Searching for a Flat

Update 26.07.2022

How can I find a flat in Germany?

Housing expenses have been rising sharply in Germany in recent years, and living space is becoming increasingly scarce, particularly in larger cities. The situation is better in smaller cities or rural areas, but finding an affordable flat may be a challenge even outside the large cities. The tips and information which follows will facilitate your flat-hunting, and considering them can lead to a better result.

What do I need to know?

Which documents are necessary for renting a flat?

Landlords usually require various documents from people who apply for a flat. Without these documents, in principle, you do not have any chance of finding a flat. The following documents are usually required:

  • Tenant's personal information ("Mieterselbstauskunft"), including your name, your contact details (phone number and e-mail), your job title, your current address, etc. Many landlords and property management companies have their own specific personal information forms, which is usually distributed before or during the flat viewing. The applicants usually fill out the form on site and give it back to the company's agent. You can find a sample personal information form ("Mieterselbstauskunft") on www.wohnungsboerse.net.
  • A copy of your Schufa credit report. You can learn more about this report in our chapter "Schufa".
  • Proof(s) of income from the last three months (for employees) or your most recent tax assessment (for the self-employed). If you receive support from the Social Welfare Office or Jobcentre, you also need a copy of the respective office's confirmation that they will cover the rental costs. You can obtain this confirmation from the staff member responsible for you at the Social Welfare Office or the Job Centre.
  • Proof of Rent Payment Certificate ("Mietschuldenfreiheitsbescheinigung"). On this certificate, your current landlord confirms that you have always paid your rent and there are no arrears to be paid. If you are still living in a refugee accommodation centre, the centre management or the staff responsible for you in the relevant Office can prepare you a Rent Payment Certificate.
  • A copy of your passport and residence documents.
  • If applicable, a copy of your WBS; i.e. a document certifying your eligibility for rent subsidised housing. You can find out more in this regard in our chapter "WBS".

You must prepare these documents both in print in a folder and as a PDF file to be sent by e-mail. Some landlords expect the documents to be handed directly during the flat viewing - others may ask you to submit your papers by e-mail. In the latter case, send the necessary documents to the specified address as quickly as possible, as landlords usually prefer to pick the first tenant who meets the requirements.

Tip: You can increase your chances by adding a cover letter to your application- in this letter you can briefly introduce yourself and your family, explain your life situation in Germany and describe your plans for the future (e.g. you will soon start vocational training or a university degree). If you do not speak German well enough yet, it is advisable to give the contact details of a German-speaking friend for further pre-contractual communication. Many landlords are concerned that they may not be able to communicate with their non-German tenants in case of a problem; that is why a German-speaking friend or acquaintance can be quite helpful.

Where should I search?

Some newspapers and magazines still publish housing ads, but internet ads exceed them in number by far, so the best place to start your search is online.

On housing websites, you can specify the rent range, location and other features of the flat you are searching for and then go through the details of your search result one by one. Many websites also offer you the opportunity to set up an alarm, by which the website would automatically send you a message anytime an apartment matching your search terms is added to their database. On websites like eBay KleinanzeigenImmobilienscout24 and Immonet, you can find numerous ads and search for what suits your needs. If you are looking for a room in a shared flat, WG-gesucht is one of the websites you can check. When you are looking for a room in a shared flat, it is worthwhile to take a look at the pin boards in the universities and search local Facebook groups for a suitable room. Alternatively, you can post what you are searching for on these platforms, so others can find you.

Online ads often include images of the place and all necessary information, including rent, utility costs, the date you can move in, and the preferred channels of communication with the landlord. In principle, the landlords expect the applicants to send them a message via the housing website or an email. Write a few short sentences about yourself in this email or message and ask for a flat viewing appointment (“Besichtigungstermin”). You must read the description in each posting carefully and contact the landlord for further questions. Some landlords publish their phone number in the ad, and some prefer communication through message and email. Keep in mind that you should be quick to react when you find a place that fits your needs, as a suitable tenant is often selected pretty fast and the ad vanishes from the internet in no time.

Who can help me with the flat hunting?

In some cities, there are organisations which provide help for individuals who are searching for a flat. Counselling centres for Adult Migrants as well as the Youth Migration Service in your area can give you the addresses of meeting places and clubs nearby. Friends and acquaintances can be of great help - ask them if they can help you in your search. They may know someone who is renting a flat or looking for a new tenant who can substitute for them. The more people know about your search, the higher your chances of ending up with a nice flat.

You can also hire a broker to find you a flat, but make sure you choose a reliable one. You must only pay a broker if you have successfully signed a contract for the flat he has found. A broker usually charges you the equal amount of two rents plus the VAT (“Mehrwertsteuer”) for their service.

How can I protect myself against scammers and fictitious apartment ads?

As the number of people in looking for flats is constantly on the rise, many are in urgent need of a flat- and this is a situation the fraudsters misuse to benefit. That is why you should be cautious during your search, mainly when an opportunity seems “too good to be true”, in particular, when a flat is too cheap or in cases where the other party demands you to transfer the money beforehand and promises to send you the keys later.  The same is the case when you are asked to pay the deposit in cash on the flat viewing day. Important: Remember, you should never pay before signing an actual rental contract and receiving the keys to the flat.

If you have decided to hire a property management agents to find you a flat, make sure you never pay unless the amount of your payment and its purpose is explicitly clarified in a written agreement. The payment should take place when they have successfully found you a flat. Make sure the property management agent you have found is legitimate - some fraudsters would introduce themselves as a property management agent, take your money but cut contact afterwards.

Where can I get support for my monthly rent when I do not have any income?

If you receive financial support from the Social Welfare Office or Job Centre, you have to notify them before you start looking for a flat. The Social Welfare Office and Job Centre cover the rental costs up to a certain amount and only if certain conditions are met. So in the first step, you must ask your administrative assistant to endorse your flat-hunting by a written confirmation.

Your administrative assistant can also tell you how high the rent may be and what other conditions there are to fulfil. The permitted amount of rental costs vary from city to city and depends on several factors, including the type of heating and the size of the building. The flat you find must not exceed the designated size range.  Also, keep in mind that the Social Welfare Office and the Job Centre usually reject fixed-term rental offers as well as rental offers with graduated rent. Make sure you inquire about the conditions that apply to you before starting the search.

Once you have the agreement of a landlord, ask them to issue you a rental offer ("Mietangebot ). On this rental offer, all pertinent information regarding the flat as well as the phone number of the landlord must be specified. Many offices have specific rental offer forms that you can hand over to the landlord to fill out - you can ask your administrative assistant for such a form. After your potential landlord handed you the filled rental offer, you have to take this document to your administrative assistant as soon as possible, so that he or she can check the rental offer and confirm that they will take over the rental costs. After receiving the written confirmation of the reimbursement ("Bestätigung der Kostenübernahme"), you can officially sign the rental contract with your landlord.

What is social housing?

If you earn little or no money, you are entitled to social housing. Social housing refers to flats which are cheaper than others because the state subsidises them. To rent such a flat, you need a certificate of eligibility for subsidised rental housing ("Wohnberechtigungsschein" or WBS) from the competent office in the city or town you live. The WBS proves that your income is below a certain limit. You must show the WBS to your potential landlord during the flat viewing session.

You can find more detailed information in our chapter WBS.

I want to live in a WG (“Wohngemeinschaft”)

In a "Wohngemeinschaft" or WG, several persons share a flat. In most WGs everyone has their own room, but the bathroom and kitchen are shared. Finding a room in a shared flat usually is somewhat easier than finding your own flat, because you do not have to convince a landlord, but only the member(s) of the flat share. Furthermore, a room is cheaper than a whole flat.

If you receive financial support from the Job Centre or Social Welfare Office, you will need to submit to the Office both your sublease agreement and the primary tenant's rental contract. Many administrative assistants also want to see a confirmation from the landlord which proves the primary tenant is allowed to sublet the room.

How can I increase my chances of success during the flat viewing session?
  • Be punctual!
  • Choose the right outfit for the day.
  • Treat other interested people respectfully.
  • If there is a large group of applicants, try to directly talk to the landlord and make a good impression. Inquire, for example about the nearest school or express how much you like the flowers in the backyard. Try not to bring up tricky topics such as renovation work.
  • Prepare your folder with all the necessary documents beforehand.
What should I consider when signing the rental contract?
  • Read the contract carefully before signing it. If you cannot speak German very well yet, ask a friend who is more proficient to accompany you and read you the contract.
  • When the flat is handed over to you, have all the already existing issues and damages documented by taking photos. Otherwise, you will be held responsible for any problem or damage in the flat when you move out.
  • Usually, you will be required to pay a security deposit directly after signing the contract. The landlord may demand a maximum of three months' rent as deposit, which you may pay in three monthly instalments. If you do not cause any damage to the flat, your landlord must repay you the deposit (with interest) when you move out at the end of your contract.
What should I do after signing the contract?
  • It is necessary to register your new place of residence as soon as you move in. To do so, contact the registration authorities (“Bürgeramt” or “Einwohnermeldeamt”) nearby. You can learn more about the process in our “Registration” chapter. In some cities, presenting the contract is sufficient - in others, you will need to provide a so-called "Confirmation of Residence" or "Wohnungsgeberbescheinigung" in which the landlord confirms you have moved in.
  • Notify the Immigration Office of your new address as soon as possible. If your asylum procedure is still ongoing, you must also immediately notify the BAMF of your new address, otherwise, you may miss some critical letters.
  • Inform all other authorities you are dealing with (e.g. the Job Centre, Social Welfare Office and Tax Office), your bank and your insurance company about your new address.
  • To make sure that you do not miss any letters, you can send a forwarding order to Deutsche Post and Pin Mail AG for a certain period of time. Keep in mind that you have to pay for this service.
  • You must register with an electricity supplier company. In principle, the electricity is not included in the total rent ("Warmmiete"), so you have to pay for it separately. When you register, the electricity company will ask you for the flat's current power meter reading. You can find this digit on the handover protocol which you have received from the landlord or property manager agent at the start of your rental contract. Read more about this topic in our chapter "Housing".
  • Each household is obliged to make contributions to the German public broadcasting. After you register your new place of residence, you will automatically receive a letter from the Department of Contributions at the German public broadcasting concerning your monthly contributions. You can read more in this regard in our chapter "Licence Fee for Public Broadcasting".

When it comes to housing for asylum seekers, recognised refugees, asylum seekers and persons with subsidiary protection, a national ban on deportation or a tolerated stay ("Duldung"), some special rules and regulations apply. As a member of one of the groups mentioned above, you can only move to an apartment or another city after a certain period, and in some cases, you are not allowed to do so at all. Here you learn about the rules and regulations which apply to your housing situation based on the type of residence status you have.

What should I consider regarding housing as a refugee?

Can I move to an apartment?

Whether you can move (from shared facilities) to a flat depends on your residence status.

  • I have been recognized as an individual entitled to asylum, refugee protection or subsidiary protection: You have the right to move in to a private flat.
  • I am an asylum seeker: Whether you are allowed to move to a flat as an asylum seeker depends on your country of origin, the period you have already been in Germany and the local regulations in your federal state of residence. In principle, asylum seekers must live in an initial reception centre between (at least) six weeks to a maximum of 24 months, i.e. during this period, you are not permitted to move into a flat. Please note: Asylum seekers from the so-called "safe countries of origin" must live in the initial reception centres for the entire duration of their asylum procedure or, in case of rejection, until their departure or deportation from Germany. You can learn more in our chapter “Safe Countries of Origin”.
  • I have a tolerated stay permit ("Duldung"): In principle, an individual with a tolerated stay ("Duldung") is not allowed to move to a flat and should live in shared accommodations provided by the state. This general rule is also specified on your tolerated stay document ("Duldung") as a requirement. In some districts, however, there are only few places available in accommodation centres. In this case, either the officials will permit you to search for a flat, or they will allocate you one. If you are obliged to live in a shared accommodation facility, you can try and apply for an exemption from this requirement at the Immigration Office. Furthermore, you must apply to the Social Welfare Office so that they take over your rental costs. The authorities may accept your request, but they may also refuse it. In general, your chances are rather low if you do not have valid reasons for the exemption, e.g. mental or physical illnesses. You can seek advice from a counselling centre or a lawyer in advance. For instance, you can find help at Pro Asyl. Their staff speak German and English and can be reached at +49 (0) 69-242 314 20 and proasyl@proasyl.de.

Please note: If you earn your income through your own work and live in a shared accommodation facility, you may be demanded to pay a high rent for your spot from your wages.

 

Can I move to another city?

Whether you can move to another city or municipality depends on your residence status:

  • The asylum seekers, recognised refugees and individuals entitled to subsidiary protection who receive social benefits from the Social Welfare Office or Job Center, usually have to reside in the federal state in which they have gone through their asylum procedure for three years. The federal states can also introduce additional regulations which require you, for instance, to remain in the district in which you were residing during your asylum procedure. These residence regulations (“Wohnsitzzuweisung”), however, are disputed. If you have valid reasons for moving to another district, you can submit an "application for cancellation of the residence assignment" („Antrag auf Aufhebung der Wohnsitzzuweisung“) per §12a (5) sentence 2c Residence Act to the Immigration Office currently responsible for you and the Immigration Office in your destination city. Ask for advice from a counselling centre nearby in advance. You can, for instance,  seek help from Pro Asyl. Their staff speak German and English and are accessible at +49 (0) 69-242 314 20 and proasyl@proasyl.de.
  • Asylum seekers and those with a tolerated stay permit (i.e. "Duldung") usually have to stay in the district to which they have been distributed at the very beginning (when applying for asylum). You can only move when you earn a living through your own work and do not depend on social benefits from the state. . Those who rely on financial support from the Social Welfare Office have a slimmer chance of being permitted to move to another district or city. In principle, the Immigration Office will agree with your move out if, for instance, you are very ill and cannot find a specialised doctor in your town, or in case you need to look after a sick family member in another city. You have to justify your reasons by proper attestations. Seek advice from a counselling centre or a lawyer in advance. You can, for instance, reach out to Pro Asyl for support. Their staff speak German and English and can be reached at +49 (0) 69-242 314 20 and proasyl@proasyl.de.

 

Important

Never pay before signing a contract. If you do not fully understand the contract in German, ask a friend to explain it to you. Make sure that you agree to all terms and conditions specified before putting your signature under any document.

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Wohnungssuche

Aktualisiert 26.07.2022

Wie finde ich eine Wohnung in Deutschland?

Vor allem in großen deutschen Städten wird das Wohnen immer teurer. Die Miet- und Immobilienpreise steigen und der Wohnraum wird knapp. In kleineren Städten oder ländlichen Gebieten ist die Situation zwar besser, aber möglicherweise haben Sie trotzdem Probleme eine bezahlbare Wohnung zu finden. Um Ihnen bei der Suche nach einem passenden Zuhause zu helfen, haben wir hier ein paar Tipps und Informationen für Sie gesammelt.

Was muss ich wissen?

Welche Unterlagen brauche ich für die Wohnungssuche?

Vermieter verlangen in der Regel viele Unterlagen von Personen, die sich für eine Wohnung bewerben. Ohne diese Unterlagen haben Sie meist so gut wie keine Chance eine Wohnung zu bekommen. In der Regel benötigen Sie die folgenden Unterlagen:

  • Eine Mieterselbstauskunft mit Ihrem Namen, Ihren Kontaktdaten (Telefon und E-Mail) und weiteren Angaben wie Ihren Beruf, Ihrer aktuellen Adresse, etc. Viele Vermieter und Hausverwaltungen haben eigene Vorlagen, die sie vor oder bei der Besichtigung verteilen und die Sie in der Regel direkt vor Ort ausfüllen und dem Vermieter geben sollten. Hier finden Sie ein allgemeines Muster für eine Selbstauskunft.
  • Eine Kopie Ihrer Schufa-Auskunft. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel Schufa.
  • Eine Kopie Ihrer Einkommensnachweise der letzten drei Monate (bei Arbeitnehmer*innen) oder des letzten Steuerbescheids (bei Selbständigen). Wenn Sie finanzielle Unterstützung vom Sozialamt oder Jobcenter bekommen, brauchen Sie stattdessen eine Kopie der Bestätigung des Amtes, dass die Mietkosten vom Amt übernommen werden. Diese Bestätigung bekommen Sie von Ihren Sachbearbeiter*innen im Sozialamt oder Jobcenter.
  • Eine Kopie Ihrer Mietschuldenfreiheitsbescheinigung. Auf der Mietschuldenfreiheitsbescheinigung bestätigt Ihr aktueller Vermieter, dass Sie Ihre Miete immer bezahlt haben. Wenn Sie noch in einer Unterkunft wohnen, können Ihnen die Heimleitung oder die Sachbearbeiter*innen im Amt eine Mietschuldenfreiheitsbescheinigung ausstellen.
  • Eine Kopie Ihres Passes und Aufenthaltspapiers.
  • Gegebenenfalls eine Kopie Ihres Wohnberechtigungsscheins. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel WBS.

Sie sollten diese Unterlagen sowohl ausgedruckt in einer Mappe als auch als PDF für den Versand via E-Mail immer parat haben. Einige Vermieter möchten die Unterlagen direkt bei der Besichtigung, andere werden Sie bitten, die Unterlagen anschließend per E-Mail zu schicken. Schicken Sie die gewünschten Unterlagen in diesem Fall so schnell wie möglich an die genannte Adresse, da sich Vermieter in der Regel schnell für einen Mieter entscheiden.

Tipp: Sie können Ihre Chancen zusätzlich erhöhen, wenn Sie Ihrer Bewerbungsmappe ein Anschreiben hinzufügen, in dem Sie sich und Ihre Familie sowie Ihre Situation in Deutschland kurz vorstellen und Ihre Pläne für die Zukunft beschreiben (z.B. dass Sie bald eine Ausbildung oder ein Studium beginnen). Wenn Sie selbst noch nicht so gut Deutsch sprechen und deutschsprechende Freunde haben, ist es außerdem ratsam, zusätzlich die Kontaktdaten eines deutschsprechenden Unterstützers anzugeben. Viele Vermieter haben Angst, dass Sie sich bei Problemen nicht mit ihren nichtdeutschsprechenden Mietern verständigen können. Ein*e deutschsprechende*r Unterstützer*in kann also sehr hilfreich sein.

Wo soll ich suchen?

Viele Zeitungen und Magazine veröffentlichen Wohnungsanzeigen, aber natürlich finden Sie weitaus mehr Anzeigen im Internet. Beginnen Sie also am besten online mit Ihrer Suche.

Es gibt viele Websites für Wohnungen, auf denen Sie Ihre Suche nach Mietkosten, Ort und anderen Kriterien filtern können. Die Ergebnisse Ihrer Suche können Sie dann einzeln und detaillierter ansehen. Viele Internetseiten bieten auch die Möglichkeit einen Alarm einzurichten: Sie erhalten dann eine Nachricht an Ihre Email-Adresse, sobald eine neue Wohnungsanzeige nach Ihren Suchkriterien online gestellt wird. Auf Seiten wie eBay Kleinanzeigen, Immobilienscout24 und Immonet, können Sie viele Anzeigen finden und nach Ihren Kriterien durchsuchen. Wenn sie nach einem Zimmer in einer Wohngemeinschaft (WG) suchen, ist WG-gesucht eine mögliche Suchseite. Vor allem bei der Suche nach einem WG-Zimmer kann es sich auch lohnen auf Schwarzen Brettern in den Universitäten und in verschiedenen lokalen facebook-Gruppen nach einem passenden Zimmer zu suchen oder einen eigenen Aufruf zu starten. 

In Online-Anzeigen finden Sie meist Bilder der Wohnung und alle notwendigen Informationen zu den Mietkosten, den Nebenkosten, dem möglichen Einzugsdatum und wie Sie den Vermieter kontaktieren sollen. In der Regel bevorzugen Vermieter eine E-Mail oder eine Nachricht über die Website. Schreiben Sie in dieser Nachricht auch einige Sätze über sich selbst und bitten Sie höflich um einen Besichtigungstermin. Reagieren Sie schnell, wenn Sie etwas Passendes gefunden haben. Geeignete Mieter werden schnell ausgewählt und die Anzeige verschwindet sofort wieder.

Wer kann mir bei der Wohnungssuche helfen?

In einigen Städten gibt es Organisationen, die Sie bei der Wohnungssuche unterstützen. Fragen Sie bei Nachbarschaftstreffs oder Vereinen nach Hilfe. Eine Migrationsberatung für Erwachsene oder ein Jugendmigrationsdienst in Ihrer Nähe kann Ihnen eventuell Adressen von Treffs und Vereinen nennen. Fragen Sie auch Freund*innen und Bekannte, ob Sie Ihnen helfen können oder ob Sie jemanden kennen, der eine Wohnung vermietet oder eine*n Nachmieter*in für eine Wohnung sucht. Umso mehr Leute von Ihrer Suche wissen, desto besser.

Sie können auch eine*n Makler*in beauftragen für Sie eine Wohnung zu finden. Achten Sie aber darauf, nur seriösen Makler*innen zu engagieren. Sie sollten erst bezahlen, wenn sie eine Wohnung für Sie gefunden haben und Sie den Mietvertrag unterschrieben haben. Makler*innen verlangt üblicherweise zwei Kaltmieten plus Mehrwertsteuer für die erfolgreiche Vermittlung einer Wohnung.

Wie kann ich mich vor Betrügern schützen?

Viele Leute suchen verzweifelt nach Wohnungen und sind bereit viel zu geben, um endlich an eine Wohnung zu kommen. Diese Situation wird von Betrüger*innen ausgenutzt. Deswegen sollten Sie bei Ihrer Suche vorsichtig sein. Insbesondere wenn eine Wohnung viel zu günstig ist oder Sie aufgefordert werden vorab Geld online zu überweisen und Ihnen die Schlüssel anschließend zugeschickt werden sollen. Oder wenn Sie aufgefordert werden, die Kaution direkt bei der Besichtigung in bar zu bezahlen. Wichtig: Zahlen Sie niemals Geld, bevor Sie den Mietvertrag unterschrieben haben.

Wenn Sie eine*n Makler*in engagieren, legen Sie die Höhe der Provision und den Zweck schriftlich fest. Zahlen Sie nichts, bevor beide Seiten diese Abmachung unterschrieben haben. Makler*innen müssen Sie erst bezahlen, wenn sie eine passende Wohnung für Sie gefunden haben. Auch hier gibt es viele Betrüger*innen, die sich als Makler*innen ausgeben, Ihr Geld nehmen und sich dann nie wieder bei Ihnen melden.

Wer bezahlt die Miete, wenn ich kein eigenes Einkommen habe?

Wenn Sie finanzielle Unterstützung vom Sozialamt oder Jobcenter bekommen, müssen Sie diese Frage unbedingt noch vor der Wohnungssuche klären. Das Sozialamt oder Jobcenter übernimmt die Mietkosten nur bis zu einer bestimmten Höhe und nur, wenn bestimmte Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind. Holen Sie sich zunächst eine schriftliche Bestätigung Ihrer Sachbearbeiter*innen, dass Sie sich eine eigene Wohnung suchen dürfen. Ihre Sachbearbeiter*innen können Ihnen auch mitteilen, wie hoch die Miete sein darf und welche Voraussetzungen die Wohnung sonst noch erfüllen muss. Die erlaubte Höhe der Mietkosten ist von Stadt zu Stadt unterschiedlich und hängt von verschiedenen Faktoren, wie der Art der Heizung und der Größe des Gebäudes ab. Außerdem muss die Wohnung einerseits eine bestimmte Größe haben und darf andererseits auch eine bestimmte Größe nicht überschreiten. Viele Ämter lehnen außerdem befristete Mietangebote sowie Mietangebote mit Staffelmiete grundsätzlich ab. Erkundigen Sie sich darum unbedingt vor Beginn Ihrer Suche nach den für Sie geltenden Bedingungen.

Sobald Sie eine Zusage eines Vermieters haben, bitten Sie diesen, Ihnen ein Mietangebot auszustellen. Auf diesem Mietangebot müssen alle für das Amt relevanten Daten über die Wohnung sowie die Telefonnummer des Vermieters zu finden sein. Viele Ämter haben dafür auch Formulare, die Sie dem Vermieter geben können. Fragen Sie Ihre Sachbearbeiter*innen nach einem Formular. Mit dem vom Vermieter ausgefüllten Mietangebot müssen Sie so schnell wie möglich zu Ihren Sachbearbeiter*innen gehen, damit diese das Mietangebot prüfen und Ihnen bzw. Ihrem Vermieter die Kostenübernahme zusichern können. Mit der schriftlichen Bestätigung der Kostenübernahme gehen Sie wieder zum Vermieter und können dort dann den Mietvertrag unterschreiben.

Was sind Sozialwohnungen?

Wenn Sie wenig oder gar kein Geld verdienen, haben Sie das Recht eine Sozialwohnung zu mieten. Diese Wohnungen sind günstiger als andere, da sie vom Staat gefördert werden. Um eine solche Wohnung zu mieten, brauchen Sie einen Wohnberechtigungsschein (WBS) von der Stadt oder der Gemeinde, in der Sie leben. Der WBS beweist, dass Ihr Einkommen unter einer bestimmten Grenze liegt. Den WBS müssen Sie dem Vermieter bei der Besichtigung zeigen. Mehr zum Thema WBS erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "WBS".

Ich möchte in einer WG wohnen

In einer WG (Wohngemeinschaft) teilen Sie sich eine Wohnung mit anderen Personen. Jeder hat sein eigenes Zimmer, aber Bad und Küche werden gemeinsam genutzt. Die Suche nach einem WG-Zimmer ist in der Regel etwas einfacher als die Suche nach einer eigenen Wohnung, da sie nicht den Vermieter, sondern nur die Bewohner*innen der WG von sich überzeugen müssen. Außerdem ist ein Zimmer billiger als eine ganze Wohnung.

Wenn Sie finanzielle Unterstützung vom Jobcenter oder Sozialamt bekommen, müssen Sie dem Amt sowohl Ihren Untermietvertrag als auch den Hauptmietvertrag der Hauptmieter*innen vorlegen. Viele Sachbearbeiter*innen wollen außerdem auch eine Bestätigung des Vermieters sehen, dass der Hauptmieter Zimmer untervermieten darf.

Wie kann ich meine Chancen bei der Wohnungsbesichtigung erhöhen?
  • Seien Sie pünktlich zum verabredeten Termin vor Ort.
  • Kleiden Sie sich seriös.
  • Verhalten Sie sich auch gegenüber anderen Interessenten höflich.
  • Versuchen Sie auch bei großem Andrang direkt mit dem Vermieter zu sprechen und einen guten Eindruck bei ihm zu hinterlassen. Erkundigen Sie sich z.B. nach der nächsten Schule oder betonen Sie, wie sehr Ihnen die Blumen im Hinterhof gefallen. Sprechen Sie aber keine unangenehmen Themen wie z.B. Renovierungsarbeiten an.
  • Halten Sie Ihre Mappe mit allen Unterlagen bereit.
Was muss ich bei der Unterzeichnung des Mietvertrags beachten?
  • Lesen Sie den Mietvertrag genau durch, bevor Sie ihn unterschreiben. Wenn Sie selbst noch nicht so gut Deutsch können, nehmen Sie eine Person mit, die den Mietvertrag für Sie durchlesen kann.
  • Lassen Sie bei der Übergabe der Wohnung alle Schäden in der Wohnung genau dokumentieren und machen Sie Fotos davon. Andernfalls werden Sie bei einem späteren Auszug für diese Schäden verantwortlich gemacht.
  • In der Regel müssen sie direkt nach der Unterzeichnung des Mietvertrags eine Kaution für die Wohnung bezahlen. Für die Kaution darf der Vermieter höchstens drei Kaltmieten verlangen, die Sie in drei monatlichen Raten bezahlen dürfen. Wenn Sie keine Kosten durch Schäden in der Wohnung verursachen, muss Ihr Vermieter bei Ihrem Auszug die Kaution (mit Zinsen) an Sie zurückzahlen.
Was muss ich nach der Unterzeichnung des Mietvertrags erledigen?
  • Sie müssen sich beim Bürgeramt / Einwohnermeldeamt anmelden. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Polizeiliche Anmeldung“. In einigen Städten genügt dafür die Vorlage des Mietvertrags. In anderen Städten müssen Sie eine sogenannte „Wohnungsgeberbescheinigung“ vorlegen, in der der Vermieter Ihren Einzug bestätigt.
  • Teilen Sie der Ausländerbehörde so schnell wie möglich Ihre neue Adresse mit. Wenn Sie noch im Asylverfahren sind, müssen Sie Ihre neue Adresse außerdem sofort dem BAMF mitteilen, da Sie sonst vielleicht wichtige Briefe des BAMF verpassen.
  • Informieren Sie auch alle anderen Behörden, mit denen Sie zu tun haben (Jobcenter, Sozialamt, Finanzamt, …) und Ihre Bank, Ihre Versicherung, etc. über Ihre neue Adresse.
  • Wenn Sie sicher gehen wollen, dass Sie keine Briefe verpassen, können Sie für einen bestimmten Zeitraum einen Nachsendeauftrag bei der Deutschen Post und der Pin Mail AG stellen. Dafür müssen Sie aber Geld bezahlen.
  • Sie müssen Ihre Wohnung bei einem Stromanbieter anmelden. Stromkosten sind nicht in der Warmmiete, die Sie an Ihren Vermieter bezahlen, enthalten. Für die Anmeldung müssen Sie dem Stromanbieter den Zählerstand Ihres Stromzählers (vom Datum der Übergabe) mitteilen. Mehr zu diesem Thema erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Wohnen“.
  • Auch der staatliche Rundfunkbeitrag wird pro Haushalt direkt über Sie als Mieter abgerechnet. Wenn Sie sich bei der Meldebehörde angemeldet haben, erhalten Sie automatisch per Post einen Brief zur Anmeldung beim Beitragsservice. Mehr zu diesem Thema erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Rundfunkbeitrag“.

Für Asylbewerber*innen, anerkannte Flüchtlinge, Asylberechtigte und Personen mit subsidiärem Schutz, Abschiebungsverbot oder Duldung gelten zum Teil besondere Regeln. Sie dürfen in der Regel erst nach einer bestimmten Zeit oder gar nicht in eine Wohnung oder eine andere Stadt umziehen. Hier erfahren Sie, welche Regeln für Ihren Aufenthaltsstatus gelten.

Was muss ich als Geflüchtete*r zusätzlich beachten?

Darf ich in eine Wohnung umziehen?

Ob Sie in eine Wohnung umziehen dürfen, hängt von Ihrem Aufenthaltsstatus ab:

Ich bin Asylberechtigte*r, anerkannter Flüchtling oder habe subsidiären Schutz: Sie haben das Recht in eine eigene Wohnung zu ziehen.

Ich bin Asylbewerber*in: Ob Sie als Asylbewerber*in in eine Wohnung umziehen dürfen, hängt von Ihrem Herkunftsland, der bisherigen Dauer Ihres Aufenthalts in Deutschland und den Regelungen Ihres Bundeslandes ab. Generell gilt, dass Asylbewerber*innen mindestens sechs Wochen und höchstens 24 Monate in einer Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung wohnen müssen. Während Sie verpflichtet sind in einer Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung zu wohnen, dürfen Sie nicht in eine Wohnung ziehen. Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie aus einem sogenannten "sicheren Herkunftsland" kommen, müssen für die gesamte Dauer Ihres Asylverfahrens und im Falle einer Ablehnung ihres Asylantrags bis zur Ausreise oder Abschiebung in einer Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung wohnen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Sichere Herkunftsländer".

Ich habe eine Duldung: Personen mit einer Duldung haben generell kein Recht darauf in eine Wohnung umzuziehen. Offiziell ist die Unterbringung in einer Gemeinschaftsunterkunft für Geduldete vorgesehen. Zum Teil ist dies sogar auf Ihrer Duldung als Auflage eingetragen. In einigen Gemeinden gibt es aber zu wenige Plätze in Gemeinschaftsunterkünften, um alle dort unterzubringen. In diesem Fall wird Ihnen entweder eine Wohnung zugewiesen oder Ihnen wird erlaubt eine eigene Wohnung zu suchen. Wenn Sie in einer Gemeinschaftsunterkunft wohnen müssen, können Sie versuchen, die Streichung dieser Auflage bei der Ausländerbehörde zu beantragen. Zusätzlich müssen Sie beim Sozialamt beantragen, dass es die Kosten für Ihre Wohnung übernimmt. Die Behörden können Ihrem Wunsch folgen, können ihn aber auch ablehnen. Generell sind Ihre Chancen eher gering, wenn Sie nicht wichtige Gründe, z.B. psychische oder physische Erkrankungen vorbringen können. Lassen Sie sich vorab von einer Beratungsstelle oder Anwält*innen beraten. Hilfe finden Sie zum Beispiel bei Pro Asyl. Die Mitarbeiter*innen sprechen Deutsch und Englisch und sind unter +49 69–242 314 20 und proasyl@proasyl.de erreichbar.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie Ihr Einkommen durch Arbeit selbst verdienen und weiter in einer Gemeinschaftsunterkunft leben, müssen Sie damit rechnen, dass Sie von Ihrem Arbeitslohn eine hohe Miete für Ihren Platz im Heim zahlen müssen.

 

Darf ich in eine andere Stadt umziehen?

Ob Sie auch in andere Städte oder Gemeinden umziehen dürfen, hängt von Ihrem Aufenthaltsstatus ab.

Asylberechtigte, anerkannte Flüchtlinge und subsidiär Schutzberechtigte, die Sozialleistungen vom Sozialamt oder Jobcenter bekommen, müssen in der Regel für drei Jahre in dem Bundesland bleiben, in dem sie ihr Asylverfahren durchlaufen haben. Die Bundesländer haben zudem die Möglichkeit zusätzliche Regelungen zu schaffen, in denen Sie z.B. festlegen, dass die Person auch in der Gemeinde bleiben muss, in der sie während ihres Asylverfahrens gelebt hat. Diese "Wohnsitzzuweisung" ist umstritten. Wenn Sie gute Gründe haben, warum Sie in eine andere Gemeinde umziehen möchten, können Sie einen „Antrag auf Aufhebung der Wohnsitzzuweisung“ (gemäß §12a Abs. 5 Satz 2c AufenthG) bei der für Sie aktuell zuständigen Ausländerbehörde und der Ausländerbehörde Ihrer Wunsch-Stadt stellen. Lassen Sie sich dazu von einer Beratungsstelle in Ihrer Nähe beraten. Hilfe finden Sie zum Beispiel bei Pro Asyl. Die Mitarbeiter*innen sprechen Deutsch und Englisch und sind unter +49 (0)69–242 314 20 und proasyl@proasyl.de erreichbar.

Asylbewerber*innen und Menschen mit Duldung müssen in der Regel in der Gemeinde wohnen bleiben, der Sie zu Beginn zugeteilt wurden. Nur wenn Sie Ihren Lebensunterhalt durch eigenes Einkommen bestreiten und keine finanzielle Unterstützung vom Sozialamt bekommen, dürfen Sie umziehen. Für Personen, die finanzielle Unterstützung vom Sozialamt bekommen gibt es nur wenige Möglichkeiten dennoch die Erlaubnis für einen Umzug in eine andere Gemeinde zu bekommen. In der Regel wird die Ausländerbehörde einen entsprechenden Antrag von Ihnen nur zustimmen, wenn Sie z.B. sehr krank sind und es in Ihrer Gemeinde keine auf Ihre Krankheit spezialisierten Ärzt*innen gibt oder wenn Sie sich um ein krankes Familienmitglied in einer Stadt kümmern müssen. Ihre Gründe müssen Sie durch Atteste nachweisen. Lassen Sie sich vorab von einer Beratungsstelle oder Anwält*innen beraten. Hilfe finden Sie zum Beispiel bei Pro Asyl. Die Mitarbeiter*innen sprechen Deutsch und Englisch und sind unter +49 69–242 314 20 und proasyl@proasyl.de erreichbar.

 

Wichtig

Zahlen Sie niemals Geld, bevor Sie den Mietvertrag unterschrieben haben. Wenn Sie den Vertrag auf Deutsch nicht verstehen, lassen Sie sich helfen. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie mit allen Konditionen im Vertrag einverstanden sind, bevor Sie unterschreiben.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: