Student Visa

Das Bild zeigt eine Studentin und einen Studenten. Sie sitzen zusammen und schauen sich Formulare an. Im hintergrund sieht man eine Sitzugruppe mit Tischen und Bänken.
Update 10.08.2022

How can I come to Germany to study?

Germany has many outstanding colleges and universities and numerous international students. To come to Germany to study, you will need a corresponding residence permit, i.e., a "residence permit for the purpose of studying" ("Aufenthaltserlaubnis zum Zweck des Studiums") regulated in Section 16b of the Residence Act. If you come from a so-called "third countries", however, you first need to apply for a "Visa for the purpose of studying". A student visa allows you to enter Germany legally and start your studies.

What do I need to know?

For which programmes can I obtain a student visa?

You can apply for a residence permit when a German university, higher education institution ("Hochschule") or a "Studienkolleg" or another preparatory programme (e.g. a compulsory language course) admits you as a student.

There is also the option of obtaining a residence permit for applying to a university.

Where can I apply for the visa?

If you require a visa to enter Germany, you must apply for it at the German Embassy or Consulate in your home country (or a neighbouring country) and present the required documents there. 

Please note that it may take several months to process your visa application.

If you do not require a visa to enter Germany, please register with the Immigration Office at your new place of residence upon arrival and present the necessary documents there.

Whether you need a visa depends on your country of origin. On auswaertiges-amt.de, you will find a list of countries the citizens of which require an entry visa for Germany.

What documents do I need?

In our chapter "National Visa", you will find a list of all documents that third-country nationals need for a national visa.

For a student visa, you also need the following documents:

  • Proof of admission from a German university or college (certificate of enrollment) OR a university entrance qualification if you only want to apply for a visa as a university applicant. A university entrance qualification is a school-leaving certificate with which you can study at a university in your home country.

  • Proof showing your livelihood is secure- you can prove it, e.g., by depositing funds into a blocked account. There must be at least 10,332 € per year in the blocked account. If you do not have enough money yourself, a third person can make a so-called declaration of commitment for you. You can learn more in our chapter "Declaration of commitment for a national visa".

  • Health insurance coverage

  • Proof of your German language skills, unless your language skills have already been checked by the university or preparatory college. In principle, you need at least B2.

What happens after I come to Germany?

After entering the country, you must visit the Immigration Office at your new place of residence within three months and apply for a residence permit there. To do so, you must (again) submit the documents mentioned above as well as, in principle, a police registration certificate and a rental agreement. The authorities will check your papers and then decide whether you must be issued a residence permit.

A residence permit for the purpose of studying is usually issued for one to two years. If you cannot finish your studies within this period, your residence permit will often be extended. During your studies, you can work a total of 120 full days per year.

A residence permit for student applicants is issued for nine months. During this time you are not allowed to work and have to find a place to study.

What happens after I graduate?

If you would like to stay in Germany after completing your studies, you can apply for a residence permit to look for a job or a residence permit as a qualified professional. You can learn more in our chapters "Visa for Jobseekers" and "Visa for skilled workers".

Important

You can learn more about studying in Germany in our chapters "University System" and "University Application".

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Visum zum Studieren

Das Bild zeigt eine Studentin und einen Studenten. Sie sitzen zusammen und schauen sich Formulare an. Im hintergrund sieht man eine Sitzugruppe mit Tischen und Bänken.
Aktualisiert 10.08.2022

Wie kann ich in Deutschland studieren?

In Deutschland gibt es eine Vielzahl von guten Hochschulen und Universitäten. Und viele internationale Studierende. Wenn Sie auch in Deutschland studieren wollen und noch nicht hier leben, benötigen Sie aber eine entsprechende Aufenthaltserlaubnis. Diese nennt man "Aufenthaltserlaubnis zum Zweck des Studiums" und ist in §16b Aufenthaltsgesetz geregelt. Für viele Menschen aus Drittstaaten kommt zunächst aber der Antrag auf ein "Visum zum Zweck des Studiums". Damit können Sie legal nach Deutschland einreisen und Ihr Studium beginnen.

Was muss ich wissen?

Wofür kann ich ein Studierendenvisum bekommen?

Sie können ein Studierendenvisum für Deutschland beantragen, wenn Sie einen Studienplatz an einer deutschen Universität oder Hochschule oder einen Platz in einem Studienkolleg oder einer anderen studienvorbereitenden Maßnahme wie z.B. einem verpflichtenden Sprachkurs bekommen haben.

Außerdem gibt es die Möglichkeit eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis für die Bewerbung an einer Hochschule zu bekommen.

Wo beantrage ich das Visum?

Wenn Sie für die Einreise nach Deutschland ein Visum brauchen, müssen Sie zunächst bei der deutschen Botschaft / dem deutschen Konsulat in Ihrer Heimat oder einem Nachbarland ein Visum beantragen und die genannten Unterlagen dort vorlegen.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Bearbeitung Ihres Visumsantrags mehrere Monate dauern kann.

Wenn Sie kein Visum für die Einreise nach Deutschland brauchen, melden Sie sich nach der Einreise bei der Ausländerbehörde an Ihrem neuen Wohnort und legen die geforderten Unterlagen dort vor.

Ob Sie ein Visum brauchen, hängt von Ihrem Herkunftsland ab. Auf auswaertiges-amt.de. finden Sie eine Liste der Länder, deren Staatsbürger*innen ein Visum für die Einreise nach Deutschland brauchen.

Welche Unterlagen brauche ich?

In unserem Kapitel "Nationales Visum" finden Sie eine Liste aller Unterlagen, die alle Drittstaatsangehörigen für ein Nationales Visum benötigen.

Für ein Studentenvisum brauchen Sie zusätzlich folgende Unterlagen:

  • Einen Nachweis, dass Sie einen Studienplatz an einer deutschen Universität oder Hochschule haben ( Immatrikulationsbescheinigung) oder eine Hochschulzugangsberechtigung, falls Sie zunächst nur ein Visum als Studienbewerber*in beantragen möchten. Eine Hochschulzugangsberechtigung ist ein Schulabschluss, mit dem Sie an einer Hochschule studieren dürfen.
  • Einen Nachweis über die Sicherung Ihres Lebensunterhalts. Das können Sie z.B. durch ein Sperrkonto nachweisen. Auf dem Sperrkonto müssen mindestens 10.332 Euro pro Jahr sein. Falls Sie selbst nicht genügend Geld haben, kann eine dritte Person eine sogenannte Verpflichtungserklärung für Sie abgeben. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel "Verpflichtungserklärung für ein Nationales Visum".
  • Eine Krankenversicherung
  • Einen Nachweis über Ihre Deutschkenntnisse, sofern Ihre Sprachkenntnisse nicht schon von der Hochschule oder dem Studienkolleg überprüft worden sind. In der Regel brauchen Sie mindestens B2.
Was passiert nach der Einreise?

Nach der Einreise müssen Sie sich innerhalb von drei Monaten bei der Ausländerbehörde an Ihrem neuen Wohnort melden und dort eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis beantragen. Dazu müssen Sie erneut die oben genannten Unterlagen sowie in der Regel auch eine polizeiliche Anmeldung und einen Mietvertrag vorlegen. Die Behörden überprüfen Ihre Papiere und entscheiden daraufhin, ob Sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis bekommen.

Eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis zum Zweck des Studiums wird in der Regel für ein bis zwei Jahre erteilt. Wenn Sie Ihr Studium innerhalb dieses Zeitraums nicht beenden konnten, wird Ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis in der Regel verlängert. Während Ihres Studiums dürfen Sie insgesamt 120 volle Tage pro Jahr arbeiten.

Eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis für Studienbewerber*innen wird für neun Monate erteilt. In dieser Zeit dürfen Sie nicht arbeiten und müssen einen Studienplatz finden.

Was passiert nach meinem Abschluss?

Wenn Sie nach dem erfolgreichen Abschluss Ihres Studiums in Deutschland bleiben möchten, können Sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis für die Arbeitsplatzsuche oder eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis als Fachkraft beantragen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unseren Kapiteln  „Visum für die Arbeitssuche“ und „Visum für Fachkräfte“.

Wichtig

Mehr zum Thema Studium erfahren Sie in unseren Kapiteln "Hochschulsystem" und "Hochschulbewerbung".

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: