Blue Passport

What is a "Blue Passport"?

The Refugee Travel Document is a substitute for the passport of the state from which you have fled, in other words, where you previously had your legal residence. In Article 28 of the Geneva Convention on Refugees, all Contracting States are obliged to issue a travel document for recognised refugees. That is why this travel document is called the Convention Passport. In Germany, many call it a Blue Passport („Blauer Pass”) because of its colour, but it is not blue in all the countries which joined the convention. The blue passport should not be confused with the EU "Blue Card" or the dark blue diplomatic passport. You will receive the Blue Passport if the BAMF has recognised your right to asylum or refugee status.

If you do not hold a passport issued by your home country and you are entitled to subsidiary protection or a national deportation ban applies to you, then you must ask for a passport at your home country's embassy. If the embassy does not issue you a passport, you can apply for a Travel Permit for Foreigners („Reiseausweis für Ausländer“) at the relevant Immigration Office („Ausländerbehörde”). You can learn more about it in our chapter “Traveling Abroad”.  

Please note: If you have been granted subsidiary protection or have a residence permit due to a national deportation ban but are appealing the BAMF's decision to obtain refugee status, you must not visit your home country's embassy. If you do so, the BAMF assumes that you are not being persecuted in your home country.

What do I need to know?

Who is entitled to a Blue Passport?

Which countries can I travel to with my Blue Passport?

Which countries can I travel to visa-free?

Where and how can I get a Blue Passport?

What is an e-Pass?

How long is my Blue Passport valid for?

I have lost my passport

I have changed my place of residence- what should I do?

Is the Blue Passport the same as EU Blue Card?

Important

After your right to asylum or refugee status has been recognized by BAMF, you will receive a "Blue Passport". After that, you are not permitted to obtain a passport from your country's embassy or travel to your homeland; otherwise, you will lose your protection status and residence rights in Germany.

Blauer Pass

Wohin kann ich reisen?

blauer Pass Deutschland

Der Reiseausweis für Flüchtlinge ist ein Ersatz für den Reisepass des Staates, aus dem Sie geflohen sind und in dem Sie vorher Ihren rechtmäßigen Aufenthalt hatten. In Artikel 28 der Genfer Flüchtlingskonvention (GFK) verpflichten sich alle vertragsschließenden Staaten geflüchteten Menschen einen Reiseausweis auszustellen. Deshalb wird er auch Konventionspass genannt. In Deutschland nennen ihn viele wegen seiner Farbe „Blauer Pass“, aber er ist nicht in allen vertragsschließenden Staaten blau. Der blaue Pass hat nichts mit der blauen Karte EU („Blue Card”) oder dem dunkelblauen Diplomatenpass zu tun. Sie bekommen den Blauen Pass, wenn das BAMF Sie als asylberechtigt oder Flüchtling anerkannt hat.

Wenn Sie keinen Pass aus Ihrem Heimatland haben und Sie subsidiär schutzberechtigt sind oder ein nationales Abschiebeverbot für Sie gilt, müssen Sie einen Pass bei Ihrer Heimatbotschaft beantragen. Wenn Ihre Botschaft Ihnen keinen Pass ausstellt, können Sie bei der Ausländerbehörde einen Reiseausweis für Ausländer beantragen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Ins Ausland reisen“.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie subsidiär schutzberechtigt sind oder Sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis aufgrund eines nationalen Abschiebungsverbots bekommen haben und gegen die Entscheidung des BAMF klagen, um die Anerkennung als Flüchtling zu bekommen, sollten Sie nicht zu Ihrer Heimatbotschaft gehen. Das BAMF könnte den Botschaftsbesuch als Beweis werten, dass Sie in Ihrem Heimatland nicht verfolgt werden.

Was muss ich wissen?

Wer bekommt einen Reiseausweis für Flüchtlinge?

Wohin kann ich mit dem Reiseausweis reisen?

In welche Länder kann ich ohne Visum reisen?

Wo und wie bekomme ich einen Reiseausweis?

Was ist ein eReiseausweis?

Wie lange ist mein Reiseausweis gültig?

Ich habe meinen Reiseausweis verloren

Ich habe meinen Wohnsitz geändert, was muss ich tun?

Sind der blaue Pass und die blaue Karte EU das Gleiche?

Wichtig

Wenn das BAMF Sie als asylberechtigt oder als Flüchtling anerkennt, bekommen Sie einen „blauen Pass“. Sie dürfen dann keinen Pass bei Ihrer Botschaft beantragen oder in Ihr Heimatland reisen, sonst wird ihr Schutzstatus widerrufen und Sie verlieren Ihr Aufenthaltsrecht für Deutschland.