Residence Permits for Individuals with "Duldung"

From tolerated stay to an actual residence permit

Many people live in Germany with "Duldung" for years. But those with "Duldung" who meet specific requirements can also obtain a residence permit. If you do not meet all the conditions, you can seek advice from a counselling centre, for instance, the Refugee Council in your state.

Please note: Since August 1, 2019, there is a new type of "Duldung" for those whose identity cannot be verified. If you do not have any identity documents (from your country), you will probably be issued this new type of "Duldung" according to §60b Residence Act. If so, the regulations specified below do not apply to you.

What options do I have?

Residence permit for humanitarian reasons

Residence permit for well-integrated adults

Residence permit for well-integrated youth and adolescent

Residence permit for qualified individuals with a "Duldung"

Where and how can I apply for a residence permit?

Important

There are various ways of obtaining a residence permit for those who have "Duldung". Seek advice from a counselling centre to learn more about your options. The Pro Asyl and the Refugee Council in your state, for instance, can provide you with more information.

Bleiberecht für Geduldete

Wege aus der Duldung

Viele Menschen leben jahrelang mit einer Duldung in Deutschland. Es gibt aber auch Möglichkeiten für Geduldete eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis zu bekommen. Dazu müssen Sie bestimmte Voraussetzungen erfüllen. Wenn Sie nicht alle Voraussetzungen erfüllen, lassen Sie sich von einer Beratungsstelle beraten. Hilfe finden Sie zum Beispiel beim Flüchtlingsrat in Ihrem Bundesland.

Bitte beachten Sie: Seit dem 1.August 2019 gibt es eine neue Art der Duldung für Personen mit ungeklärter Identität. Wenn Sie keine Ausweispapiere aus Ihrem Land haben, werden Sie vermutlich diese neue Art der Duldung nach §60b AufenthG bekommen. Für Personen mit dieser Duldung gelten die unten genannten Bleiberechtsregelungen nicht.

Welche Möglichkeiten habe ich?

Aufenthaltserlaubnis aus humanitären Gründen

Aufenthaltserlaubnis für gut integrierte Erwachsene

Aufenthaltserlaubnis für gut integrierte Jugendliche und Heranwachsende

Aufenthaltserlaubnis für qualifizierte Geduldete

Wo und wie kann ich die Aufenthaltserlaubnis beantragen?

Wichtig

Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten mit einer Duldung eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis zu bekommen. Lassen Sie sich dazu von einer Beratungsstelle beraten. Beratungsstellen finden Sie zum Beispiel auf der Website von Pro Asyl oder dem Flüchtlingsrat Ihres Bundeslandes.

Aus Gründen der Lesbarkeit wurde im Text die männliche Form gewählt. Dennoch beziehen sich die Angaben auf Angehörige aller Geschlechter.