EU Blue Card

Blaue Karte EU
Update 23.02.2024

Can I obtain an EU Blue Card?

The EU Blue Card is similar to the American Green Card. It is a special form of residence permit for those who want to work as qualified professionals in Germany. You can apply for an EU Blue Card whether you are already in Germany or still abroad in another EU country or a so-called "third country". You can find out how to apply in section "Where can I apply for an EU Blue Card?" below.

The new EU Blue Card: From November 18, 2023, the immigration options with EU Blue Card are partially expanded. The requirements are regulated in Sections 18, 18b, 18c, 18g and 19g of the Residence Act, which are based on the EU Directive 2021/1883.

The EU Blue Card offers the opportunity to apply for a national residence permit in accordance with Section 18g Residence Act. It can be a great option for academic professionals, experienced IT specialists without a university degree and graduates of so-called "tertiary education programmes".

Advantages of the new EU Blue Card: More occupational groups are taken into account and the minimum salary thresholds have been lowered. German language skills no longer need to be proven in order to apply for an EU Blue Card. This also applies to the reunification of spouses. Easier access to permanent residence (Settlement Permit according to § 18c para. 2 Residence Act) is also significant: residence periods are much shorter and employment is subject to social security contributions. In addition, the language requirements for applying for permanent residence have been significantly lowered (A1 is sufficient).

Important: The new EU Blue Card regulations require quite an adjustment within German bureaucracy. Therefore, the process may be slightly delayed. 

Please note: An EU Blue Card can be applied for in all EU Member States except Denmark, and Ireland. However, the preconditions, such as the amount of the minimum annual salary, differ from country to country.

If you have any further questions, you can visit our community platform “Together in Germany”. Our community managers will be happy to help!

*The information on this page has been reviewed and verified by lawyer Astrid Meyerhöfer.

What do I need to know?

Can I obtain an EU Blue Card in Germany?

The new EU Blue Card regulations (since November 18, 2023) will make it easier for qualified skilled workers to immigrate to Germany. For example, the salary thresholds are lower than before. In addition, more professionals can apply for the EU Blue Card, including:

  • Individuals who have a German academic degree, and a binding job offer or a current job contract in their specific field,
  • Individuals who have a foreign academic degree recognised in Germany and a binding job offer or a current job contract in their specific field,
  • Individuals who have a comparable higher education qualification and a binding job offer or a current job contract in their specific field,

with a minimum annual gross salary of at least 43.800, that is, 50% of the annual contribution ceiling in the general pension insurance in Germany (“Beitragsbemessungsgrenze in der allgemeinen Rentenversicherung”). 

  • Individuals who have completed a tertiary education programme (e.g., in colleges, technical training institutes, and vocational schools) equivalent to a university degree, with a minimum duration of three years if their qualification corresponds to a level in the International Standard Classification of Education (ISCED 2011) or at least level 6 of the European Qualifications Framework. This now also includes, for example, business administrators, master craftspersons, technical/industrial, agricultural or artistic professions, nursery school teachers and curative education therapists. The training programmes must be comparable to a corresponding German training programme, so an examination is usually still required. If you are unsure whether you meet the requirements, check out the section “Where can I seek counselling and support?” below.

  • Skilled workers who work in shortage occupations ("Mangelberufe") and recent graduates who obtained their university degree within the past three years can obtain a Blue Card EU with the approval of the Federal Employment Agency if they meet the salary requirement of at least 41.041,80 (As of January 2024) or %45.3 of the annual contribution ceiling in the general pension insurance.

  • University graduates who have obtained their university degree within the last three years can receive an EU Blue Card with the approval of the Federal Employment Agency if they earn a minimum income of at least %45.3 of the annual contribution ceiling for general pension insurance, i.e. 41,041.80 (as of January 2024).

  • Special regulation for IT professionals: In certain IT jobs, even if an applicant does not have academic degrees, the Blue Card EU can still be granted with the approval of the Federal Employment Agency if the salary is at least 41.041,80, that is, %45.3 of the annual contribution ceiling in the general pension insurance and the applicant can prove they have achieved certain skills, knowledge, and abilities through at least 3 years of professional experience during the past 7 years.

Important: Make sure that your future job is "qualification-appropriate“, i.e., the job must be related to the qualification you obtained during your time in a university (also University of Applied Sciences) or tertiary education. In other words, the job cannot be something for which vocational training (within the meaning of § 18b Residence Act) suffices.

Please note: When the new law is enforced, the job offer based on which you apply for an EU Blue Card must provide for a minimum employment duration of six months.

Important: In the shortage occupations (“Mangelberufenor Engpassberufen), the Federal Employment Agency has to approve the recruitment. This is to ensure that foreign workers are not employed under worse working conditions than German workers, that the job is appropriate to their qualifications and that the individual is actually employed inside Germany. You can find out more by checking this detailed list of shortage occupations in Germany.

Please note that for some professions, such as doctors, lawyers, etc., it is necessary to have a separate professional licence and to prove the equivalence of the qualification. You can learn more in our chapter "Recognition of Qualifications".

To shorten the approval procedure, your future employer can apply for approval before you enter Germany at the Central International and Specialist Placement Service (ZAV). 

Where can I apply for an EU Blue Card?

In principle, the Immigration Office is in charge of issuing EU Blue Cards.

  • If you have a residence permit in Germany, you should contact the Immigration Office responsible to obtain an EU Blue Card.

  • If you have been holding an EU Blue Card from another EU Member State for at least 18 months, you can enter Germany for the purpose of employment without an employment visa; but you must then apply at the relevant Immigration Office within one month of entering the country for the issuance of an EU Blue Card in Germany. You are not allowed to work until you receive approval from the Immigration Office.

  • If you are a third-country national who lives neither in Germany nor in another EU Member state, you usually need to obtain a visa "for the purpose of gainful employment" from the German embassy in your country of residence first. After entering Germany (and before the expiry of the visa), you can apply for an EU Blue Card at the competent Immigration Office.

  • If you are already in Germany, e.g. with a Schengen visa (Visitor Visa), and find a job during your short stay that fulfils the requirements for the EU Blue Card, you can try to apply for the EU Blue Card at the Immigration Office (see § 39 sentence 1 no. 3 Residence Ordinance & § 4 Residence Act). But beware: There is no guarantee. Even if you fulfil all the requirements, the Immigration Office may insist that you go through the visa procedure for the EU Blue Card. That means you would have to return to your country of origin and apply for a visa at the German diplomatic mission there. It is best to seek advice from a lawyer beforehand.

You can find the Immigration Office responsible for you at bamf-navi.bamf.de.

 

Where do I apply for a visa?

If you need an entry visa to come to Germany, the first step is to apply for a visa at the German embassy/consulate in your home country or (in case the German embassy in your country is closed) a neighbouring country and present the required documents. To learn more about the visa application procedure, visit our chapter “Visa for Skilled Workers”.

Please note: Your visa application can take several months to process. However, if you would like to immigrate to Germany as a skilled worker, you may be able to obtain a visa more quickly (in accordance with Section 81a Residence Act). To do so, your future employer in Germany must apply for a so-called "accelerated visa procedure" (“beschleunigtes Visumverfahren”) at the Immigration Office.

Keep in mind: Whether you need a visa depends on your country of origin. On Auswaertiges-amt.de, you will find a list of countries whose citizens need an entry visa for Germany.

Important: Citizens of Japan, Canada, Australia, Great Britain, Northern Ireland, the USA, South Korea, Israel and New Zealand may enter Germany without a visa. However, they must apply for a work permit after entering the country.

What documents do I need for the application?

In our chapter "Visa for Skilled Workers", you will find a list of documents that all third-country nationals need for a skilled worker’s visa. Depending on where you come from, you might be asked for more documents– it is best to check with the German embassy/consulate in your country.

When applying for an EU Blue Card at the Immigration Office later, you also need the following documents:

  • a recognised university degree and

  • an employment contract or a binding job offer in Germany with an annual gross salary within specific limits (Your employer will need to provide you with a signed “Declaration of Employment”)

Please note: You need to have any academic degrees you have obtained abroad recognised in Germany. To learn how, visit our chapter “Recognition of certificates”.

 

What happens after entering the country?

After entering the country, you need to register your address. Then, you must report to the Immigration Office at your new place of residence within three months and apply for an EU Blue card. To do so, you must submit the documents mentioned above (again), as well as, in principle, a police registration certificate and a rental agreement. The authorities will check your papers to make sure you meet the requirements mentioned above. If you do, you will be legally entitled to an EU Blue Card.

The EU Blue Card is usually issued for four years. If your employment contract has a shorter duration, your residence title will be issued for the duration of the employment contract plus three months. In principle, an extension will be possible with a new work contract.

 

Can I change my job?

Yes, you can change your job. Before the new EU Blue Card regulations were introduced on November 18, 2023, the responsible Immigration Office (Ausländerbehörde) had to approve the change if you decided to switch jobs within the first 2 years of holding an EU Blue Card. But now, you do not need permission from the immigration authorities to change jobs.

Although you do not require permission from the Immigration Office to change jobs, you must inform them if you switch jobs within the first twelve months of your employment.

During this period, the Immigration Office has 30 days to suspend the employment and reject the job change if the new job does not meet the requirements for holding an EU Blue Card.

This can also protect you, as a non-German workforce, from being employed under worse working conditions than German employees.

Please note: If you change your job within the first 12 months after starting employment, the Immigration Office can reject the job switch for 30 days, which means you may not start the new job for 30 days (even if the work has already started). The Immigration Office always checks whether the job fulfils the requirements for the issue of an EU Blue Card.

Important: You must inform the Immigration Office if you change jobs. If you do not do so in good time and the new job does not fulfil the requirements for the EU Blue Card, the Immigration Office can revoke the EU Blue Card and your family members (Section 52 (2b) Residence Act).

What are the main benefits of an EU Blue Card?

Family reunification is easier for holders of an EU Blue. For instance, with a Blue Card, your spouse does not need to present a German language certificate for family reunification.

If you apply for an EU Blue Card together with your application for family reunification, the applications will be processed at the same time. After entering the country, your family members must also apply for a residence permit in Germany at the Immigration Office. They do not have to prove that the flat is large enough or that they have enough money to live on. Furthermore, they will be allowed to work immediately after they come here. 

Important: Your family members who move to Germany with you must not receive any social benefits from the state (according to SGB 2 or SGB 12).

Having an EU Blue Card also enables you to obtain a permanent residence permit after only 33 months of residence in Germany, given you work, make contributions to a pension insurance scheme and can prove you have a basic knowledge of the German language (A1 certificate)– in case you have a B1 certificate, you can apply for a permanent residence permit after only 21 months of residence. 

The new EU Blue Card regulations (since Nov. 18, 2023) allow you more mobility:

  • Holders of a Blue Card EU issued by another EU member state will be able to work in Germany for 90 days within a 180-day period without requiring a residence permit or work permit if their work is directly related to the job contract based on which they obtained their Blue Card. Additional documentation may be required if your EU Blue Card is issued in a non-Schengen EU member state.

  • Holders of a Blue Card EU issued in another EU member state who have been residing there for at least twelve months with a Blue Card EU will be able to move to Germany for work. However, in principle, they must also meet the requirements for granting an EU Blue Card in Germany, except for some specific cases.

Where can I seek counselling and support?

You can visit our community platform Together in Germany if you have questions regarding the EU Blue Card. For more detailed information on the recognition process, visit www.anerkennung-in-deutschland.de. Furthermore, the hotline “Working and Living in Germany”, which is established by the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees, can provide you with support and answer your questions in English and German on the phone and via email.

Important

As of now, holders of the EU Blue Card can receive a permanent residence permit (“Niederlassungserlaubnis”) after 33 months. From 1 March 2024, this period will be reduced to 27 months, and if you can provide proof of language proficiency at level B1, even up to 21 months. You can learn more in our chapter "Permanent Residence Permit".

Gefördert durch:

Gefördert durch:

Ein Projekt von:

Blaue Karte EU

Blaue Karte EU
Aktualisiert 29.05.2024

Wer kann die Blaue Karte EU bekommen?

Die Blaue Karte EU ist der amerikanischen Green Card ähnlich. Sie ist ein besonderer Aufenthaltstitel für Menschen, die in Deutschland als qualifizierte Fachkraft arbeiten wollen. Sie können eine Blaue Karte EU beantragen, wenn Sie sich bereits in Deutschland befinden oder wenn Sie sich außerhalb Deutschlands (in einem anderen EU-Land oder einem „Drittstaat“) aufhalten. Wie das geht, erfahren Sie unter "Wo kann ich die Blaue Karte EU beantragen?“.

Zum 18. November 2023 wurden die Einwanderungsmöglichkeiten mit der Blauen Karte EU fortgeführt und zum Teil erweitert. Die Voraussetzungen sind den §§18, 18b, 18c, 18g und 19f Aufenthaltsgesetz geregelt, die auf der EU-Richtlinie 2021/1883 beruhen.

Die Blaue Karte EU bietet die Möglichkeit, eine nationale Aufenthaltserlaubnis nach  zu beantragen. Für akademische Fachkräfte, berufserfahrene IT-Fachkräfte ohne Hochschulabschluss und Absolvent*innen von sogenannten „tertiären Bildungsprogrammen“ kann sie eine sehr gute Möglichkeit sein.

Vorteile durch die neue Blaue Karte EU: Es werden mehr Berufsgruppen berücksichtigt und die Grenzen für das Mindestgehalt sind gesenkt. Für die Beantragung der Blauen Karte EU müssen keine Deutschkenntnisse mehr nachgewiesen werden. Dies gilt auch für den Nachzug der Ehepartner*innen. Wichtig ist der erleichterte Zugang zum Daueraufenthalt (Niederlassungserlaubnis § 18c Abs. 2 AufenthG). Hier gelten viel kürzere Aufenthaltszeiten mit sozialversicherungspflichtiger Beschäftigung. Außerdem werden die Anforderungen an die Sprachkenntnisse für die Beantragung des Daueraufenthalts deutlich gesenkt (A1 ausreichend).

Wichtig: Die Neu-Regelungen der Blauen Karten EU sind eine Umstellung für die deutschen Behörden. Daher kann sich der Ablauf etwas verzögern. 

Bitte beachten Sie: Eine Blaue Karte EU kann in allen EU-Mitgliedstaaten außer Dänemark und Irland beantragt werden. Die Voraussetzungen, wie z. B. die Höhe des Mindestjahresgehalts, sind jedoch von Land zu Land unterschiedlich.

Sollten Sie weitere Fragen haben, können Sie sich auch an unsere Community-Plattform “Together in Germany” wenden, unsere Community-Manager*innen werden Ihre Fragen gerne beantworten!

*Diese Informationsseite wurde von Rechtsanwältin Astrid Meyerhöfer rechtlich geprüft.

Was muss ich wissen?

Kann ich die Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland bekommen?

Die Neuerungen der Blauen Karte EU seit dem 18. November 2023 erleichtern die Einwanderung für qualifizierte Fachkräfte nach Deutschland. Zum Bespiel sind die Gehaltsgrenzen niedriger als zuvor. Außerdem können mehr Berufstätige die Blaue Karte EU beantragen, darunter:

  • Personen mit einem deutschen Hochschulabschluss und einem verbindlichen Arbeitsplatzangebot oder einem laufenden Arbeitsverhältnis in ihrer Fachrichtung,
  • Personen mit einem ausländischen Hochschulabschluss mit Anerkennung, die ein verbindliches Arbeitsplatzangebot oder ein laufendes Arbeitsverhältnis in ihrer Fachrichtung haben,
  • und Personen mit einem vergleichbaren Hochschulabschluss, einem verbindlichen Arbeitsplatzangebot oder einem laufenden Arbeitsverhältnis in ihrer Fachrichtung

mit einem Mindestjahresbruttogehalt von mindestens 43.800 €, also 50% Prozent der Beitragsbemessungsgrenze in der allgemeinen Rentenversicherung.

  • Personen, die eine Ausbildung im Tertiärbereich (z. B. an Hochschulen, Fachhochschulen und Berufsakademien) abgeschlossen haben, die einem Hochschulabschluss entspricht und mindestens drei Jahre gedauert hat. Dieser Abschluss muss einem Niveau der Internationalen Standardklassifikation des Bildungswesens (ISCED 2011) oder mindestens dem Niveau 6 des Europäischen Qualifikationsrahmens entsprechen. Dazu gehören jetzt z.B. auch Fachwirt*innen, Meister*innen in den Bereichen Handwerk, technisch-gewerbliche, landwirtschaftliche oder künstlerische Berufe, Erzieher*innen und Heilerziehungspfleger*innen. Die Ausbildungen müssen mit einer entsprechenden deutschen Ausbildung vergleichbar sein, weshalb hier in der Regel noch eine Prüfung nötig ist.
    Wenn Sie sich nicht sicher sind, ob Sie die Anforderungen erfüllen, lesen Sie bitte den Abschnitt "Wo kann ich Beratung und Unterstützung erhalten?
     
  • Fachkräfte in „Mangelberufen“ können mit Zustimmung der Bundesagentur für Arbeit eine Blaue Karte EU erhalten, wenn sie ein Mindesteinkommen von 41.041,80 Euro (Stand: Januar 2024), also 45,3 Prozent der jährlichen Beitragsbemessungsgrenze in der allgemeinen Rentenversicherung also 41.041,80 (Stand: Januar 2024) erzielen.
     
  • Hochschulabsolvent*innen, die ihren Hochschulabschluss innerhalb der letzten drei Jahre erworben haben, können mit Zustimmung der Bundesagentur für Arbeit eine Blaue Karte EU erhalten, wenn sie ein Mindesteinkommen von mindestens 45,3 Prozent der jährlichen Beitragsbemessungsgrenze in der allgemeinen Rentenversicherung erzielen.
     
  • Sonderregelung für IT-Fachkräfte: In bestimmten IT-Berufen kann die Blaue Karte EU auch ohne akademischen Abschluss erteilt werden, wenn die Bundesagentur für Arbeit zustimmt. Allerdings muss das Gehalt mindestens 41.041,80, also 45,3 Prozent der jährlichen Beitragsbemessungsgrenze sein und die Antragsteller*innen müssen bestimmte Fertigkeiten, Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten durch eine mindestens dreijährige Berufserfahrung innerhalb der letzten sieben Jahre nachweisen können.

Wichtig: Achten Sie darauf, dass Ihre zukünftige Tätigkeit "qualifikationsadäquat" ist. Das heißt, sie muss im Zusammenhang mit Ihrer Fachhochschulausbildung, Hochschulausbildung oder tertiären Ausbildung stehen. Es darf sich also nicht um eine reine Ausbildungsbeschäftigung im Sinne des § 18b AufenthG handeln.

Bitte beachten Sie: Das Stellenangebot, mit dem Sie eine Blaue Karte EU beantragen, muss ab Beginn des neuen Gesetzes eine Mindestbeschäftigungsdauer von sechs Monaten haben.

Wichtig: Bei sogenannten „Mangelberufen“/“Engpassberufen“ muss die Bundesagentur für Arbeit dem Jobangebot / dem Arbeitsplatz zustimmen. So soll sichergestellt werden, dass ausländische Arbeitnehmer*innen nicht unter schlechteren Arbeitsbedingungen beschäftigt werden als deutsche Arbeitnehmer*innen, , die Tätigkeit mit Ihren Qualifikationen angemessen ist, und ein Beschäftigungsverhältnis in Deutschland vorliegt. Hier finden Sie eine ausführliche Liste der Mangelberufe in Deutschland.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass es für einige Berufe, wie z.B. Ärzt*innen, Anwält*innen usw., erforderlich ist, eine gesonderte Berufsausübungserlaubnis zu besitzen und die Gleichwertigkeit des Abschlusses nachzuweisen. Mehr Informationen dazu erhalten Sie in unserem Kapitel „Anerkennung ausländischer Abschlüsse“.

Um das Zulassungsverfahren zu verkürzen, kann Ihr*e zukünftige*r Arbeitgeber*in die Zulassung bereits vor Ihrer Einreise nach Deutschland bei der Zentralen Auslands- und Fachvermittlung (ZAV) beantragen. 

Wo beantrage ich eine Blaue Karte EU?

Für die Ausstellung der Blauen Karte EU ist grundsätzlich die Ausländerbehörde zuständig.

  • Wenn Sie bereits eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis in Deutschland haben, wenden Sie sich an die zuständige Ausländerbehörde, um eine Blaue Karte EU zu erhalten.
     
  • Wenn Sie seit mindestens 18 Monaten eine Blaue Karte EU aus einem anderen EU-Mitgliedstaat besitzen, können Sie ohne Arbeitsvisum zum Zweck einer Beschäftigung nach Deutschland einreisen. Sie müssen aber innerhalb von einem Monat nach der Einreise bei der zuständigen Ausländerbehörde die Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland beantragen. Bis die Genehmigung der Ausländerbehörde vorliegt, dürfen Sie nicht arbeiten.'
     
  • Wenn Sie als „Drittstaatsangehörige*r“ weder in Deutschland noch in einem anderen EU-Mitgliedstaat leben, müssen Sie in der Regel zunächst bei der deutschen Botschaft in Ihrem Wohnort ein Visum zu Beschäftigungszwecken beantragen. Nach der Einreise (und vor Ablauf des Visums) können Sie bei der zuständigen Ausländerbehörde eine Blaue Karte EU beantragen.
     
  • Wenn Sie bereits in Deutschland sind, z. B. mit einem Schengen-Visum (Besuchervisum), und während Ihres kurzen Aufenthalts eine Arbeit finden, die die Anforderungen für die Blaue Karte EU erfüllt, können Sie versuchen die Blaue Karte EU bei der Ausländerbehörde zu beantragen (siehe § 39 Satz 1 Nr. 3 AufenthV, § 4 AufenthG).

Aber Achtung: Das ist keine Garantie. Auch wenn Sie alle Voraussetzungen erfüllen, kann die Ausländerbehörde auf die Nachholung des Visumsverfahrens für die Blaue Karte EU bestehen. Dafür müssten Sie in Ihr Herkunftsland zurück und das Visum dort bei der deutschen Auslandsvertretung beantragen. Lassen Sie sich am besten davor von eine*r Anwält*in beraten.

Ihre zuständige Ausländerbehörde finden Sie unter bamf-navi.bamf.de

Wo beantrage ich das Visum?

Wenn Sie für die Einreise nach Deutschland ein Visum brauchen, müssen Sie zunächst bei der deutschen Botschaft/ dem deutschen Konsulat in Ihrem Herkunftsland Ihrem derzeitigen Wohnort (in dem Sie sich seit mindestens 6 Monate aufhalten), oder einem Nachbarland ein Visum beantragen und die genannten Unterlagen dort vorlegen. Weitere Informationen zum Visumantragsverfahren finden Sie in unserem Kapitel „Visum für Fachkräfte“.

Wichtig: Die Bearbeitung Ihres Visumantrags kann mehrere Monate dauern. Wenn Sie aber als Fachkraft nach Deutschland einwandern möchten, gibt es die Möglichkeit, das Visum schneller zu bekommen (nach § 81a AufenthG). Dazu muss Ihr*e zukünftige*r Arbeitgeber*in in Deutschland bei der Ausländerbehörde ein sogenanntes „beschleunigtes Visumverfahren“ beantragen.

Bedenken Sie: Ob Sie ein Visum benötigen, hängt von Ihrem Herkunftsland ab. Auf Auswaertiges-amt.de finden Sie eine Liste der Länder, deren Staatsangehörige ein Einreisevisum für Deutschland benötigen.

 

Wichtig: Staatsangehörige von Japan, Kanada, Australien, Großbritannien, Nordirland, den USA, Südkorea, Israel und Neuseeland dürfen ohne Visum nach Deutschland einreisen. Sie müssen jedoch nach der Einreise eine Arbeitserlaubnis beantragen.

 

Welche Unterlagen brauche ich für die Antragsstellung?

In unserem Kapitel "Visum für Fachkräfte" finden Sie eine Liste aller Unterlagen, die alle Drittstaatsangehörigen für ein Visum für Fachkräfte benötigen. Je nach Ihrem Herkunftsland können weitere Unterlagen verlangt werden - erkundigen Sie sich am besten bei der deutschen Botschaft/dem deutschen Konsulat in Ihrem Land.

Für eine Blaue Karte EU brauchen Sie zusätzlich folgende Unterlagen:

  • einen anerkannten Nachweis über Ihren Hochschulabschluss
  • einen Arbeitsvertrag oder ein verbindliches Stellenangebot in Deutschland (Ihr Arbeitgeber muss eine unterschriebene "Beschäftigungserklärung" vorlegen) mit einem Jahresbruttogehalt innerhalb der oben angegebenen Grenzen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Im Ausland erworbene Studienabschlüsse müssen Sie in Deutschland anerkennen lassen. Wie das geht, erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel „Anerkennung ausländischer Abschlüsse“.

Was passiert nach der Einreise?

Nach der Einreise müssen Sie sich innerhalb von drei Monaten bei der Ausländerbehörde an Ihrem neuen Wohnort melden und dort eine Blaue Karte EU beantragen. Dazu müssen Sie erneut die oben genannten Unterlagen sowie in der Regel auch eine polizeiliche Anmeldung und einen Mietvertrag vorlegen.

Die Behörden überprüfen Ihre Papiere, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die oben genannten Anforderungen erfüllen. Dann haben Sie einen Rechtsanspruch auf eine Blaue Karte EU.

Die Blaue Karte EU wird in der Regel für vier Jahre erteilt. Sollte Ihr Arbeitsvertrag eine kürzere Laufzeit haben, wird die der Aufenthaltstitel entsprechend angepasst. Eine Verlängerung ist grundsätzlich möglich.

Kann ich meinen Arbeitsplatz wechseln?

Ja, Sie können Ihren Arbeitsplatz wechseln. Vor der Neuerung der Blauen Karte EU am 18. November 2023, musste innerhalb der ersten 2 Jahre die zuständige „Ausländerbehörde“ den Arbeitsplatzwechsel genehmigen. Das ist nun anders. Sie brauchen keine Erlaubnis der „Ausländerbehörde“, wenn Sie den Arbeitsplatz wechseln möchten.

Sie brauchen zwar keine Erlaubnis, müssen jedoch den Arbeitsplatzwechsel in den ersten zwölf Monaten seit Beginn Ihrer Beschäftigung bei der zuständigen „Ausländerbehörde“ melden. Während dieses Zeitraums kann sie den Arbeitsplatzwechsel jedoch ablehnen, wenn der neue Arbeitsplatz nicht den Anforderungen für die Erteilung einer Blauen Karte EU entspricht. Das kann Sie auch davor schützen, nicht unter schlechteren Arbeitsbedingungen beschäftigt zu werden als deutsche Arbeitnehmer*innen.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wenn Sie innerhalb der ersten 12 Monate nach Beginn der Beschäftigung Ihren Arbeitsplatz wechseln, hat die Ausländerbehörde die Möglichkeit, den Arbeitsplatzwechsel für 30 Tage anzuhalten, d.h. Sie dürfen die neue Stelle 30 Tage lang nicht antreten! (auch wenn die Arbeit schon anfängt).Die Ausländerbehörde prüft immer, ob der Arbeitsplatz den Anforderungen für die Erteilung einer Blauen Karte EU entspricht.

Wichtig: Sie müssen der Ausländerbehörde mitteilen, wenn Sie Ihren Arbeitsplatz wechseln. Wenn Sie der Ausländerbehörde den Wechsel Ihres Arbeitsplatzes nicht rechtzeitig mitteilen und der neue Arbeitsplatz nicht mehr den Anforderungen der Blauen Karte EU entspricht, kann die Ausländerbehörde die Blaue Karte EU für Sie und Ihre Familienangehörigen widerrufen (§52 Abs. 2b AufenthG).

Was sind die Hauptvorteile einer Blauen Karte EU?

Die Familienzusammenführung ist für Inhaber*innen einer Blauen Karte EU einfacher. Mit einer Blauen Karte EU muss Ihr*e Ehepartner*in zum Beispiel keinen deutschen Sprachnachweis für die Familienzusammenführung vorlegen.

Wenn Sie den Antrag auf eine Blaue Karte EU zusammen mit dem Antrag auf Familienzusammenführung stellen, werden die Anträge gleichzeitig bearbeitet. Nach der Einreise müssen Ihre Familienangehörigen bei der Ausländerbehörde ebenfalls eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis für Deutschland beantragen. Sie müssen nicht nachweisen, dass die Wohnung groß genug ist oder dass sie genug Geld zum Leben haben. Außerdem dürfen sie sofort nach der Ankunft arbeiten.

Wichtig: Ihre Familienangehörigen, die zu Ihnen nach Deutschland ziehen, dürfen keine Sozialleistungen vom Staat erhalten (nach SGB 2 oder SGB 12).

Dazu können Sie mit der Blauen Karte EU bereits nach 33 Monaten Aufenthalt in Deutschland eine unbefristete Aufenthaltserlaubnis bekommen, wenn Sie eine Arbeit haben, in die Rentenversicherung einzahlen und Grundkenntnisse der deutschen Sprache nachweisen können (A1-Zertifikat) - bei Nachweis des B1-Zertifikats können Sie bereits nach 21 Monaten Aufenthalt eine unbefristete Aufenthaltserlaubnis beantragen.

Zusätzlich ermöglicht Ihnen die Neuerung der Blauen Karte EU seit 18. November 2023 Ihnen mehr Mobilität:

  • Wenn Sie eine Blaue Karte EU aus einem anderen EU-Mitgliedstaat besitzen, können Sie innerhalb eines Zeitraums von 180 Tagen 90 Tage in Deutschland arbeiten. Dafür benötigen Sie keine Aufenthalts- oder Arbeitsgenehmigung. Allerdings muss Ihre Tätigkeit in Deutschland in direktem Zusammenhang mit dem Arbeitsvertrag im anderen EU Land stehen.
    Wichtig: Wenn Ihre Blaue Karte EU in einem Nicht-Schengen-Mitgliedstaat der EU ausgestellt wurde, können zusätzliche Unterlagen erforderlich sein.
  • Wenn Sie eine Blaue Karte EU haben, die in einem anderen EU-Mitgliedstaat ausgestellt wurde und Sie sich dort seit mindestens zwölf Monaten mit einer Blauen Karte EU aufhalten, können Sie zur Arbeitsaufnahme nach Deutschland kommen. Dabei müssen Sie auch die Voraussetzungen für die Erteilung einer Blauen Karte EU in Deutschland erfüllen.
Wo finde ich Beratung und Unterstützung?

Wenn Sie Fragen zur Blauen Karte EU haben, besuchen Sie unsere Community-Plattform „Together in Germany“. Weitere Informationen zum Anerkennungsverfahren finden Sie unter www.anerkennung-in-deutschland.de. Auch die Hotline "Arbeiten und Leben in Deutschland" des Bundesamtes für Migration und Geflüchtete kann Ihnen telefonisch und per E-Mail auf Deutsch und Englisch weiterhelfen und Ihre Fragen beantworten.

Wichtig

Seit dem 1. März 2024 können Inhaber*innen der Blauen Karte EU schon nach 27 Monaten eine Niederlassungserlaubnis erhalten. Das ist eine unbefristete Aufenthaltserlaubnis. Wenn Sie eine Sprachniveau B1 nachweisen können, verkürzt sich die Frist sogar bis zu 21 Monate. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Niederlassungserlaubnis".

Gefördert durch:

Gefördert durch:

Ein Projekt von: