Permanent Residence Permit for Immigrants

Das Bild zeigt eine Familie mit Vater, Mutter, Kinder und Großeltern.
Update 27.07.2022

Can I obtain unlimited residence permit and settle in Germany?

A permanent residence permit (also known as "settlement permit") is, in fact, an unlimited permit to reside in Germany, i.e. contrary to a regular residence permit, you do not have to have your permanent residence permit extended frequently at the immigration authorities. A permanent residence permit also allows you to work without restrictions.

In order to get a permanent residence permit, some requirements apply:

  • You must have had a residence permit for at least 5 years.
  • You must be able to secure a living for yourself (and your family) independently, i.e. you are not allowed to receive any money from the Job Centre or Social Welfare Office.
  • You must be able to speak German at level A2 and provide relevant evidence.
  • You must have made pension insurance contributions for at least 60 months. The amount of contributions does not matter. Learn more in our chapter "Retiring in Germany".
  • You must have enough living space for yourself and your family. Note: The standard size varies from state to state - ask the staff at the Immigration Office or a counselling centre nearby for more information.
  • You must have a work permit.
  • You must have successfully completed the orientation course. Find out more in our chapter "Integration course".
  • You must not have committed any major offences (Minor convictions with fines of up to 90 days of income or suspended sentences of up to three months do not affect your case)

If you meet all the prerequisites mentioned above, you can receive a permanent residence permit and settle in Germany.

For some groups of people, however, the requirements for obtaining a permanent residence permit is somewhat more straightforward.

Who is eligible for easier requirements?

Refugees

Everything about the permanent residence permit for individuals entitled to asylum, recognised refugees and those residing in Germany with subsidiary protection or a ban on deportation can be found in our chapter "permanent residence permit for refugees".

Skilled workers & Researchers

A skilled worker is a person with a job which requires vocational training or a degree. Skilled workers and scientists/researchers can obtain a permanent residence permit after 4 years of residence in Germany by meeting relatively relaxed requirements- You only need to have paid into the pension insurance for 48 months. You also must have a job, speak German at level B1 and meet the following requirements:

  • You must be able to secure a living for yourself (and your family) independently, i.e. you are not allowed to receive any money from the Job Centre or Social Welfare Office.

  • You must have enough living space for yourself and your family. The standard size varies from state to state. Ask the staff at the Immigration Office or a counselling centre nearby for more information.

  • You must have a work permit.

  • You must have successfully completed the "orientation course". You can find out more in our chapter "Integration courses".

  • You must not have committed any major offences (Minor convictions with fines of up to 90 days of income or suspended sentences of up to three months do not affect your case).

Holders of university degrees & vocational training certificates from Germany

If you have successfully completed vocational training or a university degree in Germany and have a residence permit as a skilled worker or researcher, you can benefit from easier conditions when applying for a permanent residence permit are easier for you: You can apply for a permanent residence permit after only 2 years of having a residence permit as a skilled worker or researcher. Furthermore, you are only required to have contributed to the pension insurance for 24 months. To apply, you must have a job, speak German at level B1 and also meet the following requirements:

  • You must be able to secure a living for yourself (and your family) independently, i.e. you are not allowed to receive any money from the Job Centre or Social Welfare Office.

  • You must have enough living space for yourself and your family. The standard size varies from state to state. Ask the staff at the Immigration Office or a counselling centre nearby for more information.

  • You must have a work permit.

  • You must have successfully completed the "orientation course". You can find out more in our chapter "Integration courses".

  • You must not have committed any major offences (Minor convictions with fines of up to 90 days of income or suspended sentences of up to three months do not affect your case).

Self-employed Individuals

If you run a company in Germany and can secure your livelihood for yourself (and your family) independently, i.e. you do not receive any aid from the Job Centre or Social Welfare Office, you can obtain a permanent residence permit after 3 years. You must also have adequate health insurance and have contributed to pension insurance. Furthermore, you must not have been convicted of any criminal offence.

Civil servants

Civil servants, i.e. those who work for public offices in Germany, can obtain a permanent residence permit after just 3 years of residence. Furthermore, they do not have to prove contributions to pension insurance. As a civil servant, you must meet the following requirements:

  • You must be able to secure a living for yourself (and your family) independently, i.e. you are not allowed to receive any money from the Job Centre or Social Welfare Office.

  • You must be able to speak German at level A2 and provide relevant evidence.

  • You must have enough living space for yourself and your family. The standard size varies from state to state. Ask the staff at the Immigration Office or a counselling centre nearby for more information.

  • You must have a work permit.

  • You must have successfully completed the "orientation course". You can find out more in our chapter "Integration courses".

  • You have not committed any major offences (Minor convictions with fines of up to 90 days of income or suspended sentences of up to three months do not affect your case).

Holders of "EU Blue Card"

If you have an EU Blue Card, you can obtain a permanent residence permit very quickly. After 33 months of having an EU Blue Card, you would be able to apply for a permanent residence permit. You only need to have made pension insurance contributions for 33 months, have a suitable job and speak German at level A1. If you speak German at level B1, you will be able to obtain a permanent residence permit after just 21 months - you must also meet the following requirements:

  • You must be able to secure a living for yourself (and your family) independently, i.e. you are not allowed to receive any money from the Job Centre or Social Welfare Office.

  • You must have enough living space for yourself and your family. The standard size varies from state to state. Ask the staff at the Immigration Office or a counselling centre nearby for more information.

  • You must have a work permit.

  • You must have successfully completed the "orientation course". You can find out more in our chapter "Integration course".

  • You have not committed any major offences. Minor convictions with fines of up to 90 days of income or suspended sentences of up to three months do not affect your case.

Family members of German citizens

If you are a family member of a person with German citizenship, you need to meet simpler requirements when it comes to applying for permanent residence: You can apply after having a residence permit for 3 years. You must also speak German at level B1 and prove that you will continue to live with the person (with German citizenship). You can find out more about this topic in our chapters "Marriage", "Divorce" and "Born in Germany". To apply, you must also meet the following requirements:

  • You must be able to secure a living for yourself (and your family) independently, i.e. you are not allowed to receive any money from the Job Centre or Social Welfare Office.

  • You must have made pension insurance contributions for at least 60 months. The amount of the contributions do not matter - learn more in our chapter "Retiring in Germany".

  • You must have a work permit.

  • You have not committed any major offences (Minor convictions with fines of up to 90 days of income or suspended sentences of up to three months do not affect your case).

Spouses of those with a permanent residence permit

If you are or have been married to someone with a permanent residence permit, you can also obtain a permanent residence permit. The prerequisite for this is that your livelihood is secured without the help of the Job Centre or Social Welfare Office. You must also meet the following requirements:

  • You have to speak German at level A2 and provide relevant evidence.

  • You must be able to secure a living for yourself and your family. The minimum size required differs from state to state.  For more information, ask the staff at the Immigration Office or a counselling centre nearby.
  • You must have successfully completed the "orientation course". You can find out more in our chapter "Integration course".
  • You have not committed any major offences. Minor convictions with fines of up to 90 days of income or suspended sentences of up to three months do not affect your case.

Children of non-German parents

Children of foreign nationals can obtain a permanent residence permit if they have had a residence permit for at least 5 years when they turn 16 or later. As soon as the child is of legal age, additional requirements must be met: The adolescents who turn 18 must speak German at level B1. They also need to be able to secure a livelihood without the help of the Job Centre or Social Welfare Office - unless they are going through vocational training or study. Furthermore, to obtain a permanent residence permit, the child must not have been convicted of a major crime.

What else do I need to know?

Where can I apply for a permanent residence permit?

You must apply for the permanent residence permit in writing at the Immigration Office responsible for you. You can search for the responsible Immigration Office at  bamf.de. You will find the necessary form, i.e. "Application for the Permanent Residence Permit" ("Antrag auf Erteilung der Niederlassungserlaubnis") on the website of the Immigration Office. You have to send the filled application form, a biometric passport photo and the following documents to the responsible Immigration Office per post:

  • a copy of your passport

  • a copy of your employment contract, your last six payslips, and a recent confirmation letter from your employer which verifies that you are still employed there. This confirmation must not be older than 14 days. If you are self-employed: your last tax assessment and an audit report completed by a tax consultant.

  • a recent document from your health insurance company verifying that you are insured.

  • a copy of your rental agreement

  • a copy of your German language certificates

  • your pension information (from the German pension insurance scheme)

  • if you receive child benefit, parental allowance or alike: the relevant confirmation letters

  • the confirmation of your registration with the police

  • if you belong to a group entitled to easier requirements, you will have to submit fewer documents. You can find out the list of needed documents on the application.

Keep in mind that you have to pay in order to obtain a permanent residence permit.

As soon as the Immigration Office has checked your application, they will notify you in writing.

Can I lose my permanent residence permit?

Yes. Under the following circumstances, you may lose your permanent residence permit:

  • If you do not reside in Germany for more than 6 months or move to another country, in principle, you will lose your permanent residence permit (§ 51 I Residence Act). That does not apply to people with a Blue Passport.

  • Your permanent residence permit may be revoked if you have obtained it as a result of providing false information to the authorities.

  • If you are considered to be a threat to public safety and order, you may be deported. In this case, you will also lose your permanent residence permit.

If you think you may lose your recognition or residence permit, make sure you seek advice from a counselling centre or lawyer. You can find support, for instance, at a Counselling Centre for Adult Migrants or Youth Migration Service.

Where can I find advice and support?

The Counselling Centre for Adult Migrants (MBE) or the Youth Migration Service (JMD) can provide you with advice regarding permanent residence permit. The counselling centres of the JMD specialise in providing support for youth and young adults (under the age of 27). The staff at the MBE and JMD speak many languages and the service they provide is cost-free.

I have a permanent residence permit. Can I also live and work in another EU country?

No, not with a permanent residence permit you have obtained from Germany. To live and work in other EU countries, you need a permanent EU residence permit. With an EU long-term residence permit, you have the option of obtaining a residence permit in another EU country. You can find out more in our chapter "EU Permanent Residence Permit".

Important

Children can only obtain a permanent residence permit from the age of 16. The application must be submitted by the parents or a guardian.

Partner-Logos EN

A Project by:
Funded by:

Niederlassungserlaubnis

Das Bild zeigt eine Familie mit Vater, Mutter, Kinder und Großeltern.
Aktualisiert 27.07.2022

Bekomme ich die unbefristete Aufenthaltserlaubnis?

Die Niederlassungserlaubnis ist eine unbefristete Aufenthaltserlaubnis. Im Gegensatz zu einer Aufenthaltserlaubnis müssen Sie die Niederlassungserlaubnis also nicht regelmäßig bei der Ausländerbehörde verlängern lassen. Mit der Niederlassungserlaubnis können Sie uneingeschränkt arbeiten.

Um eine Niederlassungserlaubnis zu bekommen, müssen Sie grundsätzlich die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Sie haben seit mindestens 5 Jahren eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis.
  • Sie können den Lebensunterhalt für sich (und Ihre Familie) selbständig sichern. Das bedeutet, dass Sie kein Geld vom Jobcenter oder Sozialamt bekommen dürfen.
  • Sie müssen Deutsch auf dem Niveau A2 sprechen und einen entsprechenden Nachweis vorlegen.
  • Sie müssen mindestens 60 Monate lang Beiträge für die Rentenversicherung bezahlt haben. Die Höhe der Beiträge ist dabei egal. Mehr zum Thema Rentenversicherung erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel Rentner*in in Deutschland.
  • Sie müssen über ausreichend Wohnraum für sich und Ihre Familie verfügen. Wie groß eine Wohnung sein muss, ist von Bundesland zu Bundesland verschieden. Fragen Sie Ihre Sachbearbeiter*innen in der Ausländerbehörde oder eine Beratungsstelle in der Nähe.
  • Sie müssen eine Arbeitserlaubnis haben.
  • Sie müssen den Orientierungskurs erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel Integrationskurse.
  • Sie dürfen keine größeren Straftaten begangen haben. Verurteilungen zu Geldstrafen bis zu 90 Tagessätzen oder zu Bewährungsstrafen bis zu drei Monaten spielen in der Regel keine Rolle.

Für einige Personengruppen gibt es jedoch erleichterte Bedingungen für den Erhalt der Niederlassungserlaubnis.

Für wen gibt es erleichterte Bedingungen?

Geflüchtete

Alles rund um die Niederlassungserlaubnis für "Asylberechtigte, anerkannte Flüchtlinge und Menschen mit subsidiären Schutz und Abschiebungsverbot" finden Sie in unserem Kapitel Niederlassungserlaubnis für Geflüchtete.

Fachkräfte & Forscher*innen

Eine Fachkraft ist eine Person mit einer Arbeit, für die eine Berufsausbildung oder ein Studium notwendig ist. Fachkräfte und Forscher*innen können bereits nach 4 Jahren Aufenthalt eine Niederlassungserlaubnis bekommen. Sie müssen nur 48 Monate in die Rentenversicherung eingezahlt haben. Sie müssen einen Arbeitsplatz haben. Und Deutsch auf dem Niveau B1 sprechen. Außerdem müssen Sie die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Sie können den Lebensunterhalt für sich (und Ihre Familie) selbständig sichern. Das bedeutet, dass Sie kein Geld vom Jobcenter oder Sozialamt bekommen dürfen.
  • Sie müssen über ausreichend Wohnraum für sich und Ihre Familie verfügen. Wie groß eine Wohnung sein muss, ist von Bundesland zu Bundesland verschieden. Fragen Sie Ihre Sachbearbeiter*innen in der Ausländerbehörde oder eine Beratungsstelle in der Nähe.
  • Sie müssen eine Arbeitserlaubnis haben.
  • Sie müssen den Orientierungskurs erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel Integrationskurse.
  • Sie dürfen keine größeren Straftaten begangen haben. Verurteilungen zu Geldstrafen bis zu 90 Tagessätzen oder zu Bewährungsstrafen bis zu drei Monaten spielen in der Regel keine Rolle.
Absolvent*innen eines Studiums oder einer Ausbildung in Deutschland

Wenn Sie in Deutschland eine Berufsausbildung oder ein Studium erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben und eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis als Fachkraft oder Forscher*in besitzen, sind die Voraussetzungen für Sie auch einfacher. Nach 2 Jahren mit einer Aufenthaltserlaubnis als Fachkraft oder Forscher*in können Sie die Niederlassungserlaubnis beantragen. Es genügt, wenn Sie nur 24 Monate in die Rentenversicherung eingezahlt haben. Sie müssen einen Arbeitslatz haben. Und Deutsch auf dem Niveau B1 sprechen. Außerdem müssen Sie die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Sie können den Lebensunterhalt für sich (und Ihre Familie) selbständig sichern. Das bedeutet, dass Sie kein Geld vom Jobcenter oder Sozialamt bekommen dürfen.
  • Sie müssen über ausreichend Wohnraum für sich und Ihre Familie verfügen. Wie groß eine Wohnung sein muss, ist von Bundesland zu Bundesland verschieden. Fragen Sie Ihre Sachbearbeiter*innen in der Ausländerbehörde oder eine Beratungsstelle in der Nähe.
  • Sie müssen eine Arbeitserlaubnis haben.
  • Sie müssen den Orientierungskurs erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel Integrationskurse.
  • Sie dürfen keine größeren Straftaten begangen haben. Verurteilungen zu Geldstrafen bis zu 90 Tagessätzen oder zu Bewährungsstrafen bis zu drei Monaten spielen in der Regel keine Rolle.
Selbständige Unternehmer*innen

Wenn Sie ein erfolgreiches Unternehmen in Deutschland führen und Ihren Lebensunterhalt für sich (und Ihre Familie) selbständig sichern können, also kein Geld vom Jobcenter oder Sozialamt bekommen, können Sie bereits nach 3 Jahren eine Niederlassungserlaubnis bekommen. Außerdem müssen Sie eine ausreichende Krankenversicherung und eine ausreichende Altersvorsorge haben. Sie dürfen nicht wegen Straftaten verurteilt worden sein.

Beamt*innen

Beamt*innen, die in Deutschland im Öffentlichen Dienst arbeiten, können bereits nach 3 Jahren Aufenthalt die Niederlassungserlaubnis bekommen. Sie müssen auch keine Beiträge für die Rentenversicherung vorweisen. Außerdem müssen Sie die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Sie können den Lebensunterhalt für sich (und Ihre Familie) selbständig sichern. Das bedeutet, dass Sie kein Geld vom Jobcenter oder Sozialamt bekommen dürfen.
  • Sie müssen Deutsch auf dem Niveau A2 sprechen und einen entsprechenden Nachweis vorlegen.
  • Sie müssen über ausreichend Wohnraum für sich und Ihre Familie verfügen. Wie groß eine Wohnung sein muss, ist von Bundesland zu Bundesland verschieden. Fragen Sie Ihre Sachbearbeiter*innen in der Ausländerbehörde oder eine Beratungsstelle in der Nähe.
  • Sie müssen eine Arbeitserlaubnis haben.
  • Sie müssen den Orientierungskurs erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel Integrationskurse.
  • Sie dürfen keine größeren Straftaten begangen haben. Verurteilungen zu Geldstrafen bis zu 90 Tagessätzen oder zu Bewährungsstrafen bis zu drei Monaten spielen in der Regel keine Rolle.
Inhaber*innen der Blauen Karte EU

Wenn Sie eine Blaue Karte EU haben, können Sie sehr schnell eine Niederlassungserlaubnis bekommen. Nach 33 Monaten mit der Blauen Karte EU können Sie die Niederlassungserlaubnis beantragen. Sie müssen nur 33 Monate lang Beiträge für die Rentenversicherung bezahlt haben, einen entsprechenden Arbeitsplatz haben und Deutsch auf dem Niveau A1 sprechen. Wenn Sie Deutsch auf dem Niveau B1 sprechen, können Sie bereits nach 21 Monaten eine Niederlassungserlaubnis bekommen. Außerdem müssen Sie die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Sie können den Lebensunterhalt für sich (und Ihre Familie) selbständig sichern. Das bedeutet, dass Sie kein Geld vom Jobcenter oder Sozialamt bekommen dürfen.
  • Sie müssen über ausreichend Wohnraum für sich und Ihre Familie verfügen. Wie groß eine Wohnung sein muss, ist von Bundesland zu Bundesland verschieden. Fragen Sie Ihre Sachbearbeiter*innen in der Ausländerbehörde oder eine Beratungsstelle in der Nähe.
  • Sie müssen eine Arbeitserlaubnis haben.
  • Sie müssen den Orientierungskurs erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel Integrationskurse.
  • Sie dürfen keine größeren Straftaten begangen haben. Verurteilungen zu Geldstrafen bis zu 90 Tagessätzen oder zu Bewährungsstrafen bis zu drei Monaten spielen in der Regel keine Rolle.
Familienangehörige einer Person mit deutscher Staatsangehörigkeit

Wenn Sie Familienangehörige*r einer Person mit deutscher Staatsangehörigkeit sind, haben Sie ebenfalls einfachere Voraussetzungen: Sie müssen erst seit 3 Jahren eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis haben. Außerdem müssen Sie Deutsch auf dem Niveau B1 sprechen und nachweisen, dass Sie mit der Person mit deutscher Staatsbürgerschaft weiterhin zusammenleben. Mehr zu diesem Thema erfahren Sie in unseren Kapiteln Heirat / Scheidung und In Deutschland geboren. Außerdem müssen Sie die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Sie können den Lebensunterhalt für sich (und Ihre Familie) selbständig sichern. Das bedeutet, dass Sie kein Geld vom Jobcenter oder Sozialamt bekommen dürfen.
  • Sie müssen mindestens 60 Monate lang Beiträge für die Rentenversicherung bezahlt haben. Die Höhe der Beiträge ist dabei egal. Mehr zum Thema erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel Rentner*in in Deutschland.
  • Sie müssen eine Arbeitserlaubnis haben.
  • Sie dürfen keine größeren Straftaten begangen haben. Verurteilungen zu Geldstrafen bis zu 90 Tagessätzen oder zu Bewährungsstrafen bis zu drei Monaten spielen in der Regel keine Rolle.
Ehepartner*innen von "ausländischen" Personen mit Niederlassungserlaubnis

Wenn Sie mit einer Person mit Niederlassungserlaubnis verheiratet sind oder waren, können Sie auch selbst die Niederlassungserlaubnis bekommen. Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass Ihr Lebensunterhalt ohne Hilfe des Jobcenters / Sozialamts gesichert ist. Außerdem müssen Sie die folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Sie müssen Deutsch auf dem Niveau A2 sprechen und einen entsprechenden Nachweis vorlegen.
  • Sie müssen über ausreichend Wohnraum für sich und Ihre Familie verfügen. Wie groß eine Wohnung sein muss, ist von Bundesland zu Bundesland verschieden. Fragen Sie Ihre Sachbearbeiter*innen in der Ausländerbehörde oder eine Beratungsstelle in der Nähe.
  • Sie müssen den Orientierungskurs erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel Integrationskurse.
  • Sie dürfen keine größeren Straftaten begangen haben. Verurteilungen zu Geldstrafen bis zu 90 Tagessätzen oder zu Bewährungsstrafen bis zu drei Monaten spielen in der Regel keine Rolle.
Kinder von "ausländischen" Personen

Kinder von "ausländischen" Personen können eine Niederlassungserlaubnis bekommen, wenn sie an oder nach ihrem 16. Geburtstag seit mindestens 5 Jahren eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis besitzen. Sobald das Kind volljährig ist, müssen zusätzliche Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein: Das Kind muss Deutsch auf dem Niveau B1 sprechen und seinen Lebensunterhalt ohne Hilfe des Jobcenters oder Sozialamts sichern. Personen, die eine Berufsausbildung oder ein Studium machen, müssen die Sicherung des Lebensunterhalts nicht nachweisen. Das Kind darf nicht wegen einer größeren Straftat verurteilt worden sein.

Was muss ich noch wissen?

Wo kann ich die Niederlassungserlaubnis beantragen?

Die Niederlassungserlaubnis müssen Sie schriftlich bei der für Sie zuständigen Ausländerbehörde beantragen. Die für Sie zuständige Ausländerbehörde finden Sie auf bamf.de. Den für die Beantragung nötigen „Antrag auf Erteilung der Niederlassungserlaubnis“ finden Sie auf der Website Ihrer Ausländerbehörde. Sie müssen den ausgefüllten Antrag, ein biometrisches Passfoto und in der Regel folgende Dokumente per Post an die für Sie zuständige Ausländerbehörde schicken oder vorbeibringen:

  • eine Kopie Ihres Passes
  • eine Kopie Ihres Arbeitsvertrages, Ihre letzten sechs Gehaltsnachweise und eine aktuelle Bestätigung Ihres Arbeitgebers, dass Sie noch immer dort beschäftigt sind. Diese Bestätigung darf nicht älter als 14 Tage sein. Falls Sie selbständig sind: Ihren letzten Steuerbescheid sowie einen von Steuerberater*innen ausgefüllten Prüfungsbericht.
  • eine aktuelle Bestätigung Ihrer Krankenkasse, dass Sie dort versichert sind.
  • eine Kopie Ihres Mietvertrags
  • eine Kopie Ihrer Deutsch-Zertifikate
  • Ihre Rentenauskunft der Deutschen Rentenversicherung
  • falls Sie Kindergeld, Elterngeld oder ähnliches bekommen: Ihre entsprechenden Bescheide
  • Ihre polizeiliche Anmeldung

Wenn Sie zu einer Gruppe mit erleichterten Voraussetzungen gehören, müssen Sie weniger Dokumente vorlegen. Welche Dokumente Sie benötigen, finden Sie auf dem Antrag.

Die Ausstellung der Niederlassungserlaubnis kostet Geld.

Sobald die Ausländerbehörde Ihren Antrag geprüft hat, bekommen Sie schriftlich Bescheid.

Kann ich meine Niederlassungserlaubnis wieder verlieren?

Ja, wenn eine der folgenden Situationen zutrifft, können Sie Ihre Niederlassungserlaubnis verlieren.

  • Wenn Sie länger als sechs Monate nicht in Deutschland sind oder ausreisen, um dauerhaft in einem anderen Land zu leben, erlischt Ihre Niederlassungserlaubnis in der Regel (§ 51 I AufenthG). Das gilt nicht für Menschen mit dem Blauen Pass.  
  • Ihre Niederlassungserlaubnis kann zurückgenommen werden, wenn Sie sie aufgrund falscher Angaben bekommen haben.
  • Wenn Sie eine Gefahr für die öffentliche Sicherheit und Ordnung sind, können Sie ausgewiesen werden. In diesem Fall verlieren Sie auch Ihre Niederlassungserlaubnis.

Wenn die Gefahr besteht, dass Sie Ihre Anerkennung bzw. Ihren Aufenthaltstitel verlieren, lassen Sie sich unbedingt von einer Beratungsstelle oder einem Anwalt beraten. Hilfe finden Sie zum Beispiel bei der Migrationsberatung für Erwachsene oder dem Jugendmigrationsdienst.

Wo finde ich Beratung & Unterstützung?

Die Migrationsberatung für Erwachsene (MBE) oder der Jugendmigrationsdienst (JMD) beraten Sie gern. Die Beratungsstellen des Jugendmigrationsdienstes sind speziell für Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene unter 27 Jahren. Die Mitarbeiter*innen bei den MBEs und JMDs  sprechen viele Sprachen. Die Beratung ist kostenlos.

Kann ich mit der Niederlassungserlaubnis in einem anderen EU-Land wohnen & arbeiten?

Nein. Dafür gibt es die Erlaubnis zum Daueraufenthalt-EU. Mit der Erlaubnis zum Daueraufenthalt-EU haben Sie die Möglichkeit, zusätzlich eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis in einem anderen EU-Staat zu bekommen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Kapitel Erlaubnis zum Daueraufenthalt-EU.

Wichtig

Kinder können erst ab 16 Jahren eine Niederlassungserlaubnis bekommen. Den Antrag müssen die Eltern oder ein Vormund stellen.

Partner-Logos DE

Ein Projekt von:
Gefördert durch: