahrungen zu sammeln.

Ein freiwilliges Praktikum kann jeder machen, der Berufserfahrungen sammeln oder ein Unternehmen erstmal kennenlernen will. Ein freiwilliges Praktikum dauert in der Regel zwischen zwei Wochen und einigen Monaten.

Warum ist ein Praktikum nützlich?

Ein Praktikum kann Ihnen Einblicke in verschiedene Berufsfelder oder Unternehmen geben und Ihnen so helfen, sich für einen Beruf zu entscheiden oder wichtige Kontakte zu einem bestimmten Unternehmen zu knüpfen. Das kann Ihnen bei einer späteren Bewerbung bei diesem Unternehmen helfen. Durch ein Praktikum haben Sie aber auch generell bessere Chancen bei zukünftigen Bewerbungen, weil die Arbeitgeber sehen, dass Sie bereits erste Berufserfahrungen sammeln konnten. Wenn Sie aktuell arbeitslos sind, können gezielte Praktika Ihnen auch helfen, Lücken in Ihrem Lebenslauf zu schließen und neue Erfahrungen zu sammeln. Außerdem zeigen Sie Ihre Motivation und Ihren Willen einen Arbeitsplatz finden zu wollen.  

Welchen Aufenthaltsstatus brauche ich für ein Praktikum?

Ein Schülerpraktikum oder Pflichtpraktikum dürfen alle Menschen – unabhängig von ihrem Aufenthaltsstatus – machen. Wenn es sich um ein freiwilliges Praktikum handelt, kommt es auf Ihren Aufenthaltsstatus an. In diesem Fall brauchen Sie einen Aufenthaltstitel, der Ihnen erlaubt zu arbeiten.

Für Geflüchtete gilt folgendes:

  • Haben Sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis als Geflüchtete*r, dann dürfen Sie in der Regel ohne Einschränkungen ein Praktikum machen. Anerkannte Flüchtlinge und Asylberechtigte haben für die Dauer ihrer Aufenthaltserlaubnis uneingeschränkten Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt inklusive Praktika.
  • Haben Sie eine Duldung, brauchen Sie eine Arbeitserlaubnis der Ausländerbehörde. Ob Sie diese Arbeitserlaubnis bekommen, ist eine Einzelfall-Entscheidung. Um die Zustimmung zu bekommen, müssen Sie sich zunächst einen Praktikumsplatz suchen und für diesen konkreten Praktikumsplatz dann eine Arbeitserlaubnis beantragen.
  • Wenn Sie sich noch im Asylverfahren befinden, benötigen Sie eine Arbeitserlaubnis der Ausländerbehörde. Nach der Asylantragstellung gibt es eine Sperrzeit von drei Monaten, danach können Sie sich bei der Ausländerbehörde um diese Arbeitserlaubnis bemühen. Um die Zustimmung zu bekommen, müssen Sie sich zunächst einen Praktikumsplatz suchen und für diesen konkreten Praktikumsplatz dann eine Erlaubnis beantragen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie eine Duldung oder Aufenthaltsgestattung haben und aus einem sogenannten sicheren Herkunftsland sind und nach dem 31.08.2015 einen Asylantrag gestellt haben, bekommen sie keine Arbeitserlaubnis für ein Praktikum. Sichere Herkunftsländer sind aktuell: Serbien, Mazedonien, Bosnien-Herzegowina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Albanien, Ghana, Senegal. Menschen mit Duldung, die ihre eigene Abschiebung verhindern oder denen unterstellt wird, dass sie nur nach Deutschland gekommen sind, um staatliche Leistungen zu erhalten, bekommen ebenfalls keine Arbeitserlaubnis für ein Praktikum

Welche Rechte habe ich als Praktikant*in?

Bei freiwilligen Praktika über drei Monate haben Sie bezüglich Entlohnung, Urlaub und Arbeitszeit dieselben Rechte wie Arbeitnehmer*innen. Das heißt, dass Sie mindestens den Mindestlohn bekommen müssen, zwei Tage pro Monat Urlaub nehmen dürfen und sich Ihre Arbeitszeiten nicht von denen der im Unternehmen angestellten Kolleg*innen unterscheiden dürfen. Mehr dazu finden Sie in unseren Kapiteln "Arbeitsvertrag" und "Arbeitnehmerrechte".

Für Pflichtpraktika gibt es keine gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Regeln bezüglich Entlohnung und Urlaub. Ihre Arbeitszeiten dürfen aber auch während eines Pflichtpraktikums nicht von den im Unternehmen üblichen Arbeitszeiten abweichen.

Außerdem haben Sie das Recht während Ihres Praktikums nützliche Dinge zu lernen. Wenn Sie also ausschließlich Kaffee kochen oder vor dem Kopierer stehen, sollten Sie mit Ihrem Vorgesetzen sprechen. Wenn sich Ihre Aufgaben danach nicht ändern, können Sie Ihr Praktikum natürlich auch abzubrechen bzw. Ihren Praktikumsvertrag kündigen.

Nach Abschluss Ihres Praktikums haben Sie ein Recht auf ein Praktikumszeugnis. In diesem Zeugnis bescheinigt Ihnen Ihr Praktikumsgeber, dass Sie in seinem Unternehmen für eine bestimmte Zeit bestimmte Tätigkeiten verrichtet haben. Außerdem bewertet er Ihre Leistungen und Ihr Sozialverhalten. Ein Praktikumszeugnis ist ein nützliches Dokument für Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen.

Bekomme ich während des Praktikums Geld?

Schüler- und Pflichtpraktika müssen nicht bezahlt werden. Ihr Praktikumsgeber darf Ihnen aber natürlich Lohn bezahlen. Wenn Sie während eines Pflichtpraktikums Lohn bekommen, ist dieser normalerweise sozialversicherungsfrei. Mehr dazu finden Sie in unserem Kapitel "Sozialversicherungen".

Bei einem freiwilligen Praktikum müssen Sie in der Regel bezahlt werden. Wie viel Sie bekommen, ist allerdings die Entscheidung Ihres Praktikumsgebers. Wenn Ihr Praktikum länger als drei Monate dauert, müssen Sie aber mindestens den Mindestlohn bekommen. Außerdem muss Ihr Praktikumsgeber dann auch Beiträge zur Kranken- und Rentenversicherung für Sie bezahlen. Wenn Ihr Praktikum länger als drei Monate dauert und Sie mehr als 450€ pro Monat bekommen, müssen auch Sie selbst entsprechende Beiträge für die Sozialversicherung bezahlen.

Achtung: Wenn Ihr freiwilliges Praktikum länger als drei Monate dauert und Sie mehr als 450€ pro Monat verdienen, können Sie nicht weiter über eine Familienversicherung krankenversichert sein und müssen eine eigene Krankenversicherung abschließen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Krankenversicherung".

Bekomme ich während eines Praktikums weiter BAföG?

Wenn Sie ein Pflichtpraktikum vor oder während des Studiums absolvieren, haben Sie weiterhin Anspruch auf BAföG. Wenn Sie Lohn bekommen und dieser die festgesetzten Einkommensgrenzen für BAföG übersteigt, werden Sie entsprechend weniger oder kein BAföG bekommen.

Wenn Sie ein freiwilliges Praktikum vor dem Studium absolvieren, können Sie kein BAföG bekommen. Wenn Sie ein freiwilliges Praktikum während der Semesterferien oder als Teilzeitpraktikum während der Vorlesungszeit absolvieren, haben Sie weiterhin Anspruch auf BAföG. Ihr Lohn wird aber auch hier als Einkommen angerechnet und Ihr BAföG entsprechend reduziert. Wenn Sie ein freiwilliges Vollzeitpraktikum während der Vorlesungszeit absolvieren oder für ein freiwilliges Praktikum ein Urlaubssemester nehmen, haben Sie in dieser Zeit keinen Anspruch auf BAföG.

Wie finde ich einen Praktikumsplatz?

Sie können bei der Bundesagentur für Arbeit oder bei speziellen Webseiten nur für Praktikumsplätze wie www.praktikum.info, www.meinpraktikum.de,  www.praktika.de, www.karriere.unicum.de oder www.prabo.de nach Praktikumsplätzen suchen. Dort können Sie Stellenanzeigen für Praktika bei verschiedenen Unternehmen finden. Sie können natürlich auch direkt und initiativ Unternehmen und Organisationen anschreiben und nach einem Praktikumsplatz dort fragen.

Für einen Praktikumsplatz müssen Sie in der Regel noch keine Berufserfahrungen vorweisen. Wichtig ist, dass Sie interessiert und motiviert sind. Wie Sie sich am besten bewerben, erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Arbeitssuche und Bewerbung“.

Wenn Sie einen Praktikumsplatz gefunden haben, empfiehlt es sich einen Praktikumsvertrag mit Ihrem Praktikumsgeber abzuschließen. Ein Praktikumsvertrag ist allerdings nicht gesetzlich vorgeschrieben.

Bitte beachten Sie: In den meisten Unternehmen und Organisationen in Deutschland wird Deutsch gesprochen. Manchmal genügt es, wenn Sie Englisch sprechen können. Für die meisten Praktikumsplätze ist es aber wichtig, dass Sie gut Deutsch sprechen. Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten Deutsch zu lernen bzw. Ihr Deutsch zu verbessern. Mehr zu diesem Thema erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Sprache“.

 

Darf ich trotz Jobcenter ein Praktikum machen?

Ja. Allerdings müssen die Arbeitsagentur bzw. das Jobcenter zustimmen. Das wird in der Regel dann getan, wenn davon ausgegangen wird, dass das Praktikum zu einer sozialversicherungspflichtigen Anstellung führt. Wenn Ihr Praktikum nicht bezahlt wird, können Sie auch weiter Arbeitslosengeld bekommen. Wenn Ihr Praktikum mit mehr als 100€ (bei Arbeitslosengeld II) bzw. mehr als 165€ (bei Arbeitslosengeld I) bezahlt wird, wird Ihr Einkommen auf Ihr Arbeitslosengeld angerechnet und Ihr Arbeitslosengeld entsprechend reduziert.

Wichtig

Praktika sind sehr nützlich. Nachdem Sie einige Erfahrungen sammeln konnten, sollten Sie aber versuchen einen Arbeitsplatz zu finden statt weitere Praktika zu absolvieren. Einige Unternehmen nutzen Praktikanten als günstige Arbeitskräfte. Wenn Sie die gleichen Aufgaben wie ein*e Angestellte*r erledigen, sollten Sie Ihren Praktikumsgeber nach einem festen Arbeitsvertrag fragen.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: